Skip to content

Some Stuff to Catch Up With

Friday again and another post on bits and pieces, though I have to say trying to come up with new titles all the time is hard.  Still it is a great way of giving you information about what I am doing or up to.

Competitions

I heard back from one of the competitions and I’m afraid I didn’t do very well.  Bombed out really, though I am trying not to take it too personally. I did write a small post on my experiences and what I thought about it all over on the News Blog on my website, Photography Competitions Vs Art Competitions, so good place for you to find out more.

Workshops

You know I am up in the Mallee right now, but I don’t know if I told you was going to be running  a workshop on Night Photography up here.  The workshop was organised by Wimmera and Mallee milky-way-stars-night-photographyTourism and the Yarriambiack Shire. Well the workshop was on Wednesday night and we played around with taking photos at night, and photographing the stars.  It was a great night, a busy night, but I think everyone enjoyed it.  The photos in this post are from that night.  I am going to be doing a post over on the News Blog today sometime on processing the star photos that I have been doing, so if you are interested in that, keep an eye out on the News Blog.

Crash Course On Google My Business

Mary McAvoy, who wrote those great posts on SEO for Photographers Part 1 and Part 2, had some news to pass on, it is an article from a free online magazine about Google and your business, so if you are interested here is the link, Crash Course On Google My Business, hopefully that works.  Though I think you have to sign up for the newsletter to get the whole article.  I did and it hasn’t been a problem.

Up for Discussion Posts

I have organised some more guest writers to give us some insights into some things.  It is great to find people who are experts in a particular area and I hope you enjoy what they say as much as I sunset-lake-lascelles-night-photographydo. It is great having that sort of resource here on the blog for us.  If you know someone that you think might be able to write a great guest post for us, then please let me know.  Always happy to find new people.  Remember it has to be photography related, not about selling their own products, and should be informative.

I have been wondering if I should do an archive page of the Up for Discussion Posts, like I have for the Weekend Wanderings, do you think that would be good for you to be able to find past posts?tree-lake-lascelles-milky-way

I think that is about it this week.  My mind is full of the Pink Lakes and Lake Albacutya, the Milky Way and Sunsets.  Unfortunately the weather hasn’t been great up here this time.  We aren’t seeing much of the sun, which doesn’t help a lot when you want to photograph the stars.  We were going to go out last night, we saw the stars were out, and by the time we were ready to go out, you couldn’t see any.  So disappointing.  Hopefully we will get a chance tonight.  Fingers crossed.

I am going to put the above images and a couple of others from the night in Hopetoun into a gallery.  Don’t forget to check out the News Blog for some tips on processing some star photos.

108 Comments
  1. Those photos are absolutely gorgeous. I hope you find further success with the weather and the stars.

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you, Bonnie, we hope so too, we are going quite a distance to day, so I hope it won’t be for nothing. 🙂

      June 27, 2014
  2. Great photos, as always, Leanne! I will keep my fingers crossed for a good outcome tonight. All the best!!! 🙂

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you Fabio, we never know what we will get, but yes, hopefully the clouds will clear for us.

      June 27, 2014
      • Leanne, I will be thinking and hoping for a clear sky! Take care! 🙂

        June 27, 2014
      • the weather isn’t looking good, so I’m not hopeful. 😦

        June 27, 2014
      • Maybe it will change for the better! 🙂

        June 27, 2014
      • Maybe.

        June 27, 2014
  3. Stunning night photos Leanne. I am in awe. They are just divine.

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, so happy we got some.

      June 27, 2014
  4. Leanne, these photographs are absolutely breathtaking. Regarding the competitions, I honestly think your work is amazing and it is a shame that the judges cannot appreciate it.

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you Manal, the judges work very differently to me and I think I knew I wouldn’t do very well in them, oh well, I have learned my lesson, next time I will save my money.

      June 27, 2014
      • Always worth a try however and now you’ve got experience rather than wondering what if! 🙂

        June 27, 2014
      • It is, always worth a try, but I do think tonight won’t work, another time hopefully. 🙂

        June 27, 2014
  5. Awesome night images, Leanne! Absolutely beautiful. I’ve been thinking I need to get myself out of the door one evening to give it a try. I’ll check out your links. Love those colors!

    June 27, 2014
    • It is a lot fun, but very frustrating when all you get is cloud cover, oh well, pick a clear night and go for it. Thanks Katrina.

      June 27, 2014
  6. I look forward to the results if things do work out for you.

