Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Fitzroy Gardens Part 1

Fitzroy Gardens are on the edge of the city, sort of behind Parliament House.  They are quite extensive and beautiful.  I haven’t been there for years, but I travel past them every time I go to the city on the train. It looks like these gardens are almost as old as Melbourne with a history going back to 1848.  Melbourne is a young city, when compared to so many around the world, settlement started in the 1830’s.

LeanneCole-melbourne-fitzroygardens-20140611-0933

There are lots of parks around Melbourne, at one stage we called ourselves the Garden State, but most of those are really parks, like the ones around me are more like what is naturally here.  On the other hand you have gardens like these, designed by gardeners thinking of Mother England and therefore are very English in their design.  They are the type of garden where you can see the four seasons, especially Autumn.  I am sure that I have mentioned before that the trees in most of Australia don’t lose their leaves in winter.  They stay green all year round, so trees that do, stand out so much.

LeanneCole-melbourne-fitzroygardens-20140611-0937

Captain Cooks cottage is also found here.  Of course Captain Cook never lived in Melbourne, doubt he even visited the area either, and why we ended up with it is anyone’s guess, you would think Sydney would have been a better choice.  Captain Cook is the British Captain who apparently “discovered” Australia in 1770.  This was his cottage in England and it was taken apart and brought here and reconstructed.  I didn’t go in, they wanted money to go inside, and well, I get a little sick of the hand out for money all the time.  I wish sometimes they would give the people who live here, the people who have paid for these things through their taxes, GST, etc, a discount.  Like a loyalty card for repeat returns.  I didn’t go, so only took photos from the outside.  I have been in it before, a long time ago and well, you pretty much walk in and then straight out again.

LeanneCole-melbourne-fitzroygardens-20140611-0960

I have seen this building on the train a lot, the Conservatory.  I know it was one, but had never been in it before.  Was so happy you could just walk in.  I do love the style of the building from the outside.

LeanneCole-melbourne-fitzroygardens-20140611-0976

There were lots of flowers, and water features inside, it was really nice.  My friend and I just walked around taking photos of all the flowers.  I was using my 24-70mm for these.  I was really surprised at good they came out, and how close I can get with that lens.  I might have to see if I can get some better extension tubes for that lens.

LeanneCole-melbourne-fitzroygardens-20140611-1050

Back outside and back into Autumn, though it is now winter, it was one of those days where it felt like Autumn.  The sun was shining, it wasn’t cold and as you can see the leaves are still changing colours and dropping. Autumn has been very late there this year, we didn’t think it was going.

The gardens were so big, and walked around most of it, but I got so many photos that I decided to divide this into two posts, so I will show you the remaining photos next Saturday.  I do have a gallery for you, with more photos from the conservatory and a few from outside.  Next week I will have more outside shots for you.  Enjoy your weekend and happy snapping.

 

 

83 Comments
  1. Beautiful photos, as always 😉

    June 14, 2014
  2. Beautiful Leanne! Have a great weekend!

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Jessica, you have one too.

      June 14, 2014
  3. Nice tour.

    We have our share of parks/gardens requiring an admittance charge of some sort. Here, they call it an “admittance donation”. For the state and national parks, I don’t mind the charge since the money is used to maintain the picnic and camping areas.

    June 14, 2014
    • I don’t mind paying a small fee, but some of the prices for things we have to pay to get into are just too high, stops people from going. We wonder sometimes whether the attractions are here just to rip off tourists and who cares about the rest of us. Thanks David.

      June 14, 2014
  4. I just love paths in wooded scenes. Magical.

    June 14, 2014
    • I love them too, I must go looking for some around here. Thank you.

      June 14, 2014
  5. What a beautiful place, Leanne! Have a fine weekend too.

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you John, I can’t believe it took me so long to go there, can’t wait to go back now that I know what is there again. Have a great weekend too.

      June 14, 2014
  6. phrenzel #

    another weekend wandering comes across my desk. This really shows me how quickly time goes by. Nice photos.

    June 14, 2014
    • I hope that is good, and you enjoy seeing them, but you are right, it does go by so quickly. Thank you.

      June 14, 2014
  7. Absolutely beautiful!

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Dawn.

      June 14, 2014
      • Mu pleasure, thanks for sharing your lovely photography with us! I just love looking at your photos. I feel like I’m traveling with you. 🙂

        June 14, 2014
      • Oh, thank you Dawn, I will try and do more travelling for you now. I do like to hear that people enjoy these. 😀

        June 14, 2014
      • 🙂

        June 14, 2014
  8. Thank you for a very nice tour.

