Skip to content

Up for Discussion – You’re Just a Blogger

Recently I was having a discussion with someone and I was told that I was “just a blogger”, with the implication being that I was no one important.  There was the implication that just because I write a blog that I was nothing else, and therefore there was no need to take me seriously.

Those words have haunted me, made me angry, and made me wonder, just what it is to be a blogger? Even my children tease me about it.  So where do these negative connotations for being a blogger come from?

I think it is interesting that people feel this way about them, considering, I just tried to find out, that WordPress alone has over 60 million blogs, that doesn’t count all the other blogging platforms that are out there.  So with millions and millions of blog, why does it have a bad reputation?

LeanneCole-royalgardens-20130911-0599I can’t answer that question, I don’t understand it.  There are some really excellent blogs out there, and I hope mine is considered one of them. I looked at magazines for my inspiration for my blog.  I thought about what they were doing and could I do something similar, but something more on what I was trying to do.  I thought if the magazines could make interesting reading, then why couldn’t a blog do that as well.  It has grown just a bit and through doing this I’ve learned so much and I have experimented so much more. I’ve also taken so many more images with the constant need to find new ones here.  This blog has been so good for me, and because of i,t and you, pushes me to keep trying more.

LeanneCole-royalgardens-20130911-0625So back to the implications of just being a blogger.  Many years someone asked me what I did, and I said “I’m just a clerk”, they said, “you aren’t just anything, you are more than that”.  That has always stuck in my head and I never thought of the word “just” the same way ever again.  So when this other person said to me, you’re just a blogger, well, it has really stuck with me.  I don’t think I’m just a blogger, I think I am a lot more than that, I am a photographer, I am an artist, I am a mother, I’m not just one thing.

So, again, I ask that question, where do these negative attitudes towards blogs and blogging come from?

With the internet so big these days, it seems more and more people are blogging. It is becoming the way that we all communicate, the way we share information, the way we show what we have achieved.  Of course, there are going to be good blogs, and bad blogs, ones you get lots of information from, ones that say nothing.  They are all individual and the author determines what they will be like.  Just like LeanneCole-royalgardens-20130911-0570magazines, some are good, some not, some you like, some you don’t.

For me blogs are better than magazines, they don’t have a pitch they are trying to sell to you. They are less wordy, and in an age when time is important, that is really important.  They are more up to date, in that what they person is writing about happened now, or in the last few days.  Magazines can be months behind. You can give out information straight away on things.

LeanneCole-royalgardens-20130911-0622I just think blogs are fantastic, and mine has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life, and to be called just a blogger, was so insulting.  I do hope it never happens again.

What are you experiences when you tell people you write a blog? Has writing or maintaining a blog been a rewarding experience for you? How would you feel if someone put you into that category of just being a blogger?

Some business now.

I have started an archive section for the Weekend Wanderings and the Up for Discussion posts, you can see them in the bar across the top of the blog.  I still need to add some more links to the Up for Discussion posts, but they will all be there soon.

Guest Posting.

LeanneCole-royalgardens-20130911-0586Do you have something you would like to discuss or share here on the Up for Discussion posts? I am open to hearing what people would like to write, as long as it is understood that I reserve the write to edit, or not publish work that I think will not fit in with what this blog is about it.  Would love to hear how you go about doing things, or if you want to know, or are having trouble learning something.  There are so many things we could discuss here, so if you are interested in guest posting, then please send me an email, leanne@leannecole.com.au

All the photos in the post today were taken at the Royal Botanical Gardens last year, somewhere I am hoping to go again soon.

332 Comments
  1. I was wondering about that phrase “You’re just a blogger” for a few days now since I read your post on the phone – this not so well meaning person obviously wanted to insult, but even after all this contemplation I honestly don’t see what is insulting about being a blogger, on the contrary… This whole crazy, hectic world uses Facebook, Instagram, Twitter etc. (kids included), but now all of a sudden we’re a bit worse than them if we “just” blog, or blog as well as use these other services or do other things in life as well.

