Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Royal Exhibition Building

royal-exhibition-building-museum-7

Last weekend we had a Social Snappers Excursion and it was to the museum, though more importantly, to the Royal Exhibition Building.  There was no exhibition on in the building, so it would be possible to do a tour of the inside of the building as well.  The Royal Exhibition Building is a very historic building in Melbourne,  and is one of only two buildings in Australia that have World Heritage Listing.  Surprisingly it was given that listing before the Sydney Opera House.royal-exhibition-building-museum-7

The above is quite an iconic image of the building.  There are four points to the building, so from a central dome, it reaches out to the north, south, east and west.  The north and south wings are shorter, and the other two much longer.  In the above image you are seeing the south wing entry doors.  There are doors at each end.  This is possibly the nicest entrance with the fountain, but for the management of the building, these are like the back doors, so when an exhibition is on or has just finished, all the trucks and rubbish and everything like that is here as well.  So disappointing that they choose this side to do that. Makes it very ugly, but beautiful too.

royal-exhibition-building-museum-10

This is a view from the other side, and the doors there are for the north wing.  This is the side that faces the museum, and for those that saw my monochrome madness image the other day, this is what was reflected into the glass.

royal-exhibition-building-museum-27

I planned the trip so the building would be empty.  It was still being cleaned from an event the previous day, but I really wanted to see the building’s bare bones, so to speak.  It is so easy for things to get hidden when there are exhibitions on.

royal-exhibition-building-museum-30

The tour was great in giving you the history of the building and why it is significant. I learned a lot with it.

royal-exhibition-building-museum-33

The tour is good for that, but not great if your purpose for the doing the tour is to get lots of photos.  I found we only stayed in a small part of the building.  So I had to take photos of what I could.  I’m not too disappointed, if that is all you can get, then you have to do what you can.  It would be nice if they did tours so people could get good photos of it.  Maybe I will suggest it to them.

The building is historical because during the 1800’s there were many many exhibition buildings built, the most famous being the Chrystal Palace in London, but today not many of them of survive, and apparently this building is the only one in the world that is still being used as an exhibition building.  There are big exhibitions on there all the time.

I am going to leave you with a gallery now. If you are interested in doing a tour of the building, then contact the Museum of Victoria.  I hope your weekend has been good.  The weather is finally turning good here.  It is less than 0 degrees here now, apparently that is 32 in Fahrenheit, it is cold, well really cold for here, but it also means good weather today, yay, no rain.

76 Comments
  1. Beautiful craftsmanship!

    August 3, 2014
    • Great way of putting it John, I love how old buildings were done.

      August 3, 2014
  2. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    August 3, 2014
  3. This building really is amazing in real life and it was wonderful to see what’s hiding inside. I’ve only ever seen it from the Museum side, which was incredibly grand. On Thursday, before the storm hit; I took my niece to the Arts Centre and The National Gallery of Victoria. These too, are incredible looking buildings, both inside and out. Melbourne has such a fine blend of old and new architecture, which is an attraction in itself. We loved the experience and we will be sure to put the Royal Exhibition Building on our next tour!

    August 3, 2014
    • That is what I wanted to see too, the inside with nothing in there. Those buildings you went to with your niece are amazing. I would love to do a tour of the State Theatre, but never quite got around to it, I must put it on the list. I agree, architecturally Melbourne is stunning. Have you done the tour through the Melbourne Town Hall, that is a pretty amazing one too, no expense spared there.
      Thank you.

      August 3, 2014
      • Sorry it’s taken so long to reply. I haven’t done the Town Hall and I’m leaving a couple of months, so I’ll be sure to check it out before I go. So much to do…..so little time! lol

        August 30, 2014
      • Oh yes, do, it is an amazing building and the tours are free, if I remember correctly.

        August 30, 2014
      • Thanks so much for that. I’ll definitely look it up and check for tour times.

        August 31, 2014
      • I think they run 11am each week day, they don’t run tours on the weekend, I could be run, it has been a while since I did the tour.

        August 31, 2014
      • Perfect; I’m not an early morning person! Thank you.

        August 31, 2014
      • My pleasure.

        August 31, 2014
  4. Wow absolutely gorgeous building! Awesome pics

    August 3, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, it is a pretty special building.

