Skip to content

Inspiring Quiet Thursdays

girl-window-old-building-rain

Just recently I have been doing some images so the writers who follow me can try and respond to the image with some writing. I know these posts are more for the writers, and I hope you don’t mind, though while doing the processing on this image I recorded what I did, and will put a short video of it on my other blog later today.  I must warn you, the video will be speed up a lot, so you will just get an idea of what I did.

girl-window-old-building-rain

I hope the writers here find this image interesting enough to write about.  I love this old building and while I was taking this image the idea came to me. For the photographers, this is something I really want to do more of.  I like planning and executing images like this.

As in other weeks, please leave your poems, or links here in the comments section so other people can enjoy what you have written. I look forward to seeing what you have written.

80 Comments
  1. Is that a man’s face on a female body in the window?

    July 10, 2014
    • No, it is my daughter trying to be creepy, which I think she did alright.

      July 10, 2014
      • Hmmmmm, ok! 🙂 It will certainly give the writers something to write about!

        July 10, 2014
      • Hmmm, does that mean you don’t like it Anica?? LOL. I hope so.

        July 10, 2014
      • No, I like interesting !!! 🙂

        July 10, 2014
      • Thank you, though it is okay if you don’t like it, I’m not that precious, well I hope I’m not. 🙂

        July 10, 2014
      • But, I DO – true – 🙂 I think its very thought provoking – especially for a story teller – keep them coming 🙂

        July 10, 2014
      • Thank you Anica, 😉 I will do my best.

        July 10, 2014
      • She did very well.

        July 15, 2014
      • She did, thanks Dawn.

        July 15, 2014
  2. Wow, that’s really interesting looking!

    July 10, 2014
    • Thanks Nia, it has turned out better than I hoped.

      July 10, 2014
  3. It looks like the mansion in “The Haunting.” I love it.

    July 10, 2014
    • Thanks Marilyn, I like that idea. 🙂

      July 10, 2014
  4. Oh I love this image and that you are doing this – what a wonderful idea. You are such an amazing photographer whom often inspires me and I don’t usually find prompts helpful though I have been trying harder lately to be more open to them and at least give a better effort… I think sometimes it makes a difference that you find the “right” source – sometimes it truly is the artist it is coming from and I am really glad this is coming from you. I can’t wait to look to this image for some flow of words. Appreciate you L.C. Thank you!

    July 10, 2014
    • Thank you Twig, I have done it before, and people seemed to enjoy it, so it was good. Thank you so much, this is a wonderful comment, I really appreciate it.

      July 10, 2014
  5. Cool … does look quite inspiring!

    July 10, 2014
    • BTW if I do scare up a story, do I just link you?

      July 10, 2014
      • Might be best to leave a link in a comment, so people can see it.

        July 10, 2014
      • Fine … I usually do a pingback but will do both 😉

        July 10, 2014
      • Use to be a ping back would be fine, but WP have changed the way they do them, or this theme does them differently and they aren’t done as a comment anymore, they go into a list at the bottom underneath all the comments I think. Strange. So I don’t think a pingback would have the same effect.

        July 11, 2014
      • Ok … will be writing today and will take your advice … but I’ll still be directing my readers to your post with a link so it’ll probably do that strange ping at the bottom of your page.

        July 11, 2014
      • Sounds good Georgia, yes, the link to the blog is fine too, just if you can leave a link in a comment would be fantastic. I look forward to seeing what you write.

        July 11, 2014
      • Fine!

        July 11, 2014
    • Thank you Georgia.

      July 10, 2014
  6. fantastically goth image Leanne!!

    July 10, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I was hoping you would like it.

      July 10, 2014
  7. How you have post process the building is fantastic. The atmosphere of the picture is haunting. The person in the window also gives the overall picture the adding ingredient straight out of a horror movie. Very nice work.

    July 10, 2014
    • Thank you so much, I was hoping people would feel that way about the image.

      July 10, 2014
  8. Haunted house on a haunted hill…wow, your daughter does look creepy. I would turn around and run for my life if I saw her face as I am standing outside the house. A very dark and moody photo, I think you did well with the post-processing.

    Speaking of dark and moody, it’s been so wet and grey in the city this week, not to mention windy. Long week for me, flat out busy with work and writing. Picked up my camera today, finally 😀

    July 10, 2014
    • We tried very hard to get her to look creepy. I think I would to if it were real, thank goodness we hardly ever see things like this.

      How exciting, your new camera, can’t wait to hear how you find it. new toys. I am not enjoying this weather, I know it is winter, but really.

      July 10, 2014
      • Your daughter looks effortless at being creepy, looking down on us from the window like that. What a good sport. I think she’d make a very convincing zombie with a bit of paint here and there.

        I am so over this weather. Doesn’t make going out nice. New toys. I was waving it around my room like a kid earlier, oh dear. Lots of time to play with it next month, luckily.