    It’s not easy to blog, and I’m sure that everybody who has ever tried it can say the same. It’s much easier to just hang a photo on Instagram usually even without comments, or to write a short phrase on Twitter – writing a blog is way much more complex than that. Good blogger is a journalist to say the least, a writer of short stories, an editor of the content that usually has to be accompanied with pictures (your own or from other sources) and visually organized, it requires public relation capabilities as you need to communicate with your visitors and readers – in short, it requires lots of time, energy, desire and many different skills. Now it’s something totally different that we’re living in almost purely material world where things you spend time and effort on “must” be done for financial retribution, otherwise we’re considered fools if we do something for nothing. I think that was probably the part of that insult, sort of like – you’re just a blogger, like that’s not even a job, let alone some fancy, important job that brings tons of money and make everybody around you envious of what you’ve accomplished. I think that people from the East would have much better things to say on what really matters in our existence, but I must at least repeat the famous phrase – money, glory, material possessions are not everything in life. They can make things easier, sometimes you can even buy health with money, but even that is not always the case. I have Panic Disorder and I’ve been battling with it for the most of my life – even if I were the most famous or the richest person on Earth, that wouldn’t help me an inch, there is no definite help or cure for my problems other than some alleviation of hardships that from my long experience in the end mostly comes from an individual’s inner strength. Panic Disorder robbed me of almost everything normal human life consists of, even though I had and still have to some extent multiple interests and talents. I have no desire to boast, but I used to be at the top of my classes in all subjects and I could have gone down the path of a really shiny career, but it was not meant to be. If I had better nerves and lived in a different country, I could have probably done just about anything and be successful at it, but life had different plans. Seven years ago I got so unwell that I remained frozen in time, confined to a tiny space, very depressed and afraid even of my very shadow. I used to love taking photos, drawing, writing, pursuing just about anything artistic. I love computers and I speak 7 languages, but I was reduced to being more useless than any immobile object out there. I stopped doing almost everything, I spent time mostly in my head and with my thoughts. Slowly I started writing them down and verbalizing them, because I noticed that from time to time I had something interesting to say. I collected meaningful phrases from things I read in papers and magazines as well as my opinions on them. That was all fine, but it was just between me and the paper. I also realized that I have some photos from before that could stay hidden forever on my computer or in my albums. I wanted just at least one person to see that, to help me squeeze some meaning back into the person I become. I’m agoraphobic and I don’t move much, but I wanted somehow to reach out to the world. That’s how blogging came into focus this year. It seemed so nice and cool even though I didn’t know almost anything about it. I decided to do it in English so that I can share it with more people and I let it go down its own path on many different subjects, determined to learn more as time goes by. “Just blogging” earned me friendships, support in hard times of this year’s natural disaster in Serbia, it helped me earn some respect for myself when people appreciated what I do… but most importantly, it helped me take out my camera again after many years and remind me why I loved photography so much. I’m just an amateur, but what matters is how I feel about it and that what I do brings me joy. I smile every time when I see that somebody liked a picture I posted and it gives me motivation to go on. This in turn has a healing effect on people like me. Also, I found amazing blogs, I saw so many gorgeous photos and yours are definitely superb – each time you like some of my photos that is a true honor for me. I saw some fabulous ways how people cope with life challenges and I learnt some great things, my life has become richer at least tenfold. I got motivation, inspiration and so many good vibes from all over the world. I’m doing better today thanks to the decision to come here. I do many different things every day now that I stopped doing, so this means that I’m not just a blogger. And all this came from “just blogging”. I just regret that I didn’t start this “just blogging” a bit earlier. All the best, and do what you believe is right, don’t let what malicious people have to say bother you!! Tanja

    August 13, 2014
    • I think what the person was trying to show was that they were so important, and who was I anyway, just a blogger, like it meant nothing.

      What an incredible journey. I think you are so right, we are so much more and why we blog, well we do because we love it first and foremost. You couldn’t do this if you didn’t love it. Do you talk about what you have been through on your blog? I am sure you could help so many others like yourself, sometimes it take a very brave person to come out and talk about this illnesses like this.
      I am so glad to hear that blogging has been a great and rewarding experience for you, that is wonderful. Good on you, that is what I say, and thank you for contributing to the discussion.

      August 13, 2014
      • Yes I get that, like we’re just small insignificant bloggers, what we know… 🙂 Such people have no idea how very wrong that can be, and anyway, many very (“)important(“) people blog as well… 🙂

        There definitely must be a passion for what we do, inclination to this kind of expression… I think that how much we love this can be seen from the fact that we would gladly blog on our favorite subjects as a full time job, which would make us very satisfied because we would do the job we love.

