Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Collingwood Part 1

graffiti-street-art-lanes-collingwood-14

Today’s wanderings has to be quick.  My trip to the Mallee is so busy this time.  I’m off soon for some more photos, this time around Lake Albacutya.  I haven’t been around there since January and the fires, so it will be good to see how much it has regenerated.  I have some photos for you today that I took last weekend.  A friend invited me out to go and take photos and she suggested we go into Collingwood.  My first thought was that there was nothing really there to photograph, I was so wrong.  I want to go back because I know there is a lot more there.  For today, I have picked out some photos of the street art and an unusual home to show you.

graffiti-street-art-lanes-collingwood-1

You have to look around here and you see some wonderful things in unusual places.  The above is becoming more popular, the image is on paper and then stuck to the wall.

graffiti-street-art-lanes-collingwood-3

I want to do a proper post on Collingwood, but at this point in time, there is no time, so when I get back home I want to show you more and explain more about the area, but for today I thought I would show you some new homes.  The one on the left was old silos and they have been converted into flats.  Apparently inside them all the room are round, how would you go furnishing a place like that?

graffiti-street-art-lanes-collingwood-14

One of the things the building owners have found is if they pay for a graffiti artist to do the walls then the walls are less likely to be tagged, or have random stuff all over them, so there is some fantastic street art around there, you just have to look for it.

This is a short post, I’m sorry, but I need to get ready to start my own wandering today.  I got some fantastic images at the Pink Lakes yesterday, and am hoping to get some more great images today. We got some stars last night, but unfortunately not many as the clouds rolled in.

I hope you have some wanderings planned this weekend, and here are the above images and more from the streets of Collingwood.

56 Comments
  1. Great photos. I especially like the ones depicting street art.

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you, the street art is quite amazing around there.

      June 28, 2014
  2. Love your shot of the girl with the cat. Well done street art is a photographic treat.

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you Paul, that is wonderful to hear.

      June 28, 2014
  3. Great gallery. Big fan of graffiti photography. I like to keep a bit of context in mine, in other words the canvass is larger than the painting and not just a photograph of the painting.

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you Victor, I hope you found some context in these, I like to do the same thing.

      June 28, 2014
      • I did. I am hoping for a trip to do some more (Montreal or Toronto) work for me. Old buildings, hardware etc. Makes for colourful and wonderful shots.

        June 28, 2014
      • That’s great, and what you are planning sounds really good too. I love them as well, they can make fantastic images.

        June 28, 2014
  4. Pat #

    Fantastic examples of street art.

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you Pat, the art around there was quite amazing.

      June 28, 2014
  5. Beautiful pictures!!

    June 28, 2014
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    That is a crazy door… I like it! Graffiti has been given the respect it deserves. The little girl is adorable.

    June 28, 2014
    • It is a crazy door, pretty crazy building really. I think so too, and I think it is starting to get that, especially when it is good.

      June 28, 2014
  7. Those are remarkable. Look forward to the results of your expedition – but take care Alba doesn’t. He sounds dangerous.

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you. So many photos Colonialist, I don’t know where to start. It didn’t get us, but we got it, well in photos, lots and lots.

      June 28, 2014
  8. Nice bit of street art and images of same. Have fun!

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, so much to see, oh I am, so many photos.

      June 28, 2014
  9. Nice street art photos.

    June 28, 2014
  10. Enjoyed the tour, nice images.

    June 28, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, thank you Donna.

      June 28, 2014
  11. Jen #

    Oooo, I really like the contrast between those two buildings, looking up at the new and the old. Very cool!

    June 28, 2014
    • That’s fantastic Jen, it is pretty cool, thank you.

      June 28, 2014
  12. Don’t know if I could live in a place with rounded walls.

    June 28, 2014
    • No, not sure I could either Colline.

      June 28, 2014
  13. Hi, Leanne. Some great art captured! Regardless of where I am, I’ve learned that there is almost always something to photograph. At a given location, it’s great people get some great shots, but to be present at the same scene and *not* see what’s in front of me would be a real shame. I’m glad Collingwood provided some worthy clicks!

    June 28, 2014
    • I agree it would be a real shame, it is good to think that way, and I am starting to think the same, always give it a chance and see what you find. It was so worth going there, and I can’t wait to explore some more. Thank you.

      June 28, 2014
  14. fantastic street art photos and I love the angle in the ones of buildings.

    June 28, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I was really surprised at the street art, or more the amount of it.

