Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Apollo Bay Part 1

apollo-bay-wildlife-capeotway-koala-8

The last few days have been very chaotic with this blog, and to start this post I wanted to apologise.  I’ve been away, and while I had good internet access where I was staying, I hardly seemed to be there.  I have been to Apollo Bay many times before, and even taken photos there, but not for a long time, I think the last time I was there was almost 15 years ago.  So this time we did lots of exploring.  I have so many photos from the two days and really didn’t know where to start, but after the fantastic post from Emily yesterday, I thought I could share some wildlife photos with you.

apollo-bay-wildlife-capeotway-koala-1

It is a Koala.  I have seen Koala’s before, but I have never seen them in the wild, so on Thursday we had decided to go to Cape Otway and the parks there.  Most people go to Cape Otway for the lighthouse, which we did, but will talk about that in another post.  We told some friends how we were going there and they showed us some drives and walks to go where we would be able to see some Koalas.  They are very cute indeed, like life like teddy bears, of course you can’t approach them, they are wild animals, so you should give them respect.

This Koala was the first we saw and he was low on a branch, he just sat there and posed for us, then he climbed down, and walked towards us, heading over the road to climb another tree. He was the best one we saw all day.  It was nice to see him both in the tree, and walking across the road.

apollo-bay-wildlife-capeotway-wallaby-2

I can never quite tell the difference between wallabys and Kangaroos, but I am fairly certain this is a Wallaby. It was near the side of the road and then it stopped and looked up when we pulled up beside it and let us take its photo.  We didn’t get out of the car, but wound down the windows and took some photos that way.

apollo-bay-wildlife-capeotway-deadtrees-5

There is one place that you drive through that is full of dead trees, we think they are dead.  They don’t look like deciduous trees, but we couldn’t work out why.  I have just done some research and this article by the Conservation Ecology Centre at Cape Otway helps explain the problem. So while they are a concern, for photographers they were fantastic. We had people stopping and walking around us when we were taking photos, and it took us a while to realise that people thought we had found Koalas.

apollo-bay-wildlife-capeotway-blanketbay-4

We saw this in front of us, and really you just have to stop don’t you? It was beautiful late afternoon light coming through the trees onto the gravel road.

apollo-bay-wildlife-capeotway-cows-7

Not something we expected to see along the side of the road, but fun.  There are farms on Cape Otway and we came across some cows, very heavily pregnant cows being moved.

It was a great afternoon, and I did get a lot more photos, but will leave it there.  I am putting other Koala photos into the gallery.  We were excited about all our Koala sightings.  It was fun to see them in their natural habitat. Take care this weekend, maybe see what wildlife you can find around you.

93 Comments
  1. Those dead trees would look good in black and white. Great photos as always. I like the movement in the cow image too

    August 30, 2014
    • Maybe Luis, I really haven’t had much time to play with many images since I got back, but am hoping to play more this weekend. I liked that movement too, it was great to get. Thank you.

      August 30, 2014
  2. Love the photo of the sunlight through the trees. And such a find with the koalas.
    Reading about the farms reminded me that we had to stop our car in that area because there was a fox crossing the road in front of us carrying a chicken he had obviously just pilfered from a farm. I have a blurry shot it as it wasn’t sticking around and waiting for the farmer to catch up I think. 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • I loved that too Suz, though I just noticed something I’m not happy about. The koalas were great, I loved seeing those.
      I have never seen that, I’ve seen lots of foxes around here, but none with chickens in their mouths. Great memory.
      Thanks Suz.

      August 30, 2014
  3. Love love love seeing our wildlife… in the wild. Great captures of some our well known creatures and birds. A wonderful post Leanne. Gorgeous light coming through the trees! I love the Aussie countryside 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • I do too Robyn, it was so great seeing so many koalas. Thank you so much Robyn. 😀

      August 30, 2014
  4. Lovely wildlife pictures! Needless to say, I love the Koala and Wallaby images!

    August 30, 2014
    • Fantastic, thank you Tiny, I loved seeing them in their natural surroundings, so nice.

      August 30, 2014
  5. The trees are amazing! I havent been over there for such a long time! Isnt the weather famtastic at the moment?

    August 30, 2014
    • It is a great place to visit Trees, and yes, the weather is amazing right now. Thanks.

      August 30, 2014
  6. Really neat photos! I love your pics!

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you, that is so good to hear.

      August 30, 2014
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love the trees, dead or alive. The Koalas and cows seem an odd mix but they are really sweet, both of them. The Koalas and kangaroos are what I most identify in Australia. The image of the road with the rays of sunshine is inviting.

    August 30, 2014
    • They are an odd mix Jackie, very at odds, not something you would normally see together, of course are an introduced species here. They do, I think the kangaroo is the most iconic and then the koala. Thank you Jackie.

