Skip to content

Fridays Bits and Bobs

hopetoun-Tea-Rooms-cakes-chocolate-9

It has been a slow week really, the weather hasn’t been great again, though we did have a lovely couple of days earlier, it has turned again and now the weather is horrible.  They are even predicting snow here today, well not here, but in the nearby mountains.  We were thinking of taking a drive, but I think we might stay home with the heater on today.  Too cold.  Nice to see the sun symbol appearing on the weather forecast a lot next week, so I will have to make sure I make the most of it.  I think lots of people are sick of the rain here in Melbourne.  If I could send it elsewhere, I would.

Astrophotography

hopetoun-Tea-Rooms-cakes-chocolate-9I have been out photographing the stars, or rather the Milky Way.  As I said in yesterdays post it was the new moon last weekend and I do try to get a few times. I went to Sorrento, but I also went to Aireys Inlet on Monday with John.  I will be showing those photos tomorrow, however, if you follow me on Facebook or Google+ you will have already seen one of the photos I did with the lighthouse and the Milky Way.

hopetoun-Tea-Rooms-cakes-chocolate-4Grants

I’ve been thinking about doing this for a while.  I’ve been searching around to try and find grants and projects that I can do.  I think my photography is in a transition stage and there are projects that I would like to pursue.  To do the projects, I think I need to see if I can get some grants, so I have been searching the internet for what grants are available, when they are available and if I can apply for them.

Word of warning though, if you find sites that say they will help you get grants, do some research and make sure you find out what they are like.  They will ask you for money, and you shouldn’t need to pay money to get grants.  I found one, and then did some reviews and the words scam just kept coming up in association with them. So be careful.

Food

hopetoun-Tea-Rooms-cakes-chocolate-12As you can see this post is full of photos of cakes and chocolate.  I took these images a few weeks ago when I was doing a One on One in the city.  I love doing close ups of the cakes.  I wish I could more and not behind a window, but I don’t really cook.  Though every time I photograph the shop window, I get home and look at the photos and think I want to do more of this.  I might have to start small, little cakes and see how I go.  I don’t want to be a food photographer, but I like doing some aspects of it.  Nearly all the photos are taken through the Hopetoun Tea Rooms window, though the chocolate ones are from the windows of Haigh’s Chocolate.

That is about all I have for you today.  So I will stay warm today and I think stay indoors.  I think I might work on some photos.  I hope I haven’t made you too hungry, not sure what I would have from that window, but I think I might have to try a Raspberry Tart one day. Have a good Friday.

 

104 Comments
  1. Totally mouthwatering!!

    August 1, 2014
  2. My tummy rumbles, such delicious photos. 🙂

    August 1, 2014
  3. rosy365 #

    I am craving all that food. So wonderful pictures 🙂

    August 1, 2014
    • I know what you mean, I think that every time I walk past it. Thank you. 🙂

      August 1, 2014
  4. Mouth watering shots, Leanne!

    August 1, 2014
  5. Mouthwatering photos!

    August 1, 2014
  6. Leanne, Thanks so much for the excellent treats portrayed on this sweet post! Hope the weather will turn out good for your weekend. Take care and stay warm!

    August 1, 2014
    • Thanks Fabio, my pleasure, and yes the weather is set to be much better next week, so I am looking forward to that.

      August 1, 2014
      • Thanks very much, Leanne! 🙂

        August 1, 2014
  7. All engaging images and a nice way to wrap up the week.

    August 1, 2014
  8. Exquisite! I can taste it all now. 🙂

    August 1, 2014
    • Thanks Julie, I wish I could taste it all for real. 😀

      August 1, 2014
  9. Suzanne #

    What a gorgeous visual feast to gaze upon this cold and bleak Friday morning. 🙂

    August 1, 2014
    • Thank you Suzanne, could be a good day to do some cooking and try some of this photography. MMM I wonder if I have eggs. 😀

      August 1, 2014
      • Suzanne #

        Yes – wild storms alright. At least today has dawned calm and sunny down here. Hope it’s clearing in Melbourne too.

        August 2, 2014
      • We are still getting lots of rain, but if it has cleared there, then it should clear here soon, that will be nice.

        August 2, 2014
  10. Those photos are fantastic ~ made my mouth water.

    August 1, 2014
  11. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I think I just gained five glorious pounds! My mouth is literally watering! ❤

    August 1, 2014
    • Haha, brilliant comment Jackie, thank you.