    June 27, 2014
    • It isn’t looking good for tonight, the forecast is late showers, so I don’t like our chances. 😦

      June 27, 2014
  7. Very nice e Shots Leanne

    June 27, 2014
  8. I have tried shooting the stars – I got a black image. hmmmph! Gorgeous photos!!

    June 27, 2014
    • I think to do stars John, you really need a DSLR or something where you can control, ISO, aperture and shutter speed, you really have to be able to put the camera on manual to do it.

      June 27, 2014
      • Well, the old Canon SX30 lets you adjust the ISO and aperture. I may be able to do this but don’t know the exact settings to use…

        June 27, 2014
      • You would need to do the shutter speed as well. Here is the post I did the settings on John.
        http://leannecole.com.au/some-tips-on-photographing-the-milky-way/

        June 27, 2014
      • The ISO only goes to 1600 on this old bugger… no biggy. Some day though I’d like to have a camera that has changeable lenses. This Canon has a huge zoom lens built into it but it’s not detachable.

        June 27, 2014
      • Now you have a project to work towards John.

        June 27, 2014
      • yep, thank you Leanne!

        June 27, 2014
  9. Beautiful

    June 27, 2014
  10. So sorry to hear about the competition, Leanne. Don’t let it get you down. You have a huge family of supporters right here on WP. Though it doesn’t pay in money, the dividends in moral support and friendship are huge 🙂 As for the star photos, brilliant (no pun intended!). I’m in a metropolitan area with too much ambient light – never get to see the sky like this and just love it. And yes to the Up For Discussion archive – great idea!

    June 27, 2014
    • I won’t, it has taught me a lot, and I won’t be entering “photography” comments. Thank you, Stacy, it is good to know I have so much support here. They are huge, that’s for sure. Yes, have to get out quite a bit from the city to get the night shots, it is fantastic up here, I will have to look into the archive, maybe when I get home.

      June 27, 2014
  11. Night photography is such a challenge, especially with a Smartphone.

    June 27, 2014
    • It is definitely a challenge, you really need a camera where you can control all aspects, shutter speed, aperture, and ISO.

      June 27, 2014
  12. I wish I could be a part of your night photo course!! Your shots are “stellar!!!” ( not being facetious!!) 😀 As for competitions – I hate them, I’m nowhere near that level anyway so I go along slowly trying to develop my style in writing and photography.
    You have your own unique way of presenting your visions which to me is art!! Competitions be damned! They can be very biased as you say!! It’s a lonely life being an artist!!

    June 27, 2014
    • Wouldn’t that be great, maybe one day I will get over there and we can do some together. I am actually planning a trip to New York next May. I should talk about it soon.
      I agree about the competitions, I don’t think I will enter them anymore. Not worth it, I think you are right about the judges being biased. Oh now, it is lonely, look at all the friends we have Cybele. Thank you so much.

      June 27, 2014
  13. Best of luck with the stars tonight! Wonderful images!

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you, though the weather forecast is for late showers, so possibly no stars tonight, it is a shame, but there will be other opportunities.

      June 27, 2014
  14. Beautiful shot!

    June 27, 2014
  15. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The Milky Way is gorgeous with its pinkish hues. 🙂

    June 27, 2014
  16. ridiculously awesome

    June 27, 2014
  17. What magnificent photos! Kudos, and thank you for sharing them.

    June 27, 2014
  18. I just can’t get over your photos of the night sky! They are so beautiful!

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you, I must admit I can’t stop looking at them as well.

      June 27, 2014
  19. Such lovely photos, Leanne! I’ve always wanted to see a bright star filled sky but haven’t had the opportunity for the perfect combination of no city lights and a clear sky. I’ll keep wishing though and checking out your photos while I wait. 🙂

    June 27, 2014
    • Oh yes the city lights do really kill the night sky. I love coming up here for that reason, the lights are too far away. Thank you.

      June 27, 2014
  20. beautiful!

    June 27, 2014
  21. stunning photos!

    June 27, 2014
  22. Love these shots, and it’s so helpful for me to be able to download the images and see your settings in ‘file info’. I’m not sure my bridge camera will do a 30-second exposure, and my ISO won’t go beyond 3200, but I’m inspired to find out!

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you Elizabeth, yes, give it a go, that’s all you can do really, try it and see. good luck.

      June 27, 2014
  23. Wonderful sky …:)

    June 27, 2014
  24. I love your milky way images…… beautiful. Im having fun here at the bottom of the world …everywhere you look is a beautiful image. : ))

    June 27, 2014
    • Thank you, glad you like my part of the world Trees.

      June 27, 2014
  25. Stunning photos Leanne.

    June 27, 2014
  26. Great work. Very nice post processing of your pictures.

