Skip to content

Quiet Thursday – Story Prompt

still-life-tea-breakfast-paper

Today I have another photo as a prompt for you, well for those of you that want to write that is.  I went for something different and I hope it makes sense.

still-life-tea-breakfast-paper

I tried to set up something to photograph.  I used to do this sort of thing all the time, but I’m not sure I am very good at it, but I don’t mind this.

So the prompt, this is different to what I usually do, in that this time, I have instructions.

This photo is the end of the story, and you have to write what lead to this.

As usual leave links to your stories and poems in the comments section for other people to enjoy.  If you missed the last one and didn’t get to read what others wrote, here is the link to that post, Quiet Thursday – Up in the Air.

73 Comments
  1. Super excellent composition, Leanne! Thank you! 🙂

    August 7, 2014
    • Thank you Fabio, that’s great. 🙂

      August 7, 2014
  2. Ornella Roman Millor Photography #

    Love this

    August 7, 2014
  3. Reblogged this on Crash Course.

    August 7, 2014
  4. I’m in! Thank you.

    August 7, 2014
    • Sounds great, looking forward to it.

      August 7, 2014
  5. Nice!!

    August 7, 2014
  6. My mind is going at a million miles an hour already. A potent photograph!

    August 7, 2014
    • I like that sound of that, can’t wait to see what you do.

      August 7, 2014
      • oops, Thursday is here again, and I did nothing. Next time.

        August 14, 2014
      • Oh yes, but that is okay, I’m sure there will be others.

        August 15, 2014
  7. That looks like a yummy piece of bread-muffin. If you see this scene in my house in the morning…I probably hit snooze three times on my alarm and then rushed to get ready for work, and only managed to eat part of my breakfast and am looking for a bag to bring the rest of it with me to work.

    Hope your week has been well, Leanne. The dreary weather has returned.

    August 7, 2014
    • It was a crumpet and I had to leave it for the photo Mabel. I hate rushing, takes me ages to get over it, I like to take my time when getting ready.

      Thanks, yes more dreary weather I hope it doesn’t hang around.

      August 7, 2014
      • Now that you mention it, it’s a crumpet. I like taking my time to do everything actually, which is probably why I’m a slow person in general.

        I hope you managed to go out earlier in the week when it was sunny. I managed to go to Werribee Mansion, woweee.

        August 7, 2014
      • Yes, it is, with jam, I like them a lot right now. Yeah, taking your time is good.

        I did, I went to Eildon for the day, it was a gorgeous day. That is a great place, where you went, I like it there.

        August 7, 2014
  8. Great still life – not just pleasing but telling a story as well. we do not see enough of this genre do we!

    August 7, 2014
    • I think you are right Diana, we don’t. I was hoping it would tell a story. Thank you.

      August 7, 2014
  9. Ahhh, nothing better than a cup of coffee, a snack and quiet time to read the paper before anyone else is up!! Love the composition! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    August 7, 2014
    • I love doing that too Lisa, I love the peace and quiet of morning. Thanks

      August 8, 2014
  10. I like the mood.
    “It’s like coming home in the early evening. The light from the low standing sun has a problem finding its way in the old kittchen, because of a wild garden outside the small window. When I opend the door I found an empty used coppy cup on teh old baroque kittchen table. The chair doesn’t stand on its place, moved under the table as usual. Also, I found a plate with a half-eaten piece of breat remaining from the breakfast on the table, too. The whipped newspaper and the glasses on it completing the sceen of a very hasty departure. Was there something important or alarming in the newspaper leading to this? No-one’s home. So, what’s happend?”
    This could be an opening for a novel. Well done, Leanne.

    August 7, 2014
    • Thank you, it could be, or the middle or the end. I might try and do more like this. I like the writing.

      August 8, 2014
  11. Lovely still-life Leanne!

    August 7, 2014
  12. So tempted by this photo… But I MUST switch off this damn machine and go outside, into the sunshine and take some photos.

    August 7, 2014
    • Sunshine what is that, oh yes, we had a couple of days of it earlier this week, haven’t seen any for days. Glad you tempted, thanks, enjoy the sun.

      August 8, 2014
      • Well… I’m not gloating. In a couple of months we shall be plunged into greyness as your days start to lighten.

