Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

flinders-street-station-swanstonstreet-melbourne

Where does the time fly? It is crazy, I can’t believe it is Tuesday already and tomorrow is MM again.  I have to go out tonight, so I won’t be accepting any more entries after about 2pm my time. Hoping to go and scout out a new location for trying to photograph the stars and maybe do some star trails.

Social Snappers Photography Excursions

I keep getting told that people love the idea of Social Snappers, but they don’t want to do them because they think they won’t be good enough, or they don’t have a fancy camera.  It is disappointing to hear that people think like that.  I don’t care what camera people use, as long as they enjoy using it and love taking photos.  I think the flinderrs-street-clocks-under-melbourneonly excursion I have done that people without a camera like a DSLR or mirrorless camera couldn’t do, would be the night photography.  I think people forget that composition is an important part of photography and when you have a camera like a compact it becomes all about that.  I often go out with just my phone to take photos, or the little compact camera that I have.  A camera is a camera. There is also no show and tell, so no one is judging you.  It is just about taking photos and being around other people who also like to take photos.

I have planned the Sunday excursions for next term.  I haven’t done a page on them, but if you want a sneak preview and a look at the photos I took on Sunday in the latest excursion, then click here, Social Snappers in Banyule Flats. The excursions for Thursdays are coming soon.

One on One Photography Sessions

I am thinking of having another look at what I offer with these.  I’m starting to see that for many people, a single one on one session is not enough, and perhaps I should provide packages for people who want to learn more, but don’t want to go through the whole learning process in a young-jackson-swanston-crossing-melbourneclassroom.  The idea would be to do something similar to the classes, but it can be done where and when is convenient to both of us.  When I have worked it out I will let you know.

My Photography

On the weekend a friend of mine asked me if I ever got bored taking photos? It was a curious question. I do get bored doing things, but photography has never really been one of them. I always find that there is always things to learn and always things to experiment with, how could I get bored. I do like challenging myself, seeing what I can do.  I have several things I want to challenge myself with at the moment, some of it is working out how to do some new things in Photoshop, while others are learning how to do things like star trails, or using Neutral Density filters.  I’m sure by the time I am bored with them, I will have moved on to the next thing.

One thing I want to get back to doing is Architectural Photography.  I used to love doing it and now I seem to hardly do it at all.  I have been working on images, and if you follow me on Flickr you will have seen them. My biggest issue is getting into the city to take photos of them, and then I started realising that I don’t have to go into swanston-street-tram-manchester-unitythe city to practice architectural photography.  There are lots of buildings around here in Heidelberg and the surrounding suburbs that I am sure I could practice on.  It just makes sense, then if something doesn’t work, it isn’t too far to go and do it again.  Sometimes I do over think things and make it all too complicated than it needs to be.

Neutral Density Filters

Speaking of those filters, I’ve been playing with mine quite a bit.  I’ve tried doing some things with it, seeing where I can push it.  I took my first 5 minute exposure with it the other day, I love experimenting with it and seeing what I can do with it.  The other night I went into the city my husband and daughter and we tried taking photos of places that city-lights-flinders-streetare always full of people, like under the clocks at Flinders Street Station.  It was a lot of fun, though I didn’t take in my remote shutter release, so I couldn’t do any images longer than 30 seconds.  I would like to try it again sometime, but have an exposure of several minutes and see what happens.  I do love taking photos of things that you have no idea how they will turn out.  It is fun to see what works, or what doesn’t.  I have other plans for this filter, I hope you won’t mind me showing you more.

I am going to leave it there today, the photos in the post today were taken at the time I just told you about.  They weren’t all done with the filter, but most were.  The one of the car trails is another stacked image and was done using 23 images.  I love the effect it gives you, I hope you like it too.

 

 

50 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These are gorgeous photographs! I was wondering, in the top picture, is that a mosque? I love the unusual architecture. 🙂

    September 9, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, can you believe it, but that is actually a train station, but I can understand the confusion, it is out of place. 😀

      September 9, 2014
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        Get out!!! For real? That, my Lady, is the prettiest train station I ever saw! 😛 THAT is awesome!

        September 9, 2014
      • Yes, for real, it is amazing, and I agree, actually many of us feel that way and love it, we want to protect it. 😀

        September 9, 2014
  2. The photos with the ghost effect of the people are great. For me it symbolizes how people are mindlessly going anywhere, almost like sheep.

    September 9, 2014
    • That sounds really, I like that a lot, thank you.

      September 9, 2014
      • You are welcome. I am always looking for deeper meanings lol

        September 9, 2014
      • I’m not very good at that sort of thing, wish I was.

        September 9, 2014
      • It’s easier for others to see this in your own work as they are more objective

        September 10, 2014
      • Yes, that could be true, perhaps when it is your work you are too close to it.

        September 11, 2014
  3. I like what you have done with the filters Leanne. The results are very interesting photos.

    September 9, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, I hope they get more interesting, looking forward to seeing what else I can do.

      September 9, 2014
  4. I really like your long exposures, they are working out a treat. As I said I love ALL of them but a couple stand out from the rest for whatever reason – the one with the tram heading to the right taking up most of the shot with the building in the background, the lines and angles, movement and colour – great! Also especially the one at Flinders St station entrance showing the constant movement of people. I’ve had something like this in mind maybe on a train line when two trains stop at the same time either side and everyone is getting on and off – so busy – but would like to see how that one works…. great inspiration! 🙂 Wished I lived closer to do the social snapping, a fantastic idea of like minded people can only give you more inspiration.

