Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s – Down the Coast

As many of you are aware I got a Neutral Density filter recently, the 400+, and I’ve been trying to work out how to use it, so yesterday my daughter was keen to drive me down to the coast so I could try using it again. Have to love it when they are keen to help you.

I’m still trying to work out what I’m doing with it, but slowly things are coming together with it.  I did forget to close off the eyepiece and got the horrible magenta look again, and got the dark bit along the bottom and top again as well.  Once I closed the eye piece, I realised I could get longer exposure times, and I wouldn’t get the other problems.  It was amazing taking photos in sunlight and being able to get a 30 second exposure.  If I wanted to get a shorter time, then all I had to do was open up the aperture more.  Amazing.

I think I like the effects you get with that filter.  I am looking forward to trying it more.  Once you know how to use something and get it working the way it is meant to, or the way you think it should, the next step really is to start thinking about how else you can use it.  I think that is going to be the fun part for me.

Off again tomorrow, hopefully to try the filter with some waterfalls, that should be good too.  More driving experience for my daughter, and great for me to have company.  She almost has her hours up, so once she gets her license not sure if she’ll want to go with me anymore.  Time will tell.

I hope your Thursday is quiet too, I’m off to have lunch with a friend.  The weather here is beautiful, a good day to get out of the house.  Finally getting more sun than rain.

 

94 Comments
  1. Ahh, miss those shared times with my kids in the car, Leanne. Enjoy following your learning curve with the filter – and love seeing the results. Yet another thing to add to my wish list … 🙂

    September 4, 2014
    • I am not sure right now, I find it a bit nerve wracking, but she is a pretty good driver. thank you Stacy, it is an amazing filter, if you get one, it is one of those ones that you have to get a good one, it isn’t worth buying a cheap one, they never work properly, good to get a good quality one.

      September 4, 2014
  2. The ND filter is a wonderful tool, and it’s good of you to stress the importance of blocking ambient light from entering the viewfinder from the rear–I suspect it’s a factor that is often overlooked. My camera strap is wide enough that it is usually sufficient to do that without having to place a dedicated device over the opening. Lovely soft-motion effects, Leanne.

    September 4, 2014
    • I have to say, I am falling in love with it. I think it is important to talk about it, make people realise. That is great that your camera strap can do that, mine has a little shutter I can close. Thank you.

      September 4, 2014
  3. Great result Leanne. Look forward to seeing more 🙂

    September 4, 2014
    • Thanks Andrew, can’t wait to start experimenting and seeing what I can do with it. 😀

      September 4, 2014
  4. Those look great. I haven’t played much with filters, but I may give that one a try. Very cool effect.

    September 4, 2014
    • Thanks Marilyn, it is very cool, great how much light it blocks out. I like experimenting with it, I’m sure you will see a lot more. I think if you like the blurred water effect Marilyn definitely a good one to get, just don’t get a cheap one, you won’t get good results. It is worth getting a good quality one.

      September 4, 2014
  5. Beautiful, great composition and lines. Love your work Leanne!

    September 4, 2014
    • Thank you Andrew, I love doing this sort of photography.

      September 4, 2014
  6. Wow, great effect from the filter.

    September 4, 2014
    • It is Esse, it is really amazing, I love it, thank you.

      September 4, 2014
  7. . . . smoke on the water . . .

    September 4, 2014
  8. Good to see it all coming together 🙂 I have two daughters who are learning one of them is almost there. Driving test will be very soon that’s a great opportunity for the both of you without all crazy weekend drivers 🙂 Trethem falls could be a good one

    September 4, 2014
    • Thanks Christine. Teaching them to drive is an experience, LOL. Yes, same with my second daughter, her test will be soon, she has about another 20 hours to do, so not long. I will be glad when she has it, though I hope she will still want to come with me. There are a couple of waterfalls around Marysville, so thought we might see if we can find them. I went to Trentham Falls once, but you don’t seem to be able to get down to the bottom anymore. 🙂

      September 4, 2014
  9. stunning work and how cool a filter can work wonder to a photo….

    September 4, 2014
    • I know, it is amazing, I love it, I was shocked at how well it worked. Thank you.

      September 4, 2014
  10. Nice Pictures !

    September 4, 2014
  11. beautiful … nice pict..

    September 4, 2014
  12. Enjoy your lunch… really love this Leanne!

    September 4, 2014
    • I did enjoy it Robyn, always good catching up with friends. Thank you.

