Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays – Quiet Mallee Mornings

shearing-shed-interior-morning-woomelang

It is good to have a day where I don’t have to talk much, and today is that day for me.  I find the first few days of the week a bit exhausting, lots of organising going on and such, so I like this idea of having a nice small post on Thursdays, I hope you don’t mind.

Today I wanted to show you some photos that I took while up in the Mallee.  We went out very early in an attempt to get a sunrise.  There was one, but as there were absolutely no clouds in the sky, we didn’t get much. However, as we were leaving we looked inside the old shearing shed in Woomelang and the light was just too good to walk away from.  It was so nice, the very low morning sun.  I hope you enjoy the photos.

63 Comments
  1. Nice play of light in the shearing shed! And on the outside as well.

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you, that light inside was only there for a small amount of time, and you could tell when we had lost it.

      July 17, 2014
  2. hutchphotography2020 #

    I really like the morning light as it makes its way from the outside openings and spills softly across the earthen floor. It reminds me of being in one of our old deserted southern barns on a summer morning. A lot of depth in your shots. Very nice work.

    July 17, 2014
    • I really like it too Hutch, there is something really special about it I think. Thank you Hutch.

      July 17, 2014
  3. Stunning photography! Thank you for sharing… I hope to one day take photos like this. 🙂

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you Jessica, it is all about seeing, and recognising what will make a good image.

      July 17, 2014
  4. Hi Leanne, We need these days! Thanks so much for taking time of your busy days to feed this interesting, exciting, and beautiful blog! Take care! 🙂

    July 17, 2014
    • We need to have days like that from time to time. I enjoy experimenting when it happens. Thank you Fabio. 🙂

      July 17, 2014
  5. A peaceful day- I like that! 🙂
    I will be out with my Nordic walking friends if the sun continues to shine.

    July 17, 2014
    • It has been nice, just relaxing, trying out some stuff.
      Sounds like a great day, I hope the sun shines for you. 😀

      July 17, 2014
  6. Leanne, you have captured that special organic look of a working shearing shed perfectly. I could almost smell it! My father and my first husband were shearers.

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you Christine, though this one is working anymore, its days of shearing sheep are gone, but believe you me, it still has that smell, LOL. My father was a shearer too. 🙂

      July 17, 2014
  7. Like those interior shots with the angled light….

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you Sue, the interior shots were the stars that morning.

      July 17, 2014
  8. Love your picture of the shed during sunrise. Shadows are awesome.

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you, it was a great time to photography it.

      July 17, 2014
  9. poppytump #

    Glad you took a last look round Leanne … these are lovely shots of the interior …
    A small Lol post on Thurs is fine by me 🙂 Hope you’ve had a great day ours is looking good …. wall to wall sunshine at present and a power walk all done and dusted … * feeling smug Lololol

    July 17, 2014
    • I am too, I had no idea that the morning sun would be like that on the inside.
      Yes, small post, glad you don’t mind, can be hard sometimes. It has been a very relaxing day, I have enjoyed just hanging around. I envy your wall to wall sunshine, I wish we had more, hopefully soon. Thanks Poppytump, okay to feel smug, fine, really, just because it is never sunny here 😛 LOL

      July 17, 2014
      • poppytump #

        🙂 boot on other foot comes to mind *teasing … Oh Leanne just imagine how green I am when I see your glorious posts in the dead of Winter in UK … day after day sometimes of flat grey miserable skies … I guess it should mean I have more time to hone my processing skills . In theory 🙂
        XX ‘d fingers for some sun for you soon !

        July 17, 2014
      • I was thinking the same, at least with our winters you can still get out and take photos, most of the time, it is our summers that you can’t really get out to. Oh yes, more time for processing, or learning video software, haha.
        Yes, sun soon, it is something we can almost guarantee here, is sun, and lots of us.

        July 17, 2014
  10. Beautiful Leanne. Lovely light!
    Hope you had a great day 🙂

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I have, been playing on the computer, best day. How has yours been. 🙂

      July 17, 2014
      • Ah that sounds like a nice quiet one. Mine’s been good too thanks. Quiet 🙂
        Did you get snow at your place?

        July 17, 2014
      • Quiet days are good, I’m about ready for sleep though.
        No, no snow here, rain, but no snow. 😦 😦

        July 17, 2014
  11. Such beauty captured in simplicity. Thank you. 🙂

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you, I like that idea of simplicity. 🙂

      July 17, 2014
  12. Oooooh. I love how you captured the photos of the shed, with the sunrise and shadows all over the place. Gives a very rustic feel to the interiors of the shed. Very neat for a shed that’s not in use anymore. It doesn’t look dead, and I’m half-expecting sheep to pop out round the corner 🙂

    That’s good you are having a quiet day (sounds like it), Leanne. For me, Thursdays up until Sundays are my most hectic. Tiring week for me, but not long until time off from work. So happy about that. Haha, tomorrow’s Friday 🙂

    July 17, 2014
    • I thought the light coming in made the shed warm almost, like it wasn’t dead anymore too. Thank you Mabel.
      It has been a lovely day, nice to do not much sometimes. Shame it is hectic for you, but as you said, soon you will have lots of time. Take care, 🙂

      July 17, 2014
  13. A wonderful quiet day! We all long for this now and then.
    Best regards from Norway,
    Dina

    July 17, 2014
    • Thanks Dina, it is really needed sometimes.

