Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays – Night at Banyule Flats

banyule-flats-night-overcast-reflections

It has been the New Moon this last week and I’ve been trying to get out to get some photos, but we seem be having endless overcast days, always, right when you don’t want them.  I was hopeful the other night when I convinced my husband to come out with me to Banyule Flats, to see if I could get the milky way from there.

I don’t know if it is possible, but you can see the city lights in one direction and just black towards the east, so I wondered if I could get it from there.  I tried once before, I showed you last week, but it was during the full moon, I thought with no moon, it could be interesting to see what I could get.

As we were walking outside we could see that it was getting cloudy, but I hoped that it would hold off until I got what I wanted.  Well it didn’t work, by the time we got to the spot, there were clouds everywhere. Though it was surprising to see how light it actually was, so, while I was there, I took some photos.

banyule-flats-night-overcast-reflections

I don’t know about you, but I think it is so cool when you can take photos at night.  I love how this comes up at night.  You can also see the clouds, it was a thick covering.

I was also hoping to see if I could get some star trails, and I think it might be possible, but it wasn’t that night.  I will go back some time and try again, but I might wait until we have better weather and I can be fairly sure that I won’t lose the sky to cloud cover. I could see movement in the stars in these images, so I am fairly certain I can get something, I will try.  Looking forward to it.

I hope you are having a quiet day. I’m away, and sure I am taking lots of photos around Apollo Bay, if you see me there, be sure to say hello.

73 Comments
  1. Such a beautiful and successful image Leanne.The reflection together with the trees silhouetted against the low lying clouds are just magical 🙂

    August 28, 2014
    • Thank you Andrew, it was great to from thinking I would get nothing to getting something. 🙂

      August 28, 2014
  2. Have fun at Apollo Bay. Leanne what a lovely place is Banyule Flats. I don’t know about you but I really love that photo, its colours, shadows, scene and reflections… its the star on its own without the stars. Would be lovely to see your star trails but sort of glad that you got this picture without them as it makes the flats the star. How dark was it when you took the picture? Loving your night shots 🙂

    August 28, 2014
    • It has been great and today was an absolute success, can’t wait to start showing some of the photos I got, thanks. Thank you too for what you have said about the image, that is great. I will get those star trails, just not sure when. Soon. 😀

      August 28, 2014
  3. Embracing a Wounded Soul #

    The colors and clouds create a dreamy mood . . . I love the little peek of blue sky in at the back. Lovely!

    August 28, 2014
    • I like that idea, thank you so much.

      August 28, 2014
  4. Great night shots.

    August 28, 2014
  5. This is a very nice photograph. Beautiful place!

    August 28, 2014
  6. Wonderful photo, Leanne! I am looking forward to seeing the new photos from Apollo Bay. Have fun, my friend! 🙂

    August 28, 2014
    • Thank you Fabio, I just put one up on Facebook, Flickr and G+, having lots of fun.

      August 28, 2014
  7. so other worldly looking Leanne!! Love it!

    August 28, 2014
    • I like that, and I think so too, thanks Cybele.

      August 28, 2014
  8. Reblogged this on Hadel.

    August 28, 2014
  9. So pretty, Leanne! Even in the city with just a cell phone camera, it’s interesting to see what I can photograph on a slightly cloudy night. You remind me I haven’t tried it in a while! xoxoM

    August 28, 2014
    • That’s fantastic, always happy to help people find ideas, thank you.

      August 28, 2014
  10. Beautiful Leanne … even better as I have been there with you. Lucky me!! 🙂

    August 28, 2014
    • Thanks Julie, yes you have been there, shame it wasn’t this beautiful that night. 🙂

      August 28, 2014
  11. That is absolutely beautiful. Leanne, you continue to inspire me.

    August 28, 2014
    • Thank you Carol, what a lovely thing to say.

      August 28, 2014
  12. Banyule Flats looks such a wonderful area to photograph and you take such stunning photographs.

    August 28, 2014
    • It is, and I think that because I am getting to know it so well I can photograph it better too, well I hope, thank you.

      August 28, 2014
  13. Suzanne #

    What a lovely photo. How wonderful to be able to visit such a tranquil haven within greater Melbourne.

    August 28, 2014
    • I know Suzanne, it so beautiful and people have no idea it is here.

      August 28, 2014
  14. Love the photo Leanne. I had a first attempt at astrophotography last weekend – and like you I struck a lot of cloud but noted the interesting clouds/colours that came out. There was enough clear sky to see that I had been able to capture stars and a little bit of the milky way – guess that is a satisfactory start. I will undoubtedly post on it sometime but think I might wait for further attempts before doing so.

