Skip to content

A Photo That Inspires Words

In the past I have presented images and then invited people to write a response to them, either in the form of a short story or a poem, and I thought I might try it again.  I have picked an image, that I took in the local park the other day and I thought I might invite the many writers who follow my blog if they would like to write something for it.

I am not sure how this will work, perhaps you can leave a link to what you have written in the comments and then next Friday when I do my bits and pieces post I will put the links in the post, though depends how many I get, or I might just refer people back here.  We will work it out.

 

I hope this image is okay.  You can download it or copy it, but if you put it on your blog please remember to give me credit for the image.

I am not going to say anything about the image, that is up to those who want the challenge.

114 Comments
  1. I’m printing this out. I’ll give it a try.

    June 19, 2014
    • That’s fantastic Suz, I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

      June 19, 2014
      • I have some ideas, just going to play with them a little today.

        June 20, 2014
      • Sounds great Suz, have fun.

        June 20, 2014
  2. I’ve nothing original, but it reminded me immediately of the opening lines of Daphne du Maurier’s, Rebecca. “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again… I came upon it suddenly; the approach masked by the unnatural growth of a vast shrub that spread in all directions…”

    June 19, 2014
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    As soon as I saw the bench I thought of my porch swing. If you want to post this you are welcome to. I was very young when I wrote this so it’s not very good. Here it is with the explanation below that was written some time ago:

    Shadows and Light

    Come along and share with me,
    A favorite childhood memory.
    Barefoot in red mud ankle deep,
    Clay stained socks you can’t keep.
    George and Elizabeth barnyard’s feature,
    Making a pet of every living creature.
    Climbing high in the cherry trees,
    And using daffodils to catch the bees.
    One little spot held love most fond,
    With rocks cemented a heart-shaped pond.
    “Wish I was an apple” I would sing,
    Dangling feet from the old porch swing.
    Lay down warm and wake up cold.
    Turn around twice and I’m now old.
    Idle time and thoughts are cause to reminisce,
    For the Old House or the childhood that we miss.

    Note: This log house is where I was born and later played with George and Elizabeth who were my pet rooster and hen. Around the time of President Kennedy’s assassination my mother cooked up George and announced it to me after Sunday dinner in front of company. Needless to say, I could not eat chicken for many years. I am now a firm vegetarian. I wrote this poem many years ago thinking about that old porch swing, George and Elizabeth and my mom; oh how she loved twisting the knife.

    June 19, 2014
    • Your story reminds me of something similar, only we had moved to another town, and we were eating dinner and we asked mum where our calf hoppy was, and she told us we were eating him. Bit of a shock, though not in front of other people thankfully. Parents can be so cruel. I like your poem, it is great Jackie, thanks for sharing it with us.

      June 19, 2014
    • Oh man! It boggles the mind how parents will say, “Trust me, I’m you’re mother . . . I’m you’re father . . . I’ll never, ever do anything to hurt you in any way,” and then one day when you least expect it, they go and show you that dark compassionless side that they’ve kept hidden away like some secret weapon.

      Darth Vader and Luke Skywalker all over again!

      June 19, 2014
      • My parents never said that, which is probably why they didn’t think about it when they did horrible things. But I assume other parents do.

        June 19, 2014
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        You are right! “Trust me,” sounds like a used car salesperson. 🙂 I like the comparison.

        June 19, 2014
      • So you’re not a parent? Do you really think that parents intentionially scare or scar their kids. Fantasy land does not exist. Humans eat animals.

        June 19, 2014
      • Parents do scare their kids and parents can be very cruel, it is a reality, and they do it intentionally. Humans may eat animals, but how often do they eat their pets.

        June 20, 2014
  4. Lovely poem by Jackie, very reminiscent of childhood. The raw human moments that are shared here, and in blogs in general, astound me. I’m always reminded of the quotation ‘I love mankind, it’s people I don’t like very much’ or something to that effect. What awful things people do to each other, and yet as a race we can achieve such greatness at times. Kind thoughts winding their way to all of you. x

    June 19, 2014
    • I am sure Jackie will love reading that. That is such a great point, great idea and thought there, love it. So true too.

      June 19, 2014
  5. Thank you, my contribution is at: http://lettheballoonssailmeaway.wordpress.com/

    June 19, 2014
    • I fixed the link and deleted the other comments, I hope that was okay Henrietta.
      Lovely words you have written to my image, thank you.

