Skip to content

The Milky Way and Other Business

This was at the start, still lots of cloud around.

This was at the start, still lots of cloud around.

Having a catch up day for news and things has been great and for the time being I think I am going to keep doing it, if you don’t mind.  So today I thought I have some more things to tell you and I also wanted to show you the photos I took last night of the Milky Way.

Milky Way

Last night I went down to Flinders with John to take photos of the stars, as I said.  John has a lot more experience at doing this and so I learned a lot going there with him.  We have been trying to go for a few weeks, but every time we have organised a night it has been overcast, or raining.  We have had so many grey days this winter.  Yesterday was very overcast here all day, but we’ve noticed that the sky often clears as the sun goes down, so we decided we would go anyway and see what we got.

Looking straight up.

Looking straight up.

At first there was still quite a bit of cloud cover but after a while they went away and we managed to get some great shots of the milky way.  I don’t know when John is going to post his, but keep an eye out on his blog for some soon, I’m sure.

New Themes

As most of you now realise, I have changed my theme.  I went with the theme Linen, though I almost asked for my money back as I really didn’t like the sidebar on the right, which is how the theme is meant to be.  I was given some CSS code and that got my sidebar on the left and I couldn’t be happier.  It has been great hearing how much you all like it, and how you find it easier to read now.  So thank you for all your support.  It is important to me that you like it as well, this blog is meant for you too.

The clouds had almost disappeared.

The clouds had almost disappeared.

Websites

You all know about my website, I’m sure, Leanne Cole – Fine Art Photograher, and how I have been working on it as well.  I did tell you about the blog that is now on it, the one I call the News Blog, but it is taking on a life of its own, and those of you that have been to see it will have noticed that.  I decided that this blog has certain things for certain days and my ability to teach some things, or tell you were a little out of my hands.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love how this blog is and where it is going, but sometimes I don’t want to wait until Friday to tell you something.

Almost perfect.

Almost perfect.

With the News Blog I can make announcements straight away, but one thing I realised I could also do, is give advice on different things, or tips.  So over the last week when I been doing small posts on how to do some things, like mini tutorials.  I wrote one on how I photograph a sunset or sunrise, I did one on communicating to people while taking their photo, and yesterday I did one on conceptual photography and my understanding of it.  I call them Tips and I hope that people will find them useful.  I will do more as I go.

I have been having trouble getting the comments working and have sent an email to support, but so far haven’t heard anything back.  I don’t want comments on everything, but it would be nice to have them just for the blog.  I don’t think I can do likes though, well not at the moment.  Hopefully it will all come together.  If you want some tips on how to do something, let me know, if I can help I will do a post over there on it.

 Photo Walks

Still working on these, and the response has been really positive about them as well.  I want these walks to be social and practical.  While I am the facilitator, I am also a teacher and can help people and give tips on taking photos.  I have been thinking about calling the class the Social Snappers, it is fun and does say what it is about.  I should be ready to start advertising them next week.

Conclusion

I think that is all the news I have for you this week.  Though, please do keep on eye on the News Blog if you want to be kept up to date with what I am doing.  I will put my Milky Way images in a gallery now so you can enjoy them individually and on a dark background, as stars should be seen I think.  For those interested, I’ve added a post on the News Blog with some tips on photographing the milky way.

143 Comments
  1. I love it!!!

    May 30, 2014
  2. The photographs are beautiful 🙂

    May 30, 2014
  3. WOW! What, I’m interested to know is in you actually saw the Milky Way in this way with your bare eyes, or is it a composite or time lapse photos?

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you. It isn’t a composite, but while you don’t see it this way with your eyes, the camera does, it is really amazing what the camera picks up. You can pretty much see where the milky way is with your eyes, but not the detail. This is a single image.

      May 30, 2014
  4. johnholding #

    They came out really well Leanne.

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you John, I’m really happy with them, can’t wait to go out again. Thank you for taking me out last night and helping me.

      May 30, 2014
  5. These are sublime, Leanne! And I’m thanking my lucky stars that you’ve gone for black on white – so much easier to read, especially if you’re waiting for a cataract op!

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you, and yes, that has been the biggest comment that people have said, they love the black and white, it is so much better to read. I like that when you go to the gallery the images are still on a black background, best of both worlds really.

      May 30, 2014
  6. Oh Oh Oh!!! I want to do this too. So beautiful so heavenly!! 🙂 I can see the Andromeda galaxy in my telescope but have not attempted any deep space photos!! lol. Hubble can do it so much better! How far out of town were you Leanne. These are brilliant and I love the flash of light on the horizon. Shivers of awe!!! Thanks for sharing them!!!

