Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

This last week has been so crazy, that I am not sure I have a lot to tell you. I suppose there is always going to be weeks like that.  I feel like I am just in a no go zone right now.  It has been so quiet, with no classes and people not wanting to do any classes with me, I’m trying not to take it to heart, and am hoping it is more about the weather and as the weather improves the inquiries will start.

Planning Trips and Workshops

I am planning my next trip to Woomelang and am hoping to run another workshop there on night time photography.  It would be great to actually do a class in Woomelang, perhaps around the shearing shed and silos.  There are so many things around there that would be interesting, and of course we can also try some light painting as well, which would be great fun.  I need to get some details put together and a poster.  At this stage I’m thinking of Wednesday the 24th for the scharrietville-9002workshop. The cost will be $30 per person.

I will also be doing a workshop in Swan Hill, well the lakes between Swan Hill and Kerang.  It is going to start in the afternoon, with some landscape photography, then onto the sunset, hopefully we will get one.  Then off for dinner and back to take photos of the night skies and some more light paintings, should be fun.  Ten places available, so if you live in the area, and want to do some photography with me, let me know.  The cost will be $50 per person.

My Blogs

I love doing this blog, and I love where it has gone just lately and it has been great to hear how much everyone loves some of the posts.  I do enjoy hearing how people are connecting with one scharrietville-9031another through MM, it is fantastic.  However, on the other side of this, I find showing more artistic work is not really possible.  I also find that I would like do more posts on frustrations and me learning what to do or how to do some things.

A decision had to be made and if you are interested in that sort of thing more, then I suggest you keep on eye out on the News Blog on my website, or maybe I should call it my art blog.  I have done various posts on different things, such as today how I found it hard to photograph the rainforests that I visited in Apollo Bay.  If you would like to check it out, here is the link.

Flickr and other Social Media

Last week I told you how I had started a Flickr account and a few of you stated how, though there were too many things, and I thought I might talk about what I do or what I use.

So, why did I start Flickr?  Well because I have had so many scharrietville-9024people telling me how they have got work from it.  It can’t hurt and it means that I also have a nice portfolio of images that I can send people to to look at if they want to see some of my work.  It is one thing about the blog that I find is hard, there are images all over the place, so how do people actually see them?  It seemed like a good way of doing it. So Flickr was started.

There are other sites like it, such at SmugMug where you have to pay to use it.  I decided it wasn’t for me, as I have a photocart which I have already paid for, and I should update it and get it sorted scharrietville-8729to showcase my work as well. Though, the downside is that the only people who will look at it are those that know about my work.

Then there is also 500px, I started using it, but it is designed by photographers for photographers, which is great for showing off your work, but if you are trying to get attention from outside the photographic world, is it really of any use?  There also seems to be something about having to put time in there, you have to like work to get people to like yours. There is only so much time to spend on social media and I am not sure 500px is for me.  I might try it some more, but not right now.

Facebook is something that seems to be a must, I do use my page a lot, and use it to try out images, and make announcements, it is good for that.  I also do Google+, though I have to admit my reasons for G+ is to help with my SEO.  I have scharrietville-8757-2read, several times that putting images on G+ and using it, helps with your rating, so I want to improve that as much as I can.  I actually quite enjoy it and find many of the images on it quite inspiring.

I will leave it there this week, hopefully more happens this coming week.  I’ve been learning some new things and so I thought it would be nice to look at some old photos that I took in Harrietville last year.  If you haven’t seen them before, I hope you enjoy them, and if you have seen them before, then I hope you enjoy seeing them again.

100 Comments
  1. These are outstanding!!! Have you used luminosity masks on some of these? Seriously…I ADORE THESE!!! 😀

    September 2, 2014
    • No, I didn’t know about them when I did these images. You know I can’t even remember how I did them, too long ago. Thank you Laura, 😀

      September 2, 2014
  2. Reblogged this on ARTE, SIMPLESMENTE….

    September 2, 2014
  3. I wish you lived stateside so I could take some of your classes… 😦

    September 2, 2014
    • Wouldn’t that be fantastic, maybe I will teach a workshop there one day. 😉

      September 2, 2014
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I love the light in and around the water! You take care of the tech talk and I am content to watch the movement of the water over the stones. I especially like the one with leaves that are near the edge. These are all great, Leanne. 🙂

    September 2, 2014
    • I’m fine with that Jackie, thank you, it is a great place for taking photos, it wasn’t so pretty at the time because they had had a massive flood there, but I would like to go back some time and try again, especially with the new knowledge I have now.

