Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Fog in Banyule

banyule-flats-fog-parks-trees-2

Those of you who follow the Monochrome Madness challenge know that we had fog here earlier in the week.  It was so nice to see something else besides rain.  We actually had three mornings of it, though only one was really thick, the one I went out to take photos in.

banyule-flats-fog-parks-trees-2

I do love this tree.  I always think Joshua Tree, of course it isn’t one, but there are some similarities.  I have no idea what this tree is.

banyule-flats-fog-parks-trees-6

The other day someone mentioned how quiet landscapes can be when there is fog.  I think that is something I really want to try to get.  I love the idea of the quiet landscape, and fog is so perfect for that.

banyule-flats-fog-parks-trees-8

 

Even when it is really busy it still seems very quiet.

banyule-flats-fog-parks-trees-12

When I went over to the swamp I was enjoying watching this black swan cleaning itself.  I wished I’d had a bigger lens, but you do what you can with what you have.  I have other photos of this too.

 

banyule-flats-fog-parks-trees-16

The swamp is one of those areas that looks fantastic with fog, though the perfect thing would have been fog and a little bit of sun.  I am sure I will get that one day.

All the images were shot with the Nikon D800, with the 24-70mm lens.  They were all taken hand held.  While it was foggy and it seemed a little dark it wasn’t too dark that I couldn’t hand hold.  Looks like I used f/8 for nearly all the photos, and as I was using Aperture Priority the camera set the shutter speed.  My ISO was mainly on 640, though I did change it up to 1250 when I was trying to photograph the swan so I could get a faster shutter speed.

Going to put the photos into a gallery for you now.  I hope they don’t all seem the same.  I hope you get some fantastic weather conditions this weekend to do your own wanderings and get some amazing photos.

 

89 Comments
  1. Beautiful shots Leanne. I love the way fog casts a luminance over nature x

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you Eily, I hadn’t thought of that, I love that idea.

      July 26, 2014
  2. I guess I love foggy, misty weather because it is unusual. We almost never get fog in Alice, maybe once every couple of years! Thanks Leanne, lovely photos.

    July 26, 2014
    • I thought you would have, but I suppose it is too dry, my mum gets fog where she is, though more likely to get frosts, do you get those? Maybe it doesn’t get cold enough. We know if it is around 0 then we have probably had a frost. Tell me more Ardy. Thank you.

      July 26, 2014
  3. Morning! 🙂
    These are lovely and I do like the way you’ve described them as quiet… They are.
    There is a stillness about foggy mornings.
    An enjoyable wander with you at this lovely place 🙂
    Pouring rain here this morn… very heavy, so could be a rainy day.

    July 26, 2014
    • Good morning to you too. 😀
      I like that description too, though not mine, but it is something that I do try to get in images, a sense of quietness.
      Thank you Robyn, glad you enjoyed the wander.
      We had some rain this morning, but think it has gone now.
      I’m to Black Rock with a friend today, lunch and maybe some photos of the beach there.

      July 26, 2014
      • The sun has come out here too… a gorgeous day for now 🙂
        Have a fabulous day at Black Rock!!

        July 26, 2014
      • Our day turned worse, it rained most of the afternoon, so no stars for me tonight.
        Black Rock, well where we went for lunch was lovely, really enjoyed it. 🙂

        July 26, 2014
      • Glad you enjoyed your lunch even if you didn’t do all you were planning 🙂
        Weather turned worse again here too.

        July 26, 2014
      • Lunch was so relaxing, it was great. Went out with my oldest friend, so it was really nice.
        I am hoping to get out tomorrow, so I hope the clouds and rain bugger off by then. 😀

        July 27, 2014
      • Theres nothing like a relaxing lunch with a good friend 🙂 Lol…hope the weather is good today!

        July 27, 2014
      • That is so true, looking forward to the day you and I can do the same 🙂
        I hope so too, or you might hear the hissy fit I throw where you are.

        July 27, 2014
      • Lol… I know how you feel. Make it work for you 🙂
        Yes I’ll look forward to that day too!!

        July 27, 2014
      • LOL, though, can’t get milky way with clouds, will have to see. Though not trying for that today, hoping to get to Aireys Inlet again tomorrow, see what I can get there.
        Lunch and glass of wine, aww, nice. 😀

        July 27, 2014
      • Whatever you find is great!
        Yes a perfect lunch 😀
        Something funny… My first try at the milky way, I had crop factor on…duh 😛

        July 27, 2014
      • Thank you Robyn,
        Crop factor, not good, haha, next time you will know. 🙂

        July 27, 2014
      • Yes..lol
        The sky was so awesome.. Couldn’t see a thing through the viewfinder… Ya gotta try 😉
        I might do something more ‘amazing’ next time…lol

        July 27, 2014
      • That is one thing with star photography, you can’t see anything and you have to keep trying.
        I am sure you will, you won’t have your camera on crop next time I’m sure.

