Skip to content

Friday’s Bits and Bobs

Queen-victoria-market-produce-morning-12

Queen-victoria-market-produce-morning-8Another week gone, the time is flying this year, although possibly no more than any other. It has been a little quieter this week for me, and I’ve managed to spend more time at home sorting things. My girls have been in Sydney so it has been very quiet during the day, just Tiddles and me. Our cat, Tiddles, has been very clingy though, he is funny when people are away and you can see that he is confused. He is asleep now on the coffee table on a soft toy, the heater is warming him up, though his heat pack is very warm under him. He isn’t spoiled at all, no not at all. So what I have been doing this week.

Making Video Presentations

Queen-victoria-market-produce-morning-10I downloaded the trial version of Camtasia last week and this week I’ve been trying to learn how to use it.  I have been having a lot of fun with it.  It has been good to try out lots of different things with it.  If you follow my News Blog on my website then you will have seen some of the videos that I have done so far. I have been trying to record what I do to images when I am processing them, then speeding them up and attaching music to them.  I think it gives people a quick idea of what I do when I am processing an image.  It is just a glimpse, but I know I enjoy watching videos like that myself, so I hope others do as well.  The response has been good so far.

Of course, one of the best uses, I hope, will be for Online Photography Classes. I hope to test it out soon, with a session that is coming up.  It would be good to record the session and then let my client have a copy of it for future reference.  Hopefully it will be a great success.  Not sure about some aspects of it, but I am sure we will work it out.  It has been good for doing small tutorials for her Queen-victoria-market-produce-morning-5on specific things and then sending them to her.

Another reason I got it, and perhaps the one that I am excited about the most, is for doing time lapse videos and slideshow presentations of my work. I have redone the one for Lake Albacutya using Camtasia and it was so much better.  I had a lot more control on what was happening.  I still need to work out some things, but once I learn how to use it properly I am hoping I can do some really great things like this.  Would love to do a lot more of them from places up in the Mallee.

Really that is all I have been doing this week, trying to learn new software, which isn’t a bad thing.  I had to work out how to use it and see if it would be worthwhile purchasing it.  I had considered purchasing it once before, about 18 months ago, but I couldn’t see the point back then spending $300 on Queen-victoria-market-produce-morning-1software to do tutorials for other people, and I wasn’t really getting anything for it, so I didn’t buy it and I stopped doing the video tutorials.  I think I can see why I should get it now, and this time it is for me, though I won’t go back to doing the tutorials, there is already enough on the internet.

My husband can be so funny about buying things, but he changed his mind the other night when I did the following for him.  He rides a bicycle to work, and has a GoPro camera mounted on his helmet.  He gave me the footage of one trip into the city, and I put it into Camtasia and then speed it up to about 4 minutes, added some music and gave it back it to him.  He loves his video and thinks I should buy the software now.  LOL, if you want to see where he rides his bike, here is the link, Off-road ride to work – 20.5km.

One On One Photography Session Photos

Today’s photos are all from a One on One Session I did last week in the city.  My client was here from WA and we spent a lovely, early, morning at the Queen Victoria Market, so the photos in this Queen-victoria-market-produce-morning-12post are from that morning.  It was great being there so early, though 6am is a hard time to find good coffee.

Social Snappers

The first Social Snappers excursion is this coming week, off to the docklands, so that should be a lot of fun.  I really haven’t explored that area enough, so I am looking forward to doing that.

That is about it for this week. I hope you have had time to go out and take photos and do some things, or just relax.

Here are the photos from above and a few others.

62 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The vegetable and cheese market pictures are so clear. The oranges are so real you can imagine them and get peeling squirts in your eye! I bet Tiddles loves it with everyone home. ❤

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I was using a good lens. I love what you said about the oranges. Tiddles does, I think he does, he gets picked up by one, then by another, if one person doesn’t feel like playing another does, he is just stuck with me now, oh well.