      September 4, 2014
  13. Stunning image. I’m not sure how this is done but I’ll have to Goggle it.

    September 4, 2014
    • The neutral density filter is a 9 or 10 stop one, so when you put it on the camera it blocks out a lot of light, so it is like taking photos at night, so you can get really slow shutter speeds. I hope that helps, I should do a post on it more. Would that help Tim?

      September 4, 2014
      • It does sound like a winner. Since the filters are not expensive more readers might go out buy and use them.

        September 5, 2014
      • This one is a bit expensive Tim and if you buy cheap ones all your photos come with a magenta tinge, which could be good, or if you are planning on doing them in B&W then it would matter. I think this one was around $100.

        September 5, 2014
      • I did check Amazon but did not look at the reviews. Thanks for the insight.

        September 5, 2014
      • You’re welcome Tim.

        September 5, 2014
  14. Wow! This picture is great and motivates me to go for the ND filter as well… which brand did you get in the end (I am sure you said it somewhere but I think I missed it)? Enjoy your nice day it looks like we also get one here 😉

    September 4, 2014
    • Thanks Sari, it is a great filter, I haven’t said what the filter is, I’m not happy with the company, so didn’t want to say, it an okay one, I would look at Singh-Ray filters, or Lee Filters Sari, they are both really good quality and if you want to do exposures like this you should get a good quality one. thank you, it has been a good day so far, 😉 I hope yours is the same.

      September 4, 2014
  15. Good result and thanks for the lesson x enjoy your day too x

    September 4, 2014
    • You’re welcome and thank you, I hope you have a good day too. 😀

      September 4, 2014
  16. lensaddiction #

    I have a variable ND filter,its quite cool how it gets lighter and darker as I move the top segment. GREAT for waterfalls, I took mine to the Catlins for the first time and spent ages faffing around trying to get the right shot. I wonder where it is….

    September 4, 2014
    • Haha, you will have to find it. I got one of those too, but the one I got was very cheap and nasty and gave me terrible results.

      September 4, 2014
      • lensaddiction #

        Oh mine wasnt cheap at all, it was a Hoya or Marumi I think. All my filters have disappeared out of my camera bags, I have two sizes of CP as well I need to track down!

        I didnt have the light through the eyepiece issue you did tho

        September 5, 2014
      • Then you must have a very special camera, nearly everyone I know and all the research I’ve done says you need to stop the light coming into your camera, so closing the eye piece, though it is only for ND filters which are really dark, like the 9 stop or darker. I think you should find them too, they would be expensive to replace. Thanks

        September 5, 2014
  17. Nice work with the ND – It’s always the case, you are looking for longer exposures, I’m looking for shorter exposures…We forget that with everything there is a learning curve – hopefully it is shorter the more we know, but like me, you want things to be perfect right out of the box. Looking forward to seeing more with this filter.

    September 4, 2014
    • Thanks Robert, I love learning new things, good to always be challenged. I think it is, I feel like I have a good handle on it now and feel more confident using it than I did after the first time I used it.

      September 4, 2014
  18. Hi Leanne, great whispy effects. I know nothing about this filter. Would you do a post on this? Chris

    September 4, 2014
    • Thanks Chris, it is a pretty incredible filter, if you love images like this, it is a bit of a must, but really if you are going to get one, good to get a good one.

      September 4, 2014
  19. Nelson #

    Cover the eyepiece … I will not forget that when I get my ND fadder …. thanks for the advice

    September 4, 2014
    • You’re welcome Nelson, I wish I had known it before I used it for the first time.

      September 4, 2014
  20. Looks like you are doing a great job at learning. Before too long if you use it enough it’ll become second nature to cover the eye piece. At times I don’t feel like it but know that I need to if I want my photos to turn out correctly. A couple experiments you could try with it is to use it with non-water elements to see what you come up with. On a windy day try taking a photo with an element that is stationary along with trees blowing in the wind to see what kind of effect a 20+ second shutter speed will give you. Try adding some moving clouds with longer shutter speeds. I’ve done an experiment with moving trees and clouds with stationary subjects and they turned out kind of cool. I didn’t keep the photos though because it was of nothing interesting, just kind of wanted to see how it looked. I’m wanting to try more of it but again, need to find the time. 🙂

    September 4, 2014
    • The trees wasn’t something I thought about, not sure I want to do that, but I do want to try it with the clouds and have plans for that as well. I think there could be lots of things, like the city, doing some long exposures where there are lots of people, that could be really interesting. I found that yesterday, at first I forgot, but once I remembered, I didn’t forget and each time I composed an new image I just shut the shutter on the camera, so it was becoming second nature. I just have to remember each time I use it. Thanks Justin.

