Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Apollo Bay Part 2

apollo-bay-sunrise-harbour-boats-4

One of the plans we had had for Apollo Bay was to go to a particular area to take photos of the night skies, but with fog rolling in each day we were there it didn’t seem possible.  Photographing the sunrise also seemed like it would be impossible and so we headed out very early thinking we would photograph the harbour surrounded by fog, but as we got to the harbour we were confronted with something else.

apollo-bay-sunrise-harbour-boats-3

The most glorious sunrise.  It was completely unexpected, and the colours were just amazing.  So it wasn’t quite this brilliant, and there is a fair bit of creative license here.

apollo-bay-sunrise-harbour-boats-1This was more the start of it, but you have to have a good shot to start with don’t you?  It just kept getting better and better.

apollo-bay-sunrise-ocean-water-2

I also had a play with my neutral density filter.  For those that read my other blog from my website will know how much trouble I have had trying to work that out.  It was good to get it working and to get some shots I could actually use.  I tried not to get too carried away with it.

apollo-bay-sunrise-rocks-beach-1

The following morning we headed out again, hoping for another great sunrise, but it wasn’t too be.  There was one, but there weren’t enough clouds, so we didn’t get those brilliant colours.  We picked an area of beach with lots of rocks, and the water was making some great patterns in the sand.

apollo-bay-sunrise-rocks-beach-4

I just kept looking for them, I really liked them so much, and as I’m sure you have guessed there will be so many more in the gallery, well a few more.

Apollo Bay was great, none of the plans we had really worked out, and we had to rethink some things.  The weather, while fantastic, wasn’t really great for photography, so decided to do what Moose Peterson says to do and we scouted out places that we can go back too.  That doesn’t mean we didn’t take photos, but they weren’t all great.  Apollo Bay is a lot closer to Melbourne than I thought, with it being just over 2 and half hours away, it is a place that I can go to on a fairly regular basis.  The one thing we realised while we were there was that there are so many great places around there to take photos, and instead of trying to work out what to photograph, it became more about what we would leave until the next time. There really was too much to do.

I just want to give a nod to the place we stayed, Beeches by the Sea. The price was great, and we were a bit worried, but it was fantastic, it was so clean, and the sheets on the beds were like silk. I loved the beds. So if you are going to Apollo Bay, give them a call and see if they have any places available.  We had the 2 bedroom unit and it was perfect for us.  The little surprises left for us was a great touch as well, so thank you.

I am going to put some more sunrise photos in a gallery for you.  I still have lots of others, but not sure when I will show those.  It was great to come away from a couple of days away with so many photos.  So many that I don’t know what to do with them all. Hope your weekend is going well.

105 Comments
  1. The sunrises are totally fabulous, Leanne, but I have to say, your start point is to me the loveliest of all 🙂

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you, we were so surprised and so pleased, I love it when you go to take photos and something glorious like that happens. 😀

      August 31, 2014
  2. leecleland #

    Looks like a great place to go, Leanne. Love what you did with the sunrise at the boat harbour and those sand shots look like landscapes taken from on high, really great stuff.

    August 31, 2014
    • It is Lee, a great place and so close to so many other things as well. We couldn’t believe how many things there were to do there. Thank you Lee, love what you said about the sand shots, interesting.

      August 31, 2014
      • These shots are beautiful Leanne.

        August 31, 2014
      • Thank you Colline.

        August 31, 2014
  3. These are great. Really like the BW panorama

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Luis, it looks good in monochrome.

      August 31, 2014
  4. Okay, I saw the crab pots and thought “Yep. I’ve got photos of them” and then I found THE BOAT!! lol It’s so cool that it is still there. 🙂

    August 31, 2014
    • I went looking for that boat, half expecting to find it sunk in the water, but no, there is was floating. Though I couldn’t quite remember what colour you said it was, but took a guess as all the other boats were white or silver. So glad I found it, it feels like we have a connection there now Suz, okay I don’t know what I’m saying. LOL 😉

      August 31, 2014
      • I loved the boat. When I saw it the first time it was tied up near another boat that was white with orange insides. I was taken by the colour which is why I took so many photos of it. lol
        Nah… you can ramble all you like. I’m just so happy to see it is still there 5 years later. 🙂

        August 31, 2014
      • I don’t think I was quite as taken with it as you, possibly because of the sunrise happening in front of us, LOL, but I did like the way those little boats just floated there in the water. I don’t think the one with the orange sides is still there though. Thanks Suz, I can ramble on sometimes. 😉

        August 31, 2014
  5. Lovely series. I think my favorite is the Apollo Bay Sunrise Ocean Water in color. Beautiful!

