Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Sunrise Over the Flats

Every morning I have been waking up and looking outside for signs of fog, or checking the temperature to see if it is cold enough for a frost.  I haven’t been lucky so far this winter, in fact, there have been no frosts really and only two foggy mornings, and both of those were on days I couldn’t get out. I knew I had to go out this morning as I had a post to do, but I was hoping for something a little exciting, and then when I did my usual checks, I thought, oh no, nothing much this morning.  The I read the weather forecast, early morning storms.  Ha, there were almost no clouds in the sky, a storm was coming, I thought, what are the chances of a great sunrise. I quickly chucked on my gum boots and headed out.

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-9463-4hpmIt seemed the chances were very, very good indeed.  I headed down the road to Banyule Flats and headed for the spot I’d recently discovered to see if I could get a good sunrise.  This image was a bit later on, but I wanted to show it first. This is a HDR and I have done some of the treatments to it that I have seen Trey Ratcliff do.  I love the effect, and wanted it to be the first image I showed.

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9333This is pretty much how it was when I first got there.  The sun was making an appearance slowly.  There was a slight mist on the water.  I love the way the sunrise is reflected in the water.

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9398Then the storm clouds were atarting to come from behind.

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9418The water was so still and it was so nice to see the colours and clouds of the sunrise reflected in the water.

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9433I thought the sunrise was basically over and then I noticed some colour behind me. I love this tree, it is so gnarly.  You can see the storm approaching here.

I thought the sunrise was over and was getting ready to leave, then I looked back at the swamp.

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9463It seems we were getting an encore, a second sunrise.  The new clouds that were approaching put on another show for me.  How lucky was I?

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9485I hadn’t planned on taking any photos here.  I wanted to find somewhere else, but as I was walking past I noticed how incredible the clouds were and I knew that I had to go in and take some photos.  The water was so calm and the reflections just made it so much better.

LeanneCole-banyuleflats-20140525-9550I had really wanted to head down the road to get some other images, but as I was heading back to the car the storm hit and it started raining.  I did see the rainbow in the sky and decided to go and take some photos.  It was starting to rain quite hard when I took these, and it put an end to my adventures in my backyard today.  I will get more images though of other places.

First of all, can I say thank you to everyone on the lovely comments about the new theme for the blog, so glad you like it. The white background seems very popular.  I also like that when you go to the gallery the background is black, so you can see them on both black and white backgrounds.  Speaking of the gallery, I have more images and will put them in there now.  I know some seem similar, but they were all taken at different times.  All the images, bar the HDR at the start, were all processed in Lightroom.

139 Comments
  1. Lovely sunrise! I have to admit I’m not a great fan of the HDR look but it’s helpful to see examples of it. I, too, like your new theme! I found the old black one very heavy and cluttered.

    May 25, 2014
    • I think HDR can work for some things, though only part of this image is really HDR. Thank you, seems the new theme is proving to be a hit, I am so glad people like it.

      May 25, 2014
  2. Hubby is the photographer (I’m the painter), but we both thought the HDR was done subtly (which we like). This walk was certainly worth putting your gum boots on! (are these rubber boots?)

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you, that is great, I don’t do many HDR’s but sometimes a subject just says to me, give it go. So I did, I am glad I did, I quite like the way it turned out. It was definitely worth it. Yes, gum boots are rubber boots, wellies, that sort of thing.

      May 25, 2014
  3. Great photos Leanne, I love the reflections. These photos have made me feel guilty as this morning I woke up and thought hmm noooo and if I had of said Yes then I could be looking at some lovely sunrise shots.. Instead I will look at yours.

    May 25, 2014
    • I was so happy the water was calm so I could get those reflections. You’re in Adelaide aren’t you, I wonder if you would have got one this morning, the approaching rain had a lot to do with it I think. I am always up early, but I like hanging out in my PJ’s, so I don’t often go out, but I am trying to do it more, and this morning was very worth it. Thanks Karen, I am sure there will be other mornings.

      May 25, 2014
      • No, on the Gold Coast so no excuses for me, beautiful weather. I’m hoping to stop this afternoon just before sunset and get out then, its always a compromise.

        May 25, 2014
      • Yes, no excuses, haha. Yes, do some sunset shots, how beautiful. Either way is good. I would imagine sunrises up there would be amazing, over the ocean.