      July 11, 2014
  2. Love Dave’s ride to work and I’m just going to give Dave a massive gold star for actually using the bike track around here.
    (A thorny subject at our place. As it cost us local tax payers a lot of money, and yet… I sometimes STILL get stuck behind 2 or 3 abreast riders on the bendy and dangerous road it was supposed to replace.. /end rant LOL)
    The market shot looks lovely Leanne. All that fine produce!
    You will have to take a flask of your own special coffee brew for the trip! 🙂

    July 11, 2014
    • He doesn’t use the bike track often, the dirt wrecks the gears and wears them out too quickly, but when he is feeling lazy he does. The bike track is a thorny subject, possibly riders don’t use it because people walk their dogs, off the leads and they run into the path of cyclists, or because the council put such a low speed on the road that it is horrible to use. They are dammed if they do dammed if they don’t unfortunately. I know someone who hit a dog on the bike track once and end up have to have surgery on her arm. Not good.
      Thank you, the market was so cool to photograph, though I felt bad not buying anything.
      Oh yes, my own coffee, though I think if we had just gone to the market it may not have been so bad, next time. Thanks Christina 🙂

      July 11, 2014
  3. You have really had a busy week Leanne.

    July 11, 2014
    • It has been Colline, but very worth it.

      July 11, 2014
  4. Hi Leanne,
    This is a fantastic post. I had the time, so I took the time, to look at your videos. Wow. The work you put into the eerie photo is amazing, so impressive.
    I loved watching your husband’s ride to work!!! The husband of a good friend of mine rides to work on his bicycle nearly every day of the year. And I’m talking about through New England winters. For a good portion of his ride, he’s on country roads that have no bicycle lanes. It worries the heck out of me. I loved the whole segment where your husband is happily going along on a nice pathway. Once he got into the downtown traffic, my blood pressure went UP! Ahhh! It must take a huge amount of trust to share the road so closely with cars. But good for him (and my friend’s husband) for keeping in good shape physically and for reducing car use!
    Great music choices for the videos!
    I hope you continue to enjoy the Camtasia software.
    Mary
    PS If I lived anywhere near Melbourne, I’d sign up for you Social Snappers in a second!

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you Mary, thank you for looking at my videos too.
      Oh my husband’s ride to work, he is so proud of that one. I will have to tell Dave what you said about your friends ride, Dave complains if it is below 10C, bit of sook really and if it’s raining well, mmm. I used to do that ride with him, but not for quite a few years, you do get used to the traffic.
      I was happy with the music, can take some time to find the right music, but once you find it, it is good. I love the Camtasia, as soon as I get the new credit card I am going to buy it, I think I will use it quite a bit.
      Thank you again Mary, would be wonderful if you lived close by.

      July 11, 2014
  5. I love the video, Leanne!! Time lapse video is awesome, have about 10 gig of it I made a while back. Your hubs is certainly in great shape! I think he was riding on the wrong side of the road though… 😉

    July 11, 2014
    • I would love to do some time lapse video, looking forward to trying some things. He isn’t in as good a shape as he was a couple of years ago, but riding to work keeps him healthy. Haha, we are on the right side, you go on the wrong side, LOL. Thanks John.

      July 11, 2014
  6. I love taking pics of veggies!!!

    July 11, 2014
    • I quite enjoyed it too, might have to try more.

      July 11, 2014
  7. Great shots! Makes me glad I’m a vegetarian (and makes me want to go and eat supper!) 🙂

    July 11, 2014
    • Our house has three of those, hope supper is good. 🙂

      July 11, 2014
  8. Great shots of the markets. The photos of the vegetables were awesome. I actually took photos of fruit the other day in the ‘diner’ at Summer Bay of all places. lol (Actually it was the cafe attached to the jetty at Palm Beach where they film Home and Away).

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, it was weird taking photos of them and not buying anything. How cool, I don’t want Home and Away, but it must be cool.

      July 11, 2014
      • It was interesting walking around the place that’s for sure.

        July 12, 2014
      • I can imagine, did it seem almost surreal, like you might be in an imaginary place.

        July 12, 2014
      • Honestly, it felt as if I had been there before lol

        July 13, 2014
      • I think I would feel the same. lol

        July 13, 2014
  9. So many treats on this post! Thanks much, Leanne! Have a great weekend! 🙂

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you Fabio, glad you enjoyed the post.

      July 11, 2014
      • 🙂 Always innovating and coloring this world!

