Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Winter In Banyule

There is a festival here called that, I haven’t done anything in it so far.  It really hasn’t been something that I’ve been interested in really.  They do run some great programs, but really, this post is more about where I live and yesterday I went out to see if I could get more autumn colours around here.  There are some parks, like Warringal Parklands, in Heidelberg, that have trees that are deciduous, so the leaves have changed.  It is still incredible that we are in June, and the trees are still changing colours and losing their leaves.

LeanneCole-melbourne-banyule-warringal parklands-20140614-1291

Some have done it and are ready for winter.

LeanneCole-melbourne-banyule-warringal parklands-20140614-1296

While there are plenty of others still in the process.

I have spoken about the rain before, haven’t I?  It has been an unusual autumn this year.  Normally the best time of the year to be in Melbourne is autumn, however this year, it has been terrible.  We have had so much rain, it hasn’t been really cold, and the poor plants are so confused, they don’t know what is happening.  Lose leaves, or not.  Speaking of rain, that is what I encountered yesterday when I went out.  More rain.

LeanneCole-melbourne-banyule-warringal parklands-20140614-1396

Aussie Rules football is massive here, everywhere, so on Saturdays in just about any park you can find grown men chasing a red oval shaped ball around the field.  I took photos of this one, because I liked the colours of the trees in the background.  Most of those should have lost their leaves by now, but they are hanging on.

LeanneCole-melbourne-banyule-warringal parklands-20140614-1380

There were a bunch of Sulphur-Crested Cockatoos having a feed under some pine trees.  They always seem to be in large groups. I had the wrong lens on of course, I did what I could.

LeanneCole-melbourne-banyule-warringal parklands-20140614-1430

It was really nice, I explored some areas I haven’t explored before.  I think that is possibly one of the best things about doing posts on places close to home, it forces me to see areas I hadn’t seen before.  I went to one area, that I knew was there, but never been to before.  There is so much parkland around here, I don’t know that I will ever see it all.

LeanneCole-melbourne-banyule-warringal parklands-20140614-1483

It had been raining very lightly while I was taking photos, but as I was heading back to the car it got very dark and as I got home it rained, and rained.  I had intended to go out later, so I was very glad I’d decided to head out a little earlier.

I tried to get the number of images down, but I liked these so much, so there are quite a few, I’m sorry.  I could save them, but then I wouldn’t have a reason to go out again.  I hope you enjoy them and I hope you’ve been out taking photos too.

59 Comments
  1. A delightful colour palette today.

    June 15, 2014
    • Thank you, it is lovely to see all the colours of autumn, even if it is now winter.

      June 15, 2014
  2. The birds are beautiful, Leanne! And the two trees, looks as though they actually grew around each other? Very cool. The little tiled water drainage is nice too.

    June 15, 2014
    • The trees have grown together John, done many many years ago, I believe they call it the wishing tree. Thank you, it is a really nice spot to take photos.

      June 15, 2014
  3. Great photos. I love autumn too, even though the leaves are dying, they make the trees come alive with colour. 😀

    June 15, 2014
    • I think the same Raewyn, it is the most colourful time of the year, though you do have to have trees that change colours. I’m planting a lot in my garden, I love them. Thank you.

      June 15, 2014
  4. Good morning Leanne 🙂
    What an enjoyable wander with your camera. Such lovely peaceful Autumny images. The weather is crazy this year. We still have blossoms on one of the ornamental pears!
    Thanks for sharing your local wander. I enjoy these 🙂

    June 15, 2014
    • Good morning to you too Robyn 🙂
      How is there? Thank you, I enjoyed the wander too, I really need to do it more. It is crazy, I am finding the same thing, the trees don’t know whether to drop their leaves or hang onto them, and then the flowers, think spring is here, and then it gets cold again, they don’t know what is happening. My ornamental pear is really clinging to its leaves, though it is finally starting to change colours, it is so beautiful when it does. 🙂

      June 15, 2014
      • Morning 🙂
        Im in the city today and its cool and windy. By the fire kind of weather 🙂
        The farm is blustery, cloud to the ground and very cold today… Brrr
        The pears really are beautiful. The colours of the leaves are amazing!
        Have a great day!

