Skip to content

Quiet Thursday – Up in the Air

It is getting late in the day, and it is one of those days that I like to take things easy, so for today I have a photo for you that I did earlier in the week.  I know writers like images that give them inspiration for poems or short stories, so I have another photo for that.  It is a composite and you can interpret it as you will.

briony-lane-floating-processed

The same applies as in previous posts like these, you can leave links in the comments sections.  Pingbacks don’t really work the way they used to, so it is best to leave links in the comments section.  Feel free to put the image on your blog, just please give me credit for the image, if that is okay.  So over to you.

74 Comments
  1. Your Photographs are really wonderful. This one is simply taking my breath away..:)

    July 24, 2014
  2. Whoa! Cool photo!

    July 24, 2014
  3. What a marvellous image Leanne! I LOVE it!

    July 24, 2014
  4. Absolutely great image, Leanne – love the setting, the narrow passage between buildings with the taller building as a backdrop; love the tone you’ve given it; and the white-clothed jumping person’s body language adds just the right finishing touch. Wonderful stuff! Adrian

    July 24, 2014
    • Thank you Adrian, it was something I’ve been trying and I’m happy with how it has turned out.

      July 24, 2014
  5. Ed #

    Haunting…:-)

    July 24, 2014
  6. Ethereal.

    July 24, 2014
  7. Clever! I love that you’ve given your ‘floater’ a shadow. Will look forward to reading the stories for this one.

    July 24, 2014
    • Oh yes, the shadow had to be there, everything has a shadow. Thanks Robyn, I’m looking forward to them as well.

      July 24, 2014
  8. My dear, I just can’t resist it…maybe someday one of your happier images will meet half way with my happier thoughts. Till then, we are stuck here: http://snowsfissuresandfractures.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/up-in-the-air/

    July 24, 2014
    • Oh yes, we are stuck here. I will try and find other images, I don’t have to do dark. I loved your poem, thank you.

      July 24, 2014
  9. Very peculiar image. The girl looks like your daughter. Jump for the stars, don’t be afraid of falling. The colour gives a sense of hopelessness about the image, hmmm. It’s a good shot, Leanne. It looks like it fits right in in a horror movie, in a scene where one of the characters is suddenly possessed.

    Hope you’re having a good week, Leanne. I’ve been filing papers all week, feels like a slow week but it’s already Thursday. Oh yeah.

    July 24, 2014
    • It is my daughter Mabel, it is from a series of images I took of her. I put the image of her into one I did of the lanes a couple of weeks ago. I have to admit I was thinking of Supernatural when I was doing the image.

      It has been a bit of a slow week, lots of planning, really. Sounds like it must have been a fast week, and the filing helped fill time. I have lots of things on in the next few days, lots of photos. I hope your camera is going well.

      July 24, 2014
      • Your daughter should be a model 😀 You are great at manipulating images, Leanne. I hope to be as good as you one day. Supernatural. Yes. Fits well with the image.

        Sounds like you have things in store for you, that is good to hear. It’s always nice when opportunities crop up in line with what you love doing. If not…you can try to make them happen 🙂

        Not a fan of filing, hideously boring but next week is my last week at work, finally. Then all the time in the world to play with my new toy for a while. And of course, write 😉

        July 24, 2014
      • Haha, she is too short, a real shortie. I love manipulating images and I think that is half the thing with it, if you want to do it you will.
        I do, lots of things, good things, so that is good. I have my first Social Snappers for the Sundays this Sunday, hoping to do a tour of Royal Exhibition Building, which will be amazing.
        I can understand not liking filing, only a week and then freedom, you won’t know what do with yourself, okay maybe you will, lots of things planned it seems. I bet you can’t wait. 🙂

        July 24, 2014
      • Ah, no one can be as short as me, Leanne. Your daughter will feel tall if I stood beside her.

        The RBE Building.The gardens around it are lovely as well. You will love it. I love it, and so close to my flat too. One of these days we will run into each other, I know it.

        Oh yes. Can’t wait til August. Lots to do. Hope to get lots of rest too, no break from work after that til December. But it will be good 🙂

        July 24, 2014
      • We might have to see about that one day Mabel, we are both short, though I am quite wide too.
        Oh yes, the gardens around there are wonderful. I love that building, will be nice to see it empty, love the idea of seeing it with nothing in it.
        I am sure we will one day, though will we know one another.
        That is great Mabel, hope you get lots done.

