Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – My Backyard through a Macro

Earlier in the week I mentioned that a very good friend of mine, perhaps the best photography buddy I have ever, had lent me her Canon 600D and 60mm Macro lens.  I have been playing with it on and off this last week, and today I thought I would give you a macro view of my backyard.  Though, some really is my backyard, I also mean in the area I live, so this morning I went out to the park and got some photos of it as well.

 

LeanneCole-macro-20140530-0011As I was getting into the car I could see that we were going to have a beautiful sunrise and I ummed and ahhed about whether or not I should try and capture it.  In the end I decided that I had the wrong camera, or really, the wrong lens with me, and by the time I got into position it would be gone.  So I decided not to worry about it, but when I got to where I wanted to take photos I decided to try one with the macro lens, and this was the result.

LeanneCole-macro-20140530-0028I think we forget too that a macro can also be used as a normal lens.  This is a little spot I recently discovered and it is one I would like to return to.  My own little waterfall to experiment on.

LeanneCole-macro-20140530-0050I got a bug, at least I think that is what it is.  I don’t really know.  I took the image and didn’t realise that anything was there until I got it on the computer.  I was experimenting with a smaller depth of field.

LeanneCole-macro-20140530-9944I also picked a few flowers from the garden and tried photographing them inside.  It was so hard doing it outside without a tripod.  It good inside, so much better.

LeanneCole-macro-20140530-0005I picked some dandelions as well, sprayed them with water and took some photos.  Then I thought, what would happen if I put them in the freezer and the water froze on them.  Quite a great effect, but I have to warn you, the stalks don’t cope and they go all limp, and fall over.  You have to be quick.   I love dandelions, the little stalk things are like the illustrations they show you of the neurons in our brains.  I wonder if that is why we like that.  Just saying.

I am going to leave it there, and just leave the gallery for you to enjoy.  Some of the images are a bit fuzzy, sorry. I had to use manual focus, and well, my eye sight isn’t as good as it used to be.  Happy clicking this weekend.

115 Comments
  1. Really great photographs! Now I feel like taking flower photos, too.

    May 31, 2014
    • Then you better go and do some, haha, thank you.

      May 31, 2014
  2. They are so lovely!

    May 31, 2014
  3. So nice Leanne! As always your photography is wonderful, I need to get out and wander with my camera, am hoping now to do that very soon. You give me inspiration through your eyes.!

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you, no time like the present, or maybe it is night there, still hopefully you get a great weekend to get out and take photos. I have a few trips planned actually. I’m excited to see what I can get.

      May 31, 2014
  4. Gorgeous photos. The dandelions are my favourites.

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you, I love those, so glad I could finally have a go at doing some.

      May 31, 2014
  5. gbudavid #

    I just got a Nikon Micro yesterday Am having fun experimenting:)

    May 31, 2014
    • You can’t leave it there, which one did you get? I am so jealous, I really want one too.

      May 31, 2014
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Looking at the images I just realized that almost everything in nature has some type of patterns. That is a bug, I think, but I can’t be sure either. 🙂 Have a fun weekend!

    May 31, 2014
    • I think you are right Jackie, I noticed that on a couple of the images as well. Thanks Jackie, I think it might be a bug too, 🙂 you have a great weekend too.

      May 31, 2014
  7. Beautiful!

    May 31, 2014
  8. Awesome pics! I would love a good macro lens for my camera!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    May 31, 2014
    • You and me both Lisa, it will be a while before I can get one. Thanks

      May 31, 2014
  9. I have actually used my 105mm macro lens as a telephoto lens.

    Tamara

    May 31, 2014
    • It would be good for that too, I also hear the 105 is fantastic as a portrait lens. I will have to try one day, if I ever get one. Thanks Tamara.

      May 31, 2014
      • I have also heard it is great for portraits….taking photos of people makes me nervous. That’s why I stick to making portraits of flowers!

