Skip to content

Monochrome Madness Week 15

Welcome to another week of Monochrome Madness. A much smaller collection this week.  Still lots of great images to look at.

Dandelion, Monochrome Madness

I took this image recently when my friend lent me her macro lens.  There are lots of these in my garden, and this one was taken in the backyard.

sponge-copy

Laura Macky has done it all now, and the kitchen sick, sorry Laura I had to say something.  If you would like more information about her image, she has written a post called the Kitchen Sink. Laura is a wonderful person and has written a post on how you can help me, Monochrome Madness – Your Help Needed.

Again, for those that have submitted images, please remember to check your images for comments left by other people.  If you would like to enter, then please follow all the instructions laid out at the end of this post. If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it is before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it is after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.

Please enjoy this week’s gallery of monochrome images.

Now, if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be as small as it can be, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it.

Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.  I respect your copyright and would never keep any of the images.

114 Comments
  1. Nice

    June 11, 2014
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Great photos! Oh gosh, I love them all! The dandelion, the hats, the people, the animals and alligator, the barn, the tunnel, the steps — everything! In my next life I want to be a photographer!

    June 11, 2014
    • Why can’ you be one in this life Jackie? That is wonderful, great to hear you like so many.

      June 11, 2014
  3. Lisa #

    I like them all, but the croc is great!

    June 11, 2014
  4. I blogged the story here Leanne http://suzjones.wordpress.com/2014/06/11/monochrome-madness/

    June 11, 2014
    • Thank you for the link, would you like me change the link in the post to this one.

      June 11, 2014
  5. Really interesting to see quite a few architectural pieces shot with a similar perspective this week! Even though there aren’t quite as many images as last week it’s still a really great looking challenge post 🙂 Thank you Leanne!!

    June 11, 2014
    • I was think the same Sarah, and yes not as many, but it doesn’t detract from the quality, I don’t mind there no being as many. You’re welcome, I love the way you respond to each image, so thank you for that.

      June 11, 2014
      • I find it far easier to get involved with liking and making comments on other contributors photos in your challenge than many others with links rather than a gallery! It’s more work for you but just so much nicer to actually see everyone’s images up together 🙂 I’ll always try to look through the whole gallery and leave comments! I think it’s important and respectful. Thanks Leanne 🙂

        June 11, 2014
      • No not more work for me, I just approve them and tell the people who have contributed to respond to the comments on their photos. They have all been told, so will be interesting to see if they do.

        June 11, 2014
      • I’ll check the posts tomorrow! It’s nice to get a dialogue going 🙂

        June 11, 2014
      • It is, I love it when people are having a conversation through my blog. It is like I am eavesdropping, just fantastic.

        June 11, 2014
      • It’s virtual people watching!!! I love people watching, it’s a great hobby 🙂

        June 11, 2014
      • I think so too. 🙂

        June 11, 2014
      • 🙂

        June 11, 2014
  6. Great photos, found you through Sue, you got a new follower too 🙂

    June 11, 2014
    • Thank you, welcome to my blog. Sue is wonderful, how amazing and powerful is her image today? 🙂

      June 11, 2014
      • Thank you 🙂
        Sue is a wonderful soul and very powerful with a kind heart 🙂

        June 11, 2014
      • I think so too. 🙂

        June 11, 2014
  7. I always look forward to Monochrome Madness Wednesday! It never disappoints.

    June 11, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear Elen.

      June 11, 2014
  8. Gorgeous B&W’s.

    June 11, 2014
  9. I also look forward to your Wednesdays on my Tuesday evenings! A great collection of amazing images again.

    June 11, 2014
    • That is wonderful Tiny, maybe one week you might send in an image. Another collection of amazing image.

      June 11, 2014
  10. Leanne, in Laura’s post, she mentions that she saw her photo opportunity in black and white (I ribbed her about crossing to the dark side :)). But in all seriousness, this marvelous monochrome forum is teaching me, and I would daresay, many others “new” to monochrome how to do just what Laura says. And the benefits of looking for the contrast that is needed for a great monochrome image spills over to color photography as well, improving both mediums. Such an inspired challenge. As in everything you do, you continue to help teach those who follow your work. It cant be said enough, thanks to both you and Laura for this challenge.

    Now having said all that, I love your photo. I think you did a superb job with the macro lens. The details in the flower (to me it looks like a dandelion gone to seed, but I’m not sure), the depth of field. and the beautiful contrast between the flower and the background is just stunning!

    June 11, 2014
    • I suppose it is a different way of thinking, you do have to think about what will work and what won’t. You do get better at judging it. That is wonderful to hear, I was worried that people might be starting to get a bit sick of it, but if people still want it, I will keep doing it.

      Thank you for what you said about my image. I have no idea what stage it is at, it is a dandelion, haha. I made the background a little darker so it would stand out more.

      June 11, 2014
  11. smaller maybe but interesting and amazing images.

    June 11, 2014
    • I totally agree, and thank you for leaving comments on individual images, I think that is a lovely thing to do.

