Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays – Moon Gazing

There was another full moon last weekend, and I kept seeing everywhere that it was a super moon.  I have no idea, I’m afraid, I know when the full moons are, but not when they are super or not.  I have heard when the next Blood Moon is, but that is about it.  I need to find out how others find out this information.

August Full Moon

I took this photo of the moon out my front door.  It isn’t anything special, just a photo of the moon. I really want to be able to get good photos of the moon before the blood moon so when it happens, I will know what I am doing.  That is important.  I know the moon is the moon, and nearly all the images look the same, but still.

I did this, as I said, out my front door.  I used the D800 with a Sigma 150-500mm lens, though I also had the camera set on DX mode, or crop mode.  I did still have to crop the image more in post production, but not a lot.   I used ISO 320, f/10 with a shutter speed of 1/200, though I was using AP and the camera set the shutter speed.

I am using the new editor that WordPress have and I have to say I don’t really like it.  It is so tiny, I can’t read what I am writing.  It is one thing I really dislike about WordPress, and that is the changes they make with no consultation.  Apparently you can still use the old editor, but it is a round about way to get to it, but guess that is what we will all have to do.  I miss the word count, so I hope I haven’t talked too much.

I hope you have a peaceful day today.

127 Comments
  1. Beautiful shot, I have missed the last two super moons due to bad weather I hope the next blood moon will be a clear night. I am sure there is an app you an get to let you know when there is a full name.There is an app for everything.

    August 14, 2014
    • I thought we were going to miss it too Ben, and I could see it was the first time, but by the time I get everything set up the clouds come over and it started raining, so I brought everything inside, waited about 15 to 20 minutes, then the sky cleared and I got a great image. I was happy.I have an app to tell me the moon phases, it is called, funnily enough, Phases of the Moon, but it doesn’t tell you when it is a super moon or blood moon, I might have to look it up. thanks Ben.

      August 15, 2014
  2. Reblogged this on Hadel.

    August 14, 2014
  3. I think that photograph is awesome! I can’t wait to see the photos you take once you’ve photographed the moon more. I also don’t know if I like the changes WordPress has made. Oh well, updates happen whether we like it or not.

    August 14, 2014
    • Thank you Rebecca, it is fun to get a nice one, and I’m looking forward to the blood moon, though there are only so many photos you can take, so I don’t know how often I will do it once it is over.
      I know, WP can be annoying like that, we get no consultation, I also don’t understand why we can’t have choices, why they can’t do a few editors and let us choose which one we want to use.

      August 15, 2014
      • The blood moon will be amazing. I see what you mean about how there are only so many photos you can take. It’s hard to take photos of the moon that look different than what’s already out there.

        That would be nice if we could choose what kind of editors to use. I know for me the changes were a bit confusing and frustrating at first.

        August 15, 2014
      • I think it will be too, I’m looking forward to taking photos of it. That is so true, I think the next thing is to find things to put the moon near, so it isn’t just a photo of the moon.
        I think so too, we are all different and we all like different things. If it is too hard to write a post, who is going to bother. I’m already feeling frustrated by the process.

        August 15, 2014
      • That would be a good way to try to make the photos different than the rest.

        I agree; it can be difficult to post when the format is confusing or doesn’t work the way we want it to. I hope it gets sorted out so that it’s more simple and has all the bugs worked out.

        August 15, 2014
      • Doesn’t really inspire you to post either. I hope it does too, or you all might have to start looking at another blog if you want to follow me. that could be the cold I am getting talking, haha.

        It would be, might be nice to try, I like the idea of great foregrounds for these sorts of things.

        August 15, 2014
      • Oh no, I hope you don’t become too discouraged; I would still read your blog if you went to another website though! 🙂

        I feel the same way that the thought of trying to post doesn’t make us feel inspired. It can give me a headache, and then feel stressed! Hopefully if they make any changes, they make it easier to post, not more frustrating.

        I can’t wait to see the photographs you come up with. It’s cool to see progression.

        August 15, 2014
      • I don’t know Rebecca, I feel sick, so my brain isn’t working too well. It could be the headache talking. Though I do quite a bit on the blog that is attached to my website, I do more experimenting and things there, or talk about them.
        It really depresses me having to learn a new editor again, and you know in a year or two, they will change it again. They couldn’t help themselves, things will get so hard that it will drive people away.
        I took my first star trail last night, it didn’t quite work out, but I think I will put it up on the other blog later today. It was a good start.

