Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – The Pink Lakes

MurraySunset-parks-pink-lakes-37

On my recent trip to the Mallee I was able to go back to the Pink Lakes and explore it some more. The Pink Lakes are part of the Murray Sunset National Park, stuck up in the North West Corner of the state of Victoria here in Australia.  I have been there twice now and I know I will be going back a lot more.  It is amazing how different it can be each time you go. This time I was expecting to see a lot more water because of the rain.

MurraySunset-parks-pink-lakes-1

 

One of the first things that struck me was how much pinker the lakes were than the last time we were there. Though there wasn’t as much water in them as I expected.  We have had so much rain down here that I assumed they would have had more than usual too and thought there might be a lot more water in the lakes.  They’ve certainly had some, but I did think they would be fuller.

MurraySunset-parks-pink-lakes-11

 

It is such a desolate (my new favourite word) country up there and it is not unusual to see trees struggling to survive.  Not much does survive up there.

MurraySunset-parks-pink-lakes-19

On the lake in the previous image there was a large part of it that had no water and we saw someone else walking on the salt, so we went for a walk too.  The salt was compacted and we had no trouble walking on it. Though we were told later that you have to be very careful as a wet spot could be there and it would be like quick sand. I couldn’t get over the texture.  It was like tough skin, and there are other photos on the gallery for you to see that.  I liked the above one for the salt crystals, they looked so nice.

MurraySunset-parks-pink-lakes-20

 

Out at the lakes there are still things that have been left from the days when they mined the salt.  There are these large mounds of salt just sitting there. They are very hard now, and the textures on them are quite amazing. I did climb up them to get some photos, and I took some photos from them.  They gave you a nice high advantage, though again, it is probably something you need to be careful with.

MurraySunset-parks-pink-lakes-30

 

I was told this was bush spinach and you could pick it and eat it.  I don’t really like normal spinach, so if it’s okay, I might give it a miss. This was growing everywhere.  I suppose if you got stuck there you wouldn’t starve, die of thirst maybe, but not starve.

MurraySunset-parks-pink-lakes-37

 

We went over to the third lake and it was also dry, or so it seemed, when we went to see if we could walk into it, it was obvious that is was still far too wet and you just started sinking, so we only walked around the edges. This time we saw a lot more of the old piers or ramps that were there. The above was a piece of wood from one that has swelled and buckled.  I loved the shape of it.

I am hoping to go to the Pink Lakes again in Spring, I want to see the wild flowers.  I have a gallery for you now, there are lots of photos. I was going to try and cull them, but I couldn’t decide which ones to leave out, so you are getting them all.  I really enjoyed getting these photos.  The landscape here is so different to many places and I hope you enjoy them.

 

95 Comments
  1. nice pictures dude.

    July 27, 2014
  2. The salt crystals are very pretty. Glad you didn’t get sucked away by quicksand. Thanks for sharing them all. So interesting!

    July 27, 2014
    • I am glad of that too, that wouldn’t have been good. I love the salt crystals too. Thank you.

      July 27, 2014
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Those salt crystals are beautiful! It’s amazing how you find so much color there. 🙂

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I liked them too, they remind me of diamonds. There is some colour and then no colour, very strange. 😀

      July 27, 2014
  4. Great shots indeed! 🙂

    July 27, 2014
  5. Great photos, leanne. The shine looks almost like ice too.

    July 27, 2014
    • Oh yes, I can see that John, so weird. Thank you.

      July 27, 2014
  6. Incredible – this is where the Internet is so amazing. There is no way that I will be able to travel to see the Pink Lakes for myself in the conceivable future but they can certainly go on a wish list. Without your photos I would not have known there was such an amazing place.

    July 27, 2014
    • I know what you mean, and it is wonderful that you can see it through my photos and one day you might actually be able to go there. Thank you.

      July 27, 2014
  7. Incredible. I know it’s deathly silent except for wind, you captured that in your photos.

    July 27, 2014
    • That is pretty much it, though you can hear the birds and they can be very noisy, but all you hear is nature. Thank you Bernadette.

