Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – The Other End of Melbourne

Melbourne-city-buildings-old-doorways-3

On another One on One a few weeks ago we went into the city very early on a Sunday morning and took photos around parts of the city I’ve never really explored before.  I knew that lots of the buildings were there, but I hadn’t bothered to take photos of them, or hadn’t been there with my camera before.  It wasn’t the best day for taking photos, but as I heard Moose Peterson saying recently on a KelbyOne video, if the weather is bad, think of it as a scouting trip, and see what you get, so you can plan further shots.  I like that, and while I don’t think these shots are necessarily fantastic, I did get to take some photos somewhere I hadn’t before, I realised that Sunday morning is a great to get shots at these places and maybe I will plan a trip back sometime.

Melbourne-city-buildings-old-doorways-1

This is a view of Collins Street you don’t see very often, meaning the footpaths are normally full of people.  This is like the gateway to the business district, and during the week there would be no way you would be able to get a photo like this.  I liked this view, and thought perhaps I would make more of the empty footpath at some stage.  Actually many of the photos in this post I had always thought I would do that with.

Melbourne-city-buildings-old-doorways-7This is the old Stock Exchange Building, I believe.  It is such an incredible building, very gothic.  I had to move some things that were obstructing the view of the building.  I did a video of how I do that over on my other blog, if you are interesting, here is the link, The Before, then the After, and some of the Inbetween.

The amount of detail that was put into these buildings just astounds me, and when I look at the modern counterparts, there really is no comparison.  It is a shame that modern buildings don’t have the same level of detail.

Melbourne-city-buildings-old-doorways-10The sun came out and was shining on the buildings, but I don’t think it translated very well on the photos.

Melbourne-city-buildings-old-doorways-16I had photographed this lane once before, but it was over 10 years ago and I wanted to go back and see if it had changed a lot. It hadn’t.  I did this image in monochrome because I was going to use it for MM one week, but in the end went with something else.

Melbourne-city-buildings-old-doorways-20This the back of a shop in a lane, and I liked that bit of wood sticking out the top.  I think it would have been a lot longer and would have been used to pull things up to get them onto the first floor, it definitely looks like there were doors there at some point.

I have a gallery for you, and sorry for the short post, the “I think I am getting a cold” has turned to, “I definitely have a cold” and it is in my head right now and I have a massive headache.  So I am just leaving you with all these photos today.  A lovely part of the city.  I think I have to go back, and think I will make it a Social Snappers Excursion next term.  I hope you are having a better weekend than me, take some great photos.

74 Comments
  1. Lots of beautiful architectural detail here! I also like the monochrome image of the alley.

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, I can’t remember why I didn’t end up using it, must have another one I thought was better.

      August 17, 2014
  2. Looking forward to another visit to Melbourne next February.

    August 17, 2014
    • Wonderful, I love Melbourne.

      August 17, 2014
      • Another visit last month, this time, some time in the city as opposed to the suburbs last time.

        March 6, 2015
      • That’s good, the city is amazing, well I think it is. I hope you enjoyed it.

        March 7, 2015
  3. Wow great pics! I have lots of favorites! That stock exchange building is fantastic! Awesome architecture!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, I think the stock exchange building is so amazing too.

      August 17, 2014
  4. Love all those old doors and windows – wonderful detail in the architecture

    August 17, 2014
    • Someone recently was telling me how they love photographing doors, and I thought I should do some, I love how the old buildings have grand doors and gates, so cool. Thank you Nora.

      August 17, 2014
  5. I love the shot of Collins St, and the others. I’ve never seen it that empty either. Does the Flinders St station ever look that empty? Auckland still has a few buildings like the Stock Exchange, and so often we hasten by without so much as a glance upwards to appreciate the beauty. I hope you feel better soon.

    August 17, 2014
    • I know, it seems so strange seeing Collins Street like that. I don’t know that Flinders Street is ever that empty, quiet, but always still lots of people around. I agree, so many of us do that, walk by without realising what we are walking past. Thank you.

      August 17, 2014
  6. Hope you feel better soon! These are a wonderful glimpse into the past. I especially like the metal doors on 19.

