Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Cape Otway

cape-otway-rainforest-lighthouse-ocean-21

When I was in Apollo Bay, I really wanted to see the Lighthouse at Cape Otway.  I don’t really know why, I think because we keep being told that it is a great lighthouse, though I wonder if that is so we will pay the huge price to go in and see it. I almost went and saw it once before, but didn’t quite get there.  I have to say, I don’t think I will be going again.

cape-otway-rainforest-lighthouse-ocean-17

It is a nice looking lighthouse and the people who work there are lovely, but I thought the price wasn’t really worth it.  It seemed a bit much.  They have got a lot things there for the tourist, but we weren’t that impressed.  I loved going up the lighthouse and looking at the coast from it.  The tour guy at the top was great and full of lots of great information.  We had a nice coffee at the shop, but we didn’t do anything else.  It is a shame they don’t open at night for night photography. I did send them an email to ask some questions, but never got a response, which is always disappointing.

cape-otway-rainforest-lighthouse-ocean-19

The views of the coast were really spectacular from the top of the lighthouse.  I loved being up there to see them.  I think the waters on the southern coast of Australia are just amazing.

cape-otway-rainforest-lighthouse-ocean-5

Before we went to the lighthouse we went to Mait’s Rest Rainforest Walk.  It was a small area off the Great Ocean Road that has a path through it that you can walk around. I have never really looked at rainforests before, but I think I really like them.  They are so challenging to photograph.  I have spoken about this before, how hard it is.  I was driving through one day, and I think photographing them is a challenge that I am up for.

cape-otway-rainforest-lighthouse-ocean-10

There were lots of wooden paths like the one above as well.  I suppose they are there to keep you on the track.  I like the juxtaposition of this structured path in a forest that has no real structure.

cape-otway-rainforest-lighthouse-ocean-14

One of the things you really have to look out for are the things that are almost too small to see. I think that is something I find really amazing about the rainforest, you really do have to look for the details, like the funghi, there are so many different types.  I am so used to looking at things on the whole, and I don’t spend enough time looking for details.  My friend that went away with me, was good at that, so we did see lots.  I think I would have missed a lot if she weren’t there.  I need to learn to look more closely.

I am going to leave you with a gallery now.  I have more expeditions planned this weekend.  It is great getting out several times a week to take photos, though I don’t always get very many.  I hope you have plans for the weekend to take some photos.  The weather is going to be fantastic here this weekend, might even get a couple of sunsets, that would be great.

 

92 Comments
  1. It is a nice lighthouse . . . by ‘paying for it’ do you mean entering the lighthouse, or just visiting the site. The if one has to pay just to see the outside, then id does not seem worth it.

    Liked the forest shots.

    September 6, 2014
    • Visiting the site, and going up the lighthouse, both, almost $20. I thought it was a rip off, and so not worth the money. I think $10 or $12 would have been a better price, but of course this is Australia so we have to overcharge, that is what we do best here, over charge. Thank you Disperser.

      September 6, 2014
    • . . . that does seem high . . . could you have put the money toward a nice telephoto and taken a picture of it from somewhere else along the coast?

      Just kidding, but it’s a thought.

      September 6, 2014
      • Actually it is a good thought, there are places, I think, along the coast where you could do that, I just have investigated them yet, but next time I go, I think I want to do that.

        September 6, 2014
  2. These are FANtastic shots!! You have shown me different parts of your country that I’ve never seen elsewhere. I learn from as well as enjoy looking at your posts!
    I have had the pleasure of photographing a rainforest only once, and I agreed with everything you said in this post – the details were intriguing! If you care to look, here are my posts from when I visited Olympic National Park, Washington, US:
    http://nikkiinreallife.com/2013/10/12/pnw-part-9-second-beach/
    http://nikkiinreallife.com/2013/12/11/pnw-part-12-sol-duc-falls/

    September 6, 2014
    • That is fantastic, I try to do that, as much as I can. I have started to understand, through this blog, that how many people in the rest of the world see Australia is not necessarily how it actually is.
      It is very hard to photograph and yes, little things everywhere. I will have to make sure I look more closely next time. Thank you.