        August 15, 2014
      • I feel the same way. Getting used to the new editor is difficult. Just when I finally feel accustomed to something, they change it.

        August 15, 2014
      • Marilyn, below just said that they have changed the new editor so you can convert it back to the old one if you want. I would say they are getting lots and lots of pressure. I hope that means they might ditch the new one.

        August 15, 2014
      • That’s good to know! That would make sense that they’re getting requests for the old editor.

        August 15, 2014
      • I suppose the more of us that are more vocal, maybe they will listen, though my experience is they don’t.

        August 15, 2014
      • Yes, we can only hope that they’re listen the people who are speaking up and asking them to fix things.

        August 15, 2014
      • We can hope, though I wouldn’t get your hopes up.

        August 15, 2014
      • True, I guess we’ll have to just expect change.

        August 15, 2014
      • I guess so, though I really really hope I am wrong.

        August 15, 2014
      • Me too! Only time will tell.

        August 16, 2014
      • That’s for sure, time will tell. fingers crossed.

        August 16, 2014
      • Yup! 🙂

        August 16, 2014
      • 🙂

        August 16, 2014
  4. WordPress has made changes recently that cause me to search for other platforms, and I have. Why for instance in the Menu section was the radio box taken away that allows the link to open in a new window? really? Matt and his cronies make dumb choices without asking the users. We are at the mercy of Automattic…

    August 14, 2014
    • I really don’t know John, it is a hard thing, we know that they will make changes regardless of what the users think or want. I wonder if those developers even blog and do they even know how hard they have make it. It is so silly now. I really hope it doesn’t go to the .org, I do pay for that, I don’t want to have to put up with this crap there. I don’t understand why they don’t have a heap of different editors and then we can choose which one we want to use, we are all different, so surely what each of want in an editor is also different.

      August 15, 2014
    • Hi John (and others wanting links to open in a new window),

      Sorry you’re having trouble with the new editor…seems you are not alone!

      Here are some suggestions that may or may not help…

      You can set a link to open in a new window –
      After you click on the link icon, in the window that opens, next to “Target” is a drop-down menu of two options. One says “None” the other says “New window.” Select “New Window” and that should do it.

      For photos you want to open in a new window, once you’ve inserted the photo in the post, click on the photo, then click on the pencil icon that appears on top of the photo. In the window that opens, scroll through Advanced Options. (If the options aren’t showing below the words Advance Options, click on the arrow next to “Advanced Options.”)Then scroll till you see a radio box next to the words “Open link in a new window/tab” and click in the box. A checkmark should appear in the box. Then click “Update” in the lower right corner.

      Hope this helps those of you struggling to find your way around in the new editor. I plan to continue to use the old editor till the kinks are worked out of the new one or until they shut down the old one!

      August 15, 2014
  5. Great photo of the moon! saved it only for personal use 🙂 thanks!

    August 14, 2014
    • thanks, define personal use,

      August 15, 2014
      • self-appreciation? but now erased the pic and will never use them anywhere, so don’t worry!

        August 15, 2014
      • I just have never heard anyone doing that before, or if they have they haven’t said. Wasn’t worried, just wasn’t sure what you meant.

        August 15, 2014
      • yeah i think i mistakenly left a meaningless reply 🙂

        August 15, 2014
      • Haha, I love that, you can do that often if you like, that is fun. 🙂

        August 16, 2014
  6. Hi Leanne,

    I should be sleeping but when I saw in my email on my phone that you had posted this again, I hopped out of bed!

    I love your moon photo! What I love seeing in your shots from Australia is that the location of that huge crater at the right side of the moon (Tycho crater) is located in a different place than in my images. In my images (from the east coast of the U.S.), Tycho is near the bottom of the moon.

    The supermoon occurs when the full moon coincides with the moon being closest to the earth in its rotation around the earth. The moon looks visibly larger during a supermoon phase, or (more scientifically…) the perigee-syzygy. It happens once or twice a year, but this year it’s happening three times (once in July, once in August, and I believe once in September.) It won’t happen three times in one year again till 2034, if I remember correctly.

    Here’s a link to a wiki page about the supermoon:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supermoon

    And here’s a link to a photo I took on July 12 of the supermoon. By lucky chance, a jet happened to cross in front of the moon in one of my shots. Pure luck! I call the photo Fly Me To The Moon!!! If you look at the image, notice where Tycho is.
    http://theripestpics.com/2014/07/14/fly-me-to-the-moon-supermoon-perigee-syzygy-and-jetliner/
    Like you, I took this photo just outside my front door, while standing in my driveway.