        August 9, 2014
      • Yes, and while it is grey there for you it will be hot and horrible here, perhaps the next few months we can both have nice weather.

        August 9, 2014
      • 🙂

        August 10, 2014
  13. I had so much fun with this story, thank you for posting such a lovely photo. You always do this to me, I am a slave to your work.
    http://snowsfissuresandfractures.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/quiet-thursday/

    August 7, 2014
    • That was fantastic, thank you.

      August 8, 2014
  14. Nice still life image. It looks like the morning, sort of the old times, but it’s dark so it could be a late snack

    August 7, 2014
    • Or it could have been there all day and now the night is coming in. Thanks Luis.

      August 8, 2014
  15. I’m not writing stories at the moment but I’m thinking about it, having seen this. 🙂

    August 7, 2014
    • You know where it is if you decide to, thanks.

      August 8, 2014
  16. Beautiful! I really like how you did this.

    August 8, 2014
    • Thank you Nia, it didn’t quite get the way I wanted, but I think it was a good start.

      August 8, 2014
  17. And my brain went into overdrive. May I use your photo, with proper credit, when I write up my blogpost?

    August 8, 2014
    • Oh yes, of course you can, I should have put that in the post that you could do that, sorry.

      August 8, 2014
  18. amy #

    Gorgeous! Reminds me of my grandpa for some reason… Thanks for sharing your work, Leanne 🙂

    August 8, 2014
    • That sounds lovely, I think things when they do that. Thank you.

      August 8, 2014
  19. What a lovely idea, Leanne, and a rich composition.

    August 8, 2014
  20. I’m not much of a writer but figured I’d give it a try as this photo intrigued me and I quickly thought of something that may be decent.
    http://jtaveryphotography.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/quiet-thursday-story-prompt/

    August 8, 2014
    • If you aren’t much of a writer, I think you need to rethink, I liked that and it left me wanting to know more. Thank you.

      August 8, 2014
      • Thanks Leanne! That’s what my goal was, to get the reader’s attention and to leave something that makes them want to know the unknown. 🙂

        August 8, 2014
      • You certainly got mine. 😀

        August 9, 2014
  21. Pat #

    Beautiful still life.

    August 8, 2014
  22. And here’s my very short story. Hope you enjoy. http://dragonflysdance.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/quiet-thursday-story-prompt/

    August 8, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, that was lovely.

      August 8, 2014
  23. Loved the photo and here my story … not one of my happy ones though. http://bastetandsekhmet.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/the-half-eaten-brioche-august-8-2014/

    August 8, 2014
    • Thank you Georgia, I don’t think many of the stories have been happy ones, which is really interesting. Will have to start thinking for the next one.

      August 9, 2014
      • I hope to see it come up … love your photos and prompts.

        August 9, 2014
      • Thank you Georgia, that’s great to hear.

        August 9, 2014
  24. I really love this photo, which fires the imagination. If I have some time this weekend, I would love to take up your challenge, Leanne.

    August 8, 2014
    • Thank you bluebee, I hope you get a chance then. don’t forget to let me know.

      August 9, 2014
  25. Here’s a story from Community Music Victoria. https://cmvicblog.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/singing_glow/

    August 8, 2014
    • Thank you for that, it was great.

      August 9, 2014
  26. Beth Johnson #

    I am sorry to be such a novice, but I need direction on how to use the picture to write the composition. May be use it on our own blog?

    August 9, 2014
  27. Here’s my story. Mrs. Jones’ New Eye. Thanks for the prompt.

    http://creativefreeflow.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/mrs-jones-new-eye/

    August 9, 2014
  28. Really like the set-up, Leanne – and the shot’s just the right light and atmosphere to provoke the imagination.

    August 10, 2014
    • Thank you Richard, that is great, I was hoping for that.

      August 10, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Quiet Thursday | Snow's Fissures and Fractures
  2. Leanne Cole’s Still Life Breakfast Tea | "There was a time" -the runes of the gatekeeper's daughter and other tales
  3. The Half Eaten Brioche – August 8, 2014 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library
  4. Singing Glow | Community Music Victoria

Comments are closed.