    August 31, 2014
    • My long exposure, I wish I had done more of those now, but I was having trouble, so I didn’t want to waste too much time on them. Thank you fiebs.

      August 31, 2014
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    It looks to me like a successful day of it. The images are breathtaking, my favorites are the fire-lit sunrise, the single boats and those crab pots. The images with fog and the water, to me, look as if they are on another planet. A friend recently asked me the three places I long to see and Australia is my second choice with Sea Level, NC being #1 and Alaska being #3. What a lovely dream. I just wanted to say that mentioning the Beeches by the Sea is grand of you. 🙂

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, it was a couple of great mornings. The rocks were good, I love the sand sculptures. I’m so glad you said Australia, it is quite a place, I would love to get to Alaska one day too, I don’t know the other place.

      August 31, 2014
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        The other place, Sea Level, is on the coast of North Carolina. It is a small, mostly fishing village that is quiet and lovely. My little brother lives there and I don’t get to see him enough. Sea Level is truly at sea level so that every hurricane or storm floods the area. Sea Level is near where I spent summers on Cedar Island.

        August 31, 2014
      • Places like that can be so interesting Jackie, I hope you get there soon, take some photos.

        August 31, 2014
  7. These are really lovely images Leanne. You’ve almost convinced me to leave my bed and get out early.

    August 31, 2014
    • It can be worth it Maxine, but sometimes, well, sometimes you make the effort and it so wasn’t worth it. I usually get up early anyway and then I look out the window to see if there is a chance of one, and then I decide whether to go out or not. Thanks Maxine.

      August 31, 2014
  8. Reblogged this on ARTE, SIMPLESMENTE….

    August 31, 2014
  9. I wish I’d known about this place when I was making frequent visits down there. Many lovely shots, but the one that really pulls me in is your sunrise-rocks-beach-2. My eye is drawn slowly, repeatedly, and inexorably along the rivulet, and my feet long to follow.

    August 31, 2014
    • It is a great place to visit, if you ever get another chance, you should go. I love how you have described your reaction to the image, thank you so much for that.

      August 31, 2014
  10. OH!! Leanne!! These are gorgeous! The ones of the sunrise are my favorite too. Did you use HDR with these photos because if not the clarity is something I am just speechless over. Thank for you posting this. Sometimes it is the surprises that turn out best … something we just were not expecting that makes our jaws drop. Darn if I wish I were not there to have seen what your eyes saw!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, no they aren’t HDR’s, I have been trying some new things, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Usually when I post photos for the WW I do things in a basic way, but I really wanted to do more with these, so I spent hours yesterday working on them, and it is so good to see that the time I spent on them was worth it, thank you. The surprises can be so amazing Amy, I love it when that happens to, we just couldn’t believe our luck, we always seem to luck out with sunrises and sunsets, but this one made up for it. Thank you so much Amy. 😀

      August 31, 2014
      • You are welcome, Leanne, and whatever “new” you are doing is incredible!!! Your photographs are just amazing!!!! xx Amy

        August 31, 2014
      • Thanks Amy, still not totally sure what I am doing, but I do love learning new things.

        August 31, 2014
  11. so beautiful pictures Leanne. I hope or wish one day I will be able to take similar quality photos, as yours!

    August 31, 2014
    • I’m sure you will Andrea, it is all practice and passion, I am very passionate, or obsessed my husband would say, about photography, and I just keep trying things and doing things.
      Thank you so much, and good luck, keep going.

      August 31, 2014
  12. Oh Leanne, what a sight to start my day! Glorious colours in each shot and even more so when you look at the entire striking gallery. Chris

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, it was a great start to our day, made getting out early so worth it.

      August 31, 2014
  13. Beautiful shots, Leanne. I’m envious!!!!

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Cate, it was a lot of luck, getting that sunrise, doesn’t happen for me very often.

      August 31, 2014
  14. Amy #

    Glorious scenes via your lens! Take my breath away. Thank you, Leanne!

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, that is wonderful to hear, it is good when it happens really well.

      August 31, 2014
  15. Just a lovely gallery Leanne. And what a beautiful country you inhabit! Thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

    August 31, 2014
    • I think so too, Australia has an endless amount of places to go and take photos, I love finding new places and going back to older places to see what else I can do. Thank you. 😀

      August 31, 2014
  16. These are all very pretty, Leanne. It is so nice that you get out and shoot on the weekends.

    August 31, 2014
    • It is good Pam, the blog really drives me to do it as well. Thank you.