      June 28, 2014
  15. I’ve always though there wasn’t much about Collingwood either. So maybe I’m wrong too. That suburb seems quiet but there does seem to be a lot of street art. Last month I went down there to get some Gelato Messina 🙂

    I already paid for my camera so I don’t know what else I can do. When I bought it online it did say black was in stock. The other stores I’ve checked out and spoken to didn’t want to price match with this store, instead offering freebies like bags. Happy wandering Leanne, I know you’ll get photos 🙂

    June 28, 2014
    • I thought the same, we were both wrong, so much there. I think we tend to think of the place as just the main streets, but there is a whole history there in the back streets.
      That is a shame, I suppose they don’t have to hurry now to get it, but I would keep hassling them. I hope you didn’t get it from overseas. I’ve been wandering so much, I’m kinda worn out, looking forward to sitting still for a while. It is so cold outside.

      June 28, 2014
      • I always had the impression Collingwood was dull, just a few rows of restaurants, that’s it. You’re right. There’s probably more to see in the back lanes judging from your photos. Might be a nice park nearby too.

        Didn’t get the camera overseas but from one of the shops in the city near Melbourne Central (online buy). Arrghh. I want to do nothing too, but as usual something always pops up. Summer will be here before you know it 🙂

        June 28, 2014
      • Well it turns out it isn’t dull at all. The back streets and lanes are pretty incredible, though I am not sure I would do it by myself.
        It is too cold, just canceled one thing for tomorrow, looking forward to sitting around and doing nothing.

        June 28, 2014
      • I like going around places by myself, but then again maybe I shouldn’t for safety reasons.

        It is cold, that doesn’t sound good, the cancellation. It’s still very windy in the city but am determined to get a burger tomorrow 😀 Stay warm, must be colder in the Mallee.

        June 28, 2014
      • I think there are some places you shouldn’t go by yourself, just be careful.

        I don’t mind at all, it is too windy, and I probably won’t get the shots I want, so I don’t mind at all.Burgers are great, I love them. I will, and you too. It isn’t colder, it is usually colder in Melbourne.

        June 29, 2014
  16. Nothing to be sorry about, these are great photos!

    June 28, 2014
  17. The street art you’ve captured is amazing!!

    June 29, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, and only a small selection, there is a lot around there.

      June 29, 2014
  18. More cool street art where you are….and safe to photograph I’m assuming! I’d love to go into our more dicey areas in downtown oakland and shoot some graffiti but I’d probably get shot lol.

    June 29, 2014
    • It is great Laura, though this area I wouldn’t go by myself, very happy to go with a friend though and wander around. Oh yes, I think you dicey areas are much more dangerous than ours, we don’t have guns here, so that makes it a bit better, well we don’t have legal guns.

      June 29, 2014
      • Can you imagine me with a camera over one shoulder and a gun slung over the other? Typical American LOL!!!! Just kidding…I don’t own a gun.

        June 29, 2014
      • Now I have that picture in my head, LOL, too funny.

        June 29, 2014
  19. Reblogged this on C&T Publishing Company.

    June 29, 2014
  20. Great post. Love the girl with the cat.

    June 29, 2014
  21. Love the pose and the photos, Leanne!

    The answer is I could never live in a round apartment. It would drive me nuts!

    That’s really interesting what they found about the graffiti artists. What I’m wondering is if it’s because the person they’re paying is part of the social group, so he or she knows the people who do the tagging and so that’s why the taggers lay off. As we saw in Melbourne, the nice art does get tagged over, so maybe it just depends on the city and the groups who are doing it. Maybe since Melbourne is bigger, there are more groups competing so they don’t know each other or are competing with each other, so there’s no respect.

    This phenomenon is interesting, sociologically. I would like to know more about it. It would be interesting to interview some of these people who do tagging and graffiti and find out some of the culture that’s behind it. I know some of it is gangs, which we brush off as very antisocial, thugs really, but things are also sociological groups and it just would be interesting to see an interview with these people to find out how they think, how they operate and why there would be a disinclination to tag over the work of a graffiti artist who has been paid.

    June 30, 2014
    • I don’t think I could live in a home with round rooms, I could handle one round room, but not all.
      I really don’t know Nia, maybe for this suburb there is a level of respect, I don’t know. Apparently what was happening in the city of melbourne with Hosier lane has stopped, and now anyone can paint there, so it has lost some of that class, so to speak.
      I don’t know that it is gangs here, we don’t really have them, I know they exist, but not like they do in the states, they seem to exist here more in the Asian community and they seem to stick to themselves, well, I haven’t heard anything, so I really don’t know. Maybe you should start a project on it. It is interesting, but I wouldn’t know where to start, I could take the photos for you, haha.

      June 30, 2014
  22. I really enjoyed the street art and that litlle girl with the kitten is so cute.

    June 30, 2014
    • Thank you Georgia, it was lovely walking around and seeing what I could find.

      June 30, 2014
      • I’d say you found some really great stuff … some of it is really fantastic!

        June 30, 2014
      • I think it was just the tip Georgia, and I am looking forward to going back some time and finding more.

        June 30, 2014
  23. The street art is amazing.

    July 1, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings – Collingwood Part 2 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