        Yes, I wrote about my life and my issues on my blog, maybe not systematically, it was more on a random basis in the sense that I described what was happening in my life this year and how I was handling it from the perspective of a PD sufferer. I’m almost 38 and I had my first panic attack when I was 18, so if anybody has experience with living with this illness, I surely have it. I tried almost everything under the sun to get better and I have definitely many things to say about it, it’s just somehow that at first I didn’t feel that this should be the main theme of the blog. Sort of you know – I want you all to see that I’m not just a PD sufferer, I’m much more, kinda like – we’re not just bloggers, we’re many more things beside it. 🙂 Maybe I could add a category dedicated just to coping with my issues, I would be very glad if I could help people out there to have more hope and add more quality to their days. It’s been a long journey, standing out and “admitting” to anybody that I have a PD would have been impossible in the past, but as time goes by it gets easier and easier. There is still a lot of stigma about any sort of mental issues and it’s not easy for people to open up; also, it’s one thing to talk about it, and something entirely different to put a face to it, drop this (Venetian) mask my gravatar represents and not suffer any consequences because of that decision. But hey who knows, maybe this will happen as well some day. 🙂

        Thank you very much for your kind words, I hope we’ll blog for a long time and get so many rewarding things from this experience! Thank you also for all the likes and for the follow, it makes me happy and all the effort seems much more meaningful!

        All the best with everything you do! Tanja

        August 14, 2014
      • It is interesting dealing with companies and how many of them can see the potential for blogs and how they could replace magazines and such. Not sure if that is true, but they shouldn’t be disregarded. People with blogs do have voices and they can express opinions, and opinions that businesses might not like.

        I agree, about the passion, and being able to see it.

        that is great that you want to help other people and I am sure the more honest you are the more people will like what you have to say.

        You are very welcome Tanja, and it is good how this wonderful world of blogging brings so many people together.

        August 14, 2014
  2. Holy cow ! This post really did strike a nerve with all of us wonderful bloggers out there. In America, at museums, etc. the staff are always very accommodating with me when they hear that I’m a blogger vs. being a pro photographer that wants to sell images.

    I agree, blogs are far more relevant and more expressive of each person. Hope you gave that person who told you that a ‘what for.’

    BTW, I owe you an email about your invite.

    August 13, 2014
    • It really did Emily, had no idea that it would create so much discussion, good though, though it has meant that I’ve done for the last day is respond to comments, haha. I wish it was like that here. I find in Australia there is little tolerance for blogs, it is like they know about them, but not quite sure where they fit.

      I should have, but I was trying to get some money, so I just let it go.LOL, Had my vent here.
      Yeah, that would be good, though there is no hurry.

      August 13, 2014
  3. LB #

    WOW! 260+ comments! As Emily said, you really did strike a nerve.
    I often think that when people make crappy comments like that, it is because of a certain amount of envy.
    Bloggers put themselves out there; they research, labor, creat, invite, explore, and evolve.
    Some people just aren’t able to rise to that level.
    By the way, I almost hesitated to comment. What’s one more comment in over 260?
    Then I thought how much I enjoy your photography, your openness, your talent … and I had to let you know that you are awesome and I am glad you are here and blogging!

    August 13, 2014
    • It has been quite a discussion LB.
      That is a great way of thinking of it, I like that.
      I agree, it is a very brave thing putting yourself and your work out there.
      Exactly what is one more.
      Thank you so much LB, I’m glad you decided one more would alright. 😀

      August 13, 2014
  4. that person is completely behind the 8 ball I’m afraid Leanne.. I’ve just finished Diploma of Commercial Photo Imaging and one of the things we HAD to do as part of the course, was create a blog. Why? Because in this day and age, with the internet being the most powerful tool we have, we need an online presence. People want to connect with a person. They don’t just want to hire a photographer for their big event, they want to CONNECT and know that person who is to be trusted with capturing their memories. Don’t let the small minded and archaic opinion of one person get to you. As you say, you are much more than just a blogger. You are an extremely talented photographer who writes a blog which educates, informs, entertains and starts discussions. Not everyone can do that..

    August 13, 2014
    • That is fantastic to hear, so it seems blogs are a recognised things for photographers to do. I know about online presence and such, but didn’t know how much blogs figured into that. I like that idea that people want to know you, I like that a lot. Thanks for giving us this information Livonne that is terrific. Thank you so much Livonne, great advice and information here.

      August 13, 2014
  5. nikkiharvey #

    I’ve been thinking about this and I don’t think it’s possible to be just a blogger even if you had nothing else going on in your life because in order to have a successful blog, you must have something to write about and therefore MUST be other things besides a blogger. For example, you are also a photographer and if you weren’t you wouldn’t have this blog about photography. In order for the blog to exist and be successful you must have other things in your life.