        May 25, 2014
  4. Very beautiful and beautifully captured. The HDR is perfect – just the right amount. As we head in to Summer, your comments about winter keep giving me reason to pause – then, I think, oh yes…

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, glad you like it. I do like to try them from time to time. Someone else said the same thing, yes, winter next month for us, it is set to be a wet one.

      May 25, 2014
      • Hope the moisture will help with the fires next summer.

        May 25, 2014
      • It would be nice, but it needs to keep raining through the summer, that is where the problem is, we get lots of rain up until summer, so the grass is lovely and long, then it stops raining for a couple of months and then everything dries out and dies, then it is bushfires again. Strange world we live in sometimes.

        May 25, 2014
  5. Fantastic photos! I love them all! Hugz Lisa and Bar

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, that is brilliant.

      May 25, 2014
  6. Beautiful. I especially like the one right above the rainbow. I love sunrise for photography. Despite my best intentions, however, I never seem to get out of bed fast enough to take photos at that time. 😦

    May 25, 2014
    • Oh yes, the clouds in those were so amazing. Sunrises are so hard, for exactly the reasons you said, I am usually up, but I don’t like getting out of my pj’s so I miss so many. Sometimes you just have to do, at least get up and look out the window and see if you think there might be possibilities. good luck.

      May 25, 2014
  7. Stunning images Leanne! And a rainbow on top of it all. Truly beautiful. I love how the water was like a mirror reflecting the colors so beautifully. And you are right.. Our images were quite different this time”. Glad we both got out early!

    May 25, 2014
    • I know, it was the icing on the top. Thank you, the water was so still, perfect for this kind of photography. I glad we both did too. Early mornings can be great.

      May 25, 2014
  8. Beautiful colors!

    May 25, 2014
  9. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Cool rainbow! 🙂 I think my favorite of all these is the one where you have more light and clouds reflecting off the water; you can see things in the water closer to you. The location is beautiful and seems rural.

    Every now and then I am reminded that you are coming into winter as we are coming into summer. I hope my summer is not as long and hot as yours was. I get posts about bats in Australia on my Facebook page and it was a particularly rough summer for them a few months ago. I love bats.

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I think others feel the same way. I am so glad I saw it as I walked past and took some photos. The location is sort of rural, parts of the area are still a working farm, but most is parkland for us to wander around, there are kilometres and kilometres of it, all following the Yarra River, which the main river in Melbourne.

      Oh yes, we are going into winter. I like winter, it isn’t too extreme, just nice. I hope you don’t get one like ours either, though except for that one week, the rest wasn’t too bad, but I never want to go through one of those weeks again. I think it was rough for many creatures, humans as well.

      May 25, 2014
  10. exquisite

    May 25, 2014
  11. Stunning images. Very dynamic.

    May 25, 2014
  12. Vey nice work on the sky lines. Love the reflection in the water.

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I love the reflections in the water too.

      May 25, 2014
  13. Gorgeous photos, Leanne! The only fog we had in Alice Springs this week, was the only morning I couldn’t get away to go chase it! We don’t have fog often here, as you can imagine. Well done you, love the reflection and mist in the distance on the photo in the place you weren’t going to photograph! Isn’t that always the way??

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I have to say I hadn’t considered that, fog in Alice Springs, I always think it would be too hot and too dry. Now isn’t it always the way, when you can’t go out, you get the damn fog. The place I wasn’t going to photograph made the best photos.

      May 25, 2014
  14. Great photos Leanne. It goes to show doesn’t it that it is hard to predict whether the conditions will be any good for photography.

    May 25, 2014
    • That’s for sure Rob, you just never know. Thanks.

      May 25, 2014
  15. Willy Nilly #

    Spectacular! And. so many great shots. Thank you for sharing them 🙂

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I love sharing my work, I am just glad that people like to see it. 🙂

      May 25, 2014
  16. Simply stunning. It was worth getting up early.

    May 25, 2014
    • It certainly was Carol, so worth it. Thank you.

      May 25, 2014
  17. check out the sky, so nice

    May 25, 2014
  18. Hi Leanne, Some great pics. Also a great location which I’m sure will offer you wonderful opportunies on almost a daily basis.