    June 27, 2014
  27. beautiful

    June 27, 2014
  28. These are stunning! Seems you are doing well with these photos and it makes me want to try them soon. I love the color you achieved. It’s so beautiful. I liken your bits and pieces but don’t take that too personally LOL.

    June 27, 2014
    • I like it too, think I might have to think of a title that I use each week. Thanks Laura, you should give it a go and see how you go.

      June 27, 2014
      • I would really LOVE to. I need to get up to that house though. I know they won’t come out here and we just passed another new moon. So much going on these days before my surgery. I’m going to look at when the next new moon is and see if I can squeeze in a trip.

        June 28, 2014
      • Yes, we are sort of in the right time now, soon the moon will affect it too much. I have not being enjoying the weather this time, the clouds and overcast skies have made shooting the stars so hard, luckily the photos I’ve been taking during the day have been okay. The next new moon will be in about a month!! I would guess anyway. When is your surgery?

        June 28, 2014
      • My surgery is August 12, but we have a lot of things going on between then and now. And the new moon is at a time that makes it difficult to get up there unfortunately. SOME day….

        June 28, 2014
      • Yes, some day, you will get there. It was a few months before I tried for the first time, and now I’ve done it a few times. Though coming to the Mallee helps. You do have a lot going on, so don’t add it to the list just now.

        June 28, 2014
      • Makes sense to me. Lately with everything going on, I haven’t even been able to take regular pictures here. Hopefully this evening.

        June 28, 2014
      • You do have a lot going on, so do what you can and other stuff can wait.

        June 28, 2014
      • 🙂

        June 29, 2014
  29. MrsLJStark #

    I adore night photography. Those shots are spectacular!

    June 27, 2014
    • It is a lot of fun, thank you.

      June 27, 2014
  30. Do please consider including an Up for Discussion archive, if it’s not too much trouble. I’m finding these posts a great resource for ideas and best practice when posting photos online.

    June 27, 2014
    • Yes, I think I will have to do one for them, though not in the next week, bit hard when I am away. That is great to hear you think they are a great resource. Thank you.

      June 27, 2014
  31. Beautiful photos!

    June 27, 2014
  32. poppytump #

    The Milky Way takes some beating Leanne … you surely have brought it out well there for us to admire … hope you’ll manage some more 🙂
    Booo to competitions… and nasty judges all puffed up with their own importance and disregard to others feelings ….
    Have a LOVELY weekend Leanne 🙂

    June 27, 2014
    • I think so too Poppytump, I love getting it. Thank you, I managed to get at least one tonight, but it was a race against the clouds.
      I say the same to competitions. Thank you so much Poppytump, big smile on my face. 🙂

      June 27, 2014
      • poppytump #

        😀

        June 27, 2014
  33. I thought these photos turned out very well. Love how the purple is accentuated in the sky. Very lovely that you captured a bunch of stars, though I reckon there are other nights when they stars are more twinkly. It’s good to hear you’re having fun with teaching, sounds like you are getting very comfortable with it 🙂

    Have a good weekend, Leanne. It’s been raining and windy all week, ugh. But, weekend 🙂

    June 27, 2014
    • thank you Mabel, I love doing the stars. I think teaching is fantastic and I feel more and more comfortable doing it all the time.
      Have you got your camera yet? The weather isn’t much better here, 😦

      June 27, 2014
      • That’s great to hear. I think there’s much more clarity in this set of star shots you’re only going to go upwards from here. It’s like learning a new trick.

        No. Went to the store again today, staff told me they are awaiting stock for my black camera. They only have silver in store, which I wasn’t aware of until last week. Quite frussed as I’m not too busy this week. Turns out I’ll be working in July too 😦 But get most of August off :))

        June 27, 2014
      • I am certainly finding it easier. I can set up a lot faster now.
        That is terrible to hear, can you get it anywhere else? Seems such a shame to have to wait so long, especially after you wanted so long to be able to afford it and choose which one. That’s good that you have some more work isn’t it?

        June 28, 2014
  34. These are nice photos Leanne. I found out from my last attempt that if my lens or camera is set to auto-focus mode and I’m using the interval-timer to take photos for me, it tries to auto-focus between shots. So next time I try this I need to remember to shut that off. The same thing happens when I use the shutter release remote as well.

    I know the rest of this comment isn’t geared towards this post but for the photography competition post on your other site, but for some reason it’s not letting me post it and since I took the time to type it up, I wanted to make sure you got to read it. Sorry for the length and for putting it on here.