    August 13, 2014
    • That is a great point Nikki, so very true, thank you Nikki for pointing that out.

      August 13, 2014
  6. I’m having a guess that the offending comment came from somebody in a ‘professional’ occupation. I might be wrong but thats my feeling. If it came from a photographer who has declared photography as their profession; it opens up a whole new issue. If it didn’t then the following two paragraphs are veering away from the topic substantially 🙂

    When it comes to photography, for me, ‘professional’ is an indicator that a person makes a full time income from it. From personal experience, it is not always a measurement of quality. sometimes it definitely is and sometimes definitely not. (photography is however, as anything artistic, subjective). There seems to be a widely mistaken belief, in my opinion at least, that in photography, the term, “professional’ is indicative of great photography.

    One thing I would say is that of my favourite accomplished photographers, for example, Zoriah Miller and Steve McCurry, James Nachtway, most don’t seem to refer to themselves as ‘professional’ photographers. Actually they have blogs too so we must be doing something right!

    Unlike mine though, your blog is extremely dedicated and you clearly put a lot of time and effort into it.
    I would applaud you for that…long may your blog continue! Keep “just” blogging! 🙂

    August 13, 2014
    • It wasn’t a professional photographer that made the comment Peter, though I do think that what you have said about “professional photographers” is very true. I have seen it myself many times.

      I have to say, I never refer to myself as a professional either, but other people call me that, I am an artist who also happens to be a photographer as well. I must look up your favourites.

      I do put a lot of work into my blog and it is great when it is recognised. Thank you Peter. 🙂

      August 13, 2014
  7. I have only had my blog for about 4 days now and you and your blog inspire me. I would love for my bog to look and be as amazing as yours is. I wouldn’t listen to anyone who says that you’re just a blogger because what you have created is amazing. They’re just jealous that they can’t create a space like this!

    August 13, 2014
    • Welcome to the world of blogging, watch out it’s addictive. Thank you so much for what you said about my blog, I’ve been around for almost 4 years, so taken a while, but I am very proud with what I have done here. I won’t listen, luckily it has only happened once. Thank you and good luck with your blog.

      August 13, 2014
  8. Seriously Leanne? I can’t believe what I just read – good for you in venting here. Blogging is a way to get instant reaction whether it’s for writing, arts, food creations, etc. Not only are connections made around the world, but so are reputations and opportunities. There is a lot behind blogging from social interactions to business connections, sales of product, to new business start-ups (two ladies no less than 3 miles from me started a blog three years their sales are in the millions now and they are on a “new business” group forum for Facebook [hmm, just a blogger?) – so when someone says “oh you’re just a blogger,” shame that they haye have little understanding of what is and can be. Stay true to what you are doing Leanne, you are a fabulous blogger and photographer whose opportunities are limitless!

    August 13, 2014
    • Thank you Mary, I like that aspect of it too, the way it is so much more instant. That is a very good point about reputations and opportunities around the world. All great points Mary, and I think people underestimate the value of blogs too, but I am sure it will change over time, I hope so anyway. That is amazing about those two ladies. I will stay true Mary, how can I not with so many wonderful people like you supporting me. Thank you so much.

      August 14, 2014
  9. If someone implies that being ‘just a blogger’ is being a nobody, a nothing, then they are probably not a blogger themselves, so they are not even as much as being a nobody/nothing.

    August 14, 2014
    • No, this person wasn’t a blogger. Haha, I like that, thank you.

      August 14, 2014
  10. blogging to me is a big part of my life now. I don’t have so many followers, but the ones I have I cherish and the ones I follow, I cherish. It has opened a whole new world of beauty, light, perceptions that I never have had before. It is really to bad the person who has had the dialogue cannot see the beauty in what is actually out there. That they would have to categorize people in boxes….
    And in my perception, there are those blogs that are so rich and rewarding with hours going into each post, and those that are rich and rewarding that not much time is going into. No need to categorize or diminish anyone persons talent or sharing.

    August 14, 2014
    • Very well said Maryam, I think our blogs are our own personal projects and we have to respect that. It was a shame it happened to me, but that says more about the person that said it, than me. thank you so much.

      August 14, 2014
      • Totally agreed. So beautiful your work is I cannot even imagine someone going off and saying that

        August 14, 2014
      • What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much.

        August 14, 2014
  11. Loved your post and the comments are just as good too! I get one of two reactions – wow, you blog? How cool! That is mostly from strangers. From family and friends I get the – how stupid can you be? Who cares!