      September 6, 2014
  3. I guess lighthouses are disappointing because there is not much in them. The views from it look stunning though.

    September 6, 2014
    • The views were good, and I think you are right, the other problem too, are the hours it is open, so if you want to get really good shots of it, at the perfect hours for photography, then it is closed. So it really is all about the tourists. Disappointing really. Thanks Colline.

      September 6, 2014
  4. Amy #

    The coastal views are stunning! I love how you took the photo of the paths and these beautiful trees! Thank you for the wonderful tour, Leanne!

    September 6, 2014
    • Oh thank you Amy, the views are great, but I loved the rainforest, I would like to do more of that sort of thing I think.

      September 6, 2014
  5. Beautiful photos. I love the ones with the ocean! I never saw a rainforest so close and in details and the b&w gives the shots some drama and makes the forest misterious.

    September 6, 2014
    • They are quite amazing, so many things in them, a great place to be, I think, on a hot day, you can feel the moisture in them. Thank you Andrea.

      September 6, 2014
  6. So beautiful !!!

    September 6, 2014
  7. Hi Leanne, great shots of the coast and rainforest. Lighthouses are fascinating and have a spell like attraction for us, especially when we get to visit them from our boat. Must be the mix of the sentinel and isolation. If you get a chance check out my latest post on Maatsuyker Island lighthouse, off Tasmania on http://sv-takeiteasy.com. Chris

    September 6, 2014
    • Thanks Chris, they are certainly like that, I wonder if it is because they are about warnings, and being safe, so they are a good thing. I don’t know. I had a look, looks like an amazing place.

      September 6, 2014
  8. I love lighthouses! All are such beautiful shots! I can’t decide.

    September 6, 2014
    • Thanks Laura, lighthouses are so weird, how everyone likes them, I was just saying to the comment before, how weird and trying to work out why.

      September 6, 2014
      • I’m not sure either. There are a lot of them here too. Maybe the represent a homecoming or safety of ships so it’s a goof feeling, I’m grasping at straws lol.

        September 6, 2014
      • No, I don’t think you are, I think you are spot on and it is what I think as well.

        September 6, 2014
      • Great minds….. 😀

        September 6, 2014
      • Oh yes, 😀

        September 6, 2014
  9. I enjoyed your visit even if it was at the wrong time and overpriced.

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Tootle, it was good to see it, but don’t think I will go back.

      September 6, 2014
  10. Great fresh photos of the coastline. I absolutely agree with your comments on the difficulty of shooting rainforests, you did a very good job of it though, Thanks for sharing !

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Daniel, I would like to get better, and am starting to understand what I need to do. I have a rainforest about an hour from here, somewhere to practice, I just need to work out access.

      September 6, 2014
  11. I agree that paying to see the lighthouse is a bit much. It seems you had much better weather than the day we chose to visit. However I loved it and would visit it again.
    Once again, your photos are divine. I love the ones with the shadow of the lighthouse on the surf and rocks below.

    September 6, 2014
    • I think it is nice, but it is too much money, I understand the money goes to pay for the upkeep, but they seem to have a lot of staff.
      Thank you Suz, I liked those too, I think you are the first to say anything about them.

      September 6, 2014
  12. Pat #

    Beautiful shots of the rainforest. I love lighthouses too. There’s something very appealing about them.

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Pat, it is like a safety thing, or something, it is there for our protection, I wonder if the reason people love them has something to do with that.