      June 19, 2014
  6. I love this image. It is gorgeous and yet haunting.

    June 19, 2014
    • Thank you Nia, I thought people might like it for that reason.

      June 19, 2014
  7. Margy Rydzynski #

    Interesting. I’ll see what I come up with.

    June 19, 2014
    • I look forward to reading it Margy.

      June 19, 2014
  8. A mysterious and yet comforting image for me. The “mystery” comes in the mood and the “comfort” comes in the protective feel of the branches covering the bench. I lived in a area that was surrounded by trees. One of the best areas I’ve ever lived in!

    June 19, 2014
    • What a great way of describing Aimee. Lovely, thank you.

      June 19, 2014
  9. Your photo does inspire words! When I saw the bench sitting in the shadows under the trees, thoughts immediately started to wander around in my mind. Such an interesting contrast. Cool darkness resting on the edge of bright sunlight; a place where earth and shadows play. Aaaah….I always wanted to write a poem to accompany the photos that I have of the Hostas in my backyard! Thanks so much for the sudden inspIration!

    June 19, 2014
    • You are welcome Mary, it is great sharing things like this, and something I would like to do more of. I like the visions that the image brings up for you, thank you.

      June 19, 2014
  10. Leanne, i shared a poem with your image tonight…its spritual, but it reminded me of going from the darkness of death into the light of heaven…you might enjoy it….your photos are always inspiring. Hugs and blessings to you!

    June 19, 2014
    • http://wherewordsdailycomealive.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/the-eternal-promise/

      I’ve put the link there to your poem, I hope that is okay with you. It is a lovely poem, thank you so much.

      June 19, 2014
      • It is fine Leanne, I have commented many times before that your photos inspire poems very easily. You have a gifted eye, with a beautiful heart to capture what you do. Anytime you want send me a photo and tell me what or not tell what you would like it to say…i will do it for you! God bless!

        June 20, 2014
      • I am thinking that I might do this a lot more, not sure how often, but it could be a lot of fun. Thanks Wendell great that you enjoyed it.

        June 20, 2014
  11. I’m in Leanne. Beautiful image. I will see what I can come up with. Thanks for the challenge!

    June 19, 2014
    • Wonderful Leonas, I look forward to seeing what you come up with. Oh, thank you too.

      June 19, 2014
  12. Awesome!

    June 19, 2014
  13. I can’t help but start brewing a poem when I see inviting images like this one. I’ll sleep on it and see what my heart wants to share. Something, I am sure. Thanks for the challenge 🙂

    June 19, 2014
    • That’s great, thanks for sharing.

      June 19, 2014
  14. Oh, I’ll try to give this a try. 🙂

    June 19, 2014
    • That would be great Imelda. Thank you. 🙂

      June 19, 2014
  15. very interesting composition and excellent debate here…..how would people respond to this image if we add subjects such as – kids playing, a old couple relaxing, a girl or a boy playing with his cat or a dog !! I’m gaining new insights about photography…..thanks a lot for sharing and for facilitating an engaging discussion….

    June 19, 2014
    • Perhaps they can add those things in the stories, this is the bare bones, something to play with, a story waiting to be told. You’re welcome and thank you for your thoughts here.

      June 19, 2014
  16. L #

    This makes me think of the secret garden like the entrance to another world somewhere magical.

    June 19, 2014
    • I love that movie, what a great idea, thank you.

      June 19, 2014
  17. Had to give it a go, hope the credits are fine. You can find my poem here.

    http://braininthejartwo.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/gloom-bench/

    June 19, 2014
    • I left my thoughts on it over on your blog Bruce.

      June 19, 2014
  18. Another great idea, Leanne!

    Your photo tells me a two-sided story. While walking through the dark an cold woods, I can see a light at the end of the tunnel. Warmth and light is pulling me forward. But, the nearer I came, I recognize a bench at the side seducing me to stay and have a rest to recuperate from the strain of my long and exhausting hike. Should I rest in the unfriendly forest right at the edge of the enchanting light? Or should I go ahead right into the light? What will I find there? The border of the woods, a city, a beach, a river crossing the forest, unlimited view onto greenfields and agricultural fields? Or only a small clearance inside the forest?
    It’s cold and quiet inside the forest. The light promises warmth and living. It’s quite the opposite. But, I know what I have. What will I get? Who knows? I won’t, if I don’t go!
    I’ll give it a try and have a look first before I decide to go on or go back for having a rest!