    May 30, 2014
    • I haven’t tried looking through a telescope, but it would be fun. Maybe one day. Apparently, John was telling, if you have a good telescope you can get a coupling or something so you can attach your camera to it to take photos. Maybe you could look into that. Thank you, we were about an hour from the city I suppose, on the coast, and I think the flash of lights was a small town on a nearby island.

      May 30, 2014
  7. A great post Leanne. Will check out your other.
    Beautiful pics! Hope I can comment 🙂

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, thought giving some little tips would be nice, and hey, I found your comment, here it is. It worked. 🙂 Yay

      May 30, 2014
      • A great idea Leanne! Yes it worked 🙂

        May 30, 2014
      • Thank you, 🙂

        May 30, 2014
  8. Stunning photos, that last one is just amazing! I’m so glad the clouds lifted for you! Love the new look by the way and I’ll have to keep an eye on your news blog. 🙂

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Katie, I think the last one turned out the best, we were happy to, didn’t think they were going to for a while. Thanks, the new look seems to be popular, and that is great.

      May 30, 2014
  9. these are so inspiring. what were your camera’s settings?

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you, Let’s see ISO 6400, f/2.8 and either 20 or 30seconds.

      May 30, 2014
  10. lovely works again…the vast darkness beautiful…and i would love a photo walk with you…and learn more along the way.

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you, I do like photographing the stars. That would be lovely, maybe you can come on one day. 🙂

      May 30, 2014
  11. Very nice shots Leanne–a definite departure for you, but excellent as always…

    May 30, 2014
    • I have been experimenting with it a bit lately, it is fun. Thanks

      May 30, 2014
  12. Those milky way photos are beautiful!

    May 30, 2014
  13. So beautiful! Incredible photos

    May 30, 2014
  14. Amy #

    Oh, Leanne,

    These photos are simply exquisite! Thank you, so much, for sharing them!

    All my best wishes,

    ~Amy ❤

    May 30, 2014
    • My pleasure Amy, thank you so much.

      May 30, 2014
  15. Reblogged this on Edoardo Gobattoni photographer and commented:
    Great !!!

    May 30, 2014
  16. Amazing photos! Congratulations!

    May 30, 2014
  17. leecleland #

    These Milky Way images are lovely, Leanne. There is something special about being able to capture the night sky and the camera does it so much better than we can see. Thanks for the camera settings I’ve only taken night shots once and was trying to remember if I had remembered those settings right for another star shot.

    May 30, 2014
    • That is so true Lee, it amazes me what the camera can capture. You’re welcome, hope they help. Thanks Lee.

      May 30, 2014
  18. world webcams #

    Just amazing, I studied the stars for years and learned many factors about our vast unknown universe, and the ability to study our changing planet or climate change and react to certain situations. Orion as one huge gas nebula with mixed elements such as hydrogen and helium, and can be seen with the naked eye

    May 30, 2014
    • I think I need to start studying up on our solar system as well. I would like to know more about the night skies. Thanks for the info.

      May 30, 2014
  19. Oh Leanne, these are beautiful! And you know what, the thing that makes it harder to see the stars, the light pollution, is what totally makes these shots. The lights from the ground seeping upwards is gorgeous. Where I live there are no lights for miles and miles and I love looking at the stars.
    karen

    May 30, 2014
    • Oh I agree Karen, I think having those lights down the bottom really make it. You will have to do some light painting for your images Karen. I think that is where I would like to go next. Thanks

      May 30, 2014
  20. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The Milky Way is unbelievably beautiful. I doubt those in the northern hemisphere will ever experience a night sky like that. ❤

    May 30, 2014
    • I agree Jackie, I don’t know Jackie, don’t they get to it when it is dark there? I don’t know how it all works.
      Thanks Jackie, you have me curious now.

      May 30, 2014
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        The more light from cities and towns, the less you see stars and such. Being in the southern hemisphere you may see the moon a different size. My husband’s cousin came from Peru to visit us and she said that the moon was much larger here in NJ than in Lima, Peru. That struck me as odd.

        May 30, 2014
      • It does seem odd, I’ve been doing some research and apparently you can see the milky way in the northern hemisphere, but you see the best bit here best. If that makes sense. Finally something that is great about living here, haha.

        May 30, 2014
  21. sandlera #

    Beautiful images Leanne.

