Skip to content

Monochrome Madness Week 20

This last week has flown and the entries have been coming in at a consistent speed for MM20.  Hard to believe this has been going for 20 weeks already.  It also seems to be contagious, the madness that is, with me receiving lots of submissions this week from lots of new people.  It is great to see more and more people wanting to participate in the challenge each week.  Welcome to all the new people, I hope you give them a warm welcome.

salt-lake-sticks-monochrome-mm

This is an image that I took up at the pink lakes.  I went through quite a few images before I finally settled on this one.  You know how it is, you can think one image will be good and then you process it but it just doesn’t turn out the way you hoped it would.  This one I did some different things to and I liked how it turned out.  There is a hint of colour, but I hope that you can’t really tell, except that I told you about it.

bay-bridge-web-monochrome

Laura Macky has sent in her image this week as well, two bridges over the bay in San Francisco, one that is being pulled down.  If you want more information then please visit Laura’s blog.

Don’t forget all the instructions on how to enter your own images are at the bottom of the post.  If you have entered an image then please remember to check your image in the gallery, scroll down and see if anyone has left you any comments.  

 

Now, if you wish to participate and submit an image here is how you do it:-

  • You must email me the image you want to include and if you have a blog or website, or somewhere else, please include the link. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be as small as it can be, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • Please insert either your name or your blogs name in the file name.
  • Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • If you need more help with sending images, and get confused about time zones, etc, well, there is a great website called The World Clock, if you go to that and look at Melbourne time, if it’s before 6pm on Tuesday evening, then you can still send me images.  If it’s after that time, you can send me an image, but it will be set aside for the following week.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.
  • Please remember to resize your images, it is fairly simply, you just need to go into any editing software and usually under Image you will find, resize, scale, or image size, something like that and you can resize your image there. Change the dimensions to pixels and make the longest side 1000 pixels or smaller, hit return, and for most types of software that should change the other side automatically as well. Just remember to save it with a different name so you know it is the smaller version.  If you have any problems, please contact me, I don’t mind helping out.

Please note you don’t have to be a WordPress blogger to be in this challenge, you can have a link to a Facebook page, a Flickr page, anywhere really, or no link.  We just want to encourage people to do monochrome images, just for the madness of it. Just to let you know also, that as soon as the challenge is published, all emails and images you have sent me are deleted from my computer.  I respect your copyright and would never keep any of the images.

80 Comments
  1. Another great set of photos. Lets see if this week will be followed up by another large set next week. It’s always nice to see new work.

    July 16, 2014
    • If next week is followed by more, I’m afraid it will have to be split up and put onto my other blog as well, which will be okay, I hope.

      July 16, 2014
  2. I do enjoy looking at these selections of monochrome images. Great variations in style and technique.

    July 16, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear, there is a great variation in what each of photograph and how we do process it.

      July 16, 2014
  3. Reblogged this on The Process and commented:
    I again submitted a photo to Leanne Cole’s weekly Monochrome Madness, and again she was kind enough to include it. This time it was one of the photos I took with my sister Shelby. Check it out!

    July 16, 2014
  4. I love the way a bit of color gives the B&W some warmth.

    July 16, 2014
    • I love that too, I can’t help giving my images that little bit of colour for that reason.

      July 16, 2014
  5. Another great post Leanne, some fantastic images! Love your entry this week, the detail and textures on the ground really draws your eyes right in to the picture!

    July 16, 2014
    • I agree, and thank you for what you said about my image.

      July 16, 2014
  6. Good submissions from everyone – my initial take on the group as a whole is that (for the majority of images) they have a very 1960s look to them – perhaps because there is nothing in the scene(s) to denote a time period, but also the use of high contrast imaging. Again, good work from all!

    July 16, 2014
    • I hadn’t thought of that, I will have to go and take another look, I have to admit, I see them all as they come in one by one, so getting a picture of the group as a whole can be hard.

      July 16, 2014
  7. jamiechristinephotography #

    So many fantastic images this week! 🙂

    July 16, 2014
  8. Thanks for another great week of madness Leanne.
    The entries are really wonderful and so creative!

    July 16, 2014
    • You’re welcome Robyn, they are all that.

      July 16, 2014
  9. leecleland #

    Congratulations on 20 weeks of madness. As always a great selection and variety of images and subject matter.

    July 16, 2014
    • Thanks Lee, so much of it going around it seems.

      July 16, 2014
  10. Inspirational.

    July 16, 2014
  11. Wow, week twenty-congratulations–another strong set of monochrome.

    July 16, 2014
    • Yes, that means 20 more monochrome images that I may not have done otherwise.

      July 16, 2014
  12. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    😀 😀 😀 😀 These photographs are very beautifully done. I found several favorites: the woman behind the flowers, the cats, the horse barn, the bridges, the books, the boats, the footprints and the building with the clock. Those are all I can remember without looking back up. The rabbit and the toy thing was another but I had to look back for those. I really love these. ❤

    July 16, 2014
  13. Nice image. It almost looks as if it was taken on the moon surface

    July 16, 2014
  14. awesome layout this week 🙂 Thanx 🙂 Q

    July 16, 2014
  15. Wow, what a great turn out this week 🙂 And an amazing group of images to be a part of, thank you Leanne.

