Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Banyule Morning

banyule-flats-parks-grey-winter-17

This morning I got up a little bit earlier to go out with a friend to see if we could photograph the sunrise over Banyule Flats.  Well, we got there and we saw a little orange, but it was too overcast to get anything really.  It was so disappointing.

banyule-flats-parks-grey-winter-1

It always seems to be the way when I go, I so rarely get a good sunrise or sunset.  The above image was the best we got.  I will just have to keep trying.  I think the time of the year might be against me somewhat.

banyule-flats-parks-grey-winter-3

I took the big lens with me, with the intention of doing some birds as well, but the light was horrible and the birds move so fast, so the ISO had to be up so far, and even then, it wasn’t great.  I will have to try again some other time when the sun actually comes up and shines. So I apologise for the bird photos, but I had to show them, hopefully I will get better at doing them.

banyule-flats-parks-grey-winter-11

We ended up leaving and going to another part of the park and just walked around, tried to take some winter shots.

banyule-flats-parks-grey-winter-22

Winter has definitely arrived here, about time, though many trees are still losing their leaves.  The bare trees do look nice, a different sky would have been nice.

banyule-flats-parks-grey-winter-21

Glimpses of spring are around though, with the wattle or acacia trees flowers.  It is nice to see a different kind of colour.

I am going to put the above and some other images into a gallery for you.  How is the area around where you live at the moment?  Are you enjoying what it is offering?

 

55 Comments
  1. It’s a similar situation for me – living as I do just across from you in New Zealand. Overcast day today – but it is a good time to plan future holidays and photographic opportunities. As you say – there is a need to think about winter photos. Do you have any bush/forest nearby that may be okay on a cloudy day?

    July 20, 2014
    • That’s true Rob, I’ve been experimenting with photos and learning how to use some new software, so it has been productive, but I wish the sun would shine some more. We are supposed to get more this week, I hope. I live near a massive parkland area so lots of bushland, but it is so wet right now. Thanks Rob.

      July 20, 2014
  2. The reflections on the lake are lovely, and the bare trees add a nice mood to winter. Here in the Bay Area our Summers are quite overcast and foggy in the mornings so, I switch my mindset to imaging fog, and in Winter I look for dramatic skies; always hoping for great clouds.

    Afternoons here are usually clear and the sky flat. 🙂 The abundance of Spring flowers is giving way to the sparse look of Summer with fewer flowers around now, and our hills are gold, and very dry. But, today has been a bit muggy, and it very cloudy…almost tropical. Our high was 80 degrees today though. 🙂

    July 20, 2014
    • I think I could handle that, overcast in the morning, sun in the afternoon. I would love some fog actually, I really have some ideas for some foggy images, but can’t seem to get any to take some photos.

      Spring flowers sounds nice, we are starting to get some now, but it will be a while before they really come out.
      Thanks for sharing your world.

      July 20, 2014
  3. Great shots! We have a lot of flooding too… in our area of central Illinois! The frogs (and, unfortunately, mosquitoes) are very happy! 🙂

    July 20, 2014
    • The water isn’t from flooding, it is a natural swamp area, it does dry out in the summer sometimes. The frogs are very happy here, thanks Thomas. 🙂

      July 20, 2014
  4. Doris #

    well I found them all beautiful
    they all have different texture to them

    July 20, 2014
    • Thank you Doris, that is fantastic.

      July 20, 2014
  5. Reblogged this on SUSAN'S SPACE.

    July 20, 2014
  6. To answer your question: We’re at the height of summer here in Massachusetts, U.S. I’ve taken some wonderful photos of flowers in the past week and a couple of evenings ago, I shot some quintessential photos of a softball game in a community ball field. We had much awaited and much needed rain early last week. I got some great shots of the monsoon-like downpour. I don’t think any of us minded the inconvenience of losing our electricity for several hours (lightning probably struck a transformer), we were so relieved to finally have rain. I hope to post some of the photos at both sublimedays.com and TheRipestPics.com over the next few days. Thanks, Leanne, for inviting us to share about our corner of the world! That’s social media at its best!