    May 30, 2014
  22. Night photography is an ethereal challenge. Your images are inspiring.

    May 30, 2014
  23. Fantastic!

    May 30, 2014
  24. Lisa #

    I’ve ever only seen the milky way once in 18 years. You can’t see it where I live. Thanks for sharing.

    May 30, 2014
    • Wow Lisa, is it because you are in the city, or it just never shows where you are? I have always thought that everyone could see it.

      May 30, 2014
      • Lisa #

        It’s too humid here. I live in Alabama, USA all the way at the bottom. Deep south. You just can’t see it here.

        May 30, 2014
      • John was telling me last night how moisture can be a disadvantage, so that makes sense.

        May 30, 2014
  25. Ooh! They are amazing!! I love them so much. You did a fabulous job! I read in johns blog that his ISO was at 12000? I never knew you could go that high. What ISO did you use? I’ve been reading about this type of photography and some use a lower ISO. In any case, yours are gorgeous!

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I was pretty happy with these, and it is definitely something I want to do more of. My ISO wasn’t as high, I might do a post on the News Blog about it, that way everyone can see what I did, how does that sound.

      May 30, 2014
  26. OMG! The pictures are gorgeous!!

    May 30, 2014
  27. I have never tried to photograph the stars. It looks interesting. What are your camera settings? (Great images btw)

    May 30, 2014
  28. Those are some fantastic shots. I look forward to seeing more. If there is anything surprising is that you didn’t have to go too far to get a good peek at the Milky Way.

    If you’re interested in doing more astrophotography, may I recommend Stellarium. It’s free a program that can be used on multiple platforms (Windows/Mac/Linux). All you do is plug in the coordinates of your city/town (really anywhere), and it displays the sky on your monitor like a planetarium. I use it with telescope viewing. With the date/time feature, you can display what your sky will look like in the future and what it was like in the past. It’s a very cool program to have.

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you David, it was a bit of a travel, an hour and half probably from where I live, we went south, wouldn’t have to travel as far if we went north. Hopefully will try that next week.

      I will look the program up David, thank you so much for the recommendation. I like the sound of it, I’m off to look for it now.

      May 30, 2014
  29. Beautiful photos Leanne!

    May 30, 2014
  30. Wow! That’s spectacular!

    May 30, 2014
  31. Fantastic shots, Leanne! You raise the bar every day! Take care! 🙂

    May 30, 2014
    • I don’t know about that Fabio, but thank you. 🙂

      May 30, 2014
  32. Thank you for liking “Odd Blooms.” I enjoyed looking at your wonderful astrophotography. I like looking up at the night sky and seeing the stars, but photos like yours help me see all the beauty I am missing! 🙂

    May 30, 2014
    • You’re welcome and thank you. It is amazing how much more you see with a camera.

      May 30, 2014
  33. It looks so upside down, or inside out, from what I see here! 😉 Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos.

    May 30, 2014
    • Interesting Mike, are you upside down or what that be us 🙂 Thank you.

      May 30, 2014
  34. Extraordinary. Love John’s shots too! Love what yo are doing with your websites too, Leanne. 🙂

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Nia, it is nice to have somewhere else to say things. 🙂

      May 30, 2014
  35. Simply stunning photos!

    May 30, 2014
  36. wow!

    May 30, 2014
  37. Another great post Leanne and the Milky Way shots are looking really good 😊

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Mark, I think these are my best yet.

      May 30, 2014
  38. Amazing stuff. It’s an awe inspiring sight.

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you, it quite amazing, can’t wait to try again.

      May 30, 2014
  39. Suzanne #

    These are magnificent – they are all exceptional.

    May 30, 2014
  40. WOW! Great photographs dear leanne Cole, I loved them all. Thank you, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you so much Nia, that’s great, you have a great weekend too.

      May 30, 2014
  41. Wow! Just WOW!

    May 30, 2014
  42. Excellent. Not easy taking photos like this, you have done a great job.

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Trevor, though it is easier than I thought it would be.

      May 30, 2014
  43. I really love your photographs of the Milky Way 😀 fabulous work!

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Klaudia, I love doing them, can’t wait to do more. 🙂

      May 30, 2014
  44. Magnificent photos of the Milky Way Leanne! I always enjoy visiting your blog.

    May 30, 2014
  45. Maggie Beck #

    Leanne, these sky photos are magic. Positively the stuff of imagination-made-real. What a lovely way to start my day!