      July 18, 2014
  14. That soft low morning sun really makes this. Worth not having clouds for.

    July 17, 2014
    • I agree Robert, it was such a lovely surprise after the disappointing sunrise.
      PS, I got a parcel from Amazon this week.

      July 18, 2014
  15. Hi Leanne, I love morning light too! The shadows, light, timber boards and windows are captivating!

    July 17, 2014
    • Thank you Anica, I loved the light, it really didn’t last long and you could really tell when it was gone.

      July 18, 2014
  16. Nice shots Leanne! I have found that sunrises and sunsets don’t interest me like they used to. I still enjoy looking photos but just don’t really have any motivation to capturing them. I think it’s because there’s already so many of them out there already. I do however enjoy using the light from sunrises/sunsets to create photos as that light helps with creating more feeling. It’s also much better light to work with than the bright harsh light of the day. I think I might meet up with some people in a photography group I am in who are going to be working with off camera flash for portrait photography in a landscape setting. Not sure if I’ll do any of the portrait photography, but they are meeting at a lake around sunset so I’ll see what I can get if I decide to go. Depends on the weather.

    July 17, 2014
    • I have to say, I find them a challenge. I always stayed away from photographing them because they were so cliched, but the last few years I’ve tried to do them more. They are a challenge because when I set out to take one, I rarely get one. So frustrating. I have yet to get a sunset or sunrise which I am blown away by, so I am going to keep trying. I do get bored photographing the same thing all the time, so I will stop doing them eventually. I do get what you mean about the light around them, and I agree, it is great light. The group sounds good. I often use flash when I am photographing someone out side, can help with harsh shadows, have to be careful how you use it though. Thanks Justin.

      July 18, 2014
  17. leecleland #

    Shearing sheds are wonderful places with the various holes and shutters and doors. How wonderful to be there at sunrise for that beautiful light. Lovely shots, Leanne

    July 17, 2014
    • They are great subjects for photos Lee, for all the reasons you have said. It was lovely. I’ve done it before, but I don’t think I went inside. Thank you Lee.

      July 18, 2014
  18. What a gorgeous shearing shed, your early morning shots did not disappoint!! In the morning stillness it is a little eerie unlike I’m sure in its heyday as a very busy shearing shed even at that time of the day. Fabulous.

    July 17, 2014
    • I hadn’t thought of it like that Kaz, but I think you are right, great observation, thank you.

      July 18, 2014
  19. Ahhhh the light! I’ve seen the light!!! 🙂

    July 18, 2014
    • Hallelujah, you’ve seen the light, I’ve seen the light too, hallelujah 🙂

      July 18, 2014
  20. Love how you have captured the light in the shearing shed.. beautiful shots xx

    July 18, 2014
    • Thank you Bren, the light was nice then, I wonder what it would be like other times of the year.

      July 18, 2014
  21. Oh, I love these shots, Leanne!

    July 18, 2014
  22. Very pretty countryside.

    July 18, 2014
    • Thank you David, it is wonderful up there.

      July 18, 2014
  23. I love watching the early morning sunlight from my window here at the computer. It starts out tentatively and then grows in size as it crosses the front lawn.
    The light in the shearing sheds is just gorgeous.

    July 18, 2014
    • Early morning light is the best, it was always my favourite time of the day to take photos.
      Thank you Suz.

      July 18, 2014
  24. these breathe quiet light!! Wonderful Leanne! I love morning.

    July 19, 2014
    • I love that expression Cybele, quiet light, is lovely. Thank you.

      July 19, 2014
  25. Jen #

    These are lovely—I especially like the one you open this post with, because the light and shadow are all so lovely. The symmetry and leading lines make it very…hm, settling or centering to look at. It reminds me of a painting I saw—a pastoral-type image, the painter I cannot remember, but the colours are just beautiful. The one looking at the other side of the shed (or from the other direction), which is a bit darker, is just the same, but a little more Raphael-like because of the way you use the elements of light and shadow, and the depth and richness of colour.

    July 19, 2014
    • Thank you Jen, I hadn’t thought of that, I just saw failed sunrise, so thank you for making me rethink the image. I love the comparisons with painters, I really appreciate this jen, thank you so much, I wish I could type capitals.

      July 19, 2014
  26. Leanne, I can hear the silences in your images … so beautiful. Love how you captured the sunrise coming through the windows … utterly stunning.

    July 19, 2014
    • That is great, I like the idea of the silence. Thank you, it was a nice outcome that morning.

      July 19, 2014
      • Leanne, most of the time we .. capture the sunset … but the sunrise has the freshness and brightness.
        Lovely gallery.

        July 20, 2014
      • I like the sunrise too, going to see if I can get one this morning. Thank you.

        July 20, 2014

Comments are closed.