    In your photo, I love seeing the ridges of the craters along the right hand side of the (now waning) moon. I think they become more pronounced as the moon goes from full to waning. This shows nicely in your image above where the right side of the moon is bumpy and the left side (which is still in full light) is smooth. These are things I’ve noticed while taking photos of the moon this summer.

    I hope you come to love taking photos of the moon as much as I do!

    August 14, 2014
    • thanks Mary, I hope you weren’t disappointed.

      I know what you mean about that crater, I didn’t realise until I photographed it last time how different the view from down under is. I knew the super moon happened because it was closest to the earth, but everyone always seems to know these things I don’t.
      thanks for the links Mary, I want to know more about it all.

      I love that about the moon, being able to photograph it from your front door. Though I have something planned for the blood moon, a small gathering to photograph it. I love your photo with the plane, how cool is it.

      I was amazed to see those ridges, I didn’t think a photo would pick up something like that. It is incredible, would love to see it through a telescope.

      thank you Mary, I haven’t responded to your email yet, I got it just as I was heading out the door to take photos down in Sorrento, but I will do it later.
      I don’t know, I like how easy it is to photograph it, and how convenient it can be. I might try doing one each night for a month, maybe, see what happens.

      August 15, 2014
  7. ur “just another moon shot” here is very kewl 🙂 ………. superb auctually to me! 🙂 Q

    August 14, 2014
    • Aww, thank you Quarksire. 🙂

      August 15, 2014
  8. I get my info about Super Moons via the newsfeeds on Twitter and also from NASA. Nice picture, it was a super moon by the way, was supposed to be the biggest super moon of all. I saw it and took a picture with my iphone, but your pic, of course, is so much nicer!

    August 14, 2014
    • I don’t tend to look at newsfeeds on twitter, maybe I should start. I looked at the NASA site, but it seems over my head, haha, maybe I should force myself to read it. Wow, I had no idea of that, so I am glad I did photograph it. I have been very lucky and was lent a lovely lens to use to take photos of it.

      August 15, 2014
  9. When I saw your moon photo pop up in my reader, I initially thought it was a ball of glass 😀 It’s a lovely shot, Leanne. Outside your front door too and lucky the sky wasn’t clouded. It almost looks like a BW shot of Earth, haha.

    August 14, 2014
    • Nice Mabel, I like the idea of glass. thank you, and yes, outside my front door, you have to love photography where you don’t have to travel far, haha. Thank you.

      August 15, 2014
  10. I don’t know if this will help, Leanne, but I always write my posts in Word, then copy and past them into WordPress. That way I can see what I’m writing and the word count. Of course you still have to add the photos in later, but you’d have to do that anyway. Your moon photo shows amazing detail!! It’s one of the few things I can’t do with my iPhone camera! Lol!!

    August 14, 2014
    • Don’t you have lots of trouble with formatting when you do that Ardy? I’ve had guest posts and people sending stuff and sometimes I have to spend a lot of time reformatting everything. I don’t think the big issue with the new editor is so much the typing, though it is very small, but there are so many bugs in it, it posts the post when you aren’t ready, you have to upload your featured image again, it is so silly. We all know we will be stuck with it, and those of us that have been with WP long enough know that once they change something that is pretty much it, and they don’t listen to anyone.
      Thank you, you would be able to get some good shots were you wouldn’t you.

      August 15, 2014
  11. .mr #

    When the orbit of the moon is equal to the Apogee (see https:en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moon), the moon apparently seems bigger than the previous full moon, this effect is called super moon.
    Good photo, thak you for sharing.

    August 14, 2014
    • I don’t really know what the Apogee is, I’m afraid, I just thought it was when the moon orbits closest to the earth, but I have no idea. Thank you.

      August 15, 2014
      • .mr #

        Sorry, you are right i wrote apogee, but i thougt perigee that is the minor distant from the earth to the moon as you said 🙂 .

        August 15, 2014
      • I’m I wasn’t, I had no idea what I was talking about, still don’t, LOL. 🙂

        August 15, 2014
      • .mr #

        Ok, me too 🙂

        August 16, 2014
      • LOL, what a great pair we are 😉

        August 16, 2014
  12. Hi Leanne
    The super moon is really special in your shot and as an event. It’s when it comes closest to the earth and appear a lot bigger! You can get the lunar calendar from Sydney Observatory… Did you have your sigma lens on fill zoom? Chris

    August 14, 2014
    • Hey Chris, thank you, I’ve heard that too. I might see if there is one of those here, though I might have to do some research on the internet I think, see what I find. I did have it on 500mm, and I was using the cropped sensor, and still have to crop the image some. Lots of cropping.