      September 2, 2014
  5. would love to get to one of your workshops some time!

    September 2, 2014
    • That would be great, I hope you can, thanks Esse.

      September 2, 2014
  6. It does get a bit overwhelming trying to decide where to spend your time on social media doesn’t it. For what it’s worth I like 500px as a great place to get inspiration. It’s easy to find great photographers and like and favourite other photos on the flow, and more often then not there is exif data on how the image was taken which helps us learn.
    Facebook is great if you are willing to be posting everyday and spending a lot of time liking and commenting on other peoples pages but it can be a bit hit and miss for quality photography. I often find myself surprised by which photos get lots of likes and which don’t.
    We haven’t tried flickr and google plus yet, but there is still plenty of time for that. 🙂
    -Dee

    September 2, 2014
    • It can be, I think it also depends on what you are using it for. I agree 500px has lots of great images, people only put up their best work, which is nice. I’ve noticed flickr does the same thing with exif data, so if you look at my images there, the information is there as well.
      I don’t do much on Facebook anymore, I just do things for my page, that is about it. I do spend a bit of time on G+ liking things, though for very different reasons. It is best to work out what works for you and go with that. Thanks Dee.

      September 2, 2014
  7. Reblogged this on Crash Course.

    September 2, 2014
  8. The photos are great and I also appreciate your observations about social media. I’m thinking about all these things too! I hope work picks up for you.

    September 2, 2014
    • Thanks Nia, there is a lot to think about, too much sometimes, and too many things out there to consider.

      September 2, 2014
  9. Gorgeous water photos! I bought a zenfolio account, but still need to set it up for photography business.

    September 2, 2014
    • Do you have to pay for those? I am trying to avoid ones I have to pay for. My husband said about smugmug, that people are making a lot of money from, he meant the people you pay to use it. I wouldn’t pay for something in the hopes of selling images, I have pretty much given up on that. I am more interested in just getting my work out there and hoping that people see it. Thanks Em.

      September 2, 2014
      • Yes, Zenfolio is one you have to pay for. It is about $30 a year for the basic package. I did get a few dollars off because a friend of mine referred me so that was nice! 🙂 I’ve heard of smugmug, but don’t know anything about it. I got the Zenfolio account more for the business end of things – to have a website on related to blogging or facebook…if that makes sense.

        September 3, 2014
      • I have a website, so that is probably enough, I can understand why some of these sites are good, especially if you need a website, probably a cheaper way of getting it as well.

        September 3, 2014
  10. Hi Leanne, a couple of comments; I think the end of August is difficult to get things moving. At least here in Canada people seem to be finishing off summer holidays. School and new projects as well as clubs and classes seem to get started again in September. Everyone seems a little slow right now!
    I have been on Flickr for a while, even before I started to blog, on G+, and Facebook, and it all seems like a lot to juggle, to tell you the truth I am not sure if getting it all right either, but it is a learning experience. Is it helpful to have lots of connections, I am still trying to figure out if following everyone everywhere is helping or just eating up my time!
    Good luck with your workshops. I am sure things will get busier again!

    September 2, 2014
    • I think it is hard here too, end of winter, the weather still not great. Interesting that the same thing happens there too.
      I know what you mean about following everyone. I decided to do flickr, but I just want to put my images up there and hope that when people search for things, that mine come up. Really, that is where I want to go. I am not that sure that connecting with other photographers is helpful, good fun, and I enjoy it, but if you want to be successful, I think you have to think outside that. I enjoy the friendships I’ve made, but other photographers are not going to hire me, or want to take classes with me, so I have to work out how to get to those beyond that. That is what I’m attempting to do now.
      Thanks Janice, I’m sure they will too, just frustrating sitting around not doing much. I’ve been doing lots of online courses, that’s been really good.

      September 2, 2014
  11. These are really exceptionally beautiful, too, Leanne. I love that “silky” water look. The colors are wonderful as well!

    If I lived closer, I would come and do some classes with you!

    September 2, 2014
    • Thank you, they were a great set of photos, I had forgotten about them.
      That is so nice of you to say. Hopefully I will be getting lots of inquiries soon.