      September 6, 2014
  13. Spectacular! I don’t know if I like the beach or the jungle/rainforest better. The fungi may have been the best shot of all because of the rich colors in the details. Anyway, great post! 🙂

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Marsha, it is a great area, I really want to go back, not to the lighthouse, but the area around it, especially now that I have been there, it could be amazing. I wished I’d had a macro lens though, it would have worked so much better for that, oh well, one day I hope. 😀

      September 6, 2014
      • There’s always something to whet you photographic appetite. 🙂

        September 6, 2014
      • There is, which is great, I would get bored otherwise. 🙂

        September 6, 2014
  14. CSuiteMentor #

    Reblogged this on C Suite Mentor – Finesse and Finishiative and commented:
    Great pictures

    September 6, 2014
  15. I agree Leanne, many people have a different view of Australia than it actually is. It is a difficult place to showcase. We had visitors last year who were shocked at how ‘small’ Sydney harbour was!! I’ve never thought of it as small at all, but they insisted the things they had seen about it left them with an impression it is much larger. If it is small, I vote for ‘small but perfectly formed’!! Bigger is not better! Cape Nelson lighthouse was very nice, but not hugely different than Otway. The residential cottages are nearly the same, too. Lovely rainforest photos, too.

    September 6, 2014
    • It is so true, I don’t know how many times people have said to me that they have been surprised at what I have shown them that is here, especially all the lovely green countryside, so not what they would expect. That’s interesting what you’ve said about the Sydney Harbour, never been told that myself, I think its good. I think many of the light houses are very similar. I think my favourite is the one at Airey’s Inlet. Thank you.

      September 6, 2014
  16. lelahb39 #

    beautiful blues and greens! Takes me away! Thank you for sharing.

    September 6, 2014
    • That’s fantastic, thanks for letting me know.

      September 6, 2014
  17. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    You certainly use light to your advantage, Leanne. That lighthouse is absolutely stunning! The walkway for me is mesmerizing – winding and pitching. After my stroke I have to watch every step of my right foot, especially with unevenness. I never thought about rainforest and Australia in the same context but I am surprised once again. This was lovely, Leanne, I so love your work.

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, I do try. Some rainforests do have quite good paths and they aren’t bad to walk on, though you do have to go up and down, they aren’t flat. We do have quite a few here, though our government would love to cut them down. The Eastern part of Australia has lots. That is wonderful, I have some more photos from another rainforest, not sure when I will show those.

      September 6, 2014
  18. Did you ask for a 50% rebate? 😉

    September 6, 2014
  19. Leanne, it would cost me the $20 bucks, plus at least $2,400 dollars airfare to come and see your marvelous views from the lighthouse so what a deal! Thanks for sharing your photos with us. So inviting.
    I liked the book A Light Between Oceans) Read it quick before they mess it up with the movie http://books.simonandschuster.com/Light-Between-Oceans/M-L-Stedman/9781451681758)

    September 6, 2014
    • LOL, great way of putting it Ruth, so the $20 bucks would be a bargain for you, perspective. Though I would hope if you came I could show you a lot more. Thank you too, it is great that people like seeing them. I just ordered the book for the Kindle, it sounds good, thanks for the recommendation.

      September 6, 2014
  20. The money is one of those things that you kind of resent at the time, but then you have a memory, some photos and a story. Sometimes these are more valuable.

    September 6, 2014
    • I can understand that for some places, not sure I felt that way for this, it was nice, but I wouldn’t go again, I think I could get the photos I want from somewhere else, so might try that next time. Thanks.

      September 6, 2014
  21. Nice shots, especially of the rain forest.

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Ben, I do really like the rainforest I think, I really want to do more.

      September 6, 2014
  22. Yes we need our eyes open at all levels and directions so as not to miss a photo. I love doing detail shots.

    September 6, 2014
    • We do, and it is something I am learning a lot. Thanks Gypsy.

      September 6, 2014
  23. am always struck by your capture of colour and light and then you go and do it all as well with monochrome! I loved the contrasting of the maritine views with the ferny forest

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, I love hearing what people think about my work, or what they see in it, that’s fantastic.

      September 6, 2014
  24. Lovely pictures, you have a great gift for taking pictures x

    September 6, 2014
  25. Such gorgeous photographs 😀 the view on the ocean reminds of the cliffs I’ve seen in Ireland. Beautiful view on the lighthouse as well 😀

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you Klaudia, I haven’t seen the cliffs in Ireland, but I’ve seen photos so I think I know what you mean.

      September 6, 2014
  26. Your photos are fabulous as ever! Love reading about your travels in Australia!

    September 6, 2014
    • Thank you, it is always so good to hear that.

