Skip to content

Monochrome Madness Week 17

Here I was thinking that this weeks Monochrome Madness was going to be a small group and then all of a sudden I was inundated with emails, all good.  So still a nice group of images and I am sure you will all enjoy them.  I have heard from some that you are enjoying the discussions taking place with the images, and I think that is fantastic, so please keep doing it. Though I haven’t responded to everyone’s emails, I’m so sorry, I am travelling today, and the last few days have been a bit busy getting everything organised.  As such, I won’t be on the internet much, I can approve comments, but would love it if you all just respond to the comments where you can, to all of them.  I would love to see you doing that, so everyone is responsible, got that?

lily-black-white-monochrome-closeup

A while back I got some extension tubes, the polaroid ones, which I know are good, but I didn’t get the ones that you can use the auto focus on, so I decided to just get some Kenko ones.  I knew I would use them, and they would be a good enough substitution until I can afford a macro lens, well at least let me see if I really want one and would use one.  So for my image this week I thought I would make use of the lilies that have started growing in my garden again.  I used the 50mm lens with the 20mm extension tube.  I had to use my tripod, which isn’t a bad thing.  I enjoyed getting some images like this.  I do love lilies in black and white.

woodsleaves-web

Laura Macky has sent her image for this week and she said she was trying something new.  You can check out what she was doing in her post here.  Something else I thought I would tell you about, Laura has entered a competition and she wants you all to vote for her, here is the link, voting for Laura’s image.

As per usual the gallery is here for you and all the links are below.  Remember if you want to send an image all the instructions are below.

Now, if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be as small as it can be, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it.

Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.  I respect your copyright and would never keep any of the images.

93 Comments
  1. Amazing collection of photographs!

    June 25, 2014
    • They are Victor, I think we can all be proud of ourselves.
      I got your email, will respond when I get to my mums.

      June 25, 2014
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I tried to vote for Laura Macky’s image but I did not see a button and the Facebook links did nothing. Her pictures are great.

    I get excited when I see “Monochrome!” I’ve spent way too much time gazing – all these images are really beautiful. The horse has personality, the flower is so pretty that it looks like porcelain. The dog, the man, the boat – everything – they’re all stunning. ❤

    June 25, 2014
    • You click on the heart Jackie, it is hard to tell that you have voted I have found. I just canceled the facebook thing.

      That is fantastic to hear Jackie, I think they are fantastic as well.

      June 25, 2014
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        I did click on the heart so I’m good. 🙂

        June 25, 2014
      • Brilliant 🙂

        June 25, 2014
  3. Wow! Some amazing photos on this week.

    June 25, 2014
    • Oh yes, good to see we are maintaining a fantastic standard.

      June 25, 2014
  4. Jo #

    All of these images are utterly gorgeous. Mono is very close to my heart and I have already seen some of these in my reader but not all of them, so some new blogs for me look at. Thanks for that. The lily is beautiful Leanne.

    June 25, 2014
    • That is wonderful Jo, so lots of visiting for you, have a great time. Thank you too for what you said about my lily.

      June 25, 2014
  5. So much amazing work!

    June 25, 2014
  6. A beautiful collection!

    June 25, 2014
  7. They are all wonderful! I just browsed them and commented. I enjoy viewing others’ comments too.

    June 25, 2014
    • You are so good commenting on each one. Thank you for doing that Laura.

      June 25, 2014
      • You are so welcome! It was fun!

        June 25, 2014
  8. Another wonderful week of submissions for this week’s challenge.
    Beautiful work everyone and safe trip Leanne 🙂
    It seems my email went astray this week, so I’ll be joining in again next week 🙂

    June 25, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, will be leaving very shortly. I don’t know what happened to your email Robyn, I don’t remember getting one, sorry. Though my head has been elsewhere this last week. Please send it again, and I will look for it this time.

      June 25, 2014
      • No probs at all Leanne and no apologies necessary.
        Stuff happens 🙂
        Do travel safe and take care xx
        Love that stunning lily!

        June 25, 2014
      • 😀

        June 25, 2014
  9. Another wonderful array of photos this week Leanne. So much talent in this world.

