Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Collingwood Part 2

collingwood-back-streets-lanes-houses-16

A few weeks ago I did the first part of this, though at that time I just showed graffiti around the streets, and today I thought I would show you more of the buildings. Collingwood is one of the oldest parts of Melbourne.  In earlier times it was part of the industrial area, and you can still see what used to be old factories there, but it was also where the workers lived.  It was a very working class part of Melbourne, though you need to be a lot further up the socio-economic scale to be able to buy a house there now.  Funny that working class cottages are now sort by the middle and upper classes to live in.

collingwood-back-streets-lanes-houses-27

Here is an example of an old factory, I think this was a wool mill, and now it has been converted to office buildings, I think, or maybe being converted to apartments.  In Melbourne everything is being converted to homes, a city can’t have too many people living in it.  That is the goal of our state members, to get more people living here.  Of course, no infrastructure or that sort of thing, but more people.

collingwood-back-streets-lanes-houses-7

You can see homes in some lanes that were factories and they have used elements of the factory as features for the new homes, like how these balconies have been made.

collingwood-back-streets-lanes-houses-11

One of the things that surprised me about Collingwood is how you are never quite sure what you are going to get.  We walked around a corner and saw half a church.  Not sure what they are doing, but looks like this old blue stone building is being rebuilt, must have had some problems.  It is right next door to an old blue stone school as well.

collingwood-back-streets-lanes-houses-18

Terrace houses are everywhere in Collingwood.  If you want to see some great examples it is a great place to go and find them.  Melbourne is known for the terrace houses, you can see them everywhere in the inner city.  I don’t know why they stopped building them really, people like living in them, and pay good money for them, perhaps they aren’t big enough anymore.

collingwood-back-streets-lanes-houses-3

Wandering around Collingwood was such an eye opener.  I thought it would be boring and I would find nothing to photograph, but now I want to go back and see if I missed anything.  You can’t go with a plan, you just have to start in one place and wander, see where you end up.

The above image is where we had a very late breakfast.  It was a great breakfast, though you need to get there early or you have to wait.  The place was called Lemon Middle and Orange, no idea where it was, but I am sure you could look it up, I had one of the best breakfasts ever there, very different to what you normally get at places for breakfast.

I am just going to leave you with a gallery now.  This is a place I really want to go back to and take some images with the intention of doing some art images of.  There is something about the area that really appeals to me.

 

 

56 Comments
  1. Loving the architecture there. There are a number of terrace homes in Bathurst as well I noticed the other week. I think they look wonderful but I’m not sure that I would enjoy living so close to my neighbours.
    Great shots Leanne.

    July 19, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, the architecture is so varied and different everywhere you look. I live in a couple of terrace houses when I was younger, you barely noticed your neighbours, it really wasn’t a problem.

      July 19, 2014
  2. The eclectic architecture of the place certainly makes it an interesting city to visit. I like that they are keeping a lot of the old buildings.

    July 19, 2014
    • It does Colline, it is great that the buildings are getting a new life. thank you.

      July 19, 2014
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Terrace houses look like the ones in New Orleans. The ironwork fences and balconies are beautiful, very classy. Cobblestone streets are old and historical. I understand about the infrastructure, we have old and sometimes dilapidated bridges, roads and utilities. Your images are great. 🙂

    July 19, 2014
    • They are very common around Australia too Jackie, very late 19th century, perhaps a lot to do with world migration. We don’t have many lanes like that, they are made with the blue stone that is so common here, or at least they were. Thank you Jackie.

      July 19, 2014
  4. I see your cities subscribe to the same philosophies ours do….more people, more taxes to collect yet not enough of everything else. Only ours ruin the landscaping. I loved seeing the city and I do like it when the old parts are not abandoned but rather refurbished but not torn down.

