Skip to content

Monochrome Madness Week 11

Welcome to another week of Monochrome Madness.  It is yet another great week.  I am so lucky, I spend all week getting a steady supply of emails with new images and then I get to see the next weeks images one by one, then I start the new post and slowly they all come together in a gallery.

LeanneCole-MMC11-kyneton-20131002-8657

This is an old image of mine that I took in October last year.  I used the colour version for a post, last week, I think it was, and after I posted it, well it got me thinking, how would it look in monochrome? I have tried a few things on it, not sure any of it actually works, but it was fun trying some stuff.  Not sure about the colour, so if I did anything else with it, I think I would change that.

44/ LAURA MACKY

Laura Macky has sent me her image for the week, and if you would like to know more about it, then please go to her post No Decisions Needed – Monochrome Madness.

As per usual following the gallery will be the instructions on how to submit images. Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Now, if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be as small as it can be, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it.

Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.  I respect your copyright and would never keep any of the images.

 

85 Comments
  1. What a great collection this week Leanne. Keeps getting better 🙂

    May 14, 2014
    • It does Andrew, I have to say each week makes me want to try harder. 🙂

      May 14, 2014
  2. Wow Leanne, I love the angle on this which draws you in to the center of the image, I saw the color shot which was really cool, but I prefer the sepia tone, it adds an element of drama to the image, which I really like 🙂

    Another great set of images from everyone this week 🙂

    May 14, 2014
    • Thank you Ed, I agree, I think this one works better, though I also did a lot more work to it.
      It is another great set, including yours, so thank you to you too. 🙂

      May 14, 2014
  3. Wow I’m the second person who clicked like! That’s a first. 🙂 What a great week! These images seem to get better and better. I love this challenge a lot and I’m so glad we have such wonderful participation! Your image is haunting Leanne. I love it. The textures are great and I like what you’ve done to the color. It’s perfect for MMC!

    May 14, 2014
    • Haha, wow, you must have got in quick. I think so too, each week is so different and people seem to be trying to find different things to put in. I am glad for both too, I am really starting to think about b&w so much more, that has to be good right. Thank you Laura, it is nice to have a reason to do images like this. I love yours too, I really like the light. 🙂

      May 14, 2014
      • Thank you Leanne 🙂 I love this new way of looking at things as well.

        May 14, 2014
      • 🙂

        May 14, 2014
  4. I could live in a black & white world and love it! The ones that stick in my brain are the stairwell, the birdhouse, the arch and the pier.

    May 14, 2014
    • Wow, Jackie, I had never thought of that, I think I would miss colour. Good to hear which ones you like.

      May 14, 2014
    • I’m with you Jackie, the world in black & white would be fine.

      May 14, 2014
  5. these just get better and better Leanne and everyone!!

    May 14, 2014
    • I totally agree Cybele, it is great seeing it all come to together.

      May 14, 2014
  6. I am on a vacation in Milan, Italy…and all I am doing is running around taking photos and thinking which one would look good for MMC. Another great week, every time I see other photos I am humbled by their quality…It pushes me to do better.

    May 14, 2014
    • That is great, and I so know what you mean, each week I start to panic about what image I will use. I find exactly the same thing, I just keep thinking I have to do better.

      May 14, 2014
  7. Another fine week of images from some talent photographers. Thank you for hosting.

    May 14, 2014
    • It is a pleasure, I really enjoy it and I find because I do host it, I have to have an image each week. I’m seeing monochrome everywhere, it really is making me mad. 😉

      May 14, 2014
  8. Great week and images

    May 14, 2014
    • Isn’t it, great seeing them all together like this.

      May 14, 2014
  9. Lovely collection once again Leanne! I’ve clicked on through to a number of sites provided in the links – it’s been a wonderful journey. You’re a master at networking us all together.

    Your own photo is great too. I love the moody – almost scary feel you’ve created in your scene. It certainly suits the subject mater. Beware – cross this bridge at your own risk!

    Thanks again for hosting us all.

    May 14, 2014
    • I like the idea of networking, it is something I am really enjoying with where the blog is going Betty, hope to do a lot more of it in the future.
      Thank you, I always enjoy hearing how people describe my work and this is no different, thank you so much. And you are very welcome, it really is a pleasure.

      May 14, 2014
  10. There really is a large array of different subjects this week. I am drawn to the overview of the train/airport station. So many in dark jackets, really cool image. I commented on Laura’s image yesterday, looks like a doorway to another galaxy to me. Such great use of the light and starkness.
    Your image looks like it was taken many years ago, like during the dust bowl in the Midwest. I love the trees reaching into such a darkening sky. It is like something big just happened, a storm perhaps and it is finally okay to come out of hiding to assess the damages. Really cool.

    May 14, 2014
    • There is Carrie, quite amazing how we all see the world differently. I think monochrome really lends itself well to dark images.
      Thank you too for what you said about my image. I am so glad you mentioned the trees, I did quite a bit of work on them to make them stand out a little more.

      May 14, 2014
      • Interesting, about the trees. I agree about darker images being more ascetically appealing in black and white. I am still learning what works and what doesn’t. Each week I am surprised by images that I thought would tip in the right monochrome direction but tend to be too light. Although, these peacock feathers screamed monochrome from the moment I took the image 🙂

        May 14, 2014
      • I agree Carrie, I think you can never tell and sometimes you just have to try it to see what you get. It is good to try things out, you just never know.

        May 14, 2014
  11. WO-WOnderful collection! 🙂

    May 14, 2014
    • It is Dina, so many fantastic images. 🙂

      May 14, 2014
  12. This is absolutely amazing! I love this!!!