      August 1, 2014
  12. Loved your photo of the lighthouse and the Milky Way. I showed it to my sister in law who is now stalking your blog and website. lol

    August 1, 2014
    • LOL, brilliant Suz, I have a stalker, I hope she likes the rest of the blog. I have some amazing stuff from the other night, I need to play with it now and get it ready to show everyone tomorrow.

      August 1, 2014
  13. Love these food photographs, Leanne.

    August 1, 2014
  14. Amy #

    Yummm!! Great shots!

    August 1, 2014
  15. Jen #

    Good luck with the cold (it has been very cold here, too, twenty degrees below normal temperatures!) and especially the grants. You are right about some of the sites—very often they’re scams, and occasionally dangerous ones. Happily, it doesn’t take too much footwork (keyboardwork?) to figure out which is which.

    Love these photos of all the sweet goods, especially that one of the hand with the slice of cake. Delicious! I do spend a lot of time cooking and baking, a trait I’ve inherited from my grandmother. Just remember: Cooking is an art, and baking is a science. Also, pretty much anything Alton Brown says about either. 😉

    August 1, 2014
    • Thanks Jen, the heater helps a lot. It really doesn’t, there are so many reviews in the internet these days.

      I think you need to move here Jen, you can cook and I can take photos, LOL. I love cake, but I have only ever done simply ones, maybe I need to expand my repertoire, thanks Jen.

      August 1, 2014
  16. Those are some tasty looking treats

    August 1, 2014
    • They do look very tasty Nora, fancy a cuppa and piece of cake?

      August 1, 2014
  17. They are unbelievably yummy…I mean good. 🙂

    August 1, 2014
    • I must try them one day, I should just go. Thanks Laura. 🙂

      August 1, 2014
  18. Beautiful photos! You make them look so tempting. 😊

    August 1, 2014
    • Thank you Sabrina, shall we have some afternoon tea?

      August 1, 2014
  19. How dare you Leanne… didn’t you know I’m on a slimming diet? I see, … of course you did … 😀 😀 :F

    August 1, 2014
  20. These are some of the most stunning photos of food I have seen for a while and I see tons! Great work!

    August 1, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      August 1, 2014
  21. Wow, if that’s what you can do through a shop window… I’m sure if you were to make food photography your specialty it would be amazing!

    August 1, 2014
    • I don’t know about that, but thanks for the vote of confidence. Thank you.

      August 1, 2014
  22. Love these photos of the sweet treats from the tea room. You must’ve gotten lucky taking those photos – no people standing in front of the windows posing for photos, people crowding around there ages drooling over the cakes. Can barely tell they were taken from behind a glass. I love the shot where someone is taking that yellow slice of cake away…nooo…. 😀

    It was freezing today, Leanne. Hope you were all nice and toasty indoors. I had to go out to review an exhibition up north, a very sudden call. It was raining and hailing but lol, somehow I had fun. Ooooh, look. Thunder and lightning show outside now. Too much rain.

    August 1, 2014
    • I think it was fairly early in the morning, so that was good. Thanks Mabel. 😀

      I didn’t go outside once, been lovely and toasty inside. That was bad luck having to go out, I hope the exhibition was worth it. Raining here right now, the weather next looks great.

      August 1, 2014
      • One day, I will have to try those cakes in the tea room. Your photos have convinced me. Early bird captures the worm 😀 Sunny days early next week. I’m sure will be going out like you.

        The exhibition was interesting, the write up is the challenging part. A good start to my freedom, hitting the ground running with what I like doing 🙂

        August 1, 2014
      • I know what you mean,I will too. I take so many photos of them. I’m looking forward to the sunny days, should be good.

        That is great, maybe you will get more, then you can do more of what you want. 🙂

        August 2, 2014
  23. kleinedee #

    Ummm…there goes my self-control! These look too good to resist. It’s about lunchtime here, and now I am in need of some cakes to satisfy my cravings. Thanks for the beautiful pictures!

    August 1, 2014
    • Maybe you didn’t find anything this good, and were able to resist.
      thank you.

      August 1, 2014
  24. K: Delicious!

    August 1, 2014
  25. Paul #

    Excellent shots, Leanne. Yum, yum!

    August 1, 2014
    • Thanks Paul, and yes, it all looks so good.

      August 2, 2014
  26. “When the weather turns bad, the pictures get good.” — Sam Abell, National Geographic Magazine

    For a successful grant application, you’d better have a well thought out project formatted into something that looks like a classic business plan.

    August 1, 2014
    • That is true most of the time, but rain does not make good photos, after it is done, yes, but not when it is pelting down.