      August 31, 2014
  17. superb photos and works

    August 31, 2014
  18. Such a rich vein of images, Leanne. Wonderful.

    August 31, 2014
    • Like the veins in the sand, thank you Andrew,

      August 31, 2014
  19. Suzanne #

    Those photos of the boats at sunset look like abstract paintings. The masts and their reflections look like dribbled paint. What a great effect.

    August 31, 2014
    • I like the way you have described them Suzanne, thank you.

      August 31, 2014
  20. You have captured beautifully all of those stunning colours and delightful textures.

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you papict, it was a couple of good mornings for photography.

      August 31, 2014
  21. beautiful!

    August 31, 2014
  22. Stunning, stunning, stunning 🙂

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you x 3, 😀 😀 😀

      August 31, 2014
  23. Glorious sunrise, Leanne. The colours are simply stunning and the cloud cover just added texture to it all. Good to hear that you’ve found another great location to photograph – it sounds like endless fun wandering around and figuring out what you can do and what you can’t. Love your weekend wanderings as usual, and hope you had a good weekend. Been a busy week for me, going back to work and the weekend has just zipped by.

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Mabel, it was a great sunrise, I don’t see many of these. Apollo Bay is amazing, you could spend a week or two there taking photos. I can’t believe you are back at work already, seems like you just stopped, hope the job is more interesting.

      August 31, 2014
      • I hope you see many more great sunsets, and sunrises too. Summer is coming up, maybe you’ll have better luck in the coming months. It’s great that the weather is picking up, though this week it’s supposed to turn nasty again.

        Time flies. Returned to an old job, better than the other job. I bought a new laptop while on my break. It’s a Windows and it comes with photoshop elements. So glad I didn’t have to get a Mac.

        August 31, 2014
      • I hope so too Mabel, more sunsets would be nice. Oh yes, it is good to be seeing the weather finally getting better, I hope it is a good sign.
        That sounds great, new computers are always good, did you get a great colour?

        August 31, 2014
      • More clear days to come, hopefully. Which would mean more for us to be outdoors. Today was just lovely in the city, looking that way too next weekend.

        My new laptop is silver, not too fussed about it. Excited to try out the new software 🙂

        August 31, 2014
      • Yes, more outdoors and not much rain, that has to be good, but I’m not looking forward to summer, could be a horror.
        I’m a bit the same about things like that, it doesn’t really matter. I bet you are, it is great getting new things, though with software can also be very frustrating.

        September 1, 2014
  24. Wonderful images Leanne!

    August 31, 2014
  25. Looks like you had some fun, Leanne! And great sunrises….

    August 31, 2014
    • I did Sue, lots of fun. Thank you.

      August 31, 2014
  26. These are gorgeous leanne. The ones of the boats with the lovely orange sky are my favourites! Stunning! Thanks for sharing 😊

    August 31, 2014
    • Thank you Sabrina, those images are pretty amazing, I loved that sky. Wish I could see skies like that more often.

      August 31, 2014
      • Oh yes that sky is amazing! Me too, it’s not often you get a nice sky like that. We were driving home the other night and the sun was setting, the sky was absolutely gorgeous, lovely and orange, and the sun was just a bright orange ball in the sky! I was so gutted I didn’t have my camera with me. By the time I could get home and pick up my camera the sun had gone down.But I will have plenty of times to try. Hope your having a good day!

        August 31, 2014
      • Oh that has happened to me so many times too, it is just horrible when it happens, at least we know there will be others. I also hate it when you think all the elements are right for the perfect sunset, or sunrise, you go out and there are either no clouds to give the brilliant colour, or too many clouds and the colours can’t get through.

        August 31, 2014
  27. Beautiful!

    August 31, 2014
  28. Well I first looked at your blog last evening but decided I wanted to spend more time looking at these wonderful shots. Its amazing how the harbour looks so much more interesting. I really must try to walk to the sea and get some evening shots.

    August 31, 2014
    • It is great when you can get colours like that, I love it, I hope you can get some Diana, thank you so much.

      August 31, 2014
  29. One word………: WOW!!! 🙂

    August 31, 2014
  30. Great job with the ND filter, especially the color shot. The soft colors are perfect with the silken quality of the water.

    August 31, 2014
    • Thanks Robin, I figure if I just keep trying, I will work it out eventually. It is quite a learning curve.

      September 1, 2014
  31. All of these are stunning Leanne! I do love the neutral density filter so am glad you got that to cooperate for you.

    September 1, 2014
    • Thank you Keli, I’m glad too, I think I still need a lot of practice, but glad that I am on the right track now.