      September 4, 2014
      • Something to also consider with doing long exposure with people involved is that if the people move fast enough and the shutter speed is long enough, they won’t even show up in the photo. So if you wanted to photograph something with no people, as long as they don’t stop, you’ll be able to do so and not need to take multiple photos of the subject and crop the people out.

        September 4, 2014
      • Yes, exactly Justin, that is the whole point. It could be interesting.

        September 5, 2014
      • An article you may find interesting. Might be worth getting a filter to block IR or getting the filter in the article and stacking if you want to take color long exposures. Of course it seems to only affect exposures that are long enough to allow in enough IR light to affect the photo. I guess the IR filters in the cameras aren’t as strong as we thought. http://bulbexposures.com/home/2011/10/11/nd-filter-color-cast.html

        September 4, 2014
      • I haven’t had that problem yet, could be cool to do in summer when it is really hot here. Seems the warmer it is the more it will be affected. So far no problems. I havne’t looked to see if the one I have has IR protection.

        September 5, 2014
  21. Lovely!

    September 4, 2014
  22. PLEASE TAKE ME OFF OF YOUR MAILING LIST ASAP

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    September 5, 2014
    • I have no control over the mailing list, you need to click unfollow. Or click the button that says following to make it following, if you also look at the emails you get then you will also see there is an option there for managing your subscriptions. This really wasn’t the right place to post it either.

      September 5, 2014
      • I’m so sorry! I didn’t even realize :-/ I thought it went to an inbox.

        September 5, 2014
      • No it goes to the post, that is what happens here. So now you have the information, I hope you don’t mind if I delete this.

        September 5, 2014
      • Please forgive me I wadtrying to clean 5 thousand emails today ! I didn’t even pay attention to know it was wordpress :-/

        September 5, 2014
      • All good, no problem you will have to do the unsubscribing, sorry I’ve been a pest.

        September 5, 2014
      • Oh my gosh you were not a pest at all!! I was just having one of those days.

        September 9, 2014
      • Don’t we all have those, I know how that feels, that’s good. I hope everything is good now.

        September 9, 2014
      • No more pms crazy lady!! Hahah 🙂

        September 9, 2014
      • LOL 😀

        September 9, 2014
  23. Since I’ve never heard of covering the shutter to control the (IR) magenta streaks I read a couple of experts — John Shaw among others — about it. While masking the eyepiece does help on SOME cameras (He saw it on the Nikon D800 series for the first time), he is also pretty sure that there are light leaks in the camera that the sensor picks up which have nothing to do with the eye piece, but by making everything black helps to control. (Sorry for the run on sentence). That implies that the bigger the pixel and the bigger the sensor, the more issues you’ll have since they “see” better in the dark. I guess I’ll find out. I just ordered a Sony A7S which is pretty much designed for low light photography. Let’s see if Sony sealed it well enough to prevent leaks and IR streaks.

    As far as using ND filters in the city goes, that’s pretty much how you clear a busy city street at peak pedestrian traffic hours. Anything much slower than 1/2 second turns people in ghosts. If you shoot down around 2 seconds, you’ll have an empty street.

    September 5, 2014
    • That is what I’m using Ray, the D800 and closing the eye piece does help, in fact helps a lot. I found the magenta only in the photos where I hadn’t closed the eye piece, so to me that means it is most likely that. Seemed to fix that problem and the other one I was having. I bought a cheap one a little while ago that gave me the same results, maybe I should try it again and close the eye piece on the camera as well.
      I love that idea, I can’t wait to go in and try it now, could get some great effects. What if I shot down to 30 seconds, could be even better. Yep, this weekend, I might try it.

      September 5, 2014
  24. Your pictures are lovely, as ever. Your comment about your daughter, precious. These days of driving you places will fill her memories for the rest of her life. I was 10 when my dad started (and finished pretty much finished) taking me out taking pictures with him. They are the best memories I have of my dad. 🙂

    September 5, 2014
    • Thank you Marsha, I hope she does, will see I guess. 😀

      September 5, 2014
  25. Amy #

    Fabulous shots with the Neutral Density filter, Leanne! Thank you for mentioning the filter, I’d like to give a try.