    May 25, 2014
    • I think so too, should be great over time, all year around. Thank you.

      May 25, 2014
  19. Susan Portnoy #

    I’m not usually a fan of HDR but I really think your first image is very successful. Beautiful. I also love the photo above the rainbow shot. I think the colors are wonderful and I really like the reflections.

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Susan, I”m not a fan of overdone HDR, so if I don’t think an image looks natural then I delete it. That was a great place to take some photos in the end, I am so glad I stopped.

      May 25, 2014
  20. Gorgeous sunrise pictures and the rainbow is a real bonus. Your new theme is lovely and the simplicity shows the pictures wonderfully 🙂

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Marilyn, the rainbow was definitely a bonus. I am glad you like the new theme, it has been very well receieved. 🙂

      May 25, 2014
  21. Your photography is magnificent!

    May 25, 2014
  22. Great selection of images Leanne. The HDR is a great success. Congratulations 🙂

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Andrew, glad you like it.

      May 25, 2014
  23. beautiful work! its amazing how similar our water environments are – I have this at the end of the street and am always up this early to walk the dog first thing. I love to photograph storms, first light, and twilight across the water it can be so dramatic just like your wonderful images.

    May 25, 2014
    • I hope you take lots of photos of the area, it is so nice to live close to something like this. Thank you.

      May 25, 2014
  24. Fantastic series of shots Leanne. Must confess I had to Google ‘Banyule Flats’ to find out where they were taken.

    May 25, 2014
    • I hope you found it, it is an amazing area, and so close to the city too. Thank you Woolly.

      May 25, 2014
      • Yes I did locate it. Looks like an awesome place to take photos. I’m Western District (Warrnambool, Port Fairy area) boy, until a few (9) years ago.

        May 25, 2014
      • That’s great, so are in the city now?

        May 25, 2014
  25. I love HDR to natural landscapes (although I think not much to architecture because the shadows are important to understand the volumes). It helps a lot to get the most of one really saw in the moment. I’m sure the first image is pretty faithful to the impression of the sunrise.

    May 25, 2014
    • It can be great for natural stuff, and architectural, but it really depend on the image, sometimes it makes the image pop and other times you just look at them and cringe. It is pretty close, though there is some artistic license there too. Thanks Francis.

      May 25, 2014
  26. What a lovely sunrise 🙂 Beautiful clicks.

    May 25, 2014
  27. DenisesRamblings #

    Absolutely stunning photos. Great work.

    May 25, 2014
  28. Well that was worth getting up for!

    May 25, 2014
    • It really was Gypsy, very much so.

      May 25, 2014
  29. Beautiful set of photos, worth getting up so early! I really like the rich colours you have captured and the amazing clarity, just gorgeous!

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Katie, it was, I want to do more early mornings now. The colours were great.

      May 25, 2014
  30. Caz #

    Beautiful images 🙂 As others have said, I often dislike the HDR effect but think it really works here. Might even be tempted to give it a go myself some time!

    May 25, 2014
    • I think if you get the right image, it is great. Thank you Caz. 🙂

      May 25, 2014
  31. poppytump #

    Nothing like being out early heart singing inside as you press that shutter looking round at nature’s brush strokes in the sky and on the waters Leanne ..Simply gorgeous . I love the gallery all very slightly different …with you showing so many possibilities with subtle editing and then also the drama of a little HDR . Brilliant .

    May 25, 2014
    • That’s it exactly. Thank you Poppytump.

      May 25, 2014
  32. Faboulos photograps Leanne 🙂

    May 25, 2014
  33. I love these photos–the drama, the reflections, watching the weather change and develop! Great series!

    May 25, 2014
  34. Great collection, Leanne!

    May 25, 2014
  35. Fabulous as always Leanne. I should do sunrise photos, but I enjoy my bed too much!! 😉

    May 25, 2014
    • I don’t think you are alone there, I think that is a popular problem. I get up early every day, but I like hanging out in my pj’s too much. Thank you.

      May 26, 2014
  36. Stunning!

    May 25, 2014
  37. I have heard from several friends that autumn has vanished this year in Australia. Thank you for this post, lovely and perhaps, heartbreaking.

    May 25, 2014
    • It seemed to take forever to get here, and then suddenly it is over, it really was a blink and miss it kind of thing. Thank you so much.