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you Maril, I’m sure I will. Thank you, those doors are incredible, OH&S would be on it in a second now, you wouldn’t get away doing things like that now.

      August 17, 2014
  7. You’re very dedicated, Leanne. Having a head cold makes me feel so crappy. Hope you are well soon. My country doctor used to say ‘If you treat a cold it will last 7 days, if you don’t treat it, it will last a week’. I really liked Moose Peterson’s idea to think of a less successful photo session as a ‘scouting trip’. Excellent spin on it.

    August 17, 2014
    • Dedicated or insane, not sure which right now Ardy, lol. I love what you doctor used to say, that is brilliant and so very true, just have to ride it out. It isn’t too bad, and certainly something that I can work through. I think what Moose Peterson said is very sound advice, I really liked it too. Thank you.

      August 17, 2014
  8. Thanks for the tour. I love old buildings. Feel better soon!

    August 17, 2014
    • I love them too, they always seem to have so much more character. Thank you Laura, one thing about a cold, you know you will get over it. 😀

      August 17, 2014
  9. Looks like a lot of great architecture. I agree that older buildings seem like they have a lot more detail and attention put into them. I think people cared more about the way things looked back then and now it’s about going cheaper and building faster, but with a modern look that doesn’t seem to have as much detail. It would be nice to see a newer building with all the detail of an older building as we have much better equipment now than they did then. I think it’s possible to do a better job today. Don’t think that will happen though. I hope your cold doesn’t last too long. It always sucks to be sick.

    I’m really wanting to get out and take photos but have been busy with working on the basement. Got most of the walls up now and started doing the taping and joint compound. Probably won’t be done for a couple weeks yet though as there are some work that needs to be done to a couple walls before the sheet rock can go up. I’m hoping right after that is finished though to check out a beach that is along a state forest though. Can’t wait!

    August 17, 2014
    • I suspect part of the problem of doing buildings like those these days is that a lot of the craftmanship has been lost, there are very few around now that have those skills and those that do have them can charge a lot of money for them. I’m sure the cold will go away soon, they don’t tend to stick around for long.

      Sounds like a busy time for you Justin. I’m sure there will be lots of time after the basement is done. Thanks Justin.

      August 17, 2014
  10. Thanks for a peek at the city’s architecture.

    August 17, 2014
    • You’re welcome Sally, I hope you have enjoyed seeing them.

      August 17, 2014
  11. Brave Saxon #

    Please remove me from your email list.

    August 17, 2014
    • Not something I can do sorry, WP, won’t allow me to do it, you have to do it, if you aren’t with WP, then I don’t really know how you do it, when you get emails there should be something at the bottom of them that will allow you to unsubscribe.

      August 17, 2014
  12. Lee #

    I like all the photos, especially the Old Stock Exchange’s architecture and some of those doors in your other photos.

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you Lee, that old building is so incredible, I could look at it forever.

      August 17, 2014
  13. Lovely shots as always, really like the intricacy of the wrought iron gate, thanks for the close up as well : )

    August 17, 2014
    • You’re welcome, thank you Kaz, the wrought iron gate is so grand.

      August 17, 2014
  14. love the details!

    August 17, 2014
    • They are fantastic, thank you.

      August 17, 2014
  15. Lovely selection of shots of a fine city – great architecture. Des.

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you, I think Melbourne is a great city Des.

      August 17, 2014
  16. A contemplative post Leanne, many thanks. You brought back lots of memories of Melbourne for me. I loved lots of those old buildings on Collins St (& surrounds) reminded me a lot of England. I think that the weather ‘suits the mood’ of the photos – deserted streets, quiet streets, overcast skies – it all works in the image. Thanks for sharing !

    August 17, 2014
    • That is great to hear, I love all those old buildings too, they are pretty amazing. I can understand being reminded of England, I can understand that a lot. Thank you so much.

      August 17, 2014
  17. Get well soon Leanne! And I too love the detail on older buildings. Beautiful detail here!!

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, the detail is so amazing and always great to see.

      August 17, 2014
  18. Stunning work. Love the monochrome shot.
    Cheers!