      August 15, 2014
  13. I thought you must have used a long lens – a 300 doesn’t really do the job.
    I have found plusses and minuses with changes – I like the way that I can put images on and you just have to click them to get them larger and I also like the way I can add some more words. Guess people employed need to earn their keep!!

    August 14, 2014
    • I certainly did, though still lots of cropping. I’ve done the moon with a 300mm Diana, you just have to be prepared to crop a lot.
      I don’t know, I understand they have people who are employed to develop and make changes, but seriously if it ain’t broke why fix it. The clicking on an image has been there for a long time, they took it out a while back, but recently put it back, which I like too. You have always been able to edit posts and add words. I just find it so small on my eyes, I don’t like things that make more work. I was telling my husband about it and he I should stop blogging.

      August 15, 2014
      • Please don’t !!!!!

        August 15, 2014
      • It just feels so overwhelming at the moment. I think because we have a government here in Australia that are making so many changes, and none them are any good, they are there to make the rich richer and so the poor stay where they are. It is terrible, and now WP do this, something might have to give.

        August 15, 2014
  14. Leanne, silver magic!! I was in Vienna when it was full moon – tried to capture it too. Lovely images.

    August 14, 2014
    • Thank you Viveka, it was nice getting a photo with no clouds.

      August 15, 2014
      • I was lucky with mine from Vienna too, not clouds neither – just a big generous globe of silver – but I quite like clouds together with the moon. *smile

        August 15, 2014
      • That sounds wonderful. I agree, it wasn’t too bad here in between the rain clouds. 😀

        August 15, 2014
      • I can seen some sunshine to you …. *smile

        August 15, 2014
      • sounds good.

        August 15, 2014
  15. It’s a nice shot and I know what you mean about the editor. I have to keep going back to the old one to get my photos uploaded 😦 Look forward to seeing your Blood Moon

    August 14, 2014
    • That you Bruce. I just did a new post and I did it in the old editor, I tried the new one for this post and it published it too soon. I’m looking forward to the blood moon too, hopefully a nice clear night.

      August 15, 2014
  16. Hi Leanne.. I like this front door moon 🙂
    Good luck with making progress for the blood moon.
    You’ll be great!

    August 14, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I liked taking photos out the front door, very easy. 😀
      thanks, I’m crossing my fingers for a clear night. What are the changes? 😉

      August 15, 2014
      • Yes very easy 🙂
        The changes are the editor… my editor was still the same…. on the blog.
        Now I write a post for my blogs from the same place… not on the blog itself.
        It’ll take some getting used to!
        Wishing you a clear night 🙂

        August 15, 2014
      • I don’t think I quite get what you mean Robyn, what do you mean you don’t write them on the blog itself?
        Not sure I want to, if I’m honest, I know that sounds bad, but I am so sick of changes, and not good changes. I’m all for change, but not when it is change just for changes sack, and is worse than what we had.

        August 15, 2014
      • Probably didn’t explain it well.
        Others may have already had this…
        I know have a common editor for my blogs.
        Instead of creating a post on my blog… it takes me to a common editor (for my blogs) to then write the post there… Does that make sense.
        I don’t like change much.. lol

        August 15, 2014
      • Yeah, but where is the common editor, I like the sound of it. I’ve always done it via the editor on the blog.
        Have you tried doing it with the new editor, if that makes sense. We should talk.

        August 15, 2014
      • Yes we should talk…lol
        When I go to create a post… it simply takes me there 🙂

        August 15, 2014
      • I need to have a shower, will text you. 🙂

        August 15, 2014
      • Same…lol!!
        Ok.

        August 15, 2014
      • LOL 😉

        August 15, 2014
  17. Good image of our outer space neighbor. Yes, I agree about WordPress making changes with no notice or transition help/feedback.

    August 14, 2014
  18. That’s when werewolves come out

    August 14, 2014
    • Haha, not near my front door, thankfully.