    May 14, 2014
  13. Leanne, this may be a silly question, but are you familiar with the Judy Garland movie “The Wizard of Oz.”? I ask because the first thing I thought of when I saw your wonderful photo is the scene of Dorothy trying to open her farm’s gate to get home before the twister hits. The tone and feeling of your image replicates that visual experience for me, and I just love it!

    As always, thanks for hosting. I, too, feel the need to continue to try to raise my game as I see the extraordinary images submitted by others. What a phenomenal forum you and Laura have provided!

    May 14, 2014
    • I know the scene you are talking about, I do know the movie, oh wow, what a visual for the image to bring up, thank you for telling me about it.

      Imagine what sort of images we will all be doing in a few months time, it is great that it pushes so many of us to try harder. It is great the way people are looking at it and I do really like that too.

      May 14, 2014
  14. I’m trying this next week! Been meaning to for like three weeks 🙂 Monochrome is so much fun!

    May 14, 2014
    • Fantastic, I look forward to getting your email. 🙂

      May 14, 2014
  15. hutchphotography2020 #

    Great show of work. I probably went more into commenting than I normally do, but the shots were amazing. Cool beans on this one. Thanks to you and Laura and all who entered.

    May 14, 2014
    • It is a great show and thank you too for submitting a piece, it is great to get so many wonderful images.

      May 14, 2014
  16. Beautiful picture!

    May 14, 2014
  17. what a kewl week of photos wow.. way kewl 🙂 Q

    May 14, 2014
  18. By the way, I do like that you call it monochrome week, giving participants choices for their images. While I am a devotee of black and white, there are some true challenges with an all red or white or …

    May 14, 2014
    • I agree Sally, there are more challenges. Are you going to try it? 🙂

      May 14, 2014
  19. Great architectural shots from both you and Laura this week. I guess it’s debatable whether yours is an architectural shot or not, but it’s all in the eye of the beholder.
    Anyway, wonderful shots and thanks once again for arranging this!

    May 14, 2014
    • I think I thought mine more landscape really, so perhaps they are different this week. There are so many wonderful shots, and glad you think to too.

      May 14, 2014
  20. I love looking at everyone’s work. Such amazing photos!

    May 14, 2014
    • I am lucky I get to see it all coming in all week.

      May 14, 2014
  21. A great week again Leanne, I forgot to participate 😦 But I put a link to this week on my blog with the pic I intended to enter.

    May 14, 2014
    • There is always next week Chris, I’m accepting images now. 🙂 Thanks for the link, it is good to spread the word around.

      May 14, 2014
      • I will send a new one shortly. My pleasure spreading the word and links!

        May 15, 2014
      • Sounds great, thank you.

        May 15, 2014
  22. What a beautiful collection again! And thanks for the information about resizing the images! I hope one day you will have a look at my website, when I tell you in what circumstances exactly I took the pictures of the Wild Horses 🙂

    May 14, 2014
    • I agree Ingrid, it is, :), you are welcome, I hope it helps, I did it in a rushed way, but it is fairly basic. I have had a quick look, not a long look, but I will see what I can do Ingrid.

      May 14, 2014
  23. Superb images!

    May 14, 2014
    • I agree, so nice to see them all.

      May 14, 2014
  24. A great crop of images from all the participants, really great. I have sent an image in for next week.

    May 14, 2014
    • I think so too Ben, and I have received your image for next week, thank you.

      May 14, 2014
  25. what sensational images Leanne

    May 14, 2014
    • Great word for them Jo, sensational.

      May 14, 2014
  26. Another great collection and once again glad to be part of it.

    May 14, 2014
    • I is a great collection and that is great to hear, thank you for being part of it.

      May 15, 2014
  27. Really enjoying the monochromes Leanne – and your shot in particular! This is a wonderful idea and I love discovering new blogs from it. Nicely done!

    May 15, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear Tina, and thank you for what you said about my image. The discovering of new blogs is fantastic Tina, I think that is one of the great things about this, and every week we get more and more new people, so lots of new people to met and get to know.

      May 15, 2014
  28. Reblogged this on rebloggobbler.

    May 15, 2014
  29. I love what you did with your image. Monochrome doesn’t necessarily need to be black and white, does it? I may try something new for a future contribution. … Thanks, once again, for including my image. … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

    May 15, 2014
    • I agree, and as someone else said, it is good that we called it monochrome madness as many images could have tones like this. It is good to play, try things. You are very welcome Dorothy, thank you for being part of it and thank you for what you said about my image.

      May 15, 2014
  30. This is such a great idea, Leanne and another very strong selection – you know how to attract talent.

    May 18, 2014
    • Thanks Richard, I love how the posts are going and they are getting better every week.

      May 18, 2014
  31. Another wonderful collection 🙂

    May 18, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Monochrome Feathers | The Shady Tree
  2. Monochrome Madness Challenge: Week 11 | Visual Venturing
  3. Reflections in Black and White | Applying for an Artistic License
  4. Love Affair | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  5. Monochrome Madness: Best Friends | Taking One Day At A Time
  6. No Decisions Needed – Monochrome Madness | Laura Macky
  7. Monochrome Madness ~ | Maverick Mist
  8. Monochrome Madness 5-12-2014 | Quarksire
  9. The Cement Factory in Ramla | Cardinal Guzman
  10. Monochrome Madness Challenge | Em's Photography Adventure
  11. Monochrome Madness | Dawn Whitehand: Visual Artist
  12. Lean On Me … Amsterdam, NL | Eyes to Heart
  13. Leenane, Ireland | Pictures and Paragraphs
  14. Monochrome Monday: Week 4 | Macro Masterpieces
  15. Light Seeker – Monochrome Madness | Laura Macky

Comments are closed.

