Skip to content

Monochrome Madness Week 18

It has been such a busy week and as time went on more and more images for Monochrome Madness came in.  I do enjoy doing this, but I have to admit this week was hard, but it is all good now and I am pleased to see it all come together again. I should start by saying I didn’t send anyone emails for their images, I want to apologise, but being away, there just wasn’t enough time.  Welcome to Week 18 of this Madness that we see in Monochrome.

clock-shearing-shed-mallee-time

While I was in the Mallee, I was given an opportunity to go and photograph a farm that has been operating for over a hundred years.  On the farm was an old shearing shed that they still use today.  It was fantastic to wander around it and see the pieces that are really old and the new additions, plus all the bits in between.  This clock was hanging on the wall in one of the sheep pens.  I couldn’t resist taking a photo, though the clock doesn’t work anymore, I like all the textures on it and around it. I think it is funny that I chose this image, I have felt that the last few days I’ve needed more of this, more time.

frogs

Laura Macky has submitted the above image this week for Monochrome Madness and if you want to read about the image, then go to her post Ribbit.

Here we go again, another week of Monochrome Madness, the gallery.  The links for the images are below the images, and don’t forget if you want to participate in this Madness, the instructions are at the end of the post.

Now, if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be as small as it can be, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it.

Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.  I respect your copyright and would never keep any of the images.

97 Comments
  1. Gorgeous and amazing photos! ❤

    July 2, 2014
    • I think so so Em, lots of great ones.

      July 2, 2014
  2. A great week by all once again. I love all the terrific portraits, but how good is that tennis image?

    July 2, 2014
    • It is funny how some weeks have more of one thing, that is great to hear Shane, yours looking great too.

      July 2, 2014
      • Thanks Leanne, and yes, it is funny how some weeks tend to hit cerrtain themes.

        July 2, 2014
      • I agree, I often notice it when I am doing the post.

        July 2, 2014
  3. Would always be nice to have more time! Just skimmed through them for now but nice set of images as always. Now I just need to find the time to go through them a little slower as I’ve got a busy week this week. 🙂

    Hope you have fun going through all your photos. Sounds like you had a great time.

    July 2, 2014
    • I know that feeling Justin, I feel like my busy week is finally stopping and almost caught up, still some things to do.
      Thanks Justin, I must count them and see how many I took. It was the most productive time I’ve ever had up there.

      July 2, 2014
  4. Gorgeous!

    July 2, 2014
  5. Another collection of fine images, I really enjoy looking through them each week, it keeps the creativity fresh, well done to everyone 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • That is wonderful Ed, I do as well. 🙂

      July 2, 2014
  6. Thanks for doing all this yet again. Another great week. I just went through them and commented. It’s fun looking at what everyone did.

    July 2, 2014
    • It seems to have gone that way with people commenting on the images, it is great. I do have to admit I was slightly worried I wouldn’t get the post done today, but I got there in the end. Didn’t let anyone know I had received their images though. Time just ran out.

      July 2, 2014
      • Well I DO appreciate everything you do. I’ve been busy with relatives and they have just left. It was fun though.

        July 2, 2014
      • Thank you Laura, I appreciate that, it has been a tiring week, but a great week.

        July 2, 2014
      • 😀

        July 2, 2014
  7. They are wonderful!!

    July 2, 2014
  8. More great shots from the monochrome madness community. Thanks for the inclusion.

    July 2, 2014
  9. It’s great to see such another great gallery of images. Thanks for all the work you put into this and for connecting us with photographers from around the world.

    July 2, 2014
    • You’re welcome Liz, it was harder this week, but only because I was away, all good now, it was done, that is the main thing.

      July 2, 2014
  10. Another great week – everyone should be very proud of thier submissions this week – I’d hate to have to choose the best – and luckily, I don’t have to.

    July 2, 2014
  11. Another great collection Leanne. I can sure relate to your comments about time pressures. I’ve missed two weeks in a row, but I promise to be back as soon as I find the time! 😉 Thanks for all you do to bring this together each week.

    July 2, 2014
    • It can be so hard sometimes when you want time is an issue. I look forward to getting your email Betty. You’re very welcome, I do enjoy the challenge of this, always on the look out for my next monochrome image.

      July 2, 2014
  12. Hi Leanne,

    Thank you for sharing my photo (#5) ^_^

    All the photographs on your gallery are great! Thanks for compiling them and sharing it with us. It inspires me more for my passion in photography. God bless you!