      September 2, 2014
  12. I haven’t tried Flickr yet, I would love to hear what you think in a couple weeks. I decided to try Shopify, and made a store there a few days ago http://equine-photography-art.myshopify.com. Haven’t decided what I think yet, I need to learn more about how it works first. It’s aways an interesting challenge to get your work out there. Never gets boring 😉

    I love following your blog and looking at your beautiful photos!
    /Maria

    September 2, 2014
    • There are so many things out there now, it is hard to know what to use. I do like flickr, though, I’m not doing the social thing. I don’t want to spend hours on it looking at other peoples work and hoping they will like mine too, what happens happens. I set it up more as a portfolio, which I like, and will continue to add work to it for that reason. You’re right, it never get boring.
      Thank you Maria, that is great to hear, I hope you continue to enjoy my blog. 😀

      September 2, 2014
  13. Wow your work is amazing! I wish I had a 10th of your talent. I would absolutely love to take a class with you, but I think we are on opposite sides of the world. Thank you for sharing your time and talent with all of us.

    September 2, 2014
    • That has been a big problem all the people who love my work live on the other side of the world, and those around me, don’t know me. Haha. oh well, I just need to keep trying and getting my work out there. I’m sure eventually things will pick up.
      You’re very welcome, it is great to know that people enjoy it, it really does give me the drive to keep going.

      September 2, 2014
  14. Reblogged this on Two Cats and a Book and commented:
    I am in awe of this woman’s nature photography.

    September 2, 2014
  15. Your images show your devotion to Mother Nature. All are filled with such energy. Would you at some point discuss more about Google +. I do not use any other social media, and am considering Google +. But I feel swamped already with WP. I’d appreciate a more in-depth analysis. Thanks.

    September 2, 2014
    • It is funny Sally, I never would have thought of myself as a nature photographer, but it does seem to be something that I am doing more and more these day. Send me an email Sally, would be happy to talk to you about google+. Thanks

      September 2, 2014
  16. I did enjoy seeing them again.

    September 2, 2014
    • That’s wonderful, thank you Tootle, is it okay to call you that?

      September 2, 2014
  17. Beautiful river set ….love the dreamy nature of the water. Sometimes I wish I lived in Melbourne. I would love to do one of your workshops : )) You have a great eye!

    September 2, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say Trees, thank you for that. I love water when it looks like this too, I would love to go back and do some more.

      September 2, 2014
  18. Absolutely magnificent, breathtakingly beautiful!!!

    September 2, 2014
  19. nice long exposures Leanne

    September 2, 2014
    • Thank you Christine, have you been up there to take photos?

      September 2, 2014
  20. I’ve noticed that social media eats into my creative time so I’m more disciplined in my approach now. By blogging every day you invest a lot of time already, Leanne. It is very hard to get the balance right. Just reading blogs and responding takes hours a week, let alone writing a couple of posts a week, as I do. I never got my head around G+ and am mostly bored with Facebook. I tried Tumblr, but again, need to find another way to use it so that it is not so time consuming. I’m not really a Twitter person as I don’t like tweeting all my thoughts and actions, and find that chit chatting with others takes a lot of time. Soooo…These days I like to subscribe to blogs, write my own, and use Instagram for inspiration, occasionally Facebook for family.

    September 2, 2014
    • That is so true, it can Ardy, you could spend all day on it, I think you have hit the mark, you have to do what works for you. I don’t really do much in many things to try and get followers and such, but I will do different things for different reasons. I do G+ in the hopes that it will help my images come up in google searches, which has started happening. So that has been worth it, I do Facebook more to let people see what I’m doing and to show images and gauge reaction. I don’t look at much on anyone’s page. My aim with many of my social media outlets is to help get my images out there, making friends is nice, but I want to get work and such from my work, so that is my goal right now. I think finding the balance that works for you is really good, thanks Ardy.

      September 2, 2014
  21. Amy #

    You are taking nature photography to new heights, Leanne! Breathtaking!

    September 2, 2014
    • What a beautiful thing to say Amy, thank you so much.

      September 2, 2014
  22. I’ve been using both Flickr and WordPress since the very early days of both (2004) and while Flickr has had its ups and downs (with Yahoo taking over) it has remained an extremely useful place to both host images and get the support of a like-minded community.

    It takes a while to learn its ins and outs but no doubt you’ll get it in time. You’re welcome to get in touch with me and I’ll be happy to help if you need it.

    One has to be careful in balancing social networking (popularity) with creative work. I did some thinking and writing about that in the early days of flickr (long before Facebook and Twitter). You might find it useful: http://rwanderman.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/flickr-explore/

    September 2, 2014
    • Wow, that’s a long time, I’ve only been here for almost 4 years, and on Flickr about 2 weeks. I like how the latter shows your images, and I’m looking forward to putting more on there.
      I can understand that. I want to say yes, I will email you, but I probably won’t get around to it, I seem to be really stretched for time right now. If I remember and have some time I will.
      Thanks for the link, I’m sure others will find it useful.