    August 28, 2014
    • That is great Rob, congratulations, that is fantastic, you know it is addictive. Thank you, I haven’t got the milky way this new moon, haven’t really had time, but there will be plenty more.

      August 28, 2014
  15. Very arty picture – always interesting to get something you are not expecting

    August 28, 2014
    • Thank you Diana, it is interesting, and often much better.

      August 28, 2014
  16. Really cool shot. Especially like the bare trees and reflection.

    August 28, 2014
    • The dead trees are so amazing, they look great there. Thanks

      August 28, 2014
  17. These are lovely photos, Leanne. Very atmospheric!

    August 28, 2014
  18. I absolutely love taking photos at night. It takes a lot of patience, but I sometimes close the aperture as small as it goes, drop the ISO as low as I can, and take exposures that are minutes long. It’s a long-winded but addictive process. If only I had more time to take more photos like that…

    Great shots, by the way.

    August 28, 2014
    • I was taking some images there that was minutes long too, it is so interesting to do. I can’t wait to do more David. Thank you so much.

      August 28, 2014
  19. I love taking photos at sunset especially with a partially cloudy sky, the reflection of the sun light on the clouds gives some beautiful colors

    August 28, 2014
    • That is great time too Nelson, though I love seeing what the camera will pick up when it is dark, it is so weird. Thank you.

      August 28, 2014
  20. klaasfidom #

    Superb, awesome work!

    August 28, 2014
  21. great new Theme – top image…have a good day… 😉

    August 28, 2014
    • Thank you, it is something I quite enjoy.

      August 29, 2014
  22. The light has given some interesting colour to your photos Leanne.

    August 28, 2014
    • It was great, I think it was the nearby city lights Colline. Thanks.

      August 29, 2014
  23. Incredible lighting!

    August 29, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I don’t think it would have been good if it wasn’t overcast.

      August 29, 2014
  24. That is breathtaking light! The frame and reflection make the image.

    August 29, 2014
    • Thank you, it is becoming one of my favourite times of the day to take photos.

      August 29, 2014
  25. thats so beautiful. LOVE the picture

    August 29, 2014
  26. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    You are right, that is cool! 🙂

    August 29, 2014
  27. Really enjoying these Banyule Flat pictures. I used to go to Banyule High School, which was on the flats, but it is no more. spent a lot of time down by the river. Karen

    August 29, 2014
    • How great to hear Karen, maybe you should come on one of my trips down there, see how much it is has changed. The only thing left of Banyule High is the theatre which Viewbank College look after.

      August 29, 2014
      • Would love to join you. It’s been a few years, a great deal has changed, but still a lovely place.

        August 29, 2014
      • It would be amazing Karen to see you seeing how much it has changed. It has changed so much in the last 10 years as well. We will have to organise something. Email me.

        August 29, 2014
  28. LB #

    The sky is incredible, and I really like the bare tree limbs against it.

    August 29, 2014
    • Thanks LB, I love those trees, I don’t know how long they will be there though.

      August 30, 2014
  29. gaiainaction #

    Very beautiful!

    August 30, 2014
  30. I think I’ve only tried once to take a night photo and that was a complete flop so I gave up. What I need is someone to teach me. lol
    I love the photo you took of the flats. The light from the city really add a touch of eeriness to the colour of the clouds.

    August 30, 2014
  31. superb capture even without the stars trail… wish you good luck for the next try…

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you, it was good to come away with something.

      August 30, 2014
  32. Spectacular. All my favorite things: dead trees, reflections and clouds! You couldn’t get any better than that – for me! 🙂 Hope you are having a great weekend. I’m finally able to comment again. I was having more trouble than you want to know about with both my computer and internet service – BUT I’M BACK!!!!! 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • Thanks Marsha, it does have some great things in it. So glad everything has been sorted out, I’ve missed you, and it is great to you back. 😀

      August 30, 2014
      • I’ve missed you too! Good to have the internet back. Vince thinks he just shouldn’t have left FB on all day. 🙂 so far this month we are on target. 🙂

        September 1, 2014
      • I’m glad you were able to get it back, someone recently was saying to me how if the chinese of someone else wanted to cripple us, they could just bring down the internet and we wouldn’t know what to do with ourselves. I think it could be true. 😀

        September 1, 2014
      • I agree. We’d be lost! Vince and I were talking about all my wonderful Internet friends this morning, and how much you’ve all enriched my life. 😀

        September 3, 2014
      • I love my internet friends, they are all wonderful, and so true, Thank you Marsha for being one. 😀

        September 3, 2014
      • Thank you, too! 🙂

        September 5, 2014
      • 😀

        September 5, 2014

Comments are closed.