        July 27, 2014
      • 🙂

        July 27, 2014
  4. Loved these Leanne. I see some of your trees are reluctant to shed those last autumn toned leaves too. I’ve an oak down the road looking the same. A touch of sunlight with fog turns it magical, hope you capture it sooner rather than later at the swamp. Thanks for sharing.

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you Christine, yes, it is so strange how they are reluctant, I think the weird start to winter had a lot to do with it, poor trees are behind. I agree about the touch of sunlight, but one of the hardest things to get. I hope so too.

      July 26, 2014
      • You are probably right. I found some hawthorn bushes doing the same in the lane down from my house. They had blossom and berries, but in the main road they were almost bare. It was totally the wrong timing for blossoms in the late autumn.

        July 26, 2014
      • Everything seems confused, it is like they don’t know what to do.

        July 26, 2014
  5. Amazing photos…we don’t really get much fog here

    July 26, 2014
    • We used to get a lot more, but these days hardly any now. It is nice when it happens though. Thanks Jo.

      July 26, 2014
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I like the grass one best. This is awfully thick fog. 🙂

    July 26, 2014
    • Thanks Jackie, it was pretty thick, wonderful really. 😀

      July 26, 2014
  7. Sashi #

    Wonderful pictures!

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you.

      July 26, 2014
      • Sashi #

        You’re welcome!

        July 31, 2014
  8. Great set, I really like the line of trees in the dam, the colours are almost pastel like. Did you take these on Tuesday? We had -4C and heavy frost and then a beautiful sunny day – the fog stayed south of Sunbury.

    July 26, 2014
    • Yes, on Tuesday Lisa, we still haven’t had a frost yet. I am jealous you got one, maybe soon we will get one, though I am starting to think it is too late in the year.
      Thanks Lisa.

      July 26, 2014
  9. Very atmospheric shots Leanne. To me they are dreamy and conducive to reflection and reminiscing… May be it’s the mood I am in… Chris

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, I like the idea of them being dreaming, great idea.

      July 26, 2014
  10. These are absolutely stunning!! I love how you captured the foggy mood in these images. Is there any type of photography you can’t do?????? Amazing.

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, fog is hard, but mainly because you have to wait for it to happen. Yeah there is, I suck at food and still life photography.

      July 26, 2014
      • Hmm well can I be the judge of that? 😛 We get fog here but it’s a different type and pretty much it’s very predictable. It comes in….it goes out….it comes in…..it goes out lol.

        July 26, 2014
      • I don’t know about that, I find my still life and food photos really boring. Maybe I need to practice. Can you see it coming in, the fog I mean? We just wake up and there it is, it sort of appears and then disappears.

        July 27, 2014
      • We see it rolling in. It’s like a bank of clouds on the hill and they creep over like a blanket being pulled up to your chin in bed. Maybe the cake needed to be photographed. 🙂

        July 27, 2014
      • Have you tried photographing it Laura, sounds really interesting. Haha, nah, it needed to be eaten. 😉

        July 27, 2014
      • I have a few pics of the fog rolling in…you can see it in those sunset photos I posted but I’ll try to do a closer up shot soon so you can get a real sense of it. It won’t come in for a few days though because it’s so darn hot. Hope your cake was good lol.

        July 27, 2014
      • I will have to take a closer look. Oh yes, closer shots, if you can get them would be wonderful. Thanks Laura.
        The cake was good, thanks.

        July 27, 2014
  11. Love, love, love!! I’ve been dying for some foggy morning shots around here 🙂 They are so still and quiet, even though you know all the things that are usually there, still are. Gorgeous, atmospheric, wonderful. Thank you!

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you Sara, I’ve waiting for ages for some as well. That is a great way of describing them.

      July 26, 2014
  12. Soft, serene and seductive images.

    July 26, 2014
  13. Love the pictures of the swamp! A bit eerie …and the black swan, of course.

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, yes, I think fog always makes things eerie. I love the black swan.

      July 26, 2014
  14. Really like the swamp with fog, difficult to tell the sky from the Earth. Great shots in the low light.

    July 26, 2014
    • Thanks Robert, I like that about fog too.

      July 26, 2014
  15. I love fog. These shots are wonderful. I’ve been trying to get some of this low hanging fog in San Francisco but since I don’t live there it’s the luck of the draw and so far every time I get there on a foggy day it’s already risen up off the ground. SF gets its fog in our summer.

    July 26, 2014
    • Don’t you hate it when that happens? I’ve been waiting for fog for so long and I finally got some, so maybe one you will get some when you go. It is one of the problems with photography, especially when you have to depend on the weather. I just recently learned that, I was so surprised that you get fog there even in the summer.

      July 26, 2014
  16. Wonderful photos, Leanne!

    July 26, 2014
  17. I love shooting in mist. Not full fog, but mist is a challenge and when it comes out right, it’s really moody. Love the pictures.

    July 26, 2014
    • Thanks Marilyn, I was ready to get anything really, something other than rain. I like mist too, especially with a touch of sunlight.

      July 26, 2014
  18. Verrrry nice!