        July 10, 2014
      • She did do a good job, I might have to try this again, I like the effect, though I might have to get her to do some different angles. She will like being called a zombie.

        I’m with you there, so cold. I want to go out and take photos, not get blown away or rained on. Haha, I can just imagine what you mean you about the new toy, so cool. That’s good that you will have time to play with it. I had someone ringing me up the other day about a mirrorless camera, they were asking about my one on ones. I’ve been amazed at how many people have them now, it is great.

        July 11, 2014
  9. Such a beautiful image, it moved me unexpectedly. So, here is my little drabble – http://snowsfissuresandfractures.wordpress.com/2014/07/10/bring-me-to-life/

    July 10, 2014
    • That is wonderful, I loved your story.

      July 10, 2014
  10. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Wow, I love the image in the window. Creepy! But in a good way.

    July 10, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, she does creepy well, will have to remember that.

      July 11, 2014
  11. In my series of one liners…”The brightest part of my day is when I remember you.”
    Wonderful image – nod to your daughter for being a sport.

    July 10, 2014
    • I love your one liners Robert, fantastic.
      Thank you, she does weird really well.

      July 11, 2014
  12. I was so focused on the composition and the colors, as well as the building, that I completely missed your daughter in the window hahahaha. Fantastic shot, Leanne 🙂

    July 10, 2014
    • Actually I was hoping that people would notice her second, so I am happy to hear that Frank. Thank you. 🙂

      July 11, 2014
  13. It’s like a scary movie poster

    July 10, 2014
  14. You should create some sort of button Leanne which writers can use to link back to your blog.

    July 10, 2014
    • I don’t know how to do that Colline, do you? I didn’t know you could do that sort of thing.

      July 11, 2014
      • No but I am going to try find out. I follow other people who share their photos and what they have done is played around with one of their own photos, added the text of their challenge and used it as a button for their weekly challenge. I think it is a great way o let people become aware of you and your challenge as bloggers post the button on each post they make. Have a look at my page, inspiring prompts, and you can see examples of what people have done.

        July 11, 2014
      • That would be great if you could Colline, I think people enjoy these posts, I like planning photos for them. Gives my imagination a go.

        July 11, 2014
  15. Very nice!

    July 11, 2014
  16. Evocative image, indeed – and the whole atmosphere is creepy.

    Alone and forlorn she waits and she yearns,
    Hopelessly hoping that he will come back
    Although so bereft, love steadfastly burns –
    How can she doubt the same love he will lack?

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you Colonialist, I like your poem, it is great to see what people see in the image.

      July 11, 2014
  17. Leanne, Love the building and especially the feeling of the image. I can see this as the setting for an Edgar Allen Poe creepy mystery. The only thing missing is a black raven perched on, or hovering above the building., or maybe a bolt of lightning! I like it.

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you, that is fantastic, though I was hoping the girl in the window would keep people attention there, but you have given me some interesting ideas.

      July 12, 2014
  18. Wrote something for you Leanne. Hope you and your daughter like it 🙂
    http://collinesblog.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/finding-strength/

    July 12, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, I’m off to read it, I’m sure it will be amazing. 🙂

      July 12, 2014
  19. A wonderful idea Leanne!

    July 12, 2014
    • Thank you, I thought it might be.

      July 12, 2014
  20. Striking……..beautiful processing…….very arty…….very moody…..with great narrative potential.

    July 12, 2014
    • I have got it, will mark it to read later, sorry, about to head out to get some photos.

      July 12, 2014
  21. Hello there Leanne – Here’s the story I wrote for you fab photo! http://wp.me/p31In3-3NR

    July 12, 2014
    • Thank you Georgia, I haven’t read it yet, but I will leave a comment on your blog about it.

      July 13, 2014
      • Your welcome Leanne … let me say a great photo once again. Inspriational!

        July 13, 2014
      • Thank you Georgia.

        July 13, 2014
  22. Very evocative, creepy and Gothic!

    July 14, 2014
    • Great words Richard, thank you.

      July 14, 2014
  23. I already have the poem, but need to get home tonight to write it and link it back to this site… Love the chalk angle and great shot too…

    July 14, 2014
    • That sounds great, I look forward to getting the link.

      July 15, 2014
  24. Hope you like my two Haiku’s… http://lumar1298.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/casting-shadows/

    July 15, 2014
    • I did, I left you a comment there as well, fantastic.

      July 15, 2014
  25. Shining in moonlight
    Broken yet still standing tall
    Your image intrigues.

    December 29, 2014
    • That is beautiful, thank you Mary.

      December 29, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Taking a Look at Another Image While Being Processed | LEANNE COLE - Fine Art Photographer
  2. Bring Me To Life | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  3. Finding Strength | Colline's Blog
  4. A Story for Leanne Cole – July 12, 2014 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library
  5. Casting Shadows | Let There be Peace on Earth

Comments are closed.

