Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Around Woomelang

old-shearing-shed-sheep-woomelang-9

Last weekend I was in the Mallee, you all know that, but I haven’t shown you many photos of the place since I got back.  I am slowly going through them and today I am going to show you some photos I took one afternoon while on a stroll around Woomelang.  It started with the train station and then I went to a place I didn’t know was there, before ending up somewhere very familiar again.

train-station-silos-woomelang-grain-1

I have played with a few of the images.  There is a feeling you get when you go there, that doesn’t translate straight from the camera and I am trying to work out how to get it in my images.  I might have to keep trying.  This is the old train station, with the grain silos in the background.  The train station is no longer used, and, I’m told, neither are the large orange silos anymore.  They have become too old and aren’t good enough for grain anymore. The train station doesn’t get used anymore because passenger trains don’t run this way anymore, which is a bit sad.

train-station-silos-woomelang-grain-4

We picked one of the worse weeks to go up there, it was cold, really windy, and raining on and off the whole time.  Usually when I go up there it is sun, sun, sun. It is one of those places that hardly gets any rain, but they got it that week.  The wind was icy and really cut through you.  It wasn’t nice being outside really.  As we were walking around I saw this big puddle and wanted to get the reflection of the silos in it.

cronomby-tanks-water-reserve-woomelang-2

This was an area I had never been too before.  As we were walking around the silos I saw an shed or something through the trees, so we decided to investigate, and we found this.  I knew of Cronomby Tanks, but thought it was really nothing, but it is a whole lot more.  There is something like a dam, though it is almost sculpted, as the shape is not natural.  I am going to have to go back there next time.  I love discovering new things in places I thought I already knew.

old-shearing-shed-sheep-woomelang-3

After there we headed over to the old shearing shed.  I have photographed this so many times I’ve lost count, but my friend who came with me had never been there before, so we went over.  On this afternoon we approached it from the back end and went through all the sheep yards out the back.

old-shearing-shed-sheep-woomelang-9

 

Before ending up out the front.  The light in the above image is perhaps my favourite sort, I rarely get to see it, but I do love it when you have a dark brooding sky, but it almost seems like the sun is out, so it is also bright.  It is like a contradiction of light.

We didn’t go far in our wanderings, but it was wonderful to do it.  I can’t believe I never knew what Cronomby Tanks were, or had not explored that area before.  I have more photos for you to look through.  As I said in the beginning, I have done some more work to some of them, which you may or may not be able to tell, the rest were processed quickly in Lightroom.  Hope you discover new places when you are out wandering this weekend.

 

48 Comments
  1. Really great shots Leanne. Thanks for sharing your wanderings. I always learn so much from your eye.

    July 5, 2014
    • Always a pleasure Laura, thank you. 🙂

      July 5, 2014
      • you’re welcome 🙂 The pleasure is mine!

        July 6, 2014
  2. Beautiful pictured, Leanne. I love the way you use the light.

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you Norm, what a lovely thing to say, I really appreciate it.

      July 5, 2014
  3. beautiful set of images! it seems thst weather is back here in SA this weekend! I do love a broody sky!!

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you Trees, I hope that weather doesn’t make its way here, I am over the wind and the cold it brings with it. I love broody skies too, but time for some other sort.

      July 5, 2014
  4. Wow… I have to tell you I found these images stunning – I love the rustic beauty and the colors – quite beautiful. I so admire such talent. Thanks for another great post.

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you Twig, that is wonderful, it was a great afternoon for exploring.

      July 5, 2014
  5. Gorgeous photos! I love the silos! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    July 5, 2014
  6. love the skies and these spaces…has an Alberta feeling…beautiful post.

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you, sometimes the weather is horrible to be out in, but it can give you great images.

      July 5, 2014
      • i like to remind myself of John Lubbock’s words…”We often hear of bad weather, but in reality, no weather is bad. It is all delightful, though in different ways. Some weather may be bad for farmers or crops, but for man all kinds are good. Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating.”…look forward to seeing your next post Leanne 😀

        July 6, 2014
      • That is a great quote, so true, though bad weather can be the best for photographing, it is great getting moody clouds, thank you so much. 😀

        July 6, 2014
      • agree :-D…enjoy your time Leanne ~ smiles hedy

        July 6, 2014
      • Thank you Hedy. 😀

        July 6, 2014
  7. Leanne, brilliant… Who would have thought a country town is so interesting. When I was young I lived in the country but thought it dull, not nnow!. When I return again I think you have inspired me to go out and try and capture that feel as well.