    I’ve given up trying to explain that a) it’s my creative expression and fun for me; b) if you want to know what’s going on in my life, read it! I’m not using Facebook to tell you; and c) I have friends out there that I enjoy seeing their lives and they enjoy seeing mine. I’ve made friends over time with a number of bloggers and I enjoy what they share. Everyone does the best they can; some are very polished and others are not. But they’re fun and I have pen pals all over the world from this.

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog and following it! Sorry I took so long to get to yours, but I enjoyed looking around it.

    Nancy

    August 14, 2014
    • It is funny that the people who are meant to care about us the most and often the ones so disinterested, which is really sad. Imagine how they would feel if you did the same to something they are doing.

      My blog doesn’t quite work that way, but if you want to see where I’ve been to take photos, then yes, look at my blog. the friendships you make are fantastic, I do love that.
      You’re welcome Nancy, and thank you so much.

      August 15, 2014
  12. I’ve told many people about my blog in person and in a photography group I’m part of and I’ve never been told that before. Some have told me that I need to get out there and try to sell my work and other’s just enjoy looking at it regardless of where they see it. I’d like to see what they’d say about someone who works for a company that part of their job description is to blog on behalf of the company. Blogging has become much more than it once was as it’s a very important part in today’s society. Blogging has helped many companies hit higher on the rankings on search engines which helps business. I’m sure because of your blogging you have acquired some clients and will continue to do so. It just takes some time. Like a lot of others have said, I don’t think a blogger can be “just a blogger” as there’s so much more to it than that. For me blogging only takes of a fraction of my time as there’s so much more that I do outside of this nice blogging community.

    August 14, 2014
  13. I agree with you Leanne, you are so much more than a blogger. The person who said you are just a blogger is not a kind person, but maybe they feel inadequate in some way. You are who you are, and what you do in life. Blogging is just a part of it. I consider myself to be a not-very-good blogger as I don’t write it often enough. However, I enjoy so much looking at your blog for one. I do my travelling through blogs as I am unable at present to travel, I learn from your blog and other photographers too. They give me immense pleasure so that has to be worth a great deal.

    August 15, 2014
    • I agree, they weren’t a nice person Chris and most definitely full of their own self importance. Thank you, that is nice of you to say. I do the same, I know so many places I want to travel one day because of blogs. That is wonderful to hear.

      August 15, 2014
  14. I don’t get to read all your blogs, but I can say do enjoy following them when I can. They have made me want to venture out more with my camera. To create photos that I can be proud of, as I find yours to be quite beautiful. This person must be quite small minded and insensitive. I for one find you to be an inspiration not “just a blogger”!

    August 15, 2014
    • Thank you, and thank you for following when you can, I am glad to have had that influence on you. I don’t know what her problem was, but oh well, her problem really, thank you so much.

      August 15, 2014
  15. Beautiful photos here, Leanne. I have a thought about this subject. You pointed out that there are 60,000,000 WordPress blogs. That fact, in itself, may be precisely why you received the “Just a blogger” comment. As in, you’re blog is only one in a sea of millions. I think the fewer there are of anything, the more value and authority is perceived in it.

    But despite this, it’s good to love what you do no matter what anyone thinks of it. I like to write, so I blog. Am I an “author?” Probably not. I’m (just) a blogger, 1 in millions, without a big audience, without authority, without a huge platform. But that’s okay. I just like writing. I value what I write about, and believe in why I do it. I also take pictures. Am I a “photographer?” Probably not. I’m (just) a guy with a basic SLR and some software. Again, that’s okay because I enjoy it. Most pro photographers and writers would see straight through to my amateurism. But the average person doesn’t. The average person can appreciate some value in what I love to do. Same for your blog and photos. And that’s a significant reward we can all relish.

    August 16, 2014
    • That could be the problem, but there are millions and millions of magazines out there and newspapers and they don’t get the same treatment, though I suspect the problem is what blogs were originally used for.
      That’s true, it is good to do something you love. I suppose in the end it shouldn’t matter what your audience is, it should be about what you do and what you want to do. Thank you so much Lon.

      August 16, 2014
  16. Sanderella's Crochet #

    Oh I am a blogger too….and steer clear of hurtful words from sour grapes! Have a fabulous day, your work is stunning!! A new follow!

    August 16, 2014
    • Thank you, I need to make sure I do that. You have a fabulous day too, thanks, and welcome to my blog.

      August 16, 2014
      • Sanderella's Crochet #

        Your welcome!