    July 20, 2014
    • Sounds like heaven Mary, can I come?? LOL thank you Mary, it sounds wonderful where you are. It is expected that the rain here will stop soon, so am hoping to get some other sort of shots then.

      July 20, 2014
  7. Is that a black swan? We don’t have black swans here … I don’t think we have them wild in North America. I hope you get the chance to shoot them again when the light is better. Even your worst pictures are better than most people’s best efforts 🙂

    July 20, 2014
    • They are a southern hemiphere thing Marilyn, apparently. We have two that live where we are, but I keep only seeing one, I hope something hasn’t happened to the mate and the other is just nesting. I will try again, I see them there all the time. Thank you Marilyn, you are too kind. 🙂

      July 20, 2014
  8. I forget it’s winter down under! It’s high summer here–and in Western Pennsylvania where I live in the United States, our hills are very, very green since we had a snowy winter and a rainy spring. Everything is blooming.

    July 20, 2014
    • Everything is very green here too, well, not all the trees, but the ground. I think we follow your winter, so you long winter has reached us. thanks Bernadette.

      July 20, 2014
  9. Suzanne #

    Beautiful – what a lovely way to start the day.

    July 20, 2014
    • Thank you Suzanne, it wasn’t too bad.

      July 20, 2014
  10. Well it’s the wet season here in Bangkok, which often means dull boring skies in the morning, and then torrential rain in the afternoon … a bit tricky for photos ! A couple of days ago we did have some interesting skies, so I went out to Wat Arun (a famous BKK landmark) to hopefully get some B&W images, but by the time I got there it was overcast 😦
    But I did get a few photos that I am still working on, so the day was not completely wasted 🙂
    Another 3 months or so and it will be sunshine all day, every day again 🙂 🙂

    July 20, 2014
    • Rain is terrible for blah skies. Torrential rain would be terrible. At least you know when it is going to happen. We have no idea. 😦 Overcast can be good, you can get some great detail in the clouds, and make moody images, but if that detail isn’t there, it is not good. Oh yes, another 3 months.
      Thanks Mike.

      July 20, 2014
  11. Thanks for sharing your beautiful post 😉
    Here in Spain we have warm Summer now and I do enjoy very much.

    July 20, 2014
    • Sounds nice Irene, I don’t like summer here, but winter is usually beautiful to photograph in, this one isn’t so great, but hopefully it won’t be the same next year.
      Thank you Irene. 🙂

      July 20, 2014
  12. Beautiful scene. Well, my area conditions is not as awesome as this. I live in Bandung city, Indonesia, where a city park is not as great as this. That’s why, in a rare occasion, i’m riding in my city suburban area, to find a new scene to captured. I’ll post one of them in my personal blog tomorrow, You could see it if you don’t mind.

    PS:Thanks for liking my post, and sorry for the bad English :p

    July 20, 2014
    • Sounds like a great thing to do Vincent, I am very very lucky with where I live and what I have around me. Not many live in a suburban area that has so much to take photos of.
      You’re welcome and no problem at all, thank you.

      July 20, 2014
  13. The light my be dull but the images are not, Leanne. Love the swan, too. We had bright sunshine in Central Victoria until about an hour ago. My day began with -4 C, with a frost. 😀

    July 20, 2014
    • Thank you Christine, the swan was wonderful, though there should be two of them, must find out what time of the year they next. I am so jealous, I want that sunshine. My mum gets heaps up in the mallee. OMG you got a frost, I want a frost, we haven’t had one this year, not fair.

      July 20, 2014
  14. That could be here in February with the grey skies!

    July 20, 2014
    • Really, isn’t it funny how places far away can look like where you are.
      Thanks Gypsy.

      July 20, 2014
  15. Phenomenal as always! Thank you so much for sharing.

    July 20, 2014
  16. Beautiful images!
    Warm greetings from hot Norway, Dina

    July 20, 2014
    • Does it get warm in Norway, 😉 Thank you Dina.