      It is getting there, Ray. It is a big grant and it is local, so I think it is a good place to start. Thanks

      August 2, 2014
  27. Your astrophotography work I have seen on facebook is inspiring, I recently read an article about how to do this in the city yet I haven’t had a clear night yet to give it a go.
    Grants and funding I think is needed esp if you want to take on a big project and need to cover costs. I wish you luck.

    August 1, 2014
    • Thank you Ben, I would be interested in that article as well, do you have a link to it. It would be nice to do some around here.
      I am starting to see that, it is how to do it so the people giving you the grants are getting something back. Thank you.

      August 2, 2014
  28. I risked short-circuiting my phone by drooling over your photos. Yum! I hope you bought one if those delectable treats. Good luck with the grant funding. I worked for a charity before emigrating and the grant applications were relentless and tedious.

    August 1, 2014
    • LOL, I hope you phone is still okay. I didn’t, I must go and cue up one day and try some, I need to go with other people so we can all get something and try one anothers. Thank you, I am going to try for something that was a little bit left of field, but could work out to be really good. They do seem that way.

      August 2, 2014
  29. Your Milky Way photos are just fabulous, but your food pics really made my mouth water. 🙂

    August 1, 2014
    • Thank you, I think the food photos have that effect on a few people. 🙂

      August 2, 2014
  30. Those are very very good pictures, excellent colours too!

    August 2, 2014
    • Thank you, that is great to hear.

      August 2, 2014
  31. Decadent! Beautiful food photography Leanne! You are so talented and such an inspiration! Wish you lived closer to me and we could partner on projects,etc. My studio opening in September would be a welcome venue for you to teach, etc. !

    August 2, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I usually think I suck at this sort of thing. Maybe I need to think again. The internet is such a wonderful thing bringing us all closer to together, but it can also show us how far apart we all are. That would have been wonderful Robyn.

      August 2, 2014
  32. poppytump #

    Oh … those little whorls of cream topped with a cherry … and choux pastry swans … exquisite work all round 🙂
    I think it would be an art cutting and serving these delicacies too without making a real boo boo of it all 😀
    Super pictures Leanne .

    August 2, 2014
    • I know what you mean Poppytump, all made so we would want to eat them. Thank you. 🙂
      I think you are right about that, I love the idea of making and photographing, but it is the presentation I’m not to sure about. 😦

      August 2, 2014
  33. Your photos make me want to go out and buy the biggest, creamiest hazelnut-meringue-chocolate-cream layered cake 🙂 Hope you get a grant, Leanne.

    August 2, 2014
    • Oh yum, that sounds divine, I could share it with you, of course we would take photos of it first. 😀 Thank you, I hope so too.

      August 2, 2014
  34. Wow! Outstanding!

    August 2, 2014
  35. You’re such a talented photographer, Leanne! The cakes look very appetizing indeed but my favourite photo is the one with the hands. You’ve captured the lighting perfectly!

    August 3, 2014
    • Thank you Alex, I agree, the one with the hand is mine as well.

      August 3, 2014
  36. Your food photographs are delicious – I’m going to go and have my breakfast now…

    August 3, 2014
    • Thanks Richard, it is so easy when it is all set up for you.

      August 3, 2014
  37. Yummy!! oohh now I’m hungry, Leanne! 😛 Wonderful pictures 🙂

    August 5, 2014
    • Thank you, I hope I didn’t make you too hungry. 😉

      August 5, 2014
  38. Okay, super random question. What’s your favorite kind of cupcake? My sister wants me to make some but I can’t think of any…

    August 5, 2014
    • Very random question, though not sure how well I can answer it first thing in the morning, but my first thought is red velvet cupcakes, with nice icing.

      August 5, 2014
      • *ding *ding *ding You are the winner! 🙂 I had just chosen to make those!

        August 5, 2014
      • Haha, what do I win?? 😀 Some cupcakes.

        August 5, 2014
      • Nah, you get brownies! 😀

        August 7, 2014
      • Now that doesn’t seem fair, 😦 LOL

        August 7, 2014
      • Haha why?! Brownies are delicious 😀

        August 7, 2014
  39. Gah. Never do that again, Leanne. I could hop on a plane right now. I smell sugar. 😉

    August 5, 2014
  40. Gorgeous photos! I really enjoy the way you photograph these foods. Stunning and a great advertisement. I want some 🙂
    Good luck with all you’re doing Leanne!!

    August 5, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, though it was all set up for me, so I really didn’t have to do much, LOL.
      Thanks Robyn. 🙂

      August 6, 2014
      • A good eye and a good hand Leanne 😉

        August 6, 2014
      • Thank you Robyn. 😀

        August 6, 2014

Comments are closed.