      May 26, 2014
  38. Wow, such a beautiful site to see and you captured the beauty perfectly

    May 25, 2014
    • Thank you Nora, I am looking forward to trying to capture more, the next thing will be a sunset.

      May 26, 2014
  39. Magical!

    May 25, 2014
  40. You have some lovely shots on here.

    May 25, 2014
  41. Wonderful moody skies, great colours against silhouettes and lovely reflections.

    May 26, 2014
    • Thank you, the still water was so good, so happy to see it. All added up to getting great photos.

      May 26, 2014
  42. Your photos are stunning!

    May 26, 2014
  43. Great sunrise shots, a good use of a weekend morning. We haven’t got frost here now spring is turning to summer but we have got 32 degree days.

    May 26, 2014
    • I agree Ben, it was a great use of it. I am starting to wonder if we will get any frost here this year, we are getting far too much rain I think. I am sure it will be very warm there soon enough. Thanks Ben.

      May 26, 2014
  44. HILeanne, great sunrise. love the reflections as well. it is mornings like this that make getting up so early worthwhile.

    May 26, 2014
    • They do, they really do. Thank you.

      May 26, 2014
  45. Absolutely amazing! ❤

    May 26, 2014
  46. Darrell Curtis #

    Reblogged this on The Road goes ever on and on… and commented:
    L Cole and her fantastic eye never disappoint. The Roads she shows are tempting to travel

    May 26, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      May 26, 2014
  47. felicityy21 #

    beautiful photos 🙂

    May 26, 2014
  48. felicityy21 #

    Reblogged this on felicityyvettephotography and commented:
    Really beautiful photographs from Leanne Cole Photography. Definitely check out her blog 🙂

    May 26, 2014
  49. All stunning shots Leanne 🙂

    May 26, 2014
  50. A most beautiful set of images! How blessed to catch a morning g rise like that! WOW!

    May 26, 2014
    • Thank you Trees, yes, it was a great catch, I should try and catch more.

      May 26, 2014
  51. Beautiful images! A few are reminiscent of Rorschach designs.

    May 26, 2014
    • Thank you Lorrin, I can see that too.

      May 26, 2014
  52. Stunning photos!

    May 26, 2014
  53. fantastic pictures!

    May 26, 2014
  54. Stunning!

    May 26, 2014
  55. Fabulous sunrise!

    May 26, 2014
  56. These are really special, Leanne. Very atmospheric. I love dawn! This captures why!

    May 26, 2014
    • I love it too, I love the peace before the day starts, thank you.

      May 26, 2014
  57. Great photos. Love the reflections

    May 26, 2014
    • Thank you, you have to love still water for that.

      May 27, 2014
  58. Wonderful shots. Love the colours and light!

    May 27, 2014
    • Thank you Cardinal, was nice to finally get a sunrise

      May 27, 2014
  59. these are stunning! your HDR photos are great!

    May 27, 2014
  60. These are absolutely gorgeous, Leanne! Fantastic light and colour.

    May 27, 2014
    • Thank you Richard, it was so worth the early morning trip.

      May 27, 2014
  61. A fantastic start to a new day, Leanne. Beautiful. I like the new theme too. The white background really accentuates the images on the page.

    May 27, 2014
    • Thank you, glad you liked the start, I really enjoyed it. The new theme is certainly a hit and I’m so happy with it now. I really like it too, almost matches my website too.

      May 27, 2014
  62. Lovely reflections!

    May 28, 2014
    • The water was perfect for them, thanks.

      May 28, 2014
  63. Stunning shots, such fantastic colours and reflections

    May 29, 2014
    • Thank you, it was so nice to get a good sunrise when I went out.

      May 29, 2014
  64. Magic in the air this morning, amazing colors and wonderful skies and reflections in these great photos….

    May 30, 2014
    • It was magic Truels, couldn’t believe my luck, I was so happy. Thank you.

      May 30, 2014
  65. Achingly beautiful.

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you Elen, the one this morning was even better, but I wasn’t there with my camera.

      May 31, 2014
  66. Beautiful photos!!

    June 15, 2014
  67. I love a good sunrise photograph-these are wonderful!

    October 21, 2014
    • Thank you, makes it worth getting up early when you get shots like this..

      October 21, 2014

Comments are closed.