        August 17, 2014
      • 😀

        August 17, 2014
      • Sanderella's Crochet #

        Thanks!! 🙂

        August 17, 2014
      • 🙂

        August 17, 2014
      • Sanderella's Crochet #

        Lol!! 🙂

        August 18, 2014
      • Sanderella's Crochet #

        🙂

        August 18, 2014
  17. …hi. First, thanks for coming over so often.

    Three points…

    I’ve been blogging for over a decade now — on WordPress since 2006, but Yahoo GeoCities before that, and straight up email going back to the early 90’s. In all of that time, when I tell people “I blog” they mostly look at me like it’s an STD. Writing, just on its own, is a mystery to a lot of people.

    When you tell them you’re part of an online community of people with shared interests, who might even be an important part of your life and recovery from illness, well… that’s just weird.

    I’m also a reporter, by trade. And I cover(ed) mostly Internet privacy and security issues. One of the first articles I ever wrote was on the ‘Blogging’ phenomenon, back in the late 90’s and early 00’s, as a form of online diary making. Blogging was very much an activity for young people, mostly young girls, who left incredibly private thoughts in an incredibly open forum.

    Then there’s the fact that most of those 60 million blogs are really, really, really poorly cared for. And I’m being polite.

    So… basically, in my opinion, and along with a few other issues, you have:

    1. an entire, huge portion of the Internet devoted entirely to a group of people who do things — write, think, debate, share interests — that people in the ‘real world’ no longer want to take part in…
    2. a forum for those thoughts that was initially developed specifically developed for 12-year old kids, and all the stigma attached to that…
    3. an overload of material to sift through… a problem demonstrated perfectly right here, with more than 300 comments to read in order to keep up with the conversation — on my ‘personal’ blog… which I think you also follow, my posts are always over 1000 words. I’m always amazed that anyone ever takes the time to read them.

    …and I believe I will email you about guest posting.

    August 17, 2014
    • You’re welcome.
      Wow that is a long time to blog, I wonder if I will still be doing it then, I like to think so. I think many people have that same reaction when they tell people.

      It is funny how blogging started with young girls, now days young girls wouldn’t use them at least the ones I know, although they do use Tumblr.

      I can imagine that, what you said about all those blogs, they could be.

      All very good points, and thank you, very interesting. I look forward to receiving your email.

      August 17, 2014
  18. Reblogged this on Pearlz Dreaming and commented:
    I could really relate to this commentary on blogging from Leanne, and asked for her permission to reblog this article.

    August 17, 2014
  19. B #

    People have their opinions, and since there are so many people in the world it’s inevitable that quite a few out there won’t like you or you blog for a thousands of possible reasons. For them you’re just a blogger, but so what, for many others you are not.

    Depending on how you look at it even ‘accomplished’ and famous actors like Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Robin Williams, etc… are really just that: actors; they act. They read a script, memorize and then pretend they are someone they are not. What’s so amazing about that? It all depends on the viewer and what’s important to him/her.

    Even more generalized: we’re all just people on some small planet in the infinitely large universe. We are all insignificant from that perspective, including Bill Gates and similar billion dollar CEO’s our society deem so important.

    Nothing really matters in the end, so just make sure that what you do matters to yourself and the few people you value around you. Forget about everything else. Especially the billions of opinions out on the web every day. Personally, I couldn’t care less.

    August 17, 2014
    • The amazing thing about this person was that they do love my photography, and wanted me to do some for them, but we quibbled over something and to put me down that is what they called me. Like I was a nobody and they were someone very important and that I should be grateful.
      But those people aren’t just actors, you will probably find they are people, they could be fathers, husbands, no one is just one thing, we are made up of lots of things and experiences.
      We may be insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but we are important to ourselves and those around us, and that is what we have to live for. There is absolutely no excuse for mistreating people, being mean, or being sarcastic, people who that are nasty and really need a reality check.
      OMG, it sounds like what you are saying is we should all roll over and let what happens happens, just die, because in the end who cares. Not a great way to live your life. It does matter, it matters to me, I matters a lot to me that people aren’t rude to me or to others. Okay so you don’t care, then why are you here making comments on a top that you obviously don’t care about? It doesn’t make sense, unless you are a troll and trying to stir up trouble, if you are, then you won’t be commenting here again.