        Tamara

        May 31, 2014
      • I don’t think you are alone there Tamara, I think many feel the same way. Flowers are good, they don’t tell you how they think you should photograph them.

        May 31, 2014
    • I have used my 105mm macro on my D300 effectively turning it into a 155mm and the results were stunning (in detail that is).

      May 31, 2014
  10. As usual some wonderful photos. Thanks, Leanne. The bug in your pic could be a Ladybird???

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you, yeah, I thought it probably would be too.

      May 31, 2014
  11. Beautiful.

    May 31, 2014
  12. Great photos. I have that lens and love it. It is a great macro and also a nice prime as well.

    May 31, 2014
    • Thanks Nora, it is a nice lens, I think my friend will love it when she gets used to it.

      May 31, 2014
  13. leecleland #

    The bug is a Ladybird, lots of different ones some beneficial some not. Come in yellow or orange with varying number of spots depending on type. Lesson over 🙂 the shots are marvellous, Leanne, so glad you had fun. It does show in the images I think.

    May 31, 2014
    • Cool, thanks Lee, glad I was right and there was something there. Thank you, I did have fun, I actually love getting out in the local park with my gum boots, must do it more. 🙂

      May 31, 2014
  14. Great images. So what did you think about Canon?

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you. The camera, it was good, it was nice. I don’t know what to say. I’ve used one before. I find some things tricky, like the spot focusing, and I find it hard to work out some things, but then again, I know my camera pretty well.

      May 31, 2014
  15. Love them all!!! the dew drops on the puffs are wonderful!!

    May 31, 2014
  16. LOVE the frozen water droplets on the dandelions – simply gorgeous – as are your other captures! 🙂

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you Joanne, I really like them too. Think I would do them again, but would attach something to the stalks first before freezing them.

      May 31, 2014
      • Great pics again Leanne …re the stalks, I once read of sticking a bamboo skewer up inside flower stalks (the sort you use with kebabs etc) but I’ve never tried it myself. Would dandelions be thick enough ? not sure.

        June 1, 2014
      • I don’t know Mike, I thought about tying one to it, I wasn’t interested in the stalk, or putting some wire around it. Thanks Mike

        June 1, 2014
  17. Wow! Stunning images Leanne! The ones of the dandelion and the purple flowers are exquisite!

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you, it is fun taking photos like this.

      May 31, 2014
  18. Willy Nilly #

    Great images! I look forward to each series. Also, love the contrast of iron and wood and the last image has wonderful symetry/geometry. Thank you!

    May 31, 2014
    • I like that contrast too, I like the green with it as well. Thank you.

      May 31, 2014
  19. Very nice, Leanne. Great detail!

    May 31, 2014
  20. Cripes Leanne, beautiful photos!

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you so much John, the macro is great to take photos with.

      May 31, 2014
  21. Loved the old wood and metal pictures. The frozen dandelion was gorgeous too, very creative. The bug gave me a smile because a very similar thing happened to me last week, I didn’t see two little moorehen chicks hiding behind grass until I sat at the computer.

    May 31, 2014
    • Don’t you love it when you get on the computer and discover you got something you didn’t know about? Thank you Tiny.

      May 31, 2014
  22. LOL! You’re so funny. I have the 105mm AF-D version of the Nikon macro lens, but I’ve played with the 60mm AF-D version and really liked it as well. I decided to get the longer range 105mm for bugs and portraits. I also love the 105mm for food and product photography.

    The AF-D version is only available on the used market now but, you can find them in excellent condition at good used stores. I found mine at KEH.com. No VR, but I wouldn’t use that anyway on a tripod or with a fast shutter speed.

    This is the second time you’ve played with a Macro lens. I think you should get one! You’re a natural using one. The images have all been top notch. Just sayin! 🙂

    May 31, 2014
    • Haha, I would love to get one, but I don’t have any money for one now. I will get one eventually, but I don’t know when. I need to sell more classes. Thank you.

      May 31, 2014
  23. gorgeous!