    June 19, 2014
    • Two great stories there Solaner, I like both sides, thank you.

      June 19, 2014
  19. johnholding #

    Very nice photo Leanne.

    Thought I might just pen a poem right here:

    Ah the old seat
    aged now as time has
    wrought its savagery
    entropically tugging all
    to the lowest state
    chaos

    And in the distance
    barred from entry
    until death delivers
    I see the light soft shinning
    reminding

    Softly you steal back
    the delicate laugh
    the smile delivering heaven
    caring touch healing
    now lost until

    Your beauty so deep
    brings words from a song
    singing through my mind
    “When the angles ask me to recall the thrill of it all I’ll say I remember you”
    as I stoop to sit
    savouring.

    June 19, 2014
    • That’s great John, I didn’t know you could write poetry. Thank you for sharing it.

      June 19, 2014
      • johnholding #

        Thanks Leanne, now and again i get the urge to write a poem. Most of them are on RedBubble.

        June 19, 2014
      • I must go and have a look. I’ve never tried, but my daughter writes a lot.

        June 19, 2014
  20. “Where there is light, there is darkness. And where there is darkness, there is light.” That’s my take on this photo. You can see it two ways: light coming into a dark place, or a dark place threatening to overshadow a light corner…depends which section of the photo jumps out at you, either the foreground or background, I suppose. Not sure what you were going for for this photo, but I like how the tree branches stand out.

    Hope you’re keeping warm, Leanne. Finally, Melbourne is cold. I still have a cold this week, but not sick enough to stay home. On the plus side, I have a four-day weekend and am picking up my new camera tomorrow 🙂

    June 19, 2014
    • That is really interesting Mabel, I think others have found it a little the same. It’s great seeing what others think.

      Yes, keeping warm, heater been on all day. It is nice that it is cold, though looks like more rain tomorrow. Nice, 4 day weekend to play around with your new camera, how exciting. 🙂

      June 19, 2014
  21. Magical!

    June 19, 2014
  22. First Monochrome Madness, now this? How can I resist?
    http://snowsfissuresandfractures.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/oblivion/

    June 19, 2014
    • Great, thank you, I left you a comment on your blog.

      June 20, 2014
  23. A perfectly evocative and beautiful photo to build a story around. If I could only find the time! Thanks for sharing it, Leanne.

    June 19, 2014
    • That’s okay Debbie, I’m pretty sure I will do this again. Thank you.

      June 20, 2014
  24. Your visual prompt is a marvelous way to interweave some of your readers with your work. It reminds me that most of us primarily do the creative work for ourselves. But there is a strong element of the role that the viewer plays. I am fascinated to learn how others interpret a work that I view. Or comment on a work that I do.

    June 20, 2014
    • It is fascinating Sally, and it can be a great experiment to see if people see the same as you. Thanks Sally

      June 20, 2014
  25. I love this photo because I imagine, that when I stop resting on that bench, I rise and go through the opening: there is a wonder-ful nature out there behind…. Just as I experienced that sunday on my summer walk with my friend : http://truels.wordpress.com/2014/06/07/summer-walk/ – nice summer colored landscapes, a peaceful little lake, sunlight playing………

    June 20, 2014
    • That is great to hear Truels, I love hearing how people interpret my images. Thank you so much, I love your photo as well.

      June 20, 2014
  26. This took my breath away! The second I saw it, I thought, “I must have this for my wall.” Thank you for allowing us to download it and I will certainly tell everyone who gazes upon it whose work this is!

    June 20, 2014
    • It is only a low res image, so don’t think you will be able to put it on your wall, sorry. But thank you, so glad you enjoyed it.

      June 20, 2014
      • It’s a “wall of inspiration.” Most of the pics/quotes are 4×6, so even a low res pic will print fine. I will try to write something inspired by the photo–if I find the time before I fall out from exhaustion!

        June 20, 2014
      • Sounds great Chandra.

        June 20, 2014
  27. Reblogged this on Click And Color.

    June 20, 2014
    • I love your “crazy” offering, thank you so much for doing it.
      PS I fixed up the link and will delete the other one.

      June 20, 2014
  28. Here is my blog post: http://leonaslines.com/2014/06/19/twilight-memories/
    Thanks for the opportunity to write a poem using this beautiful photo.

    June 20, 2014
    • You are very welcome, thank you for taking up the challenge, I love what you did.

      June 20, 2014
  29. Am on it!! so nxt Friday is the 27th… post it by then? well the Thursday?