      September 6, 2014
  27. Great images. Love the second picture of the lighthouse

    September 7, 2014
    • Thank you Luis, that is wonderful.

      September 7, 2014
  28. Beautiful scenery!

    September 7, 2014
  29. love the cycads(?) and all. great photos!!

    September 7, 2014
    • What are cycads, I haven’t heard that before. Thanks Cybele.

      September 7, 2014
      • Okay just looked them up, you did spell it right and they are everywhere there. They look wonderful.

        September 7, 2014
      • cycads were fern like trees from the Cretaceous that still survive. I don’t know if those are similar or not but they do look prehistoric!! Love those jungle photos!!

        September 7, 2014
      • We call them black boys or something like that, I think they are the same thing, though the name might be referring to something else. Thanks Cybele. Bet Scotland is gorgeous.

        September 7, 2014
  30. Stunning pics Leanne … there is something about lighthouses. Love the shot of the fungi. 🙂

    September 7, 2014
    • I know what you mean, they are so popular, we have been trying to work out why. Thank you. 😀

      September 7, 2014
  31. Wow, the Ottway lighthouse pictures are incredible. You’re right, the waters there are really unique. You did a great job on the rain forest. You managed to get compositions that worked despite so much stuff.

    September 7, 2014
    • It is a shame we didn’t have time to go there when you were here, there is so much down there, oh, maybe another time when you come, we could go and stay down at Apollo Bay and visit some places. Thank you, I think I like the rainforest, I think the trick was finding a point of focus and not just clicking.

      September 7, 2014
  32. Absolutely love your photos, especially the top one!

    September 7, 2014
    • Thank you so much Judy, always good to har.

      September 7, 2014
  33. I had been visited the lighthouse in 2008. It was free at the time. I cannot believe it they charged fee for visitors now. Although, I can say the house was deteriorated and dusty when I visited it.

    September 7, 2014
    • Are you sure it was that one, I can remember having to pay about 15 years ago, though I didn’t go and look because you had to pay. There are lots of light houses down there.

      September 7, 2014
      • I am sure it was same lighthouse. I still remembered the white pedestrian path lead to lighthouse where I asked my friend to took a picture of myself.
        The wind was blowing strong from your side as you walked to the lighthouse. Freezing.
        It was memorable place as it was the place my friends and I forgot to brought hot drinks and no shops open at that time. We arrived at perfect place at wrong time.

        September 9, 2014
      • Maybe it was free for a while, I’ve just always known it to cost money.
        Sounds like it wasn’t a great visit. Oh well, you can go there now and get a hot coffee.

        September 9, 2014
  34. An incredible place and beautifully captured.

    September 8, 2014
    • Thank you, it is good when the place is already spectacular.

      September 8, 2014
  35. Absolutely stunning, lighthouses are one of my favorites!

    September 8, 2014
    • I think a lot of people feel the same way, me included, thank you.

      September 8, 2014
  36. Simon Cocking #

    Lovely pics, greener than I’d have imagined. Thanks for posting.

    September 11, 2014
    • Yes, I think many people are surprised at how green Australia can be. Thanks Simon.

      September 11, 2014
  37. You have just transported me back to 2002 when I walked in those very spots. The woodland boardwalk at Maits Rest was stunning. We kept expecting a Jurassic creature to pop out in front if us. I actually feel a really deep need to come back to Australia when I see things like this, it’s almost like a heartbreak because I know I probably never will. Thank goodness we had our adventure there while we could.

    September 23, 2014
    • That is wonderful to hear Rachael, though not good to hear that it is heartbreaking as well. I do hope you get another chance one day to come back. There is so much to see here. I loved Maits Rest and will go back there the next time I go to Apollo Bay. Thank you so much Rachael, lovely to hear your experience.

      September 23, 2014
  38. Beautiful as always!

    September 25, 2014
  39. Thanks for sharing such a pleasant idea, post is good, thats why i have read it fully

    September 28, 2014
    • Are you for real or just spam?

      September 28, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Wild Thing | Shelagh's Lens

Comments are closed.