      July 20, 2014
      • Boiling hot 😅😅😅😅😘😃

        July 20, 2014
      • 😀 😀

        July 20, 2014
  17. I love the way, even in the depths of winter, we always have something flowering. The wattle is so cheery.

    July 20, 2014
    • I love that too Carol, it is so amazing, and then when summer comes almost nothing flowers.

      July 20, 2014
  18. It must be overcast over most of the planet lLeanne – same for me here. Good shots regardless – esp, the red hanging sphere image – striking against the dull skies.

    July 20, 2014
    • It might be Robert, how strange would that be. Thank you. The berry was the only one on the whole tree I think, almost like it was too afraid to let go.

      July 21, 2014
  19. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Just as I was going to tell you it was gray and overcast, the sky opened up and the sun bloomed all around. I do not like summer with its heat and humidity; give me fall and winter any day.

    The silhouetted image of trees at the very top of your post is very appealing. The flowers is the dead of winter are a surprise – very pretty! 🙂

    July 21, 2014
    • Lovely Jackie, we are expecting to see the sun here more this week, I can’t tell you how much the idea of that warms me up. Very cold here this morning, but worth it for a nice day. I don’t like summer either, our summers are horrible, too hot, but I love winter, well, when there isn’t so much rain.

      Thank you, the winter trees are lovely, I might go for a walk later today with the camera and see if I can some warm wintery shots. We often have flowers in winter, many of our natives flower at this time. 🙂

      July 21, 2014
  20. Very nice . . . We’re in much hotter and drier weather.

    July 21, 2014
    • I wouldn’t like hot weather, but some sun would be nice, thank you.

      July 21, 2014
  21. Still beautiful in winter. I love the black swan and all the photos have that season’s mood- a touch of bleak solitude like the black swan!!

    July 21, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I do love winter, most winters, I just haven’t enjoyed this one so much, too rain, the next few days are looking better. I am going to make the most of the good weather. The black swan is so wonderful, I see it there whenever I go, there is usually two, so I hope the other one is nesting.

      July 21, 2014
  22. leecleland #

    Love the old fence in the swamp and the drowned trees, lots to photograph here, as you did. Ahh but just think Leanne when the spring and summer come how much earlier you’ll have to get out of bed to get that sunrise shot 🙂

    July 21, 2014
    • There is lots to photograph there Lee, just a shame the weather wasn’t nice, but we are expecting some glorious days over the next few, and I going to hold Mother Nature to it, would love an opportunity to photograph some dramatic sunny images. That is true, sunrises in winter are easier to do. I do love winter, just not lots of rain. Thank you

      July 21, 2014
  23. Great collage

    July 21, 2014
  24. Leanne, it looks to me as if the overcast day and fog didn’t hold you back from taking some great images! I really love the reflections. I love the shots you selected. In terms of the weather here in Chicago, it was a beautiful day — started out a bit hazy, but the sun came out to brighten up the day.

    July 21, 2014
    • No it didn’t, we have been having so much bad weather, you just have to get out there really. We are expecting nicer weather in the next couple of days, hope it happens. Thanks

      July 21, 2014
  25. I have forgotten that it was winter time on the other side of the equator. Lovely images, and wonderful site! Thanks for stopping by mine =]

    July 21, 2014
    • Oh yes, winter here, though it is usually not this miserable. Thank you and you’re welcome.

      July 21, 2014
  26. LB #

    No light or sun, but aren’t those reflections awesome!

    July 22, 2014
    • Definitely no sun, glad you liked the reflections, that is always a good spot to get some images. Thanks

      July 22, 2014
  27. Especially love the reflection in the second photo. And I have never seen a black swan before. I didn’t even know there was such a thing except in fairytales!

    July 24, 2014
    • Thank you, the black swans are unique to Australia and New Zealand, though I have read to the southern parts of Australia which is why I get to see them. YOu can see them in the city sometimes too. Oh yes, they exist.

      July 24, 2014

Comments are closed.