    June 14, 2014
    • You are very welcome, glad you enjoyed it, thank you.

      June 14, 2014
  9. Wow this is some very beautiful photos and a nice post 🙂

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Irene, such a beautiful place to photograph, I am sure anyone would get great photos. 🙂

      June 14, 2014
      • Maybe, but not all have the spirit to catch the perfect motive 🙂

        June 14, 2014
      • Thank you so much Irene. 🙂

        June 14, 2014
  10. another beautiful oasis!!

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I can’t wait to go back and see what it is like in other seasons.

      June 14, 2014
  11. Great photos!

    June 14, 2014
  12. One of the first things the Tween (who was quite young the first time we went to Melbourne) did when we arrived at the airport was run outside to play in the Autumn leaves. We don’t get them in Qld. lol Beautiful shots Leanne.

    June 14, 2014
    • I did not know that Suz, is it because it doesn’t get cold enough? I do love Autumn, feel a bit ripped off for the one we have had this year, too wet, and not enough beautiful days. Thank you.

      June 14, 2014
      • Not here in south-east Qld it doesn’t. It is very rare to see a deciduous tree.

        June 15, 2014
      • I suppose it is because it is too dry, those sorts of trees do require a lot of water, which is probably why they aren’t native to the country and why they do well in Melbourne, lots of rain.

        June 15, 2014
      • More than likely. There are a few trees around but they are very few and far between. 🙂 Right now looking outside my window, all I can see it green.

        June 15, 2014
      • I used to see the same out my windows, but I have been planting more trees that will go a lovely colour and then drop their leaves, shade in the summer and sun in the winter. 🙂 That’s the plan.

        June 15, 2014
  13. beautiful photos and amazing blog

    June 14, 2014
  14. Just beautiful Leanne!

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Anne, it was the perfect day for taking photos there.

      June 14, 2014
  15. A beautiful place! … and beautifully photographed!

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Ludwig, it is a gorgeous garden.

      June 14, 2014
  16. Beautiful photos, I especially like the one with the park bench.

    Tamara

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Tamara, I liked that one too, something about them in parks.

      June 14, 2014
  17. Years ago I had regular visits to the Mercy Hospital after which I would walk back through the Fitzroy Gardens. Nearly always managed to get lost, probably still would. The walk was so relaxing.

    June 14, 2014
    • I can understand that, it is huge, and I can understand why you would find it relaxing. Thank you.

      June 14, 2014
  18. Wow If I went there I would never want to leave! Fantastic Pictures Leanne!

    June 14, 2014
    • For me the lucky thing is I can go anytime I want. Thank you Fabio, have a great weekend.

      June 14, 2014
  19. I spend a heap of time in this park, particularly around this time of the year. It is our favourite parking spot during MIFF…. bit of a walk but who’s complaining when this is what we get to walk through.
    Terry

    June 14, 2014
    • I know what you mean Terry, I think this time of the year would be the best, so colourful. Thank you Terry.

      June 14, 2014
  20. The thing I love most about winter in Australia is that even when it is really cold there is still colour in the gardens. I really like the design of the Conservatory. Is it art deco in design?

    June 14, 2014
    • I agree Carol, I think sometimes that winter is more colourful than summer, our summers are so brown. I think it is Carol, though not really sure, but I thought it was art deco when I saw it. Thanks Carol.

      June 14, 2014
  21. Thank you for liking “Beautiful and Bizarre Butterflies and Moths.” Wonderful work on this post! 🙂 I enjoyed looking at your beautiful photos and reading the background information about Fitzroy Gardens. It is late spring here in California, and I am still getting used to the idea that the seasons are reversed on the other side of the world.

    June 14, 2014
    • YOu are welcome, and thank you, That is great to hear, it is such a beautiful place. It is strange, the different hemispheres and the different seasons, I am getting used to it now.

      June 14, 2014
  22. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Melbourne is beautiful here! You speak of the history in that area, you must mean the English settlers. Like the U.S., Australia had indigenous people before they arrived. That cottage is very austere; it looks well kept. The flowers are unusual and pretty. I like the roadway and path, especially those of cobblestones.

    June 14, 2014
    • Yes, that is what I mean Jackie, we use words like settlement and discovery, when it was all just plain invasion and taking the land away from the indigenous population. Thank you Jackie.

