Skip to content

Monochrome Madness Week 19

Welcome to another week of Monochrome Madness and it seems the madness is continuing.  I have started finding myself doing monochrome images that aren’t for this, which I think is fantastic. I just want to explain something too, I don’t put information here on this post about the images or about the people submitting them because I think you should go to their blogs or their links and meet them that way.  I think of these posts as the first step in the introduction and it is up to you to take it further.

shearing-shed-old-woomelang-monochrome

My image this week is from the same place as last weeks, the 100 year old shearing shed that I got to photograph when I was up in the Mallee.  I have done a post on the image over on my other blog, My Image for MM19, and I did something new, I did a video of how I processed it.  It has been sped up and has music with it as well.

door-web

Here is Laura Macky’s image and as usual, you can go to her blog to find out more information about it, she has written the following post on it, The Door – Monochrome Madness.

Don’t forget if you like the MMC and would like to submit your own image then there are instructions at the end of this post on how you should do that.  Please remember to follow them.  It is great getting new people entering along with those that do it each week.  This challenge was set up so we would do more black and white, so if think you don’t do enough, then this is most definitely something you should consider. Now here is the gallery.

Now, if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be as small as it can be, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it. Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.  I respect your copyright and would never keep any of the images.

87 Comments
  1. Another great set of images this week.

    Nice photo from you as well Leanne. It’s always great to photograph old places as they provide so many options for wide angle shots as well as closeup shots. So much detail can be seen through old places. Your photo has a lot to take in and it is all interesting.

    July 9, 2014
    • It is Justine, just wonderful.
      Thank you, I agree,places like that are just perfect for monochrome.

      July 9, 2014
  2. Another engaging set of images. Thanks for doing what was probably a labor-intensive video.

    July 9, 2014
    • It is Sally, great set. You’re welcome, though it was actually not that bad, beyond learning how to do it. I would like to do more.

      July 9, 2014
  3. Your picture at 46 is a treat.

    July 9, 2014
  4. Amazing talent here in this post. Wonderful job of pulling everything together, Leanne. And your photograph is outstanding (of course). Thank you for all you do. Great job!

    July 9, 2014
    • Thank you for your contribution too Amy, it only works because people send me their images. Thank you for what you said about mine as well.
      Don’t forget to check the comments for your image, people leave comments on the individual images.

      July 9, 2014
      • Oh wow, I didn’t know that. Thank you, Leanne. Thank you for telling me. (((HUGS))) Amy

        July 9, 2014
      • Oh yes, check it out, I know people have left comments already.

        July 9, 2014
  5. It was so fun to browse and comment on all these images. It really helps me to improve by seeing things I wouldn’t normally see. Thank you to everyone! Another great week!

    July 9, 2014
    • I think the same Laura, as I get the emails during the week, it is fantastic to see all the different subjects and how people portray them.

      July 9, 2014
  6. Amazing selection of photos again. I like that it encourages me to think more about black and white images, they are so definitely do-able and you both have shown that here, thanks. Your image of the shearing shed is wonderful, such lovely textures and light. I’m looking forward to watching the video on your post.

    July 9, 2014
    • I am the same Katie, and that is exactly why we started this.
      Thank you Katie, the shearing shed is just perfect for monochrome.

      July 9, 2014
  7. These are incredible Leanne, and I have missed you! I have been working and barely checking in, but hope to do better when I complete my project in the fall.

    July 9, 2014
    • Nice to hear from you Patricia, we all do what we can, great that you have been working, and I hope you are enjoying it. I look forward to hearing from you when you have more time.

      July 9, 2014
  8. Monochrome Madness Week is the best series going!

    July 9, 2014
  9. Lovely intriguing images this week! And thanks for including my first submission to your Monochrome Madness!

    July 9, 2014
    • They are Erika, and you are very welcome, thank you for submitting your image and joining in on the madness.

      July 9, 2014
  10. Reblogged this on The Process and commented:
    Here is a wonderful set of black and white photographs on Leanne Cole’s Photography blog’s weekly feature, Monochrome Madness. This was my first time submitting, and she was kind enough to include my photo of the cow skull on a rock. Thanks Leanne!

    July 9, 2014
    • You’re welcome Erika, thank you.

      July 9, 2014
  11. Nice work!

    July 9, 2014
  12. jamiechristinephotography #

    Another stunning and beautiful collection! Great job everyone.

    July 9, 2014
  13. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I worked all day in WordPress and this was a treat for me to see this. I’m exhausted but looking at the details in the images was refreshing.

    July 9, 2014
    • Sounds like hard work Jackie, I’m glad you enjoyed looking at all the images.

      July 9, 2014
  14. Wow Leanne your shearing shed is fantastic. I was excited in anticipation of how it would look but its beyond my expectations. How beautiful it is and how well you have captured this image. I hope there are more shearing shed pics 🙂 ….

    Also the B&W images this week are outstanding, diverse and interesting. I cant wait to have more time to sift through them slowly, like a nice port! They need some time and attention. Bravo everyone!