    July 2, 2014
    • You’re welcome it is a pleasure for me to do this, it is great seeing it all come together each week. That’s wonderful.
      I usually tell people, but don’t forget to check the comments on your image in the gallery, people leave comments there.

      July 2, 2014
  13. Thanks Leanne for all your work to present this challenge each week. They are beautifully displayed. So much talent out there.

    July 2, 2014
    • I have to agree, there is a lot of talent out there. You’re welcome Michelle, it is great to do something like this.

      July 2, 2014
  14. Ah, Leanne, as much as I love color, I confess that it’s the monochromes that I find heart-stoppingly stunning! xoxoM

    July 2, 2014
    • I don’t think you are alone there Margarita, seems to be very popular.

      July 2, 2014
  15. Hi Leanne,

    Thank you for sharing my photo on your blog. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your blogs. You are helping photographers like me be inspired more and get connected. Thanks! If you’d notice, I don’t put writings on my blog, just photos. because I’m not that good in writing. But reading your blogs and following more bloggers in wordpress have inspired me to try to write too. 🙂 I’m afraid to have wrong grammars published that’s why I don’t write. haha! If you could give me some tips on how to blog, I’d appreciate it so much! 🙂

    Anyway, thanks again! I hope you could again include some of these photos on your page soon.

    1. This one is my favourite photo during my first time to shoot wedding photography. I had no fee as a photographer then. I was just a volunteer assistant. 😀 I really wanted to learn more, have a lot of experience, and have my own portfolio. http://jenicezairafotografia.com/2013/10/16/medrina-molina/20121217-jen_9770/

    http://jenicezairafotografia.com/2013/10/16/medrina-molina/20121217-jen_0029-3/

    This is the photo that I got for my client, Jozella’s debut. It was a K-pop themed party. It as my first time to be the main photographer on a debut which was paid. haha! I love this photo because I was amazed on how the light and shadows turned out.

    http://jenicezairafotografia.com/2014/05/28/jozella-caparas-18th-birthday/jozella-caparas-debut-jenice-zaira-fotografia-21/

    This is Jozella and her dad during her Pre-Debut Pictorial. http://jenicezairafotografia.com/2014/05/27/caparas-family/dsc_8405/

    The photo below was taken in Davao, Philippines. Lovely & innocent siblings. http://jenicezairafotografia.com/2013/11/21/the-innocent-kids/

    Thanks ahead! Have a great day Leanne! 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • No problem at all. I am happy to include your photos in future posts, though you have to email which one you want me to use. Putting links here to posts doesn’t work.
      I am not sure about blogging, I have done Up for Discussion posts on what people like in blogs, and what they don’t like. Writing is good and so many people prefer that you write something, apparently around 500 words is good, a good average anyway.

      July 2, 2014
  16. Another great week of images – I love your picture of the clock and thanks for all the hard work you do 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • It is Lisa, just wonderful. Thank you and you’re very welcome. 🙂

      July 2, 2014
  17. Another great week. Well done everyone!

    July 2, 2014
  18. Again, another set of great images. 🙂
    I always find these posts give me so much inspiration, and I’m so glad you posted your clock photo, its great!! It’s got me now thinking ahead for my next set of photos. 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • It is another great set and, as you say, always inspirational. Thank you Tracey, I love the clock and I’m intrigued now. 😉

      July 2, 2014
  19. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    My #1 favorite, the young child looking over her shoulder. All are impressive and I’m especially drawn to the skiff and water. Architecture is another favorite. 😉

    July 2, 2014
    • Sounds like lots of great favourites Jackie.

      July 2, 2014
  20. This is another fantastic set of black-and-white photos! 🙂 I really like your clock photo, especially after reading about its history. Like you, I could use more time too. 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • Thank you, time, time, never enough. I have so many things I want to try. It is another great set, glad you enjoyed them. 🙂

      July 2, 2014
  21. Thank you for all of your hard work. 🙂

    July 2, 2014
  22. Leanne, Thanks for all you do to make MM possible!!
    Really like your clock image this week. Looks like it has a pendulum and might have been out of an old Grandfather clock. Do you know if it was?
    Another great gallery and another great week 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • PS I love what Ben said…we are a community 🙂
      How good is that?!

      July 2, 2014
    • No problem at all Robyn, didn’t stuff up too much, though did miss one image, apologies to Cybele.
      I don’t know the history of the clock, I thought it might be electric, or was once. That is about all I can tell you, been there a long time.
      It is another great week, glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      July 2, 2014
      • Ah you’ve been a busy girl.
        All is well 🙂
        Definitely!!