    July 16, 2014
    • Glad you feel that way, and yes, fantastic turn out. 🙂

      July 16, 2014
  16. Another great MMC from all – I really enjoy getting to visit the blogs and seeing more of people’s work. Your image is terrific as always, I love the textures and thank you once again 🙂

    July 16, 2014
    • It is Lisa, I am so glad you have enjoyed it. Thank you for what you said about my image. 🙂

      July 16, 2014
  17. poppytump #

    Who would think that monochrome could be SO different ! Great images in the gallery you’ve put together of other’s work Leanne .
    Pink Lakes has taken on another dimension like this… the trail of sticks leading the eye into …who knows where … Lovely processing .

    July 16, 2014
    • I know Poppytump it is great to see how different it can be, each persons interpretations of it.
      Thank you, I first overlooked the image, but then it caught my attention and I couldn’t stop working on it.

      July 16, 2014
  18. Faqeeha Aleem #

    All the photos look amazing! Everybody has such a wonderful creative eye. Your image is the best Leanne! I love the dramatic impressions it creates in the foreground and how the eye travels to the high horizon line looking for more. Absolutely fantastic! Also thanks so much to make me a part of this week 🙂

    July 16, 2014
    • Thank you Faqeeha, you’re very welcome, I have you have enjoyed being part of it.

      July 16, 2014
  19. Another impressive collection.

    July 17, 2014
  20. Superb selection as always! Love the diversity of subject matter – and the consistency of quality.

    July 17, 2014
    • It is always good to see what everyone does.

      July 17, 2014
      • Do you want me to fix it up Richard?

        July 17, 2014
  21. Just loving this weekly series, it’s great to see what everyone produces. It has become a highlight of my week.

    July 17, 2014
  22. Amanda Ricks #

    I’m so glad I started following your blog these photos are great.

    July 17, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, the photos are great.

      July 17, 2014
  23. Amy #

    Great black and white gallery! Love your work.

    July 17, 2014
    • It is a great collection of work by lots of people, so good to see them altogether.

      July 17, 2014
  24. Thanks Leanne for another great week 🙂

    July 17, 2014
    • No problem at all Andrew. 🙂

      July 17, 2014
  25. Wonderful pictures!! So much feeling involved. Just a question for you, how are you so awesome?? 😛 (not a creeper, don’t worry!)

    July 18, 2014
    • They are wonderful pictures, everyone has done a great job. I am not really awesome, I love this post and love everyone sending their images to me. 🙂

      July 18, 2014
  26. Is there any kind of award, winner, or acknowledgement for the people who enter the mm challenges? Or is it simply for everyone’s viewing pleasure and enjoyment. Do you account linking to their websites/blogs/ect. as giving the photographer credit? Just curious.

    July 18, 2014
    • No, no winners, or anything like that. We didn’t want people to feel like they weren’t good enough. There are enough competitions out there. It is for people’s viewing pleasure, and hopefully helps people who enter to get some more follows or what not. I think giving their links is enough, people watermark their images if they are really worried. I haven’t had any complaints so far.

      July 18, 2014
      • Ahh, cool. Thanks for clarifying for me. Great idea!

        July 18, 2014
      • No problem, it is hopefully all friendly.

        July 19, 2014
  27. Absolute stunning images … and so many has joined your madness … wonderful.
    My favorite is “water play” and the “book bench”.

    July 19, 2014
    • Oh yes, there are so many Viveka, great that you have favourites.

      July 19, 2014
      • I always find some favorites *smile .

        July 20, 2014
      • 🙂

        July 20, 2014
  28. You are inspiring – there are clearly some superb photos out there

    July 21, 2014
    • Thank you Diana, I love seeing what everyone does and it great to see them all put together like this.

      July 21, 2014
  29. Thank you for visiting my blog and for liking one of my posts. I hope you will come again some time. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

    August 10, 2014
    • You’re welcome, I try to get to lots of blogs, but not always possible.

      August 10, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Window | The Shady Tree
  2. Out with the old, in with the new… – Monochrome Madness | Laura Macky
  3. The Place Beyond the Trees | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  4. Wednesday Monochrome Madness | It Goes On
  5. Monochrome Madness – Week 20 | Anica Art Photography
  6. Monochrome Maddness 7-14-2014 | Quarksire
  7. Simplicity | My Digital Eye Queue
  8. B4 Retouch: Boy in Lhasa (MM20) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?
  9. Monochrome Madness with Leanne and Laura | "There was a time" -the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter and other tales
  10. Monochrome Madness | jmeyersforeman photography
  11. Harbor – Monochrome Madness Week 20 | Sari's Corner
  12. Monochrome Madness Week 20: Horse | The World Is a Book...
  13. More Pirates | Six Pixx
  14. Monochrome Madness Week 21 | The World Is a Book...
  15. Monochrome Madness Week 22 | The World Is a Book...

Comments are closed.