      August 30, 2014
  8. Wonderful pictures. Magical. Love the koalas and the kangaroo (or wallaby) peeking through the foliage. I looked up the difference between a wallaby and a kangaroo and I still don’t know how you could tell the difference from a distance. Whatever it is, it’s a cutie 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you Marilyn, I think Wallabys are a lot smaller, this one was only a couple of feet high, so that is why we thought it was a wallaby, but I don’t really know either. I agree, it was very cute. 😀

      August 30, 2014
  9. Fantastic shots, Leanne! Hard to say which photo is the best one. Loved the sunlight through the branches. Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you Fabio, that was a great shot. YOu have a great weekend too. 🙂

      August 30, 2014
  10. Love the afternoon light through the trees photo!

    August 30, 2014
    • Thanks Vanessa, great time of the day.

      August 30, 2014
  11. I would so love to see a koala. Great shots. The light through the trees is lovely.

    August 30, 2014
    • Come here, there are lots of places to see them, thank you.

      August 30, 2014
      • hehe. It is quite a journey… 🙂

        September 1, 2014
      • Haha, I know what you mean. 😉

        September 1, 2014
  12. The last shot in the gallery, so beautiful.

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you Elen, it has been a popular image.

      August 30, 2014
  13. Those koalas are just adorable…so plump and cuddly looking but yes, glad you didn’t try to cuddle them, lol. I love the dead trees too and the rays coming across that beautiful road!

    August 30, 2014
    • They are, I really wanted to stoop down and touch him, but decided to give him space. I am looking forwarding to playing with the other photos, seeing what I can do to them. Thanks Laura.

      August 30, 2014
  14. All fantastic photos Leanne. I’ve never seen a Koala in the wild either so that would have been a great experience 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • We almost screamed like school girls, and after saying we wouldn’t do that. It was a great experience, there were so many around there. I hope you get to see one too Norma, thanks. 😀

      August 30, 2014
  15. I just love these photos. What a beautiful place. Koalas are just so adorable! That would be wonderful to see. And that pictures of the sun streaming through the trees is fabulous!

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you Linda, they are, and it was so wonderful seeing them in the wild.

      August 30, 2014
  16. That entire coastal region is magnificent, isn’t it. I’m on the other side of the Victorian coast, The Bunurong Coast, to be exact and the wildlife is abundant here and further inland. I’ve seen wombats, echidna, kangaroos, wallabies, snakes, koalas and the bird life is spectacular. They are literally at the doorstep here and at night it’s a pretty hairy experience! The area is about 30kms past Philip Island and well worth the look. The Bunurong Coast is like a miniature Great Ocean Road and has the most amazing rock formations along the relatively short stretch. It’s only about 40kms long, but the scenery is some of the best I’ve ever laid eyes on. Thanks for sharing these beautiful shots, of the incredible residents living in our beautiful country.

    August 30, 2014
    • We have a lot of those in our nearby parks, Banyule Flats, but no Koalas, which is a shame. I can imagine what it is like at night. I have heard of that area, I will have to look it up. You’re welcome and thank you.

      August 30, 2014
  17. Beautiful photos Leanne! Australian animals are awesome. And yes, you must stop to get the photo of the sun through the trees, it was begging you to take the photo. 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you John, they are that, but hard to find sometimes, they are nearly all nocturnal so many are hard to find and photograph. I was pleased I stopped at that one too, you’re right it was begging to be photographed.

      August 30, 2014
  18. Fabulous! I love the first picture of the koala, and the light coming through the trees. I needed some inspiration to get out there and start taking pictures again. Recently I’ve been buried in collecting pictures of others, and the stories to go with them. 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you Marsha, I love going on trips that are just about taking photos. Sounds like you need to get out and do your own thing for a break, maybe grab the camera and take some photos Marsha.

      August 30, 2014
      • ooooooo that sounds tempting. I’ve been thinking just that recently. Maybe I’ll do that today. 🙂

        September 1, 2014
      • I hope you do and have a great time Marsha. 😀

        September 1, 2014
  19. That… that is possible the fattest koala I’ve ever seen. He’s so cute!

    August 30, 2014
    • I don’t know David, it didn’t seem that big when it was on the ground getting to the other side, they do have massive limbs though. You are right though, very cute, thanks.

      August 30, 2014
  20. Lovely!!!

    August 30, 2014
  21. All beautiful photos and the wildlife how lucky was that. I am so glad you stopped on the road with the sun shining through the trees, its exceptional and I love it to bits! I also liked the mooooving cow 🙂

    August 30, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, we felt pretty lucky, it was really great seeing them. Oh yes, we saw the sun shining through and there was no doubt, we both wanted to stop and take photos. the cow is funny, not a great image, but I loved it. 😀

      August 30, 2014
  22. beautiful

    August 30, 2014
  23. You are very lucky.. thank you for sharing these wonders (this applies to all of your contributions ; )

    August 30, 2014
    • I was very lucky, it was great to photograph them. Thank you so much. 🙂

      August 30, 2014
  24. Amy #

    Thank you for taking us along, Leanne! Koalas are so cute, they were posing for you. The afternoon ray through the trees is like a painting!