      September 1, 2014
  32. I read both blogs. A few technical points. Using an ND filter is all math. A ND400 filter gives you a nine stop variance. You compensate by exposing longer. So, something like 250 @ f5.6 becomes 2 seconds @ f5.6, which might not be slow enough to make the misty kinds of pictures most people want. So you end up using something like f16 or f22 to make a really slow shutter speed. The equivalent correct exposure a slow shutter speed would be 16 secs @ f22.

    A gross underexposure while you are using an ND filter gives you all kinds of storage results, not the least being a magenta shift in the shadows that you experienced. That is an issue exacerbated by the quality of the glass. A slightly better underexposure will leave the file looking muddy and brownish.

    Hope some of that helps.

    September 1, 2014
    • Great points Ray, I’m slowly working it out, though, I did manage to get some nice images in the end. I think it will take a lot of practice. Nothing like something new to push you.
      Do you think you could leave this on the blog, it would be great to have it there, where I did the post on it?
      Thanks Ray.

      September 1, 2014
      • Hi. Of course you can leave it on the blog. Absolutely.

        The biggest challenge — for me anyway — is to remember that you really have to manually meter using ND filters. I’m not sure that a camera’s light meter can ever really “see” through an ND filter properly.

        September 1, 2014
      • Once I realised I had to close off the eye piece, I let the camera meter, and it did a great job. Though sometimes I had to over expose, but most I didn’t, it was really good.

        September 1, 2014
      • Why did you have to close the eye piece? You normally only do that with something infrared. How ere you focusing and composing?

        September 1, 2014
      • Because everything I read said to cover it to stop light coming through, and it did stop it and I got much better photos when I did. I focus the photo, then close the shutter on it. I have a shutter on the eye piece to close it.

        September 1, 2014
  33. Nice photos, ND filters are super fun but as you have found out have some strange things going on with them.

    September 1, 2014
    • Thanks Ben, oh yes, some very strange things, it never occurred to me that it would be that hard, oh well, I’ve learned now.

      September 1, 2014
  34. Dreamy with the fog rolling in! My cousin posted a couple of photos of Melbourne in the fog on FB the other day. She said the visibility was dreadful!

    September 1, 2014
    • I think I missed that, I think it happened on the day we went to Apollo Bay, someone else said the fog was bad, would be just my luck, LOL. Thanks Sarah.

      September 1, 2014
      • Typical!! Just like me trying to get photos of lightning but never being in the right place. Mind you, I think it was soooooo thick you’d have had a hard time photographing anything 😉 Ceci’s pics were literally just fog!

        September 1, 2014
      • Yes, exactly, I think that is why I was shocked about the sunrise, probably because I wasn’t expecting it. If I go out thinking I will get a sunrise, I don’t get anything. So annoying. I’ve wanted fog like that, it could be really amazing, just seeing things faded merging with the fog, one day.

        September 1, 2014
      • My favourite saying seems to be “one day” 😉 If I could have just one of my one-day wishes I think it would be to see a tiger in the wild!

        September 1, 2014
      • Sounds just like me Sarah, one day, one day I will get an amazing sunrise or sunset, one day. I know what you mean. LOL. I don’t know what my ultimate one day would be, might have to think about it. 😀

        September 1, 2014
      • I might put it on a t-shirt 😉

        September 2, 2014
      • I might have to get one too, one day, 😉

        September 2, 2014
  35. LB #

    oh wow … you sure know how to show mother nature’s beauty!

    September 1, 2014
  36. Gorgeous! Mix can imagine your sifting through all the photos to select these. I love the sky colors and also the lines created in the way you composed the ones with the sand. Lovely!

    September 1, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I had a lot to choose from, so it was hard working out which to use. I loved the lines in the sand, I couldn’t stop taking photos of them in the end.

      September 1, 2014
  37. All your work is great, Leanne, but these are especially stunning. The colors and the composition on all are amazing. Great job!

    September 1, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you, that is wonderful.

      September 1, 2014
  38. I think this is one of my favorite galleries in your body of work. Serene.

    September 3, 2014
    • That is fantastic Elen, thank you so much, I like that word Serene.

      September 3, 2014
  39. A magnificent gallery, Leanne

    September 4, 2014
    • Thank you Andy, it was a great place for photography.

      September 4, 2014
  40. Gorgeous, gorgeous photos Leanne. Will definitely have to try and get back to Apollo Bay one day.

    September 9, 2014
    • Oh yes, Ardy, and if you go let me know, maybe I can met you there. It is such a beautiful spot. Thank you.

      September 9, 2014
  41. amy #

    WOW. Love ’em!

    September 9, 2014

Comments are closed.