      August 15, 2014
  19. Didn’t even notice there was a new text editor since I haven’t been posting recently. I took a quick look at it and just by looking at it I don’t like it already. I have a template post that I created and would copy that to start my new posts and now I don’t see a way to copy posts easily like before. Now it looks like there’s more clicking to set everything up for a post as well which will take more time. The old editor had a lot of things on the page, but I think they were very useful. It looks more modern now, but also so empty and not as user friendly for quickly doing some things such as setting up the posting date/time, selecting a category, or selecting tags. I guess it’s just something we’ll have to get used to.

    August 14, 2014
    • It is good that you can still use the old editor, but I am sure they will change that in due course. I really don’t like the new one, it is too confusing and, as you said, it takes longer to do everything, and you have to press more buttons, how is that better. If it takes longer then it is a step backwards in my book. I don’t know, I don’t know if it is the cold speaking or what, but I’ve just about had enough I think.

      August 15, 2014
  20. lucywilliamspoetry #

    Amazing photos

    August 14, 2014
  21. Absolutely beautiful picture of the full moon. I got a similar one, though not as sharp as yours, as I had to crop heavily (only have a 55-250 mm kit lens). But I’m intrigued to see that your moon looks very much like ours does, here in South Africa. Does it look different in the north?

    August 14, 2014
    • Thank you Reggie, you have to get a fairly fast shutter speed, that was one of the first things I found, the moon is moving, so you can’t be too slow. Yes, cropping is something that you have to do. It is amazing, but yes it does look different, the big crater is almost at the bottom in the Northern Hemisphere, so we get a different view of it.

      August 15, 2014
  22. The “super” is just media hype; your image, Leanne, on the other hand is, indeed, super! 😉 xoxoM

    August 14, 2014
  23. I love it when I can see the Tycho crater on a photo with all the striations. Great photo !! She is a wonder!

    August 15, 2014
    • Man, now comments aren’t working properly, I respond and then it stuffs up.
      Thank you Cybele, that’s something I hadn’t thought of before. Nice.

      August 15, 2014
  24. paulrk029 #

    The next total lunar eclipse will be 8 October this year, Leanne, and will be visible in Melbourne between 8.18 pm and 12.32 am on the 9th, with the full eclipse from 9.27 pm to 10.22 pm:

    http://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/in/australia/melbourne

    And the next ones visible in Melbourne won’t be until 4 April 2015, 23 March 2016, and so on.

    http://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/list.html

    Hope this helps. 🙂

    August 15, 2014
    • That helps a lot Paul, thank you, I never know where to find it. Are you going to photograph it?
      It is pretty amazing that we have had two this year. Thank you Paul 🙂

      August 15, 2014
      • Thanks for the lunar eclipse dates, Paul!
        Another photo opportunity!
        I found a link that might help anyone hoping to take some photos of the eclipses on those nights:
        http://photographylife.com/how-to-photograph-a-lunar-eclipse

        (The lunar eclipse and a supermoon are different things.)

        The next supermoon is happening on September 9th, 2014.
        Here’s a link to tips for photographing the supermoon:
        http://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-take-photos-of-the-supermoon/

        August 15, 2014
      • That’s what I think too, another op.
        thanks for posting the link, I’m sure it will help people.
        Why are there so many super moons at the moment?

        August 15, 2014
      • Hi Leanne,
        To answer your question “Why are there so many super moons at the moment?” I’ll share the wikipedia page link re supermoons! Here it is!
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supermoon
        It’s a short read. I couldn’t begin to explain it as I don’t know enough about it! I just like to take photos of it!
        🙂

        August 15, 2014
      • I will read it, thanks for sending it Mary, I really don’t know enough about all this stuff. I will go and read it. 🙂

        August 15, 2014
  25. I’m usually fond of looking at full moons but can’t take good shots of them as I don’t have an SLR.
    Yours was a beautiful capture of it. 🙂

    August 15, 2014
    • Yes, I think you probably need lots of control over taking them, they are so bright. Thank you Angel.

      August 15, 2014
  26. Amy #

    Thank you for giving out the camera setting. 500mm lens, how cool!
    This moon shot is like a crystal ball, Incredible.

    August 15, 2014
    • You’re welcome Amy, I don’t do it every often, I’m usually too lazy, haha. It is pretty cool that lens, I wish it was mine.
      thank you Amy, glad you like my moon photo.

      August 15, 2014
  27. The way to make a moon special is to set in some recognizable context… even if it’s only through the branches of a tree. I’m with you on the WordPress thing. If you read yesterday’s Storyteller, you know exactly how I felt.