        July 11, 2014
      • Thank you, 🙂

        July 11, 2014
  10. Lovely as always. I think I’ll have a midnight salad.

    July 11, 2014
    • I hope the midnight salad was good, thank you.

      July 11, 2014
  11. I really enjoyed reading this post and the latest on your news blog too Leanne.
    I cant usually watch video due to bad internet speeds (aka dark ages 😉 )… But I did this time.
    Loved Dave’s ride… A bit comical due to the speed and I really did enjoy seeing your videos of processing your images! I have a new found respect for ALL that you do. Good on ya!!
    Two interesting posts.
    Hope you have been enjoying your quiet week at home with kitty.

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn. Thank you so much for taking the time and your internet connection for watching the videos. Dave loves his ride too, haha.
      It has been wonderful here without them, I suppose that makes me a bad person, but it has been so peaceful, we have also saved so much money too which has been great. It is terrible of me to be looking forward to the day they move out.

      July 11, 2014
      • Lol Nope not bad, just a mum of teenagers (for a time) 😉
        I enjoyed watching the videos and I think its good to have quiet time. We all need it and I like it too 🙂

        July 11, 2014
      • It feels bad, but I know other friends who feel the same way. I think when they are ready they should move out. I don’t want them living here until they are 30 or beyond.
        Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed them, I loved making them and would like to do more, actually plan some. Quiet time is a blessing. 🙂

        July 11, 2014
      • It is 🙂

        July 11, 2014
      • 🙂

        July 11, 2014
      • Have a great Friday night 🙂

        July 11, 2014
      • Almost time for bed for this black duck. 🙂 I hope your having a nice time.

        July 11, 2014
      • Nice relaxing evening thanks.
        Quiet and non-eventful 🙂 Night!

        July 11, 2014
      • Sounds perfect.

        July 11, 2014
  12. It sounds like you have had a busy week, with wonderful results. I always think it is a good idea to take a week and concentrate on new software when considering the purchase, it is always that first week that is the hardest and steepest learning curve! I hope you have a great weekend.

    July 11, 2014
    • It has been busy in a good way, and I have really enjoyed learning how to use the software. I think you are right it is good to really try it out before you try it, and I love all the things I have tried out. I really do want to get the software I think. Thank you, I hope you have a good weekend too.

      July 11, 2014
  13. Oh, I love all the fruits and vegetables in your photos. They look fresh and beautiful, I feel like I can eat them all 🙂 I hope you can soon organise photography online class, many people are hungry to learn how to take a photo properly. Thanks for the post ❤

    July 11, 2014
    • Thank you, the fruit and veg are so fresh and nice at the market. I have organised them, just finished one, and it went really well.

      July 11, 2014
  14. Those are very crisp shots of the cauliflower and fruits. The market looks eerie with no one there early in the morning. I think your photos look charming, they make the market look charming and cozy…which I don’t really remember about the market when I was last there a while ago. I recall it being very rundown. Glad the two of you had a great time there.

    Hope you have a good weekend, Leanne. I’m so exhausted but I have my new toy to play with, after I get some writing done. I stopped waving it around and put it back in the box 😀

    July 11, 2014
    • The lens I used was very good, I love that lens. I really like the market early, it was lovely just wandering around as people were setting up. I don’t think it has changed in the 30 years since I first started going there, it is pretty much the same.

      Lots of photos planned, so I hope it will be good. Sounds like a good weekend ahead for you, I hope the weather is good.

      July 11, 2014
  15. Looks like you had some fun being out and about that early in the morning. Looking at all that food makes me hungry. I’ll have to check out your videos when I get some time. At one point I wanted to get into time-lapse photography but when trying to do a time-lapse of a sunrise and then looking into the amount of time and effort in editing the photos then putting them through an application, I thought doing that over and over for different scenes would take too long for just a few minutes of video. I do enjoy watching them though. Maybe someday.

    July 12, 2014
    • It was fun Justin, and very tiring, hard getting out of the house. Thanks for wanting to check out my videos, I really like doing them and want to keep doing them. I like the idea more of photo stories, is that the right way of putting it? Doing videos of photos that tell some sort of story. Time lapse is something I would like to try, and I know my camera is perfect for doing them, so looking forward to trying one out eventually, just need to work out the subject matter. I hope the software I have will be food for it. I love watching them too. Maybe we can both try Justin. Thank you.