      August 18, 2014
      • B #

        Dear Leanne,
        I had no bad nor rude intentions. On the contrary: I like you as a photography blogger.
        I was trying to say that since life is short we shouldn’t care too much about people trying to take us down. You should care, but only about the people that also care, and let the rest of them be. It’s a waste of time trying to please everyone, because it’s impossible.
        Sorry if my post offended you. My English is not always that great. I also figure that this might not be the place for me to get too philosofical 🙂

        August 18, 2014
      • Please excuse me, if I am short here, I have responded to this email, 2 times already and wordpress is playing up.
        I am glad we are able to sort out the problem and I’m not offended, thanks for helping to make me understand and I agree you shouldn’t waste time on people like that, thank you.

        August 18, 2014
  20. I have heard it said that one is not a writer unless one is paid for their writing. Hogwash. One is a writer if one makes a practice of writing. Period. Blogging is one platform of making writing, or any creative work, available to a wider audience. Period. Blogging is not bad or good. It is a tool. Folks who dismiss or demean this publishing tool are simply feeling threatened. The more material being published means the more they must work to compete and make their material stand out. This competition should beget quality work. In that respect, being a blogger should be a vocation of respect, not derision.

    August 18, 2014
    • I agree, totally, it is a vocation, it is also lots of dedication, and those that diminish it usually have no concept of the time it takes to write a blog. Thank you for your thoughts, they’re good.

      August 18, 2014
  21. I love your posts and your pictures. I’m honored when you stop by and “like” my blogs. It can be like writing a book. I write. I’m published. I’m a USA Today bestselling author. And yet, I don’t have a real job. 🙂 Even though I work at it close to 80 hours a week. And yes, I make a living at it. But still, it’s not a REAL job because I work from home and don’t have a REAL boss. I blog daily too. It’s a way to connect with readers when writing is an isolated business. We have to go on blog tours and write a half a book of blogs–40,000 words, oftentimes. And they can’t say the same thing. It’s a lot of work, time spent on something that we’re not sure is benefiting anyone when we can do something else, and we often wonder if anyone reads them.

    I’ve found so many wonderful resources for research because of bloggers. Real treasures are shared by bloggers. They rule.

    August 19, 2014
    • It is so crazy, isn’t it Terry, I mean what is a “real” job. Sometimes I think that people who say things like that are unhappy with what they do and are perhaps jealous that we have gone after our dreams. Blogging is a great way of meeting people, especially with people who have similar interests. It is an amazing amount of work, and I think people don’t understand that.

      I have found the same Terry, and thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I think they rule too.

      August 19, 2014
  22. I would have been angry and felt insulted just like you, Leanne. That person was, to put it bluntly – ignorant. And I echo your own comment on your blog: starting my own blog was one of the smartest things I’ve done photographically speaking. I feel I am fulfilling two goals: firstly I am fulfilling my own wish to write and publish, and secondly I am putting my images out there and in consequence interacting with a huge bunch of like-minded people. I gain inspiration in consequence. Here’s a great quote from Alain Briot: ‘Creativity is an input-output, import-export business. You have to be in contact with other artists … in order to foster creativity’. That is so true. My blog is my on-line column in a world-wide magazine where I am the editor. I choose what to write, what to post. It’s an opening into an inspiring world. And I get to meet people like you!

    August 19, 2014
    • Good word for it, ignorant, I like that. Blogging is a very rewarding things to do.That is a great quote, I really like that. I like how you describe your blog, I feel something very similar with mine. I get to meet great people too, like you, it is fantastic. Thank you.

      August 19, 2014
  23. robert87004 #

    From one “just a human” to another, I think you have an excellent blog and it is obvious you put a lot of effort into it. Some people will always dismiss anything that is not obviously profitable as not important, as amateurish. Awesome looking tulips in that one photo too!

    August 21, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, I think you could be right there really was no need for it, and I suspect it showed the persons ignorance.

      August 21, 2014
  24. Hi Leanne, I always appreciate you leaving a “Like” on my posts 🙂 I thought to add: I believe there is no one reality out there in the world. Each person has their own reality based on the story of their mind/ conditionin/ upbringing etc. Once I got my head around this fact I realised there was no way known that I could possibly please everyone all of the time! What matters most is what YOUR heart feels about what you do … others can take it or leave it. The popularity of your blog is a good indicator that you are making many people happy with your posts. The rest…. are missing out on something awesome 🙂 Have a beautiful day Leanne!