    July 26, 2014
  19. Suzanne #

    Gorgeous photos but brrr – they look cold.

    July 26, 2014
    • I was actually surprised at cold it wasn’t. I was really warm. Thank you Suzanne.

      July 26, 2014
  20. You’ve certainly conjured up the quiet atmosphere!

    July 26, 2014
    • Thank you Gypsy, I love quiet.

      July 26, 2014
  21. Fascinated me all, dear Leanne, these are amazing photographs. Especially naked trees… amazing. Thank you, love, nia

    July 26, 2014
    • You’re welcome Nia, thank you so much.

      July 26, 2014
  22. Spectacular photos of the fog. Very cool and misty look about Banyule. It is great to see the most of the trees with bare branches. Finally, winter has come. If there were orange leaves everywhere amidst the fog, it would’ve been a bit of a strange sight. The city had some fog too last week. It was quite thick and we couldn’t see too many buildings in the distance until mid-morning.

    Hope your weekends going well, Leanne. Must be busy with your outings. Going way too fast for me, as usual 🙂

    July 26, 2014
    • It was certainly that Mabel. Oh, yes, winter has certainly arrived around here, well except for the trees, that are still changing. I love the city when there is fog, I should have come in on one of the mornings to see if I could get some photos. Might try that if we get some more fog.

      Yeah, it is going I suppose. Did have a lovely lunch in Black Rock today, was very relaxing by the water, indoors of course. I know what you mean about it going to fast, but you will have lots of time soon. 😉

      July 26, 2014
      • It isn’t too cold these few days, but the weather says it will get cold again next week. There should be more days with fog, pity Melbourne doesn’t get too much of them. Black Rock, that’s a suburb down south. Hope you got some photos, I am sure you did. Good way to spend Saturday.

        I’ made a list of things I need to do next month, haha. Looks like I’ll have little time to travel, but we’ll see 😉

        July 26, 2014
      • I don’t mind cold, cold I can deal with, it is the rain and overcast days I don’t like. I am so over rain. I hope there is more days with fog, I like fog. Yes, Black Rock is done on the bay, so bayside suburb. No, didn’t really get any good photos, it was too grey, got some, will see what they are like, in the end had to rush as the rain started coming down. It was very relaxing in the restaurant though, I really enjoyed lunch.

        That is great to hear Mabel, where are you going to travel too? 🙂

        July 27, 2014
  23. Beautiful photos Leanne, lovely writing, thanks for sharing. I particularly like the reflections in the swamp.

    July 26, 2014
  24. It looks quite mystical with the fog and bare trees.

    July 26, 2014
    • Fog is so good for doing that, I love that mystical look. Thanks Carol.

      July 27, 2014
  25. The fog makes for some very interesting pictures Leanne.

    July 26, 2014
    • It certainly does Colline, thanks.

      July 27, 2014
  26. Great pictures… Love the mysterious setting about them…

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you, mysterious and fog go really well together.

      July 27, 2014
  27. WanderingVagrant #

    Stunning! Fog is mesmerizing.

    July 27, 2014
    • I agree with that, it really is, thank you.

      July 27, 2014
  28. poppytump #

    Although you say it wasn’t that cold Leanne, your photos have me thinking of pulling my collar up a little and wishing for some gloves if I’d stood around for much longer …
    Lovely atmosphere .

    July 27, 2014
    • I was really surprised, I had a big coat on, but I was getting really warm in it. I think fog can do that sometimes, sort of create a warm bubble, doesn’t it. I don’t know. Thank you.
      PS went out last night and managed to get some photos of the milky way, yay, not sure when I will show them, though I have one up on Google+ at the moment.

      July 28, 2014
      • poppytump #

        I’ve JUST seen the images on Google + Leanne (can’t comment as I’m not on there)
        Whoa they are *fabulous … Swooshy ocean waters and the Milky Way together .. you are toooo much 😀

        July 29, 2014
      • Thank you, I loved those, I went out with John last night, down to Aireys Inlet and we took photos of the Lighthouse and the Milky Way, so I will put some up there today too.
        I love taking photos of the ocean at night, I do believe. I really want to do a lot more of it.

        July 29, 2014
  29. Gorgeous – I particularly like the swamp shots – like frozen moments from the end of time.

    July 28, 2014
    • The swamp worked well for these images. Thanks Richard.

      July 28, 2014
  30. So very nice.

    July 29, 2014
  31. I always love the fog. I see it quite often but never have the chance to work with it. It always seems that when I can shoot there’s no fog. The only time it happens here is when it’s been a warmer day and it drops quite a bit over night in temperature. I’ve seen some great morning though with the fog and the sunrise.

    July 29, 2014
    • I know what you mean Justin, that has been the case here, we have had other mornings, not many, and none that I could get out with the camera. It is much the same here with fog, the conditions I mean, we certainly don’t just get lots of fog all the time. Though less this year. I love fog with a touch of sunshine, but very hard to get.
      Thanks Justin.

      July 29, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. #Photography #Fog in Banyule | johndwmacdonald

Comments are closed.