    July 9, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, your image is wonderful too. I am sure there will be more, I want to go back to it with my tripod, so will see if I can do that next time.
      They are fantastic, it is always a surprise each week to see them all together. 🙂

      July 9, 2014
  15. Wonderful pictures, as usual!! Particularly loved the “there was a time” and some of the other nature pictures! I don’t think you can ever stop doing this series 🙂

    July 9, 2014
    • I am starting to think the same, it is always good to get images from new people as well. I do enjoy doing it, so I am happy to continue as long as people are happy to contribute and others are happy to look. 🙂

      July 9, 2014
  16. Another excellent week from all, I do enjoy this weekly post and again a big thank you to you. Your image and video were great though I confess I’m not a fan of the smell of shearing sheds!

    July 9, 2014
    • That’s wonderful Lisa, so good that you enjoy this post, I have to admit, I enjoy it as well. Thank you, and I’m with you over the smell, always a shock when you first walk in.

      July 9, 2014
  17. Much as I love seeing these every week, I still forget to give it a go when I take my camera out!

    July 9, 2014
    • I’m sure you will remember one day, when you are ready. I hope to see one one week.

      July 9, 2014
  18. Hey Leanne .. some amazing photos. Love your shearing shed 🙂

    July 9, 2014
    • There certainly are Julie, thank you, aren’t shearing sheds amazing, you must have some where you are. 🙂

      July 9, 2014
  19. awesome layout this week ,, an some very kewl photographs also…….. thanx fer another great layout of kewl shotz 🙂 from around the globe 🙂 says quarksire here 🙂 take care an keep on keepin’ on until next week “tada~”………….. Q

    July 9, 2014
    • Will do, you have a good week too, glad you enjoyed being part of it and the other posts. 🙂

      July 9, 2014
  20. Great shots! I really like the one of the two men. Monochrome is always so elegant and deep. I find colours can sometimes be distracting. You have an amazing blog as well! 🙂 Thanks for sharing

    July 9, 2014
    • Thanks for what you said about my blog. I agree about monochrome, it can be great and that is wonderful about the one you like. 🙂

      July 9, 2014
  21. Another set of amazing entries!

    July 9, 2014
  22. You are making me think about trying a few B & W sessions….the lighting is so important with black and white and I don’t do enough of it. Thanks for the beautiful blog.

    July 10, 2014
    • I don’t know if the lighting is anymore important than for colour, I think it is a case of just trying it and seeing. I hope you do try it, and thank you what you said about my blog.

      July 10, 2014
  23. My, but these are gorgeous and inspiring images!

    July 10, 2014
    • Absolutely, I am glad you think so too.

      July 10, 2014
  24. Johann Briffa #

    Good choice of subject with that barn! Next week I need to remind myself to submit something to this enjoyable series 🙂

    July 10, 2014
    • Thank you Johann, I hope you do find something you can submit, it has been a very rewarding series for me, I like what I am doing with monochrome. 🙂

      July 10, 2014
  25. Wonderful entries for your challenge, Leanne. That old shearing shed is so full of character, and I love your monochrome image. Here’s my entry :http://anotherday2paradise.wordpress.com/2014/07/09/monochrome-madness-my-colour-photo-that-had-no-colour/

    July 10, 2014
    • Thank you, but you need to email your entry to me. I get a few and if people leave links I forget about them, or miss them. I have a great system, hardly ever leave people out, so you need to email it to me so I can use my system. Thank you.

      July 10, 2014
  26. Amy #

    Thank you for hosting the MM week! I have seen some remarkable photos here. I will send you my first submission later today 🙂

    July 10, 2014
    • My pleasure, it is great doing because I get a lot out of it as well, in that I am doing so much more monochrome now than I ever have before. I look forward to receiving your submission. 🙂

      July 10, 2014
  27. Another great week for monochrome madness. I love them all!! Thanks Leanne and Laura!

    July 10, 2014
  28. inanoctopusgarden #

    love these – favorite is the bee!

    July 10, 2014
  29. thanks for adding me…. its a great selection of images…

    July 10, 2014
  30. Another week of mind blowing images. I have also been experimenting with taking images in B&W. My new camera makes it easy. I must try again for next week’s MM!

    July 10, 2014
    • Sounds good Nia, I see you got a new camera, sorry I haven’t been commenting over on yours, I don’t know where the time is going at the moment.

      July 10, 2014
  31. These are incredible Leanne. Your photos always make me happy – thank you 🙂

    July 11, 2014
    • Oh what a lovely thing to say, thank you so much. 😀

      July 11, 2014
  32. Some wonderful images. The fox and the bee stand out for me.

    July 12, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Back to School | Applying for an Artistic License
  2. Il Grande Toscano | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  3. Monochrome Lion Statue (modified film shot) | Michelle Amar Photography
  4. Beach Huts at Bexhill: Monochrome Madness #19 | Drawing with Light
  5. Monochrome Madness Time | "There was a time" -the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter and other tales
  6. The Door – Monochrome Madness | Laura Macky
  7. Mononchrome Madness ~ Week 19 | Fine Arts Journal
  8. Monochrome Madness – Week 19 | Anica Art Photography
  9. Monochrome Maddness 7-7-2014 | Quarksire
  10. Monochrome madness #19: watergate | eljaygee
  11. Monochrome Madness 19: Canal Revisited | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  12. Monochrome Madness: My colour photo that had no colour. | anotherdayinparadise
  13. Monochrome Madness Week 19: It’s Summertime | The World Is a Book...
  14. Bexhill Lions Triathlon | Six Pixx
  15. Monochrome Maddness 7-14-2014 | Quarksire
  16. Monochrome Madness 7-28-2014 | Quarksire

Comments are closed.