    May 31, 2014
  24. I think it’s a ladybeetle too. Nice photos of the dandelion.

    May 31, 2014
    • Seems to be the common thought Carol, that it is a ladybeetle. Thank you, I love the dandelion, think my favourite.

      May 31, 2014
  25. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    May 31, 2014
  26. Great photos as usual Leanne. I’m a sucker for rust, wood, dandelions and flowers. I love the purple flower, what sort is it? Absolutely beautiful. I sympathise re eye-sight! Do you remember the old viewers that had the two prisms(right word:?) that used to line up and then you knew if the picture was sharp, nowadays its hard for me to know if its sharp or not and it can be hit and miss on manual.

    May 31, 2014
    • I think I’m a sucker for them too. There is usually a thing inside the viewfinder that will tell you when it is in focus, though I didn’t look at it, I did better with the camera on the tripod. I do remember those, they were weird. Thank you Karen.

      May 31, 2014
  27. Beautiful! I love the image with the little bug, as well as the ones with the flower.

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you Ashley, the bug was a great surprise when I saw it on the computer.

      May 31, 2014
  28. adinalovescarebears #

    Reblogged this on Making The most of Your Time.

    May 31, 2014
  29. Gorgeous, I like the accidental composition of the little bug!

    May 31, 2014
    • I am the same Gypsy, it was a wonderful surprise.

      May 31, 2014
  30. myfeydandelion #

    wow, these are marvelous shots ❤

    May 31, 2014
  31. A great collection of details, Leanne. The moisture-laden dandelion clock is beautiful to look at.

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you Mike, I love those too, the dandelions were so delicate, a lot harder to photograph than I thought.

      May 31, 2014
      • Even the slightest breath of wind and you’re in trouble!

        May 31, 2014
      • Oh yes, or if you keep moving the plant accidently. It can be so frustrating.

        June 1, 2014
      • That’s not something even a tripod or a remote shutter release can cure. It’s in the lap of the gods!

        June 1, 2014
      • That is so true, which is really why I picked them and brought them inside to photography, figured it would be easier, more control.

        June 1, 2014
  32. leahnotlia #

    These are beautiful! I haven’t looked at a lot of macro photography, but this has really made me want to go check out more. Beautiful colors.

    May 31, 2014
    • There are some doing some amazing macro photography out there, absolutely wonderful, you will want to start doing it yourself, it is contagious. Thank you.

      May 31, 2014
  33. woah… stunning pictures! Love the feel of them… dreamy and warm!

    May 31, 2014
    • Thank you, it was nice playing with a macro lens, shame it has to go back.

      May 31, 2014
  34. Simply gorgeous pics!

    May 31, 2014
  35. Must admit I’ve always resisted the compulsion to get myself a macro lens – I have a feeling that it would start to rule my life! Great selection of images.

    May 31, 2014
    • You know what, I wish I had too, then I wouldn’t want a macro lens so much, haha. It is very addictive that’s for sure. Thanks Stephen.

      May 31, 2014
  36. Nice work with the macro – I really like my 60mm macro – works well with DX and FX cameras too.

    May 31, 2014
    • Thanks Robert, I think it is a nice macro, though I think I would like to get closer.

      June 1, 2014
  37. Your “little waterfall” would make a good fantasy picture showing a magnificent large waterfall scene. Very cool shot.

    June 1, 2014
    • Thank you, I like what you are saying there. Interesting.

      June 1, 2014
  38. Very nice pics with the macro. I had just recently read that you can use a macro for other things, some talk about portrait photos depending on the focal length. Since I have no use for protraits lol, I’d like to stick to very close ups. When I am laid up in the next few months, I hope to get a 105mm for my Nikon. With our fresh landscaping, I can hobble out to the “garden” and take pics! Or even pics of objects inside the house. It should be a fun challenge for me. Thank you for sharing these and for the inspiration to do this by the way.