        June 15, 2014
      • I love fires in weather like that. I love fires, but in spaces marked especially for them. It is cold here today, we haven’t seen much of the sun. Though I think it is meant to get better this week. I know what you mean, they go a beautiful red. I can’t wait for mine to get really big.
        Thanks Robyn, you have a great day too. 🙂

        June 15, 2014
  5. leecleland #

    Wonderful parklands you have to wander In Leanne. It is a pleasure to see with your eye the locality where you live. Wonderful trees. Send some of your rain up here we are desperately in need of a lot, the summer storms didn’t come this year and we are now in winter with traditionally no rain until late spring 😦 Not good for the farmers, but we’ve been having amazing sunsets, go figure!

    June 15, 2014
    • Thank you Lee, I am very lucky to live so close to so many. You can have all the rain Lee, we are over it, haha. I know what you mean about no rain, that often happens where my mum lives. We aren’t getting many nice sunsets, usually too overcast or the weather is not good enough for them. 😦

      June 15, 2014
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I keep forgetting you are in winter now! Banyule is lovely with the wild birds and the trees with roads/paths. We are enmeshed with the World Cup so SOCCER will be huge around my house. Some of the images really look cold and stormy. 🙂

    June 15, 2014
    • Oh yes, it is easy to forget, we don’t get snow or ice or any of those sort of things, we get frosts, fog and this year, lots and lots and lots of rain. Thank you Jackie, it is a lovely area. We don’t follow the World Cup. though I did hear Italy won their first game.

      June 15, 2014
  7. Seems very nice an peaceful – really like #1312 – like you had mr> Sun provide you with a needed spotlight on the tree to make it stand out. The rain has finally stopped here and I’m heading out tomorrow for a shoot.

    June 15, 2014
    • I know what you mean Robert, I think it was nearly the only time the sun shone while I was out. Lucky you, I think we still have lots more rain to come. I suspect it is going to be a very wet winter. I hope you get some great shots. Thanks

      June 15, 2014
  8. more beauty from down under!! Love these trees Leanne and the light in them.

    June 15, 2014
    • Oh yes, it is gorgeous down here at the moment, well when it isn’t raining, thanks Cybele.

      June 15, 2014
  9. omh, these are wonderful! : )

    June 15, 2014
  10. Nice post Leanne 🙂

    June 15, 2014
  11. A wonderful fall gallery! I really enjoyed the muted colors of nature.

    June 15, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, it is a gorgeous time to be here now, well except for the rain.

      June 15, 2014
  12. So much green in winter! I’m used to no green and snow when winter officially hits. Most of the time there’s snow when autumn is still around. I usually have a very small window of about 2-3 weeks to get autumn photos in before the leaves are all on the ground. Although I’d like to live in an area that snow is not common and it doesn’t get too hot in the summer like Ireland or parts of Australia, I think I may end up missing the amount of snow that comes around my area during the winter. I have found that I enjoy photographing more during the winter than any other season.

    I also think you are lucky to be living in an area with so many lovely things to photograph. I’d never be bored! 😀

    June 15, 2014
    • We don’t get snow, just lots of rain, so our winters are always like this. I would love to be somewhere where it snows, but then the grass is always greener somewhere else, I love taking photos during winter, it is so much more dramatic.
      Thank you Justin, Melbourne is a beautiful place to live.

      June 15, 2014
  13. I love it when the trees change colour in the Autumn, and I have enjoyed looking at your beautiful photos of the trees.

    June 15, 2014
    • So do I Colline, it is my favourite time of the year. Thank you.

      June 15, 2014
  14. It tried to rain here yesterday as well. Nice shots of the aerial ping pong! 😛

    June 15, 2014
    • I love that tried to rain, it definitely rained here, and I suspect we are in for more, I’m a bit over the rain. Haha, thank you.

      June 15, 2014
  15. Reblogged this on Crash Course.

    June 15, 2014
  16. I love to photograph trees. It started as an idea to help my mom when she paints. She was having trouble getting certain types of trees right. Then it evolved into a love of trees. The shape, the majesty, the age, and the wisdom soaked up from the earth, then pushed high into the sky on its boughs.