    August 30, 2014
    • You’re welcome Amy, They are cute and that is what we thought, especially the first one, he was so cooperative. Thanks, the one with the sun rays was a great find.

      August 30, 2014
      • Amy #

        Enjoy the weekend, Leanne!

        August 30, 2014
      • Thank you Amy, you too.

        August 30, 2014
  25. Leanne, love the animal pictures, but absolutely love the sun coming through the tree’s it almost has a ethereal quality about it, would love to have been standing in the sun’s rays right then!

    August 30, 2014
    • I think that one has been very popular today, thanks, it was great to see it, and we both wanted to stop and take photos. Thanks

      August 30, 2014
  26. wow! Beautiful pictures! I really did have to stop at the picture if the afternoon light, thankyou for sharing the beauty x

    August 30, 2014
  27. I love the photo of the cows.

    Your posts remind how very different our lives can be. A good thing to remember. I could maybe use a little more outdoors in my life these days. Cheers!

    August 30, 2014
    • Haha, I know what you mean Trish, I loved it too.
      I hadn’t thought of the posts like that. I love going out and taking photos and if I can get away somewhere, even better. Thank you Trish.

      August 31, 2014
  28. Nice collection of shots, esp the Koala and the gravel path in the afternoon sun. Asthis post says part one I am looking forward to part two.

    August 31, 2014
    • I hope you aren’t disappointed, no more animal photos Ben, but hopefully still things that are really nice.Thank you Ben, I’ve been really surprised at how popular the photo of the sun ray was, I might have to try doing more to it.

      August 31, 2014
  29. I hesitate to burden you with yet another comment, but have to tell you I just love your slanting-light image capeotway-blanketbay 4. Simply spectacular! -Gary

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Gary, comments are never burdens, especially when they are as nice as this one. I really just threw that image in, I think I might have to see if I can make it even better.

      August 31, 2014
  30. Leanne,
    This is my favorite blog that you’ve had in a long time – possibly ever! I love the koalas and nature shots. Thanks So much!!

    August 31, 2014
    • That is fantastic to hear Sheila, the wildlife here is pretty amazing. Thank you too.

      August 31, 2014
  31. Wonderful shots, Leanne! The koala has a fascinating expression.

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you, yeah the Koalas look drunk, LOL

      August 31, 2014
  32. I am part of koala ‘territory’ here, so get them regularly “in the wild” where I live…. especially during breeding season!! Apollo Bay is great – used to go there often in a past life – nice to see some pics…. loved the sunset images too 🙂

    September 1, 2014
    • That must be amazing to have them around you. I was the same, it was part of a past life, but I loved going there again, can’t wait to go back. Thank you Dawn.

      September 1, 2014
  33. LB #

    That sunlight coming through the trees in that one photo … just wonderful!

    September 1, 2014
    • Thank you LB, I’ve been surprised at how many people like it, it has been great.

      September 1, 2014
  34. Oh! The koalas!! Beyond adorable. Like the wallaby too. My favorite is the light coming through the trees. That is fantastic.

    September 1, 2014
    • We drove really close to them when you were here, if I had known how close, we could have stopped to see if we could’ve found some. Thanks Nia, I think that has been many people’s favourite.

      September 1, 2014
  35. I love the koala shots….my aunt from Australia gave me a koala bear when I was three…but that wallaby has stolen my heart…..so cute with his floppy ear 🙂

    September 1, 2014
    • Thank you Seonaid, the Koalas were so good to see. The wallabys get a bit of a bum wrap, always overlooked for the Koalas and kangeroos. 🙂

      September 1, 2014
  36. Unanimously voted – sunlit forest is the favourite here.

    September 1, 2014
    • I think so too Paula, thank you.

      September 1, 2014
  37. aaah what a cute looking Koala

    September 2, 2014
    • I know, they are so very cute, the first one was the best and we spent so much time there with it. It was like it was as curious about us as we were about him/her.

      September 3, 2014
  38. From what I remember, wallabies are much smaller than kangaroos. The shape of the head is different as well (I think the kangaroo’s mouth is more elongated). So it sure does look like a wallaby. And the golden light on the road really is stunning. It would have been a pity not to stop 🙂

    September 3, 2014
    • I can never tell the difference, I know what kangaroos look like, but I can never tell if little ones are just baby kangaroos or wallabies, so that is good to know, I thought it was one. It would have been a great pity, love it when you can catch the light like that. Thanks for the identifying help.

      September 4, 2014
      • I suppose a baby kangaroo wouldn’t wander alone either. I think their pelt has different tones, but I wouldn’t be able to tell exactly at that point :).

        September 4, 2014
      • That is pretty much what I thought too, the way it just stood there and stared, it wasn’t young. 🙂

        September 4, 2014
  39. Lovely photos of great subjects 🙂

    September 16, 2014
  40. Really enjoy your work! And I’m eager to check out your learning photography tab!

    October 19, 2014
    • I hope you find some help. Thanks

      October 19, 2014
  41. Nice shots!

    November 29, 2014

Comments are closed.