      June 14, 2014
  23. This is such a brilliant post! I love so many of the photos, but my favourites were- the avenue of trees-but why did the trees have black bands around the trunks?
    And the one with the seat. The empty seat spoke so much more powerfully of thought and contemplation than if there were people on it.
    And I discovered new things. I really did not know that your trees did not shed their leaves in the Winter. I also loved Cpt Cook’s cottage….I would love that in my garden as a place for guests to stay. Yes, I am in the realms of fantasy now, but wouldn’t it be lovely?
    Really great post Leanne.
    Karen.

    June 14, 2014
    • Thank you Karen, though I think some of the best photos I have saved for next week. Some of my favourites anyway.
      Yes, in the more natural areas of Melbourne and Australia they stay green all year round, even in the snow. I like your fantasy, it is very nice, it is a gorgeous cottage, hard to believe that people lived in homes like that once, so small.

      June 14, 2014
  24. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    June 14, 2014
  25. Gorgeous photos, love the flower shots!!

    June 14, 2014
  26. My favorite outings are meandering through gardens. There are flowers or garden sculptures
    placed in random yet perfect locations.
    I just photographed lots of bromeliads at an orchid garden I recently visited. Your photos are exceptional.

    June 14, 2014
    • They are a great way of spending a few hours, especially when you have a camera.
      thank you.

      June 14, 2014
  27. Thank you for this wonderful tour of Melbourne. The photos are stunning.

    June 14, 2014
    • You are welcome, great you enjoyed it, thank you.

      June 14, 2014
  28. mayurwagh #

    Hi!!!!!!!!

    Beutifully Captured!!!

    June 15, 2014
  29. Thank you for the tour. They are all amazing images once again. I love the one with the park bench because it really conveyed autumn to me. that 20-70 lens is amazing and how close you can get. I also love the one that shows the path and those huge trees. They are gorgeous!

    June 15, 2014
    • I know, Laura, it is an amazing lens. I was really disappointed with it when I first got it, but with the full frame camera it is my favourite I think. I certainly use it more than any other lens. Thank you Laura, wait till you see part 2.

      June 15, 2014
      • For my DX I think the 17-55mm would be a good choice. It’s also a 2.8. It seems I’d like a whole new fleet of lenses. 🙂

        June 15, 2014
      • The 2.8 lenses are usually fantastic quality, and you get such nice images. I am the same, I would love some prime lenses I think. 🙂

        June 15, 2014
      • I love my 35mm….it’s a great lens and 1.8!

        June 15, 2014
      • I think that will be my next lens, or the macro, not sure yet.

        June 15, 2014
  30. Lovely series Leanne, especially the avenue of trees.

    June 15, 2014
    • Thank you Mark, I’ve always been partial to avenues of trees, there is something about them.

      June 15, 2014
  31. The no rock sitting sign is pretty humorous. Beautiful gardens – lucky you!

    June 15, 2014
    • I had to take the photo of the sign I thought it was so funny, so out of place really. Thank you, I am lucky, that is one thing that Melbourne really has excelled in, there are gardens and parks everywhere.

      June 15, 2014
  32. Looks like a great place to visit. If/when I visit Australia I think I’ll possibly make it through quite a few of the park/gardens. I always like visiting places like that. Can’t wait to see part 2! 🙂

    June 15, 2014
    • There are so many to choose from, maybe in the end I can help you work out which ones. This one is very close to the city, and very easy to get to. Thanks Justin.

      June 15, 2014
  33. Lovely. It’s interesting that Melbourne was founded around the same time as the town in which I live in Texas. I live an hour from San Antonio but that was founded in the 1600’s. Thank you for sharing. Australia is on my travel bucket list and now I have an idea of some things to see in Melbourne.

    June 16, 2014
    • We are a young city, but we were also a very rich city in the early days, Melbourne really prospered from the gold rush. It really helped Melbourne grow. We are now fast becoming the largest city in Australia, already in land mass, but will take over from Sydney in the next years with population as well. Will be interesting to see what happens if we are the largest city in Australia. Australia would be a great place to visit, and I try and show as much of Melbourne as I can. Thank you.

      June 16, 2014
  34. As I do the same I really enjoy your parks and garden walks!

    June 16, 2014
    • That is wonderful Gypsy, more photos of them next weekend. Thank you.

      June 16, 2014
  35. I love a good bench with a tree.

    June 19, 2014
    • I have to say I am becoming a fan of it as well. Thanks Elen

      June 19, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings – Fitzroy Gardens Part 2 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