    July 19, 2014
    • I have no idea what it is, I suspect Melbourne is doing it so they can be bigger than Sydney, we only need another couple of hundred thousand people and we will get there, it is a shame they don’t think the assylum seekers would make good residents. Melbourne has been good like that, sometime the whole inside is gutted and redone, but the fascades often stay the same. Thanks Laura

      July 19, 2014
  5. I like the variety in scenes that you shared. 🙂

    July 19, 2014
    • That’s great RoSy, thank you.

      July 19, 2014
  6. I enjoyed your Collingwood set – I remember visiting there – lots of character. Des.

    July 19, 2014
    • Thank you Des it does have lots of character, those old suburbs are great for that.

      July 19, 2014
  7. Leanne, love your NEW LOOK! You can make the most “boring” building interesting. Fantastic images as always – thanks for sharing … and the balcony shot is my pick here.
    I wish a pleasant weekend. *smile

    July 19, 2014
    • Thanks Viveka, what a lovely thing to say, it is a wonderful area to take photos.

      July 19, 2014
      • Looking forward … to visit Melbourne. First Hong Kong and Japan.

        July 20, 2014
      • Sounds good, so many great things here to see.

        July 20, 2014
  8. Ah, Collingwood. I think that area is a much bigger area than what most of us think. I thought the most exciting strip of Collingwood was Smith Street but it seems from your photos that if you go off the beaten track, there is quite a bit to see. Surprisingly the suburb has modern architecture. I need to go see it for myself. What were those fruits doing on the ground?

    Hope you’re having a good weekend, Leanne. It’s only Saturday and I’ve treated myself to way too much chocolate 🙂

    July 19, 2014
    • I think you are right Mabel there is so much more to see either side of Smith Street. There is all sorts of architecture there.
      Thanks, not bad at all, has been nice to work on some photos. Oh chocolate, don’t eat too much.

      July 19, 2014
  9. I love these images! I feel when you take images from both afar and close up, it all pulls together into a story that tells us heaps! I love the angles, lines and architecture!

    July 19, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say Anica, thank you so much, I really like that.

      July 19, 2014
      • You’re welcome! Have a great night and I’m planning to be a bit earlier this week with MM -wk21. 🙂

        July 19, 2014
      • My night is almost over, time for sleep. 🙂
        That sounds good Anica, early is good.

        July 19, 2014
  10. Fascinating place amd those balconies wowed me!

    July 19, 2014
    • Those balconies are so amazing, I want one. Thanks Georgia.

      July 19, 2014
      • Me too … might be hard to get it here to Italy though. :-/

        July 19, 2014
      • Haha, I think you might be right there.

        July 20, 2014
  11. Great series, full of urban history.

    July 19, 2014
    • Thank you Cate, it is a great area for history.

      July 19, 2014
  12. The photos are excellent as art photography, but they’re also a really great record of what looks like a very interesting area. Many features I’ve never seen elsewhere in the world!
    Melbourne though to me — on the other side of the world — is indelibly the territory of Phryne Fisher, Kerry Greenwood’s amazing detective. I wish there had been a Phryne Fisher available when I was a teenager and young woman, she would have been my heroine! So I’m doubly glad to see her home town —

    July 19, 2014
    • YOu would have loved the photos I did of Ripponlea, most definitely Phryne Fisher terroritory and time really.
      Thank you, Melbourne is a great place and each area is so different.

      July 20, 2014
      • I can’t find a Search box on your blog, so wonder if you could post the link to your Ripponlea photos, please?

        July 21, 2014
      • You reminded me that I don’t have that, since I changed to a premium theme I seemed to have lost that option, I have added one in the sidebar now, I have done 4 posts that have Ripponlea so just search that and you should find all 4. A magical place.

        July 21, 2014
      • Thanks so much! The Search worked, I enjoyed your visits, although the link to Phryne Fisher, maybe for the costumes? doesn’t work any more. But oh my word! wasn’t that her stuffy aunt’s place??????
        Wonderful photos, as always, Leanne.