    September 5, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, it is good fun, looking forward, hopefully, to be experimenting with it again today. Oh yes, do try it, could be amazing what you can do with it, my mind is going into over drive with all the things that could be possible.

      September 5, 2014
  26. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    September 5, 2014
  27. Lovely…. sounds like so much fun working with the new filter! 😀

    September 5, 2014
    • It is Keli, always good to have new toys. Thank you. 😀

      September 5, 2014
  28. I love long exposures with water, it creates such wonderful effects, but I’ve never had the equipment for it. Can I ask what exact filter you used here?

    September 5, 2014
    • I agree, I like getting the water trying to get back to the source too. I used the ND400, it is a 9 stop neutral density filter. So it blocks out lots of light. It is quite amazing.

      September 5, 2014
  29. Absolutely stunning!

    September 5, 2014
  30. I was just discussing ND filters with Karen (kaz) yesterday. I am looking at some on eBay but not sure which direction to go in. What one do you have?

    September 5, 2014
    • Good discussion to have. Thanks Suz.
      PS you got the email I sent you.

      September 5, 2014
  31. LB #

    Having a child learning to drive or gaining experience is a great way to have them along for company. Sound like you’ve had an nice couple days – time with daughter, time with friend, time with a new piece of equipment.
    I’m too much of a novice to know how awesome that piece of equipment is 🙂 but glad all is well with you, Leanne!

    September 5, 2014
    • It is LB, I’ve had a couple of years of it now and it has been great, it will be sad when she gets her license and doesn’t want to come with me anymore, won’t be long now.
      The best thing about this LB, is that normally when you go to the beach in the middle of the day, you would not be able to get water to go blurry like that, It is always too bright, so the ND filter stops a lot of light coming through the lens, so you can get much longer shutter speeds. It is really amazing.
      Thank you.

      September 5, 2014
  32. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The best advice I ever got about any kind of technology was to play with it. That process may be slow but it works. And then there is YouTube!

    And yes, we do love it when they are keen to help. ❤

    September 5, 2014
    • It is very true Jackie, I did some more playing today, and was really good, I think I’m getting the hang of it. YouTube can be great.
      Oh yes, they weren’t so great today. Thanks Jackie.

      September 5, 2014
  33. Love what you’ve done so far with it! It has this very otherworldly feel to it.

    September 5, 2014
    • Thank you, I do like playing with it, could be interesting to see what I can get with it.

      September 5, 2014
  34. kim #

    i looooooooove it! ❤ ❤ ❤

    kim xx
    http://fullmoonthrills.wordpress.com/

    September 5, 2014
  35. Wow, that filter is cool, Leanne! I look forward to seeing more of what you do with it.

    September 7, 2014
    • It is very cool Nia, I am just starting to see the possibilities with it. I look forward to playing with it more. I was in the city with it last night. Thanks

      September 7, 2014
  36. Hi Leanne, these look pretty cool to me the effect is great it looks like smoke on the surface. I have 10 stop lee filter (big stopper), and it is just fab. I always take a piece of blue tack with me to block the eye piece, as the light does bounce off the mirror – hence the casting and added glare. Some filters have a cast anyway, but you can post edit out with the white balance – I am sure you are aware. It is best to work early morning or evening or even overcast days for the water to look blurred.
    In my recent post Cloudbusting at Surprise View (even though it was mid afternoon and very bright), I added a circular polariser after the big stopper (big stopper filter has to be the nearest to the lens), and my back was to the sun, and rules around poariser angles of 90’C. This can be awkward on the live view -sun glare (remote accesing via tablet/smartphone or a hood may well help). The exposure was 1 minute. Early mornings/evenings or on overcastdays can go for 8 minutes. I am sure you are aware to conserve battery and time – take off noise reduction – post editing, however iso100 or less are very much recommended and remove unwanted features. I look forward to more of your long exposure work!

    September 7, 2014
    • Thanks Ange, my camera has a shutter over the eye piece that you can close which works great. I have only played with it a few times, but getting there, looking forward to trying it a lot more. Not sure about the polariser with it, though have done it with other neutral density filters. I will keep playing and see what I come up, always fun.

      September 7, 2014
  37. I have posted some pictures today of me using my nd filter. I love taking pictures with it got lots to learn I think. Your picture is beautiful xx

    September 8, 2014
    • They look great, and like you, I think I still have lots to learn as well. Thank you.

      September 8, 2014

Comments are closed.