      July 27, 2014
  8. Hi Leanne,

    You mention risks a couple of times and I wonder if this might be a theme for a future post. I’m interested in risk from a professional and creative perspective and it is useful to get views from different people on how they approach and manage risk in their work.

    For creatives, risk/fear can often hold us back. At the other extreme, there is the danger of ignoring legitimate risk at our expense. Somewhere in between is a balance.

    What do you think?

    July 27, 2014
    • Not a bad idea, are you interested in writing it or writing it with me? Maybe email me leanne@leannecole.com.au

      July 27, 2014
      • Sure. I will need a little time to put something together though.

        July 27, 2014
      • Send me an email and we can discuss it, time isn’t a problem.

        July 27, 2014
  9. Very cool place to visit! I love all the textures in your photos! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, there are so many textures there, I should have got more for my texture folder.

      July 27, 2014
  10. Wow they are really very pink, aren’t they? Isn’t nature strange!!!

    July 27, 2014
    • They really are Linda, it is the algae in them. It is strange, and wonderful, thank you.

      July 27, 2014
      • Oh wow! I thought it was because of the salt!!

        July 27, 2014
      • No, red algae in the water makes them pink, so the more water that is there, the pinker they are. Last time I went, there wasn’t much water at all, and they weren’t very pink.

        July 27, 2014
  11. All divine. One day I would like to see them. I think the wildflowers would be wonderful. We had planned to travel to WA this spring and I was excited to see the wildflowers but alas, the best laid plans and all that….. I’ll get there one day.

    July 27, 2014
    • When you want to go Suz, let me know and I will meet you there, show you around, hopefully I will know my way around by then. I would love to do WA in spring, I have been hearing for so many years how beautiful it is with the wild flowers. One day. Thank you.

      July 27, 2014
  12. i love the rusty car stuck in the ground and wonder if there is a story behind that (other than it was abandoned to rust) i was on a guided tour on the floor of the Canyon de Chelly recently and the guide pointed out the steering wheel of a truck peeping out of the canyon’s sandy floor. when she said the passengers had to leave their car fleeing a flash flood, i had my eyes firmly on the clear blue arizona sky looking for clouds!
    this is a wonderful shoot- i need to go 🙂

    July 27, 2014
    • I would be looking up at the sky too, that would be a bit scary. I don’t know what the story is, I suspect, it broke down and was just left there. There are old cars and stuff everywhere in different parts of the Mallee. It has been stripped though, so only the carcass, so to speak, is still there.
      Thank you.

      July 27, 2014
  13. This is a very impressive collection of images. I felt as if I had joined you on the day: the setting is so vivid and your story allows for the viewer to immerse herself within it. So glad you took a picture of the salt crystals: they are fascinating and the texture certainly comes through. A desolate place: yes, but you have brought it to life through your pictures.

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say, I should try recording some of the sounds there. I love the salt crystals, they came out so well. Thanks again.

      July 27, 2014
  14. Interesting scenes Leanne.

    July 27, 2014
  15. Suzanne #

    Gosh you make me want to get up there again. It’s been years. Maybe I’ll find time later in the year. Your photos really capture the spirit of the place.

    July 27, 2014
    • You should go Suzanne, I could let you know when I’m going if you like. Thank you.

      July 27, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        Wow that’s an amazing offer. I thought after I posted it’s probably a 5-6 hour drive from here. (I live in Warrnambool). Maybe I’ll just have to MAKE the time. 🙂

        July 27, 2014
      • I will be going up a lot over the next few months, well, before summer anyway. I can let you know when I’m going.
        Actually coming near you soon, to Apollo Bay at the end of August.

        July 27, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        And I’ll be down your way next week – in Brunswick 🙂

        July 29, 2014
      • Really, what are you doing, how long are you there for? 😀

        July 29, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        My daughter is having a baby any day and has health issues. I ‘m not sure how I’ll long I’ll be there – for all of next week at least.

        July 29, 2014
      • Maybe you should send me an email and we could meet or something, have a coffee. I hope your daughter will be fine.