        July 21, 2014
      • That is great, wonderful. They must have removed the page to the exhibiton. I have no idea who’s place it was, I didn’t watch the show, but I know lots of people who did. Thank you.

        July 21, 2014
  13. Like the variety in the photos – interesting to see the buildings and to hear that terrace houses are quite expensive – some parts of London (England) they are £400 plus in an area where dockers used to live

    July 20, 2014
    • Thank you Diana, terrace house are sort after and very expensive, though Collingwood is a very expensive area now, it is so close to the city. It is the same here Diana, very expensive for old workers cottages.

      July 20, 2014
  14. I love all of these Leanne! I love the variety of topics/shots and you’ve made them just magical. 😀

    July 20, 2014
    • Thank Keli, there were so many great things to photograph around there, I loved walking around, would like to do it again sometime. 😀

      July 20, 2014
  15. Great photos Leanne 🙂

    July 20, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, I hope your weather has improved. 🙂

      July 20, 2014
      • Hey Leanne, last week was beautiful! 🙂

        July 20, 2014
      • Oh, I’m jealous, maybe I need to come over to you, haha. It has been so horrible here. If you see my post today, will give you an idea, been like that nearly every day.

        July 20, 2014
      • Weather here is awful again! Stay put Leanne 🙂

        July 21, 2014
      • Okay maybe I won’t come this week, 🙂

        July 21, 2014
      • LOL

        July 22, 2014
  16. Pat #

    Great series. It’s nice to see the classy old buildings converted to housing.

    July 20, 2014
    • I agree Pat, it is great, thank you.

      July 20, 2014
  17. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    July 20, 2014
  18. I wouldn’t mind adding to the population of Melbourne. It’s just convincing my wife to move there. I already know I’d be able to get a job there as I’ve already looked for possibilities.

    I’ve found that I have been liking architecture photography quite a bit more than a year ago. I think it’s more because I notice the patterns and lines more and know how to frame the shot to help make those stand out. Older architecture has the textures added as well which help out. The city I work in has a lot of older buildings. It’s about a half hour drive away. I’d like to photograph them but just never want to drive over there when I don’t need to.

    July 20, 2014
    • Melbourne is very expensive, just warning you, and I suspect it is going to get worse. We are in the top 10 of the most expensive cities in the world. Though it is a great city. If you did come, you will already have a friend when you get here 😀

      Old buildings are so interesting to photograph. I love architecture, it is good to see what you can get with architecture. I’ve been photographing it for a few years now, the thing I seem to be leaning more towards is landscape, funny how you can change. I hope you get over there sometime, be nice to see some old buildings from your part of the world.

      July 20, 2014
  19. I do love the terrace houses. That’s where I’d want to live! I love the comment about wanting more people, but not having the infrastructure. We goal-oriented humans just have to produce measurable growth, no matter what damage it does in another area, and there always is a reaction somewhere. I don’t think there’s an answer, but it’s a great observation. These are great pics. V thinks I spend too much on travel, but I’ve got to get to Australia sometime! It is so beautiful. Rent me one of those terrace places, ok? Lots of love 🙂

    July 22, 2014
    • They are cute, I have lived in them, very small. They are building further and further out of the city, but the infrastructure like public transport is reaching out that far, so the people who live out there are feeling isolated, if they work in the city it can take them two hours to get there. Not good that the developers just build and the government says, go ahead. It is sad really. I will see what I can do, maybe Carol and I can rent something for the three of us to stay in. 🙂

      July 22, 2014
  20. LB #

    So many cool things to see! I think my favorite is that retrofitted balcony.

    July 22, 2014
    • That balcony is so cool, I love things like that. Thanks LB

      July 22, 2014
  21. The apples and ornamental kale, Leanne!!!

    July 25, 2014
    • The image was taken the day after the winter solstice, so I imagine it had something to do with that.

      July 25, 2014

Comments are closed.