      September 2, 2014
  23. Love how smooth looking the water is – nice set

    September 2, 2014
    • Thank you Nora, I love getting water to look like that.

      September 2, 2014
  24. Hi Leanne – I notice you have a very light watermark on your work – really discreet, but there, and following the shape of things…. I like it. How do you do this? Chris

    September 2, 2014
    • Hey Chris it is something I do for some images in Photoshop. I have a file for the watermark and when I copy it on the image I use transform, and to get it to curve use the warp. I hope that makes sense.

      September 2, 2014
  25. Very nice images and thanks for the flickr suggestion.

    September 2, 2014
    • Thanks Robert and no problem, if you join it and do it, let me know.

      September 2, 2014
      • Will do…although my head is swimming with all the media requirements that are necessary these days 🙂

        September 3, 2014
      • Tell me about it, I think the trick is to work out which ones will work best for you and do those. I use my FB page, google+ and Flickr, I have twitter, but don’t really use it. I do have instagram, but that is more fun, so use it rarely. I was trying 500px, but not sure I can be bothered, might look at it occasionally for inspiration. That’s about it for me, you could spend all your time on them. I spend most time here, and on google+. 🙂

        September 3, 2014
      • Thank you – I always value your insight and perspective on these issues.

        September 3, 2014
      • Thank you Robert, not sure I really know what I’m talking about, but I try.

        September 3, 2014
  26. I’m not a photographer, just an admirer. These pictures are pure spirit and mystery. Thank you for transporting me into another world 🙂

    September 2, 2014
    • What a fantastic comment to get, thank you so much Christine. 😀

      September 2, 2014
  27. You are right about social media. You have to be on it, but it takes a lot of time. I was wondering about instagram. I am also on Pinterest, because lots of people use it, but I don’t really do anything with it. I guess the most important thing is whatever the average person is using. I really love FB for every day stuff, and I’ve joined some FB groups, and I like those, too. I’m even liking Twitter better now. LinkedIn I used more when I was trying to spread the word for CCSS, but personally I’m not looking for jobs. It might be good for you since you are. When I was spending so much time on social media, I pretty much posted versions of the same thing on all the media’s. That helped me save some time. I’m just now getting back to being able to post from by blog. It wasn’t working for months, so that limited me tremendously.

    September 2, 2014
    • I do instagram, but I don’t use it enough, it is fun, and I like it for that, but that’s about it. I’m not on pinterest, so can’t comment on that. I have facebook and twitter, but I rarely use the latter, and do things on my FB page that I want, but not the other one. I have Linkedin but don’t really use it either, it is too hard. I am using Google+ the most and now Flickr, I like both of those. Though I use them not for the social aspect, but more to get me higher in the ratings in searches for my images. Must be like you can start all over again now Marsha. Now just work out what you want to use. I have to say this blog, keeps me busy enough at times, I can spend all day on it sometimes, just responding to comments, which is great, but doens’t leave much time for commenting on other blogs, I hardly comment on others now, not good I know, but there is only so much time. It is so good to have you back.

      September 2, 2014
      • I agree. I’ve only been posting once a week or less. That gives me more time to read others’ blogs. It’s really hard to get to new people. 😀

        September 3, 2014
      • Sounds healthy, I spend so much time on this, that it doesn’t give me a lot of time to look elsewhere, I couldn’t stop posting every day though, I enjoy that.

        September 3, 2014
      • I did too , but writing the book keeps me busy. I read and write so much, and don’t spend time taking pictures, just processing old ones. I estimate that I’ve scanned about 300 pictures, which doesn’t sound like much, but it’s 30 seconds a picture. That doesn’t include the 4 yearbooks I scanned. Then they all have to be processed, first as tiffs, then as jpegs because I’m writing on a blog so it is easier to write a caption for each picture. I am probably not very efficient.

        September 5, 2014
      • I think that can be a problem too, trying to do too much. It was part of the reason why I stopped painting and drawing, I want to give photography all my attention. It was a good decision. Scanning images is very hard work, I’ve been doing a bit of it as well. You would be surprised, it takes lots of time to do that.