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you, that’s great to hear.

      August 17, 2014
  19. Hope you feel better soon…
    Your wonderful photos remind me so much of Boston.
    And this quote from you above is so true – “The amount of detail that was put into these buildings just astounds me, and when I look at the modern counterparts, there really is no comparison. It is a shame that modern buildings don’t have the same level of detail.”

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you Mary, I’m sure I will be over it soon enough.
      I think I’ve heard something similar, would love to see Boston one day.
      I think so too.

      August 17, 2014
  20. So much to see there, I love the stock exchange building.

    August 17, 2014
    • Isn’t it a great building? Thanks Gypsy.

      August 17, 2014
  21. Like the older stuff you have captured…

    August 17, 2014
    • Fantastic, I like it too Sue, thank you.

      August 17, 2014
  22. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    August 17, 2014
  23. I hope you’re feeling better soon Leanne!!

    August 17, 2014
    • Thanks Carol, I am actaully, my nose has sort of cleared up and I feel much better today. I do tend to get over things quickly.

      August 18, 2014
  24. Fabulous photography as always. Love your street scenes.

    August 17, 2014
    • Thank you Jessica, I haven’t been doing much of this lately, I should do more.

      August 18, 2014
  25. Great photos. I am a huge fan of iron work and you captured it beautifully in a number of these photos.

    August 18, 2014
    • Thank you Paul, I love the iron work too, it was big here in Victorian Architecture, not so much now.

      August 18, 2014
  26. Pat #

    Beautifully photographed architectural details.

    August 18, 2014
  27. Wow 🙂 Cheers

    August 18, 2014
  28. What terrific buildings! I love going to places on Sundays too. Easier to get photos without people looking at you weird or getting in the way.

    August 18, 2014
    • So true, I hate people in my photos, haha. Thank you.

      August 18, 2014
  29. My brother was in Melbourne recently. His pictures are not a patch on yours.

    August 18, 2014
    • Thank you, I’m sure familiarity with the subject has a lot to do with it. I see these buildings all the time.

      August 18, 2014
  30. Amy #

    What a marvelous gallery of architecture of Melbourne. Great captures of the doors and windows.

    August 18, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I don’t tend to do doorways much, I should try and remember to do them more in the future.

      August 18, 2014
  31. Melbourne is such a vibrant city. I wish that I had had my better camera and more time the other day (although the weather was pretty crummy anyway).

    August 18, 2014
    • It is, and I think people don’t realise really, it would have been great if there had been time to show you around more, and take photos, perhaps another time. It’s Melbourne, the weather is often crummy, though more than usual this year.

      August 18, 2014
      • Yesterday we had westerly winds here but there was no ‘snow’ behind the wind iykwim? I never thought I’d say that I missed winter in Qld. lol

        August 19, 2014
      • Winter in QLD is more mild isn’t it? I think I would like it, but not your summers. Though I don’t know that our summers are much different.

        August 19, 2014
      • I think the difference in the summers is the humidity. I hate humidity but there is always the pool (and the air con). lol

        August 20, 2014
      • I hate humidity too, though we seem to be getting more and more of it now. Yuck.

        August 20, 2014
  32. Jen #

    Leanne, these are great! The sepia one I especially like—there’s mystery, it makes me want to peer right down the road to see what else is there.

    You make a good point about Sunday mornings. Most people are asleep or preparing for church or a leisurely breakfast, so even downtown should be quiet. Might have to try that out myself sometimes—too many people make me a bit jumpy and anxious, and of course they’re a distraction in photographs as well. Very smart idea!

    August 18, 2014
    • Thank you Jen, I could show you what is down that road. So good to see some areas of the city as they probably were about 100 years ago. I like that.
      I think Sunday mornings can be a great time for areas like this, people are going to work, so it is a lot quieter. Thank you, I thought so, must do it again.

      August 18, 2014
  33. Nice architectural details

    August 18, 2014
  34. These are great Leanne – love that incredibly atmospheric sepia shot of the lane!

    August 19, 2014
    • Thank you Richard, I might do another one of those for tomorrow, see what happens.

      August 19, 2014

Comments are closed.