    I’ve never entered in any competitions nor have I looked into what makes a good landscape photo vs. a good landscape photographic art. After reading what you have to say and remembering some critiques from professional landscape photographers, I do see why they may not make the cut in a strict photography competition vs. a photographic art competition. I’m not bashing your photos in any way because I do like them. I, like you, do not like to take strict landscape photos but like to create a form of art out of them to give them more of a dramatic feeling. I’m starting to realize as I process my photos now that not every part needs to be in perfect exposure as it makes the photo a bit more ‘boring’.

    To go a little more in depth I can view your photos in two different ways. I hope you don’t take this personal as it is only an opinion or view on how I interpret the differences between ‘photography’ and ‘photographic art’. As standard landscape photographs, I would say that they are a bit underexposed. The vignetting needs to be removed, the highlights toned down a bit, and possibly lighten up the trees in the background. The composition is nice and there are interesting subjects in the photos that give the viewer to connect with. After saying that though, if those things were done to those photos, I don’t think I’d like them as much. I think the way you have processed them gives them more meaning and that’s what makes them art rather than landscape photographs. The second way I could view them is as photographic art. When looking at them in this aspect I have nothing to say on how to fix them or make them better. I think they portray mood quite well and they have elements that make them interesting and stand out.

    I think you are right to stay away from the strict ‘Landscape Photography’ competitions as that’s not how you want to take photos. I would do the same thing if I were in your shoes. Since I’ve seen tons of landscape photographs, to me they are starting to look more like a well placed snapshot with some miner touches to enhance the look. To me that doesn’t make it stand out and I just pass it up. What you do is go beyond that and allow your photos to give something that leaves an impression. But that could be the difference between a traditional photograph and photographic art. A good reason why I continue to view your site and like your work? Because you do something that makes yourself stand out from the crowd. You strive to become known and push the boundaries. You create pieces of work that goes beyond just creating a memory, but also portrays stronger feelings from within. I think you should continue going down the route you are and continue to get better.

    It’s very difficult to say when a photograph crosses the line from becoming a landscape photograph and photographic art. I think it’s really subjective and personal opinions. When it really comes down to it though, you live and you learn. You had to try it and see what happened and now you know. You like the work you do and so do a lot of other people. Keep up the good work.

    June 27, 2014
    • When you are shooting the stars Justin you need to focus you lens on infinity and turn focus onto manual, either on the camera or the lens, then you do the interval-timer or use your shutter release. I use the shutter release, but have focus on manual so it doesn’t change.

      I have to answer this quickly, sorry, but I think what you are saying is right for most landscape competitions, however, I entered this one because it was very clear in the instructions that photoshopping, and any amount of it was allowed. I thought I would be okay, I think it is the whole “photography” competitions thing that is not good, they can be quite pedantic, and the patronising comments, well, not really necessary. I do think you have made a good point, and I should stay away from ones like this, save my money. Thanks.

      June 28, 2014
  35. certainly archive would be helpful – especially when I direct someone to your site for information – it would be easy to find. Typically I just keep these email alerts in my in box to make it easier to go back to articles.

    June 27, 2014
    • I think I am seriously going to have to do it, especially as more and more are done, people do seem to find them resourceful, so when I get back home I will start doing it. Thanks Robert.

      June 28, 2014
  36. Wow! Great pictures Leanne. I will check out the other post with the processing tips these days as well!

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you, the post is all written now.

      June 28, 2014
  37. Beautiful shots! And thanks for all the links and info. I’ll be spending some time checking those out.

    June 28, 2014
  38. Lovely

    June 28, 2014
  39. Amazing photos! You are so talented. And the variety of images you share is fun…love all the water, architecture, and now stars! ~ Sheila

    June 28, 2014
    • I love taking lots of different sorts of images, I like challenging myself to find something new. It is so wonderful to know that people enjoy them, thank you so much Sheila.

      June 28, 2014
  40. so, so beautiful!!!

    June 28, 2014
  41. love, love, love these night shots!

    June 29, 2014
    • I do really enjoy doing these, thank you.

      June 29, 2014
  42. Jen #

    I am sorry you did not do better in the photo competition. These are still more gorgeous images, though. 🙂

    Also, I like your idea of creating a special archive of the discussion posts. They offer plenty of food for thought.

    July 3, 2014
    • Thank you Jen, it is okay though, it was pretty much what I expected I think.
      I am going to work on that archive in the next few days, I think it is a good idea too. Would be terrible for these posts to get lost in all the other posts here.

      July 3, 2014
  43. Your images are beautiful and inspiring. Thank you for sharing them

    July 4, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Processing the Milky Way | LEANNE COLE - Fine Art Photographer

Comments are closed.