      June 11, 2014
      • You are very welcome. I enjoy leaving feedback. They are all so unique!! I have to get other work done too- like dishes and weed pulling lol!!

        June 11, 2014
      • Those things can always wait

        June 11, 2014
  12. Wow…first, the smaller group definitely not detract from the quality. The quality here is extremely high. I love your dandelion Leanne. It inspires me to get that macro lens. 🙂 They are all amazing. I usually go to people’s links to comment on their photos but perhaps commenting here would be best since you’ve encouraged it. I like that idea! I’m going to the gallery now and leave some comments. Shocking I know. 😛

    June 11, 2014
    • I agree, I think the smaller group is nice. Thank you Laura, I found it when I was looking through my photos. It isn’t that I encourage it, it is more that people do comment on peoples photos, and I wasn’t sure anyone realised. I know people like others going to their sites too. Will have to see what people think of it.

      June 11, 2014
      • It’s good you mentioned it. I’m going to check them in a little bit. I like seeing them in my stream rather than trying to find them on the sites. Sometimes it’s not easy to find them!

        June 11, 2014
      • I think some put up photos that aren’t on their sites, I just put my website so I can put something.

        June 12, 2014
      • Yeah, actually I kinda like being able to comment here on your site rather than going to the individual ones because a lot of times they aren’t even there like you said. Thanks for letting me know.

        June 12, 2014
      • No problem.

        June 12, 2014
  13. Oh your monochrome madness took my breath away. So much emotion in these captures.

    June 11, 2014
    • Thank you, we are getting so many great entries Emily.

      June 11, 2014
  14. Great set of images as always. Monochrome Madness is something that I’m starting to look forward to week after week. It is nice to be able to view the work of different photographers. Now I wish I had the time to look at more of their photos. 10 hours at work plus preparing and cooking supper then helping get the kids ready for bed barely leaves me with enough time to post my photo of the day and check a few other things. The weekends are always filled with catching up with other things. Maybe one of these days…

    June 11, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear Justin, I look forward to it as well, it is hard keeping up with everything, but I think we all understand and we all do what we can. One day for all of us.

      June 11, 2014
  15. Another beautiful set!!!

    June 11, 2014
  16. great photos, many thanks Leanne. I love so many of them, however the hats are simply outstanding ! thanks, D.

    June 11, 2014
    • That is wonderful Daniel, there are many great ones. The hats are great.

      June 11, 2014
  17. 🙂 procrastination is the secret of a stress free life.

    June 11, 2014
    • LOL, is that right Cybele. 🙂

      June 11, 2014
  18. Great Images again from everyone. I think that 40 is possibly a good number of images, for Leanne to upload and for a viewer to properly look at.

    June 11, 2014
    • I think you could be right Ben, I think if there are more next week, I might show them on my other blog.

      June 11, 2014
      • Yeah that sounds like a good idea, like an overflow post.

        June 11, 2014
      • Yes, exactly. I also don’t have any issues with space over there because it is self hosted.

        June 11, 2014
  19. Small selection this week Leanne, but still packs a mighty punch. A great standard of images. I really like the Dandelion. As kids we called them Jinny-joe’s and would spend hours blowing the seeds all over the garden 🙂
    Its getting harder each week to pick a favourite and this week is no exception, from start to finish, a great bunch of shots.

    Well done to everyone 🙂

    Eddie

    June 11, 2014
    • It certainly does Ed. Thank you, I’ve never heard of them being called that before. I can remember blowing the seeds as a kid too.
      It is a great week. 🙂

      June 11, 2014
  20. CG suggested I visit! So glad I did. Wonderful gallery!

    June 11, 2014
  21. I had 2 thoughts when I saw the gallery. 1. Wow! 2. Which picture will I send to Leanne next time? 🙂

    June 11, 2014
    • I think they are both fantastic thoughts Ingrid. 🙂

      June 11, 2014
  22. A really great set of photos again! Thank you for including mine! 🙂

    June 11, 2014
    • No thanks needed, thank you for wanting to be part of it.

      June 11, 2014
  23. A wonderful gallery, Leanne. Enjoyed them all. 🙂

    June 11, 2014
  24. Just wanted to thank peeps for the comments on my photo! They’re much appreciated, I particularly like the feedback about the overall design 🙂 There seems to be a bug in the WP system stopping me from adding more comments within the gallery. I’ll be posting the colour image along with the B&W on my blog later. It’s a fascinating flower! Whenever the sun catches the flower heads they just burst with light which is why I wanted to convert the image to B&W and emphasize the glow 🙂

    June 12, 2014
    • It is so weird that, I have seen that before, WP will only allow so many comments per image, so silly really. I might say something about it to them, see if it can be changed. That flower sounds so interesting, what sort of flower is it?

      June 12, 2014
      • That does seem a bit peculiar! You know, I’m always so entranced by the blooms I keep forgetting to look at the name label 😮 I’ll try to find it for my post!

        June 12, 2014
      • I can look at the name on the label, and then I just forget, I am terrible when it comes to the names of flowers.
        It is weird, they do do some funny things from time to time.