    Just saw your message about the shearing shed…. cant wait for the sunrise shot!!!

    July 5, 2014
    • I suppose it is one of those things where you just have to look, and I have been taking photos of the town for almost 20 years, so I have got to know it quite well. Oh yes, go back and see what you find, don’t look at it through the eyes of the child, but look at through the lens of your camera and see what you can capture, it is amazing. The sunrise was a bust, and not very good, but the early morning light on the shearing shed was stunning. thank you Karen.

      July 5, 2014
  8. Wonderful reflections.

    July 5, 2014
  9. I love silos and the Mallee. Love the photo with the refection of the silo in the puddle, very clever composition.

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you Christine, it was a great find, I don’t usually walk around that way.

      July 5, 2014
  10. The weather certainly helped to bring a haunting quality to your photos Leanne.

    July 5, 2014
    • It certainly did Colline, it is nice when the weather can be so horrible, but be perfect for photos. Thank you.

      July 5, 2014
  11. These pictures are the living proof that in fact teletransport is a reality. I have now the feeling that I really was there. Great work.

    July 5, 2014
    • I love that idea, thank you, and that is wonderful if you felt like you were there.

      July 5, 2014
  12. the first are dramatically ominous!! I love the one with the refllective pond and the empty barn!

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I like that dramatically ominous, they haven’t quite worked, but I might do more to them.

      July 5, 2014
  13. Some nice, atmospheric shots in there Leanne

    July 5, 2014
  14. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I remember the silos but there are new shots here. These are very good, I like the barn too, with the rust. It occurs to me occasionally that you – and people like you – are not just taking pictures, but are documenting history and cultures. This barn was once new, and look at it now. I think that is profound, thinking about that.

    July 5, 2014
    • I have shot the silos and the shearing shed a few times, so I wouldn’t be at all surprised if you did find them familiar Jackie. I like what you say, and I know I have images of things that were once there and are no more, so it is right, you are, or I am helping to keep the history of the place. Thank you.

      July 5, 2014
  15. Like everyone, I love your handling of the sky. Besides the sky, I’m fascinated by the lines you have captured. But my very favorite is of the sheep shed, about 3 up from the bottom, the one with the grassy path leading to the sagging double doors and the building with peeling red paint.

    July 5, 2014
    • Thank you, the old shearing shed is a great subject for photos. The back doors are pretty cool, though, it isn’t red paint, the shearing shed was made with old kerosene tins, so the red is rust, so it is getting very rusty.

      July 5, 2014
  16. Love it! Very moody shot!

    July 5, 2014
  17. What’s the Mallee?

    July 5, 2014
    • It is an area, it is a place in the north west of the state of Victoria.

      July 5, 2014
  18. Really like the first shot of the train station. There’s a very Western feel to it, like the station’s part of an American town like you see in the movies. I was expecting to see sheep wandering outside the shearing shed, but of course, it’s no longer in use 😀 Love Weekend Wanderings, my favourite post from you each week.

    Hope you’re having a good weekend, Leanne. It’s going by way too fast.

    July 5, 2014
    • Thanks Mabel, I liked it, but think it needs more work. No sheep anymore, I have seen sheep there, but not for many years now. that is great, it is nice to know that people enjoy these posts.
      Yes, nice, but busy, in the city all day tomorrow, so hopefully the weather won’t be too bad. Hope you are having a good one too.

      July 5, 2014
  19. Reblogged this on SinghCircle and commented:
    The pictures are, as usual, brilliant!!

    July 6, 2014
  20. Fantastic shots, Leanne. The one of the silo’s puddle reflection is my favourite. 🙂

    July 6, 2014
    • Thank you, I don’t think you are alone there, 😀

      July 6, 2014
  21. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    July 6, 2014
  22. Ann #

    Wow! That first train station one is exceptional! I can almost hear Steve Goodman singing the “…disappearin’ railroad blues.” You’ve got absolutely no glimmer of light on the rails which adds to the desolation of the whole image. Dark and moody. I love it!

    July 6, 2014
    • Thank you Ann, I wasn’t sure about it, but some others said they liked it as well. I really like what you have said about it, brilliant.

      July 6, 2014

Comments are closed.