        September 5, 2014
      • I don’t know that I would call it hard work, just boring. 🙂

        September 6, 2014
      • That too, LOL 😀

        September 6, 2014
  28. such an interesting post Leanne. I really don’t know how you find that time to do everything – but I’m super pleased you do. You are such a terrific source of info too. Thank you! As for your pics this week … amazing! 🙂

    September 2, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, I don’t know either, but I think I fake it alot, I really don’t spend a lot of time on social media, I don’t use it for socialising, does that make sense. This blog is often enough.

      September 2, 2014
  29. Lovely set of photos, Leanne. Like Amy said, you’re taking photography to new heights. And to new places and through a vibrant set of eyes, too. Love how the water looks so spooky and ghostly. I’m sure it looks stunning in real life. SEO is always a tricky thing, and keeping up with all of the social media platforms can be challenging. Especially if you don’t have that much time.

    Can’t believe it’s Tuesday already. Time’s flying at work 🙂 I would sign up for your classes but I really just can’t afford it at this stage, time and money-wise!

    September 2, 2014
    • thanks Mabel, lovely thing to say. The water came out really nice in these, it was that nice to look at, so it is nice that it came out in the photos as well. It is tricky, so I have tended to keep up with the ones that I think will help me with that, which is definitely g+.
      I know it is wonderful. I am having a slack week, not much on, trying to catch up on things, not having much luck though. I should be doing a poster for the workshop in Woomelang. That’s okay Mabel, I don’t expect you too.

      September 2, 2014
      • That is nice, to see the water like that with your very own eyes. Right place at the right time. It doesn’t happen too often. I’m definitely looking at being more active on social media (G+, Facebook)…then again, am very busy working and writing my book, and trying to learn how to work the new toy too.

        Slack week sounds good. It’s a bit slack at my work…which gives me time to do other things 😉 Good luck with the poster!

        September 2, 2014
      • It was nice Mabel, yes most definitely. It can be time consuming, but I think it helps if you know what you want to achieve, I have started seeing it working for me, and I hope it continues.
        I am enjoying it, taking the time to learn some new things, that can’t be bad. Poster is done and sent, now have to do another one for the other workshop. 🙂

        September 2, 2014
  30. I don’t understand how you manage, Leanne. It’s great that you do though, I really enjoy your posts! I’m just doing a bit of wordpress and find that it alone takes way too much time out of my day. I do wonder about the ‘must’ to be on a plethora of social networks for a small business. It’s easy enough to spend any amount of time to create ‘presence’ and to feel the satisfaction of having spent time to connect with the market. Do buyers of images and image services trawl social networks though? Or do they contact photographers they know or get wind of by word of mouth? Or browse stock or microstock sites?
    If anyone has found a surefire way to find where potential buyers hang out, do tell us please.

    September 2, 2014
    • LOL, I do a good job of faking it Freddy. I do put more effort into the blog than anything else, to me it is my most important tool. I have worked out ways of making things faster and really, it doesn’t take me as long as it used to. I use social media platforms that I think will help me in search engines and get me up higher when people are looking for images, and hopefully potential clients. I am realistic enough to know that it is highly unlikely that I will sell photos on the net, but I would like to find people who would use me to take photos for them. I suspect there isn’t a surefire way, it is luck I think. I don’t know, I’ve never sold anything.
      Thanks Freddy.

      September 2, 2014
  31. Another great discussion. Like you, I have the blog, G+ and Facebook which I usually check into twice a day and that takes time. I have a Flickr acct which I use as a digital dump for virtually every crap photo I take – like an online backup – which is probably not the best way to show myself well on that platform but that’s what I want to use it for. I have also recently started uploading 10 free images to Viewbug and entering their free competitions – although I don’t expect to win, I like to see which images get to the top 50, 30 and vary rarely to the top 20. And I think that is all I can cope with… Oh, I use Pinterest to keep track of interesting articles that are helpful or that I want to tuck away until I am ready for them. And that’s my 90 minute morning time allowance for surfing – time to get out of the house. Thanks for posting – interesting to know what others are trying. Have a great day.

    September 2, 2014
    • Thanks Maxine, I think it is something that is so hard to get straight answers too really, no one seems to really know. I think each has advantages and disadvantages. I haven’t heard of Viewbug, there are so many. I don’t want to pay for any, I think that is a mugs game, maybe. I like it when they are free. What you do with Flickr is interesting, though you should use it the way you want. I have to admit my main aim with most social network is to get my images to rank higher in google searches, I want to be able to get work with them, so I use what I think will help with that. Sounds like you have a good handle on it Maxine, good luck. Thanks.