      August 3, 2014
  5. Great photos. of a fine structure . What amazes me is that in my visits to Melbourne I never investigated the interior. I agree with your comment on doing good photography on a guided tour. Even worse is a “photo tour ” where you are told what to shoot ! You dod very well. Des.

    August 3, 2014
    • Thank you Des, well worth a trip inside, even if just for the history of the building. I have never been on a photo tour, so didn’t know they did that sort of thing, I don’t think I would like to do one of those, so thank you for the heads up.

      August 3, 2014
  6. gorgeous building and gorgeous photos. A bit like our Parliament building here!

    August 3, 2014
    • Funny you should mention Parliament Cybele, our very first ever parliament was actually held inside that building in 1901 when Australia because a federation. Thank you.

      August 3, 2014
  7. Stunning architecture.

    August 3, 2014
    • Thank Colline, it is quite amazing.

      August 3, 2014
  8. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    That dome is awesome! It’s like geometric shapes gone wild! 🙂

    August 3, 2014
    • I know what you mean Jackie, it just doesn’t seem right. Thank you. 🙂

      August 3, 2014
  9. Only about 1C here in Alice this morning, too, Leanne. Brrr. Loved seeing the inside of the Royal Exhibition Building. We have walked passed it and I’ve even photographed the outside when we’ve visited Melbourne, but we’ve never had occasion to see inside it. Beautiful building. Thank you.

    August 3, 2014
    • Very cold, I wimped out and stayed inside, haha. I was actually surprised how often they do tours, nearly every day unless something is on, so the next time you are here Ardy, you should check it out, it is so nice inside. Thank you.

      August 3, 2014
  10. Excellent photos especially of the inside. A very valuable documentation of a beautiful workmanship and building. Thank you for sharing and being early there Leanne.

    August 3, 2014
    • Thank you Erwin, it is such a gorgeous building on the inside.

      August 3, 2014
  11. Thanks so much for your replies, Leanne! Hope you and the family have a great week ahead! Take care! 🙂

    August 3, 2014
  12. What a stunning building and nice you got to take pictures when the building was empty. Beautiful images. Thanks for sharing them and a bit of the history.

    August 3, 2014
    • It is Laura, I loved it, of course I’ve been in there many times when there was nothing on, but it was so nice to get some photos of it empty, I love hearing the history of places. Thanks

      August 3, 2014
  13. I love the cathedral like proportions of this grand old building!

    August 3, 2014
    • Though apparently the acoustics are shocking, so no choir singing. Thanks Robert.

      August 3, 2014
  14. Gorgeous photography of beautiful buildings!

    August 3, 2014
    • Thank you Em, it is such a gorgeous building.

      August 3, 2014
  15. Some wonderful shots of the inside of the buildings………

    August 3, 2014
    • Thank you, it is a pretty amazing building.

      August 3, 2014
  16. It’s an incredibly beautiful looking building, and I would never have expected to see something like this in Australia…..wonderful that it survived.
    And your photos are beautiful, I especially love the shots outside with the fountain and the water….such gorgeous light and great framing 🙂

    August 3, 2014
    • We actually have quite a few buildings here like this, they are the result of the gold rush, there was lots of money here back then. Thank you Seonaid. 🙂

      August 3, 2014
  17. Stunning…I have always wanted to go to Australia, although I’ve been told much like Phoenix, Arizona USA & our Sonoran Desert.

    August 3, 2014
    • Parts of it are possibly, but it isn’t as rocky I believe, there are aspects of Australia that people are completely surprised about, so I hope what people have said to you won’t stop you from coming. Thanks

      August 4, 2014
      • I don’t think other people’s opinions will count too high…I’ve just always been fascinated by all that you have there! Thanks for writing back! Have a great rest of your week!

        August 7, 2014
      • That’s good to hear, there are aspects of the country that are very unique, especially the flora and fauna. You’re welcome, if want any information let me know.

        August 7, 2014
      • Very cool…I must tell you * Your photography rocks… I love the variety all the different angles you shoot from affords us not being there to see it and you move over such beautiful varying angles that are uniquely yours and yours alone,!