        July 29, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        What a lovely idea – my trip has just been postponed till closer to my daughter’s due date – unless something unexpected happens it will probably be the week after next when I’m in Melbourne. I will email you. Hopefully we can arrange a coffee get together – it sounds like it would be a very stimulating and creative meet up 🙂

        July 30, 2014
      • That would be great, email me.

        July 30, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        🙂

        July 31, 2014
  16. I love your work, hopefully one day I’ll become as good as you are!

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you, it is all practice, practice, practice.

      July 27, 2014
  17. Very interesting images, Leanna. Love the close up of the salt crystals. Beautiful.

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you Ardy, the salt crystals have been very popular.

      July 27, 2014
  18. I agree with Smorgasbord above – if not for your photos and description, there’s slim chance I’ll ever see this. Your sharing is wonderful! So appreciated.
    Mary

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you Mary, I don’t think I have thought of it like before.

      July 27, 2014
  19. Reblogged this on Crash Course.

    July 27, 2014
  20. I’ve only ever driven past, it will be hard not to stop next time. Amazing photos, as usual.

    July 27, 2014
    • Oh yes, you should go and take a look, it is a great place to take photos. Thank you Christine.

      July 27, 2014
  21. It’s such an interesting place! Iove the wood shape too. It almost seems prehistoric. The lakes were very pink this time. I could tell from some of the photos. Thanks for this great post, I learned something new and interesting.

    July 27, 2014
    • Oh that is a great word for it Laura, I love that. They were pink, which was nice. Thank you so much, glad you enjoyed it.

      July 27, 2014
      • So delicate and prehistoric will be your new words eh? 😉

        July 28, 2014
      • I think they might be, 😉

        July 28, 2014
      • 😀

        July 28, 2014
  22. Great story of the weekend, I wonder if the colour of the pink changes due to their being water and the reflection of the colour of the sky. Beautiful pictures of a beautiful part of the world.

    July 27, 2014
    • I think the more water there is the more intense it because due to the algae. Thank you Ben, glad you liked the photos.

      July 27, 2014
  23. Stunning photos, Leanne. A few of them with the trees are reminiscent of photos of Africa, I think. Very abandoned feel to it in broad daylight. Walking on hardened salt, that must have been fun and nice to hear that it didn’t suck you in 😀 Very nice sunny weather and you can see it glinting in the sunshine.

    It was quite a nice day today, though with a bit of cloud. Hope your REB class was (is) going well, and it was fun.

    July 27, 2014
    • I understand that idea of Africa, I thought the same. Thank you Mabel, Sorry not very talkative, been a very busy weekend and I think it is time I went to sleep.
      REB was fantastic, I really enjoyed it. Glad you had a nice day. 😀

      July 27, 2014
  24. Paul #

    Pink Lakes 13: An intriguingly deceptive sense of scale here, Leanne. The image could be an aerial view of a distant shoreline with the remains of an old civilisation’s buildings clustered along the edge of what was once a vast sea, now dried up, with only a small residual lake of bright blue water remaining. It was not until I noticed what I think could be a footprint in the lower right corner that the image’s true scale suddenly became apparent.
    Pink Lakes 23: another impressive aerial shot of an ancient landscape; and I also really liked the close-up shots of salt (15, 18, 19), the rusted car details (26, 27) and the images in Pink Lakes 10, 11 and 12. Well done, Leanne.

    July 27, 2014
    • Thanks Paul, it is deceptive, I might try doing more like that the next time I go, I like that idea. So the footprint was good to leave in, interesting.
      I love the salt crystals and that dried out surface when the lake bed is, so weird, I really enjoyed taking photos of that. I can’t wait to go back and see what I can find next time.

      July 28, 2014
  25. Gorgeous set of photos, Leanne.
    Wishing you a lovely Sunday from the other side,
    Dina

    July 27, 2014
    • Thank you Dina, I hope you’ve had a good Sunday too.

      July 28, 2014
  26. poppytump #

    Love those old half buried piers … I bet it will look stunning all round the lakes with the Spring wild flowers you mention Leanne . A desolate 😉 place brought to back life each year .