      September 2, 2014
  32. I’m always really impressed by how you manage to do so much and yet keep posting so frequently. Keeping up my blog is hard enough as it is, and I don’t do any of the other things you do! The viewership and amount of likes I’ve been getting for my own blog seems to have dropped over the last month or so, and I have no idea why. It’s a little disheartening 😦

    September 2, 2014
    • I fake it a lot, I do spend a lot of time on this blog, which is the number one thing to me, but I don’t spend anywhere near that much time on other things. So today I have a trip planned for photos, so I will do things on here this morning, but won’t spend any time on anything else much today, today is about, hopefully getting some waterfalls. It does seem to be the case with WP that you have to look at other peoples blogs, very important. I still do it, but not as much as I used to. I’ve also noticed that sometimes stats drop, and you never really know why, then for no reason they pick up again. It is hard, and I know what you mean, it is like losing followers, heartbreaking.

      September 3, 2014
  33. Love the eerie and dramatic feel to these images, great shots!

    September 2, 2014
    • I love your comment about them, fantastic, thank you.

      September 3, 2014
  34. I love these water photos! If you happen to remember how you did it, try to let me know. I wish you were near here too as I’d love to take one of your classes. I’m sure business should pick up once the weather improves…. 😀

    September 3, 2014
    • I don’t think I did anything special Keli, I think they were longish exposures and that’s about it.
      Thanks for saying that, it is a shame we are all spread out around the world. 😀 Maybe I will come your way one day and do some workshops.

      September 3, 2014
  35. Very nice photos.

    With regard to social networking and photo-sharing, it depends what you want out of it. The options are many. And, it can be very time consuming in which you can spend more time on that rather than on the creative process. I think the digital camera has so changed the landscape of photography, more prefer to see an image and try to see if they could the same. If they can’t “reproduce” on their own, they screen grab an image or Pinterest it.

    September 3, 2014
    • Thank you David.
      I agree, you really have to know what you want to get from social media, what your goals are for it, and then find the right social media platforms to help with those goals. I think the same, that people want to take their own, they don’t want someone else’s images on their walls, they want their own.

      September 3, 2014
  36. I love that area around Swan Hill so I’ll be looking forward to hearing about your class and seeing some gorgeous images.

    September 3, 2014
    • That’s where I grew up, around there, so not so keen on the area, but should be good to view it through the lens of a camera.

      September 3, 2014
  37. These photos are simply stunning. 🙂

    September 3, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, would love to go back some time and see what I can get.

      September 3, 2014
      • I often have an idea in my mind but it never eventuates and I end up frustrated. There are so many times I have almost walked away from photography because what I see isn’t what I capture.

        September 4, 2014
      • Oh, I don’t think you are alone there, I have that problem too, I find the best way is to not have a clear idea, to just play around and see what you get, then decide what you want to do. I used to get so disappointed as well, but you do get used to things in your head not fitting the things from your camera, so no more talking of giving up, we just need to find a way around it.

        September 4, 2014
  38. Love those shots! Enjoyed seeing them again!!

    September 3, 2014
    • That’s great to hear Tiny, thank you.

      September 3, 2014
  39. I love the river photos. I’m planning to go shoot a couple of nearby rivers myself one of these days. Another thing: you can use images uploaded to Flickr in your posts. That way you don’t have to use the storage on WordPress.

    September 3, 2014
    • It can be great fun and you can get some great images. I might have to remember that, about Flickr, though my storage has been pretty good with WP, thanks Cardinal.

      September 3, 2014
  40. Great post Leanne…. made me think about few things actually!!

    i have a Flickr account that I havent used in ages – don’t know if I even remember the password….lol Will have to get onto it!!

    Google+ – i didn’t know about the increase SEo thing ; but it makes sense…. they want people to join so that is a lure I guess!!

    Classes in Winter are a pain…. my classes always drop in number over winter, so don’t take it personally 🙂

    Happy days 🙂

    September 3, 2014
    • That’s great Dawn, and thanks for the tops about the classes, I think this winter has been especially bad that way.
      I don’t know about Flickr, but I do like the way it displays work, so it could be could for that reason alone. though I have heard more than one photographer say they have got work because of flickr, so it can’t hurt.
      Oh yes, apparently one of the best things about g+ and the best reason to use it, I’ve started noticing it happening, which is great. I am on there more than FB now, it is also more mature, if that is a better way of putting it.
      Thanks Dawn, I hope your classes pick up too. 🙂

      September 4, 2014

Comments are closed.