      July 12, 2014
      • How about I focus on working on star trails and you can do the time lapse. 🙂 I find that the time lapse videos I like the most are the sunrise, sunset, stars, and storms. Now that I think about it, I’ll have all the photos necessary for a night time lapse with the stars so maybe once I get enough series of those sets I could do a time lapse video of the different times I go out to get my star trails. Might take a few years though.

        July 12, 2014
      • I want to do some star trails too, I was watching a video on YouTube yesterday and the guy was saying he uses some software to process them and that the software if free, which is great news, haven’t downloaded it yet, but I will. I think we should do both Justin, time lapse and star trails, see how we go. If you want some links let me know, I will send them to you.

        July 12, 2014
      • The program I used was Startrails.exe and it wasn’t too bad. It also does time lapse video but not such a good job at that. What I really want to try is photo stacking for macro shots. Once I get my extension tubes I think I might try that a bit. Not sure when I’ll get to doing more star trails. Kind of hard trying to fit that in my schedule at the moment. I’m hoping sometime before winter comes that I’ll be able to get one set of star trails in. If not then hopefully next year. The one I posted was at the end of November last year and it was in the single digits. Never seen ice crystals form on a lens before like that time. lol. I don’t really feel like doing that again though.

        July 12, 2014
      • I think I will use camstasia for the time lapse stuff. I almost got one last night, but it was too windy and it kept raining on and off. I haven’t thought about doing that with macro shots, not even sure I would know where to begin or what to do. I am hoping to have a go at star trails the next new moon, so in about two weeks. Oh wow, ice crystals, how amazing, not sure that would happen here, doesn’t really get cold enough. Sounds like we both of lots of plans Justin, keep me in the loop. Thank you.

        July 13, 2014
  16. Love those parsnips Leanne. Great images. Have a super weekend, MM 🍀

    July 12, 2014
    • Thank you MM, so nicely presented, just begging to be photographed. You have a great weekend too.

      July 12, 2014
  17. What a produce market!

    Like the time lapse video. Also saw some of the other biking videos (and near misses). Glad to know we don’t have a corner on undisciplined/inattentive drivers here in the USA. 🙂

    July 12, 2014
    • It is the biggest one in Melbourne I think, though bigger on a Saturday.
      Thanks for watching the videos David, my husband has the camera on his head for that reason, he has reported cars, the only way the police will do anything here is if you have video. Certainly not, there is an openness in Australia about how drivers hate cyclists. It is really horrible.

      July 12, 2014
  18. Lee #

    Some video! I am trying to learn Paintshop Pro X6. Learning curves can get interesting. Hang in there.

    July 12, 2014
    • Thank you, I think it is just a matter of practice now, well I hope. You hang in there too.

      July 12, 2014
  19. I love these photos Leanne. Here is a subject matter that I am very familiar with; sweetbabyveg!

    July 12, 2014
    • That is wonderful Karen, thank you.

      July 13, 2014
  20. Hi Leanne, Great video of Dave’s commute! He bikes a good distance into the city, but at least it’s pretty for majority of it and the commute traffic looked lite.
    My Dave aka He-Man is a cyclist, but never commutes to work via his bike. It’s only 11 miles to the office, but we don’t have the lovely grass and parkland bike lanes to the office like you have. 😦 If we did he would have, but now he telecommutes so rarely needs to go the office. He’s happy about that!

    The figs, and olives look wonderful! That cauliflower looks perfect! Hope you have a great week, and enjoy the empty nest for the little time the girls are away.

    July 13, 2014
    • We are very lucky with where we live, there is lots of parkland and lots of great bike tracks to ride on, it is a very pretty area. We both have cycling husbands/partners. I think Dave’s ride is around 20kms, so he gets a good work out. Telecommuting is something that is happening a lot more these days, Dave does that sometimes too, but not often, too many distractions.
      Thank you so much, the produce at the market was great, I might try going again, but buying some stuff that I can then photograph at home.

      July 13, 2014
  21. Your man can sure pedal. 😀

    July 15, 2014

Comments are closed.