    August 24, 2014
    • You are very welcome Gael, and thank you as well, I really what you have said and it makes so much sense and it is something I really need to start doing a lot more. Thank you also for what you said about my blog. 😀

      August 24, 2014
  25. Well, as a blogger myself, I can say that I’ve gotten a lot out of writing one and that’s it’s pushed me to be a better photographer, artist and writer. I appreciate other bloggers who take time to “like” and comment on my posts (like you!) and it’s just plain fun to find others out there who are so interesting! Keep up the great work and don’t let others bring you down… 🙂

    August 25, 2014
    • I have to say the same, in some respects, I have taken so many more photos that I would have otherwise. If I didn’t have a this blog I wouldn’t have taken nearly as many images as I have, or gone to half the places. It can be a great thing to drive you. Thank you, and I will do my best to not let people like that effect me. 😀

      August 25, 2014
  26. Trish #

    I’m not much of a blogger, but I’ve learnt two things from writing the little bits I have. Firstly, that some people see blogs as an inferior form of writing, like a place to practise it, as if it’s a personal diary not meant to be read seriously. (When I told an academic that I’d written favourably about his book on my blog and offered to give him its address, he declined, saying “I don’t tend to read people’s blogs.” But then, he also believes that all commendable writing was written before 1920.) Secondly, no matter how negative I feel about my own blog, I’ve learnt to be careful what I write because there are indeed serious writers and readers and even publishers out there who find my blog by searching for a random author or subject on a browser. So, I see I’m not ‘just’ blogging, I’m advertising my skills. Thanks for writing about this, Leanne.

    August 31, 2014
    • Oh I think you are right there Trish, some people do see them as inferior, and that guys sounds like he is too up himself, so who cares, try writing something bad about him and then see how he feels about it. Oh yes, you never know who is reading it or seeing it. It is good to always keep that in mind. Some people have had some amazing things happen to them because of their blogs, hasn’t happened to me, but I live in hope, LOL. I think blogging is a great thing, and you can learn so much from it as well. You’re welcome Trish, and thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      August 31, 2014
  27. Like so many other commenters, I understand how you would be ticked off by that comment. As if there was some kind of hierarchy in “writing/editing/publishing”. Like a Maslow pyramid. Facebook pages at the bottom, then instagram, then tumblr, then blogs, then “reputable” news sites, then magasines, then TV? What kind of BS is that? I’m not sure how I would have reacted though. Would I have just sat there dumbfounded and then only thought of something witty to say 10 minutes later? Would I have ranted there and then? Or said something like “just try and write one, then we’ll talk”… or “could be worse, at least I’m not *just* looking at cat pictures on the internet” :D. But just like you used to say “I’m just a clerk”, I’ve sometimes said myself “I’m just a blogger” to people. When visiting the French embassy and asking if I could take pictures (I was asked if I was a reporter, which would probably have led to me having to produce some press card). Or at a concert, happily snapping away at the band. I may have been somewhat embarrassed that people would seem to care or even to be interested in what I was doing, despite me being a complete amateur… with a blog. But it’s one thing to say that about yourself, and a completely different thing to hear it said to your face by a complete stranger…

    September 1, 2014
    • I didn’t react, or say anything, I don’t think at the time that it occurred to me to be annoyed, but afterwards the words just kept going through my head. It was meant as an insult I know that, most definitely, like I was no one important, and maybe I’m not, but you don’t put people down to help inflate your own ego, that’s what I think anyway. I never say I’m a blogger, I tell people I’m a photographer and I write a photography blog, that always seems to help. Thanks for your contribution to the discussion.

      September 2, 2014
  28. Recently during my vacation back east I met a person who was having a showing of her artwork at a gallery. When I was first introduced to her by a relative who enjoyed my blog of cgi artwork and poetry, this artist smirked and and shook her head–“Oh, yeah. Blogs. Amateur stuff.” I simply told her that, although an ebook of my illustrations with poems was only doing so so, I was satisfied enough that I could get folks to look at my stuff on a blog site and that the money side of it wasn’t as important. Of course I was torqued off enough to decline a visit to the gallery. I’m quite content to be visiting the sites of fellow bloggers and sharing their words and pics that come from the heart. Nice post. Peace.

    September 2, 2014
    • Good on you, and that is great that you said that, I think many artists and galleries underestimate blogs. I have sent emails to galleries and asked them if they consider a persons social media coverage when they are looking for new artists, and they said no, well only one responded, I thought this was short sighted. Surely if an artist has a big social media presence, then wouldn’t that help sell their work? Perhaps they are too far up themselves to consider that possibly. Or too stuck in the past. I am the same as you, I like this community. Thanks.

      September 2, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Oslo, Nobel, Munch, Maisel, peace, and inspiration | Nia Simone, Author

Comments are closed.