        I appreciate you! And thank you for your willingness to send me literature! How nice is that? I’ll let you know when I’m better able to travel! Have a wonderful Friday and do NOT forget your camera!

        August 8, 2014
      • What a lovely comment to get, thank you so much. I like getting comments like this, helps me to keep going.
        I won’t forget the camera. Thank you

        August 9, 2014
  18. Great building! Love your shots with the fountain in the foreground 🙂

    August 4, 2014
    • Thank you Sarah, it is almost a must to get that, I would like to try it again sometime. 🙂

      August 4, 2014
      • I wonder what time they turn the water on and off? Pre-sunrise long exposure? Made me think that I really ought to be visiting a few more of our amazing buildings around London!

        August 4, 2014
      • I don’t know Sarah, I suppose I should find out. The water was off when I first got there the other day, but then it was turned on. I think if I went early evening I would find it on. That sounds great, I love old buildings and seeing inside them.

        August 4, 2014
      • I think we often get a bit complacent about our historic buildings here in the UK! I’d also prefer photographing them with no one else around which is a bit tricky unless you work for a magazine or the National Trust 😉

        August 4, 2014
      • I think we do too, I think the tourist probably photograph them more than we do. Early morning is always the best time for that, and with the light you are having at the moment Sarah, very early. 😀

        August 4, 2014
      • Way toooooo early for me at the moment 😉

        August 5, 2014
      • I have heard that, we don’t have that trouble in Australia, even in the height of summer it is dark until past 5am. 🙂

        August 5, 2014
      • Really? The cats are great at getting up onto the windowsill around 5am, slightly opening the curtains and waking us up by throwing light across the bedroom! No, I don’t do mornings 😦

        August 5, 2014
      • We have decent hours here, thankfully, in summer it is dark by 9pm, though that is because of daylight savings, and it is light by 5.30 in the morning. I’ve never experienced it getting dark so late and then getting light so early. I love mornings, my cat starts sitting on my head about 6am.

        August 5, 2014
      • Yeah, our cats start having a full on battle on the bed around that time! Or attacking my feet, or getting in Simon’s face, or Luna falls off the windowsill! Have you watched the “Simon’s Cat” YouTube videos?

        August 5, 2014
      • Haha, we have just one, and he is bad enough. I looked at that video, could so relate to it, very funny.

        August 5, 2014
      • There’s loads of them and they’re pure genius 🙂

        August 5, 2014
      • I will have to look for them, we just found one, but didn’t look for anymore. My daughter loves that stuff, so will tell her too. 🙂

        August 5, 2014
      • If we ever need a laugh we just head for the Simon’s Cat website 😉 Even the cats love it!

        August 6, 2014
      • I will have to remember that Sarah.

        August 6, 2014
      • 🙂

        August 6, 2014
  19. Thanks for sharing this beautiful historic building. I love photos of great architecture.

    August 4, 2014
    • That’s wonderful to hear John, thank you.

      August 4, 2014
  20. Thanks for sharing these wonderful photos, Leanne. I like the way the breeze is throwing the fountain spray to one side. You have captured the stunning interior from every angle. Perhaps it is just as well you were confined to a small area; my senses are reeling!

    August 4, 2014
    • The breeze was quite interesting, and I like what you said about the water. Thanks you Christine, I think you could be right about that.

      August 4, 2014
  21. Stunning interior – what do they normally show there?

    August 5, 2014
    • They have lots of things, the biggest one for the year is the annual Garden show, and it takes over in the gardens as well. Coming up is the Art Fair, where lots of galleries around Australia show off their artists, which I usually go to. So lots of different things. Great place to have them.

      August 5, 2014
  22. wow you took some great pictures

    August 5, 2014
  23. What a beautiful place! I didn’t know about this. I can see why it has world heritage status.
    Your photos really capture the authenticity and olde world-ness. Beautiful work Leanne!

    August 5, 2014
    • Thanks Robyn, it is next to the Museum, they have some fantastic exhibitions there.

      August 6, 2014
      • I must put this on my to do Melbourne list 🙂

        August 6, 2014
      • I hope I am on that list too. 😉

        August 6, 2014
      • Of course! 😉

        August 6, 2014

Comments are closed.