    July 27, 2014
    • I love those too, so strange, the wood is amazing to touch too, it is soft. I hope so, I am really looking forward to seeing the wildflowers. Thanks Poppytump.

      July 28, 2014
  27. nzsnapper #

    A fascinating and definitely desolate place. Thanks for sharing it.

    July 27, 2014
    • You’re welcome, places like this is something that Australia does well. Thanks

      July 28, 2014
  28. Nice visit – love the swollen wood arch and the old vehicle. I can see why you want to return.

    July 27, 2014
    • I love that swollen arch too Robert, but I think we are in the minority with that, though the old bomb on the hill has been very popular. Thanks Robert.

      July 28, 2014
  29. Lovely pictures… I like the Chrystal’s at from the bottom…

    July 27, 2014
    • The Chrystals are so amazing, I loved those too, thanks.

      July 28, 2014
  30. Great set of photos – really give the sense of the Pink Lakes Like the light on the lake but most of all find the pink intriguing

    July 28, 2014
    • Thank you Diana, it has been wonderful to see how much people have liked seeing these photos. I love going there and can’t wait to do more, glad you got a sense of what the place is like.

      July 28, 2014
  31. It’s interesting how a place that is so empty can be so beautiful. The photos tell such a unique story, really makes you want to visit there!

    July 28, 2014
    • I know what you mean, I am sure I can get more of the beauty. Thank you, that is a great compliment.

      July 28, 2014
  32. Great pics Leanne. 🙂

    July 28, 2014
  33. Fascinating. The salt crystals are beautiful – what an odd phenomenon – glad you were surefooted, Leanne 🙂

    July 28, 2014
    • Thank you Richard, they are odd, but also like little diamonds. I am glad I didn’t know about the quicksand stuff before I went there 🙂

      July 28, 2014
  34. Very interesting!

    July 28, 2014
  35. Love the weathered vehicles and farm equipment, Leanne.

    July 29, 2014
    • There is something quite special about things that are just left out, and what happens to them.

      July 29, 2014
  36. Looks like a great place. I would have loved to photograph that dried up salt. Would have been a great use for a macro lens. 😛

    All I can think about with a lot of your photos is how great these places must look during sunrise/sunset. I hope you’ll be able to make it out one of these times to capture these places in different light.

    July 29, 2014
    • Oh yes, a macro lens would have been fantastic for it.

      They would be lovely, unfortunately haven’t been able to get the sunset there yet. Would like to a sunrise, but it’s a couple of hours away from my mum, so would probably need to find accommodation nearby. One day. Sunsets are best in summer, and the sad thing is that is when all the snakes are out, so can be a bit scary.
      Thanks Justin.

      July 29, 2014
  37. Jen #

    Oh, Leanne, this is so cool! What an intriguing place to visit—I’d probably stay there all day just taking it all in! The shot of the crunched salt is my favourite. They’re all wonderful, of course, but that is just so neat. 🙂

    July 29, 2014
    • I know what you mean Jen, it is really amazing, I would like to go early morning next, a sunrise would be fantastic. Thanks.

      July 29, 2014
      • Jen #

        I hope you’re able to make it! Plus you already know what’s there and therefore what the light will play with nicely before you go (sunrise is not my most alert time of the day). Your photos here are just this side of otherworldly, but still…down to earth (that’s not quite right, but I think you’ll know what I mean).

        July 30, 2014
      • All very true Jen, I like mornings, though I like hanging around in my pjs, but nights are not great, I fall asleep early. I do know what you mean, and I like what you have said, I will have to think of that when I go next time. Thank you.

        July 30, 2014
  38. Gee, this is such a gorgeous place. So changeable and picturesque!
    Wonderful variety of images. Gives a real impression of what its like there 🙂
    Love the salt and textures!

    July 29, 2014
    • It is Robyn, much like what I think much of Australia might be like. Thank you. 🙂

      July 29, 2014
  39. I love the deep dark blue skies!

    July 30, 2014
    • Get beautiful skies up there, thanks.

      July 30, 2014

Comments are closed.