        June 12, 2014
      • I’ve taken to photographing the labels of plants that I don’t know or ones that have really unusual names! I get distracted though 😉

        June 12, 2014
      • That is such a good idea, I should do that as well. I know what you mean about getting distracted, I always forget to do things that I think I should do.

        June 12, 2014
      • lol 😉

        June 12, 2014
  25. another great batch! I really like your dandelion. How do you get it to have a black background?

    The cat is my other favorite today.

    June 12, 2014
    • Thank you Nia, it isn’t quite black, but it was taken with a dark area behind so I just darkened the background some more.
      The cat is very popular today.

      June 12, 2014
      • That’s what I don’t know how to do. Separate “background” so it can be manipulated independently. But with the dandelion, if the background was different enough, I would do select by color on the dandelion, cut it out, darken the background, I bet that’s not what you did, though!

        The cat is intense. The eyes. Also a very simple composition, like yours.

        I will send another photo.

        My browser wasn’t showing me comments, so if anyone commented on any of my photos, I haven’t been able to reply. 😦

        June 13, 2014
      • I sent you an email Nia, and we can work on that.

        That would be great, and not sure what is happening with the comments, WP just say if they can do it, then there isn’t a problem. Others have had trouble too.

        June 13, 2014
      • maybe you can say something in the post that if someone comments on a photo and the author doesn’t get back to them, it’s because they can’t see it and perhaps it’s better to go and comment on that person’s blog

        June 13, 2014
      • I don’t know what to do, really, though I have noticed that many people didn’t realise that people were commenting on their individual photos. Also there seems to be a limit to how many replies you can have. The other think is that some people haven’t realise you have to scroll down to see them.

        June 13, 2014
  26. I’m wondering if it would be fun to have a contest on MMC sometime. Maybe you and I would not be able to enter, but we could select some of the best we’ve seen and put them in a gallery…like maybe ten or so and let people vote. Just a thought. I’m loving having a smaller gallery actually and like the idea that was suggested here before about putting the rest on your other blog.

    June 12, 2014
    • I think a few people talked about that at the start and we were worried that people wouldn’t enter because they might feel too much pressure, and they may not submit images. I don’t know.
      I think I will do that from now on, have the first 40 here and the rest over there. The smaller gallery has been good.

      June 12, 2014
      • I like the idea too…it makes it easier to view. We can always change it if people are vehemently against it.

        June 12, 2014
      • That is true, I might have to do it a little differently on my website though, I might have to show the photo, and then put the link underneath each one. The galleries don’t work the same way on site.

        June 12, 2014
      • Well that will still work I think. I sure wish I could help with all this.

        June 12, 2014
      • I think so too. It will be first in first serve at this stage.

        June 12, 2014
      • Sounds good.

        June 12, 2014
  27. Reblogged this on dapontephotography and commented:
    Great Photos At Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness from so many great photographers. Check it out!

    June 12, 2014
  28. Amazing set by everyone involved! Leanne, I think it’s so funny that you posted the dandelion because I took a similar one with my phone the other day at the park with my kids. I wanted to see if I could shoot into the sun and get a backlit scene with my phone. It sort of worked.

    June 12, 2014
    • Dandelions would have to be the most photographed things on the planet don’t you think? Well pretty close to. It would be hard doing that with the phone. I was doing something similar yesterday, with DSLR and my phone, the DSLR really did it so much better, I mean so much better it wasn’t funny.

      June 12, 2014
      • I would agree about the dandelions, and yes, the DSLR should do a much better job. I was just playing with my boys at the park and thought I’d spend thirty seconds and give it a try. It was ok but nothing spectacular.

        June 12, 2014
      • I do like playing with camera on the phone though, always good to play with and see what you can do. Some things are good, some not so good.

        June 12, 2014
  29. These are all wonderful… What a fantastic idea! 😀

    June 13, 2014
    • They are great Keli, it is wonderful seeing what people submit each week. 🙂

      June 13, 2014
  30. Nel #

    Excellent selection. I’ll give this a shot next time. 🙂

    June 16, 2014
    • Oh that would be wonderful Nel, please do. 🙂

      June 16, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Duomo di Milano | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  2. Monochrome Madness | It Goes On
  3. Returning to the Scene | Applying for an Artistic License
  4. The Kitchen Sink – Monochrome Madness | Laura Macky
  5. Monochrome Around the House | J.T. Avery Photography
  6. Monochrome Madness ~ Week 15 | Fine Arts Journal
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Room (3) | Visual Venturing
  8. Negative Space – Monochrome Madness | Cardinal Guzman
  9. Hello Again Madness! (Blog Diary) | Blue Spectrum Photography
  10. Droplets II | Capturing Little Moments
  11. A couple of Black and White fisheye photos of Bangkok | Changes in latitude, changes in attitude
  12. Monochrome Madness 15: Big Bird and Small Birds | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  13. A rose by any other name | Nia Simone, Author
  14. Hidden Treasures | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  15. Monochrome Madness – Scroll | Scene by Minerva
  16. Monochrome Madness in Two Places | Blue Spectrum Photography

Comments are closed.