    June 25, 2014
  10. Great photos. Love the subjects you chose to do in Monochrome!

    June 25, 2014
    • Everyone does chose great subjects, it amazes me the things that people decide to do in monochrome, just brilliant.

      June 25, 2014
      • It’s a great collection! How do I get involved?

        June 25, 2014
      • There are instructions on where to send it, how big it should be, etc at the bottom of the post.

        June 25, 2014
      • Great! Thanks

        June 25, 2014
      • 😀

        June 25, 2014
  11. Another week of terrific images. I’m so glad I was able to join the fray again after a couple of weeks off. You really do outdo yourself Leanne, and it’s very much appreciated. Cheers and enjoy your travels 🙂

    June 25, 2014
    • Thank you Dan, it has been a busy week, but looking forward to seeing my mum. 🙂

      June 25, 2014
      • Say hi to Mum from all of us monochrome crazie’s, lol

        June 25, 2014
      • Will so LOL

        June 25, 2014
  12. Really loved this weeks photos. Leanne your lily is something else. Absolutely stunning! Lauras leaves and her new style is awesome. Your best yet ladies. Now to get up to my PC for a better view of everyone’s and to leave comments.

    June 25, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, that is wonderful.

      June 25, 2014
  13. Your correspondents have great imagination.

    June 25, 2014
  14. Stunning images to look at once again Leanne.

    June 25, 2014
  15. Wow!!!! So much inspirational image food for my eyes going on here 🙂
    So happy to be a part of this and so kind of you to host it Leanne.
    Thanks,
    Steve

    June 25, 2014
  16. Absolutely stellar line-up this week. For me there are three absolute stand-outs, but I really enjoyed looking at all of these images. I think we’re all putting our best efforts forward for this challenge each week.

    June 25, 2014
  17. Wow, what a brilliant bunch of photos. There are so many talented people in the world.

    June 25, 2014
  18. Another great set of images. I think they keep getting better and better.

    Leanne, this past weekend as I was doing some macro photography I noticed I was able to get better shots when I did manual focus as the auto focus seemed to have a hard time trying to focus on the small subjects I was trying to capture. Larger subjects may be easier to work with auto focus, but the things I was working with didn’t work out so well.

    June 25, 2014
    • I think they do too Justin.
      Yes, doing manual focus does seem to often be the best way unless you have full control of everything. Most I’ve done I have used manual focus.

      June 25, 2014
  19. I second all of the above!! Wonderful and more wonder each week!!!

    June 25, 2014
  20. the monochrome came out great!

    June 25, 2014
  21. Again, some great monochromes. Took time out to bump Lauras (great shot) up another point.

    June 25, 2014
  22. lilies are made for monochrome with those gorgeous contours – love the detail and the softness of the image
    bit reluctant to join in since the standard is so high but it can only help improve my photography – will now enjoy visiting the entrants 🙂

    June 25, 2014
    • I think so too Laura, they are perfect for it. It is great, and I think everyone should join in, and it really does help you improve.

      June 25, 2014
    • Laura, do it. I was daunted for the first two months as well but now, hey I just roll with it. lol

      June 26, 2014
  23. Reblogged this on jmeyersforeman photography and commented:
    I have participated in Monochrome madness again this week, the photography is stunning, and I am proud to be included with this amazing group of photographers. I hope you will take a few minutes to check out some of their work.

    June 25, 2014
  24. jamiechristinephotography #

    Nice job everyone! So much talent in these photos. 🙂

    June 25, 2014
  25. wow!! 🙂 so beautiful!!! 🙂

    June 25, 2014
  26. Superb as usual

    June 25, 2014
  27. Love the photos, I tried commenting, but for some reason, it brings the pics forward, but the comment space is missing – that is today. Last night it looked normal, but I was too tired to comment. Maybe I should reload the page 🙂

    June 25, 2014
    • I don’t know what is happening Ritva, sorry. I hope it gets fixed for you.

      June 25, 2014
  28. Amazing photos, indeed. Sometimes, we don’t need much colors to tell our story, like the truth will be revealed in the simplest ways 🙂

    June 26, 2014
    • That is a great way of putting it, I like that, thank you. The photos are amazing.

