Skip to content

Another Bit of This and a Bit of That

A old Church in Woomelang, Mallee

Seems many of you are enjoying these posts, and I enjoy writing them, they are a great way to catch up and tell you what I have been doing.  Do I say that every week?

One on One Photography Sessions

A old Church in Woomelang, MalleeThis last week I had my first One on One Photography Session with someone who I have got to know through this blog and she was from New Zealand.  She is out here for the week and it was great to meet her, teach her how to use her camera, and then to show her around where I live. I had such a good time and I hope she did too.  Though it is very muddy around me at the moment, but I don’t think she minded too much.  I have another booked with another client as well, so they are starting to pick up.

Almost forgot to mention that I have now added some packages or different prices for people who would like to do more than one One on One.

Online Photography Classes

The Online Photography Class I am doing is going really well.  I can’t believe how much we have covered and how many exercises I have written out for her. It has been a great experience for both of us.  It railway-train-station-mallee-woomelanghasn’t happened the way I thought it would, in that I thought what we would do would be more structured, instead she has really been directing it, in that she had very specific goals that she was after.  She has gone away for her holiday now and hopefully she is feeling a lot more confident about using her new camera.

Doing the online classes with Skype have been great, and almost as good as attending a class in person, the only real difference is that I can’t grab your camera to work out how to do things, and I’m not there when you go out to take photos.  Though the latter is okay because I try and make sure my instructions are very clear

Woomelang Grain Silos, Malleein the exercises.

A Mallee Workshop

I am off to the Mallee next week, so I will need to schedule some posts while I am away.  I am going up this time with a friend who wants to take some photos of the places she has seen in my photos. So I have been trying to plan as much as possible for her to take photos.  I’m organising different days for getting the shots she wants, as well as making sure I can do the things that I had planned on doing the next time I went up.  One thing I really want to do when I go up this time is to do more Astrophotography, so quite a few nights have been planned Shearing Shed, Mallee, Woomelangfor that.

I was also talking to someone from Wimmera and Mallee Tourism and we decided to see if we could run a workshop while I am there on night photography.  We decided this on Monday, and by Tuesday night the workshop was full. There seems to be a lot of people up there who would like some classes or photography sessions to learn how to use their cameras, so I think this is something I should start exploring. It is such a great place to take photos and it would be great to help people take photos up.

Weekend workshops would be great, and it is something I might have to start seeing if I can organise, especially if there are enough people who would like to do A old Church in Woomelang, Malleethem.  Might mean that I have to go up there a lot more, that wouldn’t be a bad thing.

I have 5 days up there and with so many things planned it might take me weeks to show it all to you.

I think that is about it for this week.  It is good to see things that I am trying starting to happen. I know patience is not something I have much of, my mother told me all my life that I was too impatient, and it is true, so now I am trying to let things happen.  I’m trying to be more patient and give things a lot more time to pick up before giving up. Patience, patience, patience, that needs to be my mantra.

The photos in today’s post were taken in 2011, on a couple of trips to the Mallee.

 

56 Comments
  1. Love the images Leanne and great to hear that business is picking up. Wonderful and best wishes. MM 🍀

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you MM, it is good, my husband is so happy.

      June 20, 2014
  2. Very nice post and great photos, thanks for sharing 🙂

    June 20, 2014
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I remember the silos; they are so beautiful! The windows and the light in the areas are stunning. 🙂 Very nice, Leanne.

    June 20, 2014
    • They are Jackie, I love photographing them, looking forward to getting them again. Thank you Jackie. 🙂

      June 20, 2014
  4. So glad things are happening for you Leanne! Everything sounds very promising and fulfilling. 🙂

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Steph, I think I have really found what I enjoy now.

      June 20, 2014
  5. Another very enjoyable set of pictures to go through. Thank you.

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you, and more to come with new opportunities.

      June 20, 2014
  6. Great that you are helping people to get the most out of their cameras – we can’t all be pros but we all can be better with our tools for capturing our visions. Enjoy!

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, it is quite a fulfilling thing to do, it has really surprised me how much I love doing it.

      June 20, 2014
  7. Leanne – It sounds like things are beginning to hum. I really like all these shots. Really, really.

    June 20, 2014
    • They do don’t they, I am so glad, I really like where I am going. Thank you Elen.

      June 20, 2014
  8. I love your woolshed photo. 🙂

    June 20, 2014
    • It is a great shed Suz, I have photographed it so many times, and will be again, my friend wants to take photos of it.