    May 30, 2014
    • Thank you Maggie, I’m so glad it brightened your morning.

      May 30, 2014
  46. I like how your photos turned out. Great work. Last fall I decided to get into star trails. I ended up doing 5 hours worth of photos and for a first time trial I really liked the results. Although it was in the single digits and my camera had frost on it at the end, I think it was worth it. Now that spring has finally arrived I am ready to give it another go. I tried it last weekend as well as getting a shot of the milky way as well, but none of my photos turned out. I was using the Nikon 16-35mm lens and I think I had the image stabilization turned on because all the photos looked like they had a different focus. Oh well, lesson learned. After looking at your photos though I want to get out and give it another go. Now it’s about finding the time to do so as I’ve been busy with work recently. Keep up the good work!

    May 30, 2014
    • I haven’t really done star trails, though would like to eventually, just hasn’t happened yet. I think it is all about practice, I do love getting these though. Good luck.

      May 30, 2014
  47. You have been very busy – thanks for the news. Enjoy the weekend!

    May 30, 2014
    • Yes, a little Robert, thanks, you have a good one too.

      May 31, 2014
  48. There is nothing like the beauty of a dark sky. I envy people living in the southern hemisphere. They get the best view of the galaxy. One of our nearest stellar neighbors (Alpha Centauri) blazes in their sky and have they get the best view of the largest and brightest globular cluster (Omega Centauri) visible in Earth’s skies. As a longtime amateur astronomer I have always appreciated the beauty of the night sky and it’s great that others are seeing what we have enjoyed forever. The sky is big enough for everybody.

    In my opinion one of the curses of modern life is excessive nighttime lighting. Most cities suffer under horribly light polluted skies. It’s so bad most urban dwellers never see the rim of the galaxy. The good news is that light pollution can be fixed at the speed of light and there is an excellent international organization that has dedicated itself to preserving the beauty you have captured. Take a look at: http://www.darksky.org/.

    May 31, 2014
    • It is one of those funny things, I do love Australia, but we do spend a lot of time wishing we were somewhere else. and finally there is something that is great, we get to see the milky way really well, I’ve only just realised this. I love the night sky too, but I am a complete novice, I think I will have to start learning a lot more.

      Yes, cities are bad for it, I am so glad that I can get right away from the city if I want, and am planning another trip up to the Mallee for the next new moon, so many nights of star photos, I hope. Thanks for the link, I’ve been checking it out.

      May 31, 2014
  49. Stunning!

    May 31, 2014
  50. world webcams #

    I hope you start soon on the star trails Leanne and learn more about this subject. Tonight I will be looking for Saturn in the night sky and hopefully snap a few good images

    May 31, 2014
    • I will have to try them one day, they seem a lot more complicated and it seems you do need special software for them, but I might have a go the next time I go to the mallee, I hope you find Saturn, good luck.

      May 31, 2014
  51. Wow they look great!

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you, you should be able to get some not far from where you are.

      May 31, 2014
  52. Social Snappers — Love that, Leanne.

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you Elen, I love it too, let’s hope it catches on and my classes become popular.

      May 31, 2014
  53. Gorgeous!

    May 31, 2014
  54. The news blog is great too, by the way!

    May 31, 2014
    • Thanks again, I hope people do enjoy it.

      May 31, 2014
  55. So difficult to get these shots – the Milky Way is amazing

    June 3, 2014
    • Actually Diana, you would be surprised how easy it actually is, the hardest part if finding somewhere to take them. Thank you.

      June 3, 2014
  56. Brilliant (literally)!

    June 4, 2014
  57. These are so breathtaking!

    June 7, 2014
  58. daraghbeeston #

    Those pics are awesome. I’d love to be that good! Sm

    June 8, 2014
    • Photographing the milky way isn’t as hard as you think, the hardest part is finding somewhere where you can see it and the light pollution doesn’t ruin it. Thank you.

      June 8, 2014
  59. poppytump #

    Yes these ARE fantastic Leanne . And you’re right the Milky Way is more beautiful from observing from the Southern Hemisphere I read that too . I wish I’d properly read yours and John’s posts before … The thing is I like to save yours up for a really good peruse and then I miss something .. Lol anyway great post 🙂

    July 26, 2014
    • I am hoping to do a archives page, have started working on it, so people can find the posts more easily. I have heard that about the Southern Hemisphere, not so sure myself, but I will keep trying to get photographs of it. 🙂

      July 26, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Another Astro Photography night | John Holding

Comments are closed.