      June 26, 2014
  29. Leanne, your Lily is stunning…it just goes and goes, deeper and deeper. Lilies are beautiful in monochrome! There is a lot of diversity this week. Fun to see all the different ways to see the world in black and white. Already looking forward to next week!

    June 26, 2014
    • Thank you Carrie. I was really happy with it. I think that too, they are so suitable for monochrome. I think that is one of the best things about this is the range of images and how they all look in monochrome.

      June 26, 2014
  30. Another great week, Leanne and Laura! I love both of your photos especially. I will try to have something for you next week! And I will go into my other browser so I can check for comments from previous weeks.

    June 26, 2014
  31. Love what I’ve seen of Laura’s work, and your lily is stunning, Leanne 🙂

    June 26, 2014
    • Laura’s work is wonderful, so it is wonderful that you like it. Thank you.

      June 26, 2014
  32. Great collection of images as usual Leanne; I must remember to join in next week. 🙂

    I had no problem getting to the page to vote for Laura, which of course I have done!

    June 26, 2014
    • Yes, the images for next week have already started coming in.
      That is great, glad you did, I have voted a couple of times now. 🙂

      June 26, 2014
  33. Absolutely beautiful monochrome photographs! I love the first batch the most: the flowers. So pretty!

    June 27, 2014
    • Flowers can be so wonderful in monochrome, so happy you liked them Elise.

      June 27, 2014
  34. I look forward to the Monochrome Madness posts, my online ‘highlight of the week’. And as usual, the collection of great photographs do not disappoint.
    Dare I say, I actually have a favorite this week…I absolutely L.O.V.E the rowboat.
    All the photos are fabulous, of course, but theres just something special about that one. 🙂

    June 27, 2014
    • That is wonderful Tracey, I don’t think you are alone, they are by far my most popular post, so it seems many like it. That is fantastic, I’m sure Suz, will be very happy to hear that. 🙂

      June 27, 2014
  35. Another amazing collection of monochrome-super-madness-shots.
    And Laura’s is very creative – a very special and beautiful work of art.
    Thank you, Leanne for giving us so much beauty and inspiration!

    June 28, 2014
    • You are welcome Truels, it is an amazing collection.

      June 28, 2014
  36. I think the popularity of Monochrome Madness has inspired WorPress to make the latest photo challenge about “Contracts”.

    Well done!

    June 30, 2014
    • I don’t know about that, but I like the idea. Thanks for letting me know.

      June 30, 2014
  37. Hi Leanne, what camera do you use? Your photos are really striking!

    July 7, 2014
  38. Ron #

    Excellent photos. I can’t seem to decide what photos to make in black and white. Any suggestions about that?

    July 9, 2014
    • I think it is just a matter of trying different things, just desaturate your images quickly and it will give you an idea if it is worth doing or now. It is so hard to work out what will and won’t work. Good luck.

      July 9, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Den Haag at Night – Monochrome Madness Week 17 | Sari's Corner
  2. My Cup of Coffee | Capturing Little Moments
  3. Anybody Home? | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  4. Shine On | The Shady Tree
  5. Window on the Humber: Monochrome Madness week17 | Drawing with Light
  6. Monochrome Portrait | Michelle Amar Photography
  7. Wednesday – Monochrome Madness | It Goes On
  8. Reverance | Fine Arts Journal
  9. Monochrome Madness: Shorncliffe Pier | daysandmonths
  10. Monochrome Madness 17: Frontal Lines | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  11. Monochrome Madness 17: Photogenic | eljaygee
  12. Hampton Beach, New England | Directionally Impaired in Life's Infinite Possibilities
  13. Dragon Fly – Color | dapontephotography
  14. Leaves in the Woods – Monochrome Madness | Laura Macky
  15. MMC Mythical Horse Eye — B-W versus Color (3 images) | mythical horse
  16. Rock Face | Scene by Minerva
  17. Seashell – Monochrome Madness | lisakimmorley.com
  18. Under the Dome | Snow's Fissures and Fractures

Comments are closed.