    June 1, 2014
    • Yes, that’s true, the macro can then be a prime or fixed lens. I have heard the 105mm macro is a gorgeous portrait lens. I really hope you get it Laura, would be so good for you, perfect, you will be seeing your world very close up indeed. I was photographing my jewellery the other day. Thanks.

      June 1, 2014
      • Oh jewelry is a great idea. Maybe my scar would be good hahahaha

        June 1, 2014
      • Haha maybe, you might have to try it. It was fun doing the jewellery, I have just been trying to think of small things and then seeing how they photograph. Lots of fun.

        June 1, 2014
      • 😀

        June 1, 2014
  39. Good Macro work, I also pick flowers and bring them back for the ease of photographing them. Macro lense are quite flexible and worth the investment, something I need to do.

    June 1, 2014
    • I think it is much easier that way Ben, you miss the light, but you don’t have the frustrations of being outside. I will do it, but it won’t be for awhile, I really need to be earning more money first. Thanks

      June 1, 2014
  40. fncounter #

    beautifull… where this??

    June 1, 2014
    • Thank you, Heidelberg in Melbourne.

      June 1, 2014
  41. Great photos! I love your post processing work. I’m still trying to figure out a style for myself as I want to create more of a fine art photography look. I love doing long exposure on running water. I can’t get out and shoot today due to work but tomorrow I think my wife and I are going to the zoo with the kids. I’m probably going to use the 105mm macro lens I have. That’s what I used last time and it works out nice to have a little bit of the zoom range on it along with getting portrait shots of the kids. The ability with the shallow DOF also helps with getting some specialized shots in if I spot them as well. Such a versatile lens. One of my favorites. Happy shooting! 🙂

    June 1, 2014
    • Thank you, I didn’t do a lot of processing with these, they were just done with Lightroom. I love water and long exposures too. The zoo is a great place to get photos. Our zoo would be great for a macro. I do hope to get one one day, but it won’t be in the near future. Good luck. 🙂

      June 1, 2014
  42. I recently got a macro lens and have struggled to use it – not at all how I’m used to taking photos. Still I’m glad to have it in my lens collection. Some really nice shots here!

    June 1, 2014
    • They have quite a learning curve, don’t they. I thought I would be fine with it too, seems one of the tricks is to use a tripod, and manual focusing. I did a post a couple of months back and some people gave some wonderful advice. I might do a up for discussion post on it in a couple of weeks. Thank you.

      June 1, 2014
  43. macro can be sooo amazing! keep yr eye out for more ladybugs!! : )) love the c watefall…you are a n inspiration thanks trees

    June 1, 2014
    • It can be, it will be nice when I can my own and really start trying things out. Thank you Trees.

      June 1, 2014
  44. Wow! I knew lots of plants! And… Many of them grow in Russia ))

    June 1, 2014
    • I don’t that many of the ones I photographed are really unique to Australia, you probably know them more than me, I’m hopeless with plants. Thank you.

      June 1, 2014
  45. these photos are stunning! I love the dew drops on the dandelions.

    June 1, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, I love those as well.

      June 1, 2014
  46. poppytump #

    Oh wow Leanne .. *Love* these … and to say anything else would be superfluous Lol

    June 1, 2014
    • Thank you Poppytump, I love the macro, can’t wait to get my own.

      June 1, 2014
  47. A backyard waterfall, that’s what I need. 🙂

    June 2, 2014
    • I don’t know how often it runs, but we have been having so much rain lately, I’m sure I will have plenty of time to get more. 🙂
      Something really, that we all should have.

      June 2, 2014
  48. Wow Leanne … very special pics. 🙂

    June 2, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, all taken where we are going to go. 🙂

      June 2, 2014
  49. i like what i see

    June 3, 2014
    • Very Kath and Kim, LOL,
      I’m glad you like what you see, thanks

      June 4, 2014
  50. I love the textures of these photos.

    June 7, 2014
    • Thank you, macro can give you some great stuff.

      June 7, 2014

Comments are closed.