        July 2, 2014
      • I have been, but yes all well now. Are you home yet? 🙂

        July 2, 2014
      • Nope, unfortunately still having limiting back issues 😦
        Glad all is well now 🙂

        July 2, 2014
      • That’s not good to her, I know what that is like. 😦

        July 2, 2014
      • I know you do. Thanks 🙂
        I’ll fill you in when we chat without whinging…lol

        July 2, 2014
      • Sounds like a plan.

        July 2, 2014
  23. Love your clock image, leanne. You had some great entries. It would be hard to choose a favourite, but the surfer really stands out for me. 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • Thank you, there were some great entries, don’t think I could pick a favourite, but glad you like that one, 🙂

      July 2, 2014
  24. Aren’t they just magical? I am in love with black and white contrast and I think nothing better than this combination can portray the art of secrecy and mystery. It just captivates you interest and yearns the quest to know more. Beautiful clicks and mind blowing concept. Loved it 🙂

    July 2, 2014
    • I am glad you have enjoyed it Jessie, it is amazing how many people love monochrome, and it has been great for so many of us as it pushes up to do more. 🙂

      July 3, 2014
  25. As always, thanks for doing this.

    July 2, 2014
    • You’re welcome, I love doing it.

      July 3, 2014
  26. Love this series Leanne!

    July 2, 2014
  27. HI Leanne, another great selection of photos, your clock is great I love the toning you gave it. thanks for giving us this opportunity to share our work!

    July 3, 2014
    • Thank you, I have to admit I don’t leave many images in just black and white, I do like the tones. You’re welcome, it is always a pleasure to do this, it is good for me too, I am doing so much more black and white now.

      July 3, 2014
  28. Week 18! Hard to believe. Great selection this week Leanne and the clock is a masterful beginning. Best wishes to all the MM photography family 🙂

    July 3, 2014
    • I know, I actually had to look to see if we really were up to week 18. Thank you Andrew.

      July 3, 2014
  29. poppytump #

    Just lovely scrolling down everyones’ images Leanne .
    I love colour so much but taking to appreciate a B&W somehow means I look further into an image for that extra something which gives me a buzz . Plenty here 😉
    You do a sterling job keeping it all up to date .. !

    July 3, 2014
    • I think I am the same Poppytump, I do love colour, which has made this a great challenge for me, forces me to do something I probably wouldn’t. Does make you think differently, you might have to try one week Poppytump. Thank you, some weeks can be hard, but mostly I love it.

      July 3, 2014
  30. Again…another terrific week of fantastic images. I have to say though that my favorite image is your’s Leanne. I really love that clock and the way you presented it. The contrast between the clock face and the marred wood, and even the power cord or chain or whatever that cord might be, all bring the scene to life. Bravo!

    July 4, 2014
    • Thank you Dan, that is wonderful.

      July 5, 2014
  31. Love these pictures 🙂

    July 5, 2014
  32. Great snap of the farm clock! Loving this series & collection of photographs – we could always do with more monochrome in our lives.

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you Shermaine, and yes, we could always do with more, I fixed the mistake.

      July 5, 2014
  33. Whoa those pictures are amazing! 😀

    July 9, 2014
    • Oh yes, they are, hope you take a look at MM19 today.

      July 9, 2014
  34. I particularly loved the portraits this week! Kudos to all. And the FEET… I swoon.

    July 9, 2014
    • Too funny Elen, can I see you swooning. Yes, it is funny how some weeks have more of one subject.

      July 9, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Under the Dome | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  2. Monochrome Madness Wednesday | It Goes On
  3. Monochrome Photography | A Wandering Brit
  4. Monochrome Abstraction | Michelle Amar Photography
  5. Monochrome Madness challenge week 18 | daysandmonths
  6. Monochrome Madness ~ Week 18 | Fine Arts Journal
  7. Watching the towns roll by from the FEVE train: Asturias Spain | jmeyersforeman photography
  8. Monochrome Madness 19: Flamenco Amsterdam | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  9. Monochrome Madness – Week 18 | Anica Art Photography
  10. Two boats – Monochrome Madness Week 18 | Sari's Corner
  11. Feet | Visual Venturing
  12. Black and White Flower | Robyn Graham Photography
  13. Il Grande Toscano | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  14. Monochrome Madness 19: Canal Revisited | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

Comments are closed.