      June 20, 2014
  9. Thank you for sharing Leanne. I’m happy to hear things are picking up for you, and I can’t wait to see the fruit of your labor.

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Jimmy, it is good that things are picking up somewhat, I do enjoy that.

      June 20, 2014
  10. Beautiful photos!

    It must be such an enjoyable experience for these people who get to learn from and shoot with you. Congratulations on the opportunities coming your way!

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you.
      What a wonderful thing to say, I really appreciate that, and thank you.

      June 20, 2014
  11. Fantastic images! People will benefit so much from all your knowledge!

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I hope so, it is fun working it out with people.

      June 20, 2014
      • You’re welcome about the pics on this post and I just know you’re having fun working with other people….I’m so happy for you!

        June 20, 2014
      • I am, thank you Laura, it is so nice meeting new people all the time.

        June 21, 2014
  12. Beautiful photos. I especially love the picture of the room with glass windows. A behind the scenes is always an interesting read.

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you, I had forgotten about these images, so nice to revisit them, so glad you like them.

      June 20, 2014
  13. I am so pleased to read that things are going so well for you Leanne with your teaching. As I have said before, you work so hard and you deserve it.
    I love these images. I love the sense of space and well, almost lonliness that comes with empty space. These pictures are not empty though because they resonate with what has gone on in them in the past and the beauty of the present.

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Karen, it is still slow, but I am sure if I hang in there things will pick up.
      That is great that you like the images too, they are quite old now, but I still like them too, which says a lot I think. I like what you are saying about the lonliness and that is the feeling I was trying to put into them, so it is great to see that find it too. Thank you so much.

      June 20, 2014
  14. Wonderful photos Leanne .. it was fabulous meeting you and I so enjoyed the one on one! Thank you …

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, and same about meeting you. I didn’t mention you in the blog, wasn’t sure if you would mind, but am happy to mention you if you like.

      June 20, 2014
  15. Great to hear things are picking up, Leanne. Oh, and I love your images of the interiors of these buildings

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Sue, they are slowly, hopefully with time I will be run off my feet, that would be nice.

      June 20, 2014
  16. Wonderful series of photos Leanne. Love the colour and lighting.

    June 20, 2014
  17. Great set of photos and lovely inspirational post. So glad things are going well for you, long may it last. 🙂

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you Katie, it is nice to be getting somewhere.

      June 20, 2014
  18. Maria #

    Great journey through your pictures!!

    June 20, 2014
    • Thank you, I like that idea of a journey.

      June 21, 2014
  19. Good for you

    June 20, 2014
  20. I’ll have to remember your thoughts on scheduling post when away. I usually gave good WiFi when out but this week has been a challenge. Love your blog.

    June 21, 2014
    • It can be a great idea, I did it the last time I was away and it worked really well. Meant I had to organise things early and do about 4 posts all at once, but that was okay. Thank you.

      June 21, 2014
  21. I absolutely love your photos

    June 21, 2014
    • You know I never tire of hearing that, so thank you so much.

      June 21, 2014
  22. Leanne, you put together the most sensational collages and individual photos! It’s always a treat coming to see you!

    June 21, 2014
    • Thank you so much, that is wonderful to hear.

      June 21, 2014
  23. Leanne, this is a great post. Love these images!
    Wishing you success in all you do… You will get there… I know it!

    June 21, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I am feeling very happy with the decision of the direction I have chosen.

      June 21, 2014
  24. All your hard work is beginning to pay off. Well done Leanne.

    June 21, 2014
    • Thank you Carol, it is good to see it happening.

      June 21, 2014
  25. Love the images, Leanne. Glad the one on one’s are taking off – sounds great.

    June 22, 2014
    • Thank you Richard, it is good,my husband is very pleased, that’s for sure.

      June 22, 2014
  26. Nice photos. I think that you are doing a great job so far. As with any business, it takes time to get known and to start getting things going. I think you are on the right track with the things you are doing. The only thing you can hope for is that clients will help get your name out by telling others how great it is to work with you. I hope you continue to pick up business!

    June 23, 2014
    • Thank you Justin, that is something I’ve never been very good at before, but it is so true, I do have to wait and get my name known, and also I am sure there are people thinking about doing them and will at some point. Thank you so much. The support I get through here is just amazing.

      June 23, 2014
  27. Nguyen Ha (Hakit) #

    Reblogged this on Nguyen Ha and commented:
    beautiful:)

    June 24, 2014

Comments are closed.