    June 15, 2014
    • My grandmother loved photographing trees, I like some, but it isn’t something I tend to do, just trees. That is such a nice thing to do for you mum. I love dead trees, I love how they look. Thank you.

      June 15, 2014
  17. I see Cockatoo’s in some of your photos do you ever see Rosellas wild in your area? I have a pet Red Eastern Rosella.

    June 15, 2014
    • Yes, we do sometimes, though more likely to see Lorikeets.

      June 15, 2014
  18. Reblogged this on TIRTANADI and commented:
    green

    June 15, 2014
  19. Jessica Ty #

    I love these pictures so much. I feel fresh & peace … 🙂

    June 15, 2014
    • That is wonderful, thank you Jessica. 🙂

      June 15, 2014
  20. Love these set of photos. A very glum feel about them, even the birds don’t look too ecstatic. As you mentioned, it could be because of this strange weather we’re having, like we had a weird summer a few months back. You’re right about it not being that cold. So far winter hasn’t been freezing, though that may be the case this week but we’ll see.

    Hope your weekend has been great and the classes going well. I’m still a bit under the weather but came home with a tub of Nutella…oh dear 🙂

    June 15, 2014
    • I think they definitely show the weather, which is how it was. We are having strange weather, very wet, but not cold.

      It has been a nice weekend, did nothing today, well except Skype someone for some editing lessons, it was nice. Haha, Nutella never lasts long in our house. 🙂

      June 15, 2014
      • It’s funny how the trees everywhere are showing us autumn mid-year. I think I like the weather not cold, but I don’t really like it raining all that much. It’s hard to go out and about, especially to St Kilda beach where I want to see penguins.

        Great to hear you did nothing much today. Those kind of days are good and I will have them come August 🙂

        June 15, 2014
      • It is very weird. I want cold, I want frost, or fog, lots of fog, and like you I am over the rain.
        They are good. 🙂

        June 15, 2014
  21. Love the moody chilly shots here, Leanne! I’m in Canberra this week, and not only is there still lots of autumn colour, but I saw trees coming into pink blossom in one of the parks. Very confused seasons!

    June 15, 2014
    • Thank you Sukie, how cold is Canberra? It is so weird, trees that should have lost their leaves and haven’t, new buds on flowers, which should be waiting to spring. It is all too confusing to us too.

      June 15, 2014
  22. It is still so strange for me see you posting pictures of autumn trees while I post summer flowers 😀

    June 15, 2014
    • I think it is something lots of people find strange, I think I’ve got used to it over time, it is always nice sharing our seasons. Thanks. 😀

      June 16, 2014
  23. Thanks for sharing your neighborhood, Leanne! It’s just coming into summer here in the States, which unfortunately for me, is my least favorite season. Give me a roaring fire, autumn leaves, a hint of snow in the skies, and I’m happy as can be. So your lovely autumn photos were a feast for my eyes 🙂

    June 16, 2014
    • My absolute pleasure Stacy, I think summer is my least favourite season too, too hot. I don’t know what a hint of snow is like, it never snows here, sadly. I do love autumn and I think it is my favourite season. Winter is pretty good here too. Thank you so much Stacy.

      June 16, 2014
  24. Fun photos. You’re right, when you have to go out to take pictures, you see so much more! It’s one of my favorite things about photography.

    June 16, 2014
    • I have decided that forcing myself to do around where I live has been a great thing to do, for that very reason. Thank you Nia.

      June 16, 2014
  25. Wonderful pics .. Something special about a walk in the woods.

    June 16, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, a walk in the woods that you will be doing tomorrow afternoon.

      June 16, 2014
  26. Hey 🙂 I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award 🙂 Love ❤

    June 16, 2014
    • Thank you very much, I don’t do awards, but I have added a link to you on my blog. 🙂

      June 17, 2014
  27. I’m enjoying looking at your trees losing their leaves, as ours have just come into their summer green. 🙂

    June 19, 2014
    • Thank you Elen, ours are very slow this year, over half way through the first month of Winter and they are still losing them, some haven’t even started. So weird. 🙂

      June 19, 2014
  28. Beautiful images!

    June 21, 2014

Comments are closed.