    August 15, 2014
    • I agree, though I wanted to get a good shot of just the moon, I think it is a good place to start. I did see part of it, but I haven’t read all of it yet Ray.

      August 15, 2014
      • Oh man, go WordPress forums. There must be 10,000 of us complaining about the same thing. I have no clue how to post multiple pictures now.

        August 15, 2014
      • What do you mean multiple pictures, like a gallery?
        There seems to be a universal dislike for it, but they won’t change it, once they have decided that that is what we all need we will be stuck with it, I hope they give us a choice.

        August 15, 2014
  28. Great moon shot!

    August 15, 2014
  29. I heard of this amazing moon, but it was too cloudy and rainy to see it from our place.

    August 15, 2014
    • That is a shame, pretty much what we got last month, got a bit this time, but it was just a matter of time to wait for it to clear and it did. Thank you.

      August 15, 2014
  30. 9th September we will have another chance I think.

    August 15, 2014
    • I’ve heard the 8th and the 9th, better make sure I am free that night too.

      August 15, 2014
  31. Very nice Moon shot! I see you used the Sigma 140 – 500 telephoto zoom. I’ve seen mixed reviews online concerning the lens. The Sigma seems like a bargain compared with Canon- or Nikon-branded lenses of similar specs. How do you like the images it produces? The Moon looks great!

    August 15, 2014
    • I can’t compare the lens with a Nikon lens, I don’t have one that big, but I have found it quite good, can be a bit slow with focusing at times, but okay. I love the shots I’ve got with it. It is a lot more affordable too. I don’t think I would ever be able to afford a Nikon one.
      thank you.

      August 15, 2014
  32. That’s a great moon photo! I was really struggling taking photos of the supermoon earlier this week, so thanks for sharing your ISO and shutter speed settings. Laura x

    August 15, 2014
    • You’re welcome, I hope it helps, thank you.

      August 15, 2014
  33. I love shooting the moon. Funny how all our moon shots look alike. I guess the moon looks the same no matter what continent you are shooting from. It must not rotate on its axis. I never thought about that. Hmm. We all see the same side of the moon.

    August 15, 2014
    • It does look different Marilyn, the Tycho crater in more up and towards the right in the Southern Hemisphere, whereas in the northern it is more at the bottom, but they are very similar, it must spin so that it’s axis is similar to Earth’s, though i don’t really now. It is fun to shoot it though.

      August 15, 2014
  34. Lovely! Leanne, I am going to buy a new camera…I will email you.

    August 15, 2014
    • How exciting, new cameras, I will look for your email Carol.

      August 15, 2014
  35. I don’t like the new editor either. I must see if I can find the old one. I was hoping for a glimpse of the moon but we have been clouded over for several days. You did well.

    August 15, 2014
    • I just did a new post Tootle, where I said how you can get to the old editor, dashboard, all posts, add new, hope that helps, though I am sure they will remover that soon.
      We had lots of cloud too, but lucky for us, it cleared enough to be able to get a good photo.

      August 15, 2014
  36. It’s quite interesting to see how moon appears very different from where you are and where I am! We see different regions of it. In my pics the big crater is low down towards the “bottom” and the dark regions are towards the “top”.

    August 15, 2014
    • the one I took seems strange, even to me, probably because most of the photos I’ve seen were taken in the northern hemisphere. Thanks Tiny

      August 15, 2014
  37. Beautiful click 🙂 waiting to see the blood moon shots. Good Wishes.

    August 15, 2014
    • Thank you, I’m looking forward to it.

      August 15, 2014
  38. I have one for this collection too. There will be another super moon next year 28/09/2015 if I’m not mistaken. Thanks for sharing.

    August 15, 2014
    • It is nice getting it. I have no idea, about next year, but I suppose that makes sense about then. You’re welcome and thank you.

      August 15, 2014
  39. Hello, I can never seem to get a good shot of the moon… I can almost see the veins on the moon. Great shot

    August 15, 2014
    • Thank you, it is very easy to over expose it, people don’t realise how bright it really is. I can’t advise, I don’t know what camera you were using.

      August 15, 2014
      • I use a canon 650D and I was trying to get a picture with a 18-55mm but as you said it was overexposed

        August 15, 2014
      • Try putting the camera on spot metering and meter just for the moon, and if that doesn’t work you might need to underexpose, so turn exposure compensation down, that is what I had to do.

        August 15, 2014

Comments are closed.