    June 21, 2014
    • Sounds good Dawn, I look forward to seeing what you come up.

      June 21, 2014
  30. All of life is a choice
    Sit in darkness or
    Stand in the light

    June 21, 2014
    • Wonderful Robert, thank you.

      June 21, 2014
      • I wanted to do something for this offering from you – words are not typically my strong point.

        June 21, 2014
      • I am the same, no writer, and I have enjoyed seeing how people have responded to it. I think I will do it more. I think you did well.

        June 21, 2014
  31. Leanne, I sent this another way but wasn’t sure that it would reach you.  I am sorry that you may be receiving this twice.  (I corrected a slight error anyway, turning thought into thoughts.)  Here is what I wrote…. Your photo woke me up last night and sent these words to me.  I hope you like them to go along with that lovely photo of the bench.  My email address is bon73sc@sbcglobal.net and my blog can be found at http://www.mymemorymill.wordpress.com

    Day Dreaming

    There are places from my childhood That I can only be Those places are like photographs In my mind to see

    The stream that flowed beside my home The lizards out to play The soft green grass upon my cheek Can return, on any day

    Those places all have changed so much But in my mind remain For thoughts and dreaming innocence I want them not to wane

    Its here upon this crusty bench I know that many come To conjure up their images While shaded from the sun

    My mind’s memories are colorful Not left in black and white They give me peace throughout my days And sometimes in the night

    Bonnie DiMichele 6/20/2014

    Love the photos and ideas on your blog.

    June 21, 2014
    • That is amazing Bonnie, thank you so much for taking up the challenge. It is great, I hope it wasn’t annoying being woken up by it.
      I saw the poem somewhere, but now I can’t, oh you emailed it to me, but the link doesn’t take it to the poem, I can’t find it on your blog. Am I missing something?

      June 21, 2014
      • Leanne,
        I’d like to put it on my blog next week and give you credit for your lovely, inspiring artwork, if that is ok with you. Our problems in communication are fully coming from my end. I am new to this. So sorry if I caused any problems. You might say that I’m a work in progress! I’m glad you like my poem. Your photography is amazing.
        Regards,
        Bonnie

        June 27, 2014
      • Thanks for asking Bonnie, and of course it is fine, just would like the credit, which you said you would do, and let me know. Communicating can be a hassle, others have had problem too, other software on your computer can be the problem as well. I love how you refer to yourself as a work on progress, thank you Bonnie.

        June 27, 2014
  32. I love the atmosphere of the photo – if I wasn’t supposed to be studying for an exam now, I would have a go at writing a poem.

    June 21, 2014
    • Oh yes, the exam is a lot more important, so don’t even think about it. Thank you, good luck in your exam.

      June 21, 2014
  33. Hello … here’s a story that your photo inspired! http://bastetandsekhmet.wordpress.com/2014/06/21/a-photo-that-inspires-leanne-cole-june-20-2014/ … it should ping to you but just in case.

    June 21, 2014
    • Great story Georgia, I was hoping you would see the story. I would like to do more of these.

      June 21, 2014
      • I really enjoy writing to your photos they’r so vibrant or in this case “dark” inviting all sorts of stories and poems. You could make a weekly post, it’d be fun!

        June 21, 2014
      • I will have to find some more then Georgia, let me see what I can do.

        June 21, 2014
  34. A wonderful photo that evokes melancholy… if I am to caption this, it will go like this:

    The Absence of Presence

    June 26, 2014
    • That is a great caption, wonderful, thank you.

      June 26, 2014
  35. Ok… finally got around to posting a poem and drawing – you should get a pingback, but thought I would post it here as well, just in case 😉 https://apoemandadrawingaday.wordpress.com/2014/06/27/futile-tomorrows/

    June 27, 2014
    • I did get the pingback Dawn, it is great, thank you so much.

      June 27, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Gloom Bench | Brain In The Jar II
  2. Oblivion | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  3. An Excerpt From My Novella, Love’s Compass | sublime days
  4. The Cosmic Sneeze | "There was a time" -the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter and other tales
  5. Twilight Memories | Leonas Lines--Poetry Plus
  6. Inspiration from a photo | It Goes On
  7. A Photo That Inspires Words… | The Shady Tree
  8. A Photo That Inspires – Leanne Cole – June 20, 2014 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library
  9. Some Inspire Words More Than Others | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY
  10. Futile Tomorrows | Poems and Drawings

Comments are closed.