        July 24, 2014
  10. Fabulous image…..and totally creepy!
    I’m glad I saw this in daylight or I’d be having nightmares 😉

    July 24, 2014
    • Thank you, fabulous reaction. 🙂

      July 24, 2014
  11. Very nice rendering – everything work here to give me the feeling of confinement (even is an open space – the tone works too. My one line for this week:
    Moving between this world and the next, I linger for a moment, hoping you will remember me.

    July 24, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, the tone, I was trying to imitate the tones they use in movies, haven’t quite got there, but not far off, I hope.
      I love your one line, great.

      July 25, 2014
  12. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I sit here in awe thinking, “How the heck does Leanne do that?” ❤ Wow!

    July 24, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, it isn’t that hard, just two photos put together, but I won’t spoil the magic. 😀

      July 25, 2014
  13. digitalpixelita #

    I am so glad you liked one of my pictures because that lead me to your picture blog.

    Wow, what a great image… I feel some words stirring within me.

    July 25, 2014
    • You’re welcome and thanks for coming, and thanks for that lovely comment.
      If some words do stir and you do write something, would love to hear it. 🙂

      July 25, 2014
      • digitalpixelita #

        You are welcome…. glad to comment on your blog.

        Thank you and if words come to me I will definitely share… 🙂

        July 25, 2014
      • I would love that. Thank you. 🙂

        July 25, 2014
  14. Wow this picture is scary, haunting,and paranormal! I love it!

    July 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I was telling someone else, I was thinking of the TV show Supernatural when I was doing it. So all those things fit.

      July 25, 2014
  15. Poltergeist

    July 25, 2014
  16. That’s wicked Leanne!!!

    July 25, 2014
  17. Again, I like the scary movie effect. Nice

    July 25, 2014
  18. a touch of ethereal in the bleak alleys and against concrete and glass monoliths!! or “The Rapture.” 🙂

    July 25, 2014
    • Nice Cybele, I like that, thank you. 🙂

      July 25, 2014
    • That is fantastic Cybele, thank you.

      July 25, 2014
  19. Suzanne #

    What a fabulous image prompt Leanne – thankyou. Here’s what I wrote in response – http://artifactsandfictions.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/moment-of-ascension/

    July 25, 2014
    • Thank you Suzanne, I will head over to read it soon.

      July 25, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        No rush. You must be flat out doing your work and hosting various blog challenges as well. I keep wanting to go in your photography challenge but can’t seem to find the time. 🙂

        July 26, 2014
      • Thank you, I have it marked, so I will get to it soon, I promise. I know what you mean about time, finding it can be a tricky thing.

        July 26, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        🙂

        July 26, 2014
  20. Sonel #

    Absolutely stunning shot and interpretation Leanne! I’m no writer at all and can’t even describe what I think when I saw this. I am speechless. 😆

    July 25, 2014
    • Thank you Sonel, I’m no writer either, so I let my images do the talking for me, well that is what I try to do. 🙂

      July 25, 2014
      • Sonel #

        You don’t have to ‘try’ at all Leanne. You are doing a fantastic job of it hon. 😀

        July 25, 2014
      • Thank you Sonel, I miss hearing from you. 😀

        July 25, 2014
      • Sonel #

        Hey sweetness, thanks and the same here. I see I have a lot of catching up to do. 😀

        July 25, 2014
      • 😀

        July 26, 2014
  21. amy #

    WOW! Very eery and cool!

    July 27, 2014
  22. Brilliant!

    July 28, 2014
  23. digitalpixelita #

    I hope you like what I wrote. 🙂
    http://digitalpixelita.wordpress.com/2014/08/03/ascension/
    xo

    August 4, 2014
    • I did, I liked it a lot. Thank you. 😀

      August 4, 2014
      • digitalpixelita #

        I am so very happy and thank you.
        xo

        August 4, 2014
      • 😀 😀

        August 4, 2014
  24. Very cool.

    August 7, 2014
  25. Wow.

    August 8, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Up In the Air | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  2. A Dream With A Mind Of Its Own | sharing me myself and i
  3. The Rapture, 3rd class | "There was a time" -the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter and other tales
  4. Moment of ascension | Art and Fiction
  5. Ascension | Digital Pixelita
  6. Quiet Thursday – Story Prompt | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