    September 9, 2014
    • Thanks Kaz, the tram one was just a normal long exposure, I liked the way the tram came out too. I like that one of flinders street station too, you can see the white shoes and no bodies, so funny. You will have to try doing what you said, see what happens, could be really good. It would be nice if you did live closer, oh well, it is nice that I get to know you here. 😀

      September 9, 2014
  5. Hi Leanne, now you’ve got me really interested in researching the ND Filter… The effects you get are great. Which density did you use in these photos, or have you got several? Also, I am intrigued about the stacking. Will you do a post on this subject? Chris

    September 9, 2014
    • They are a lot of fun, and yes great effects. I have the 9 stop one, it looks black. I don’t think I will do a post here, I might do one on my other blog as some point, but I might wait until I get a more interesting shot, might do a video of it. Thanks Chris.

      September 9, 2014
  6. That’s a full post. AS I read it, I could almost hear you processing what you want to do.

    September 9, 2014
    • Thank you Sally, it is a lot and yes so much going on.

      September 9, 2014
  7. I was looking at your photos of the people around Flinders St station and thinking “I really like that idea”. One day I will try it. Thanks for the inspiration.

    September 9, 2014
    • It is fun, I think people thought I was a little strange, but I am getting used to that. I hope you can try it one day Suz, and you’re welcome, thank you.

      September 9, 2014
  8. amy #

    I really like the night shot at the intersection (I’m assuming here) with the motion. The colors and composition are really neat!

    September 9, 2014
    • Yes, Amy, it was done at night, thank you.

      September 9, 2014
  9. Teaching my Photography class at school, the first thing I tell them is that the camera is not important and that you can take great images with any camera as long as you know how to use it.

    September 9, 2014
    • So very true Ben, I think that is the part that many people don’t get, that you have to learn how to use it, it doesn’t take too long, if you are prepared to learn. thanks Ben.

      September 9, 2014
  10. Great photos as usual, Leanne. I like the last one in particular. Love the blurry lights. There didn’t seem to be too many people in the city, maybe your photos would turn out great if there were more people. Yeah, the week is going by quickly. Tuesday already, I can’t believe it’s almost a month since I’ve been back at work. Not much time to play with my camera but hopefully there will be some time end of the month. Have a good night out 🙂

    September 9, 2014
    • Sometimes Mabel the things you say, I can’t tell if you realise how rude they seem, or if you just don’t realise what you are talking about. There were lots of people in the city, the point of the filter is that you couldn’t see them. It was a Saturday night, so there were hundreds of people around. REally a month since you have been back, I hope you get some time.

      September 9, 2014
      • Apologies if I offended you, Leanne. I really didn’t mean to :/// I loved those ghostly figures. What I meant was you could have possibly achieved a different effect with the filter had there been more people around than there already was in the city – you’ve never seen a packed city until you’ve been to one in Asia. At least you can move around and take photos in the city here on a weekend night!

        September 9, 2014
      • Yeah that makes more sense, though it wouldn’t have helped me with what I was trying to do. I was hoping for empty city streets, I love it when that happens, something you really don’t see anymore.

        September 9, 2014
  11. Great pictures! If you do the blurry ones again you could also try to ask someone to stand in the picture just on one spot for the whole time…I love that effect 🙂 and I really think I will go for a ND filter as well!

    September 9, 2014
    • I was trying to get my daughter to do that, but she wouldn’t. It would have been great though. I might have to try it with my other daughter sometime. they are great, just make sure you get a good quality one, they are a waste of money otherwise. Thanks Sarina.

      September 9, 2014
      • Ah, that’s too bad. I wish you good luck with your other daughter! I will have a look at the brands you gave me last week and will see what I can afford 😉

        September 9, 2014
      • thank you, she is usually up for having her photo taken. I hope you can get one.

        September 9, 2014
  12. No I could never get bored with photography either, there are always new things to see.

    September 9, 2014
    • I know, so many things to try out. Thanks Gypsy.

      September 9, 2014
  13. Beth Johnson #

    Leanne, I see you have far outstripped me in taking pictures, but more than that, you have an eye for lens type and subject. I wish I were where I could take lessons, but alas…

    Today I ran across something else from Australia. It is a minimalist house made from a shipping crate. The company that does it has taken photos of options for this prefab cottage. See what you think. How long do you think it would take you to fill it up?

    http://smallhousebliss.com/2014/09/03/nova-deko-modular-milan/

    September 10, 2014
    • I don’t know about that Beth, it is really all experience, just getting out there and trying things.
      I love that minimalist house, my husband would love to live in one by himself, then he wouldn’t have to put up with my crap, not sure I could cope with how small it is. Well filling, it would be full the day I moved in. LOL

      September 10, 2014
  14. These are interesting. The buildings stay put, but the lower part of the photograph where the people are, moves. Very cool. I told my husband we need to move to Australia so we can take advantage of all your classes! 🙂 They all sound interesting.

    September 10, 2014
    • I was hoping you wouldn’t be able to see the people at all, but think I will have to go for longer shutter speeds. I bet your Vince was happy with that idea, or not. LOL, Maybe you could come for a visit. Thanks Marsha.

      September 10, 2014
      • That’s the seed I’m planting! 🙂

        September 11, 2014
      • Oohh sneeky, I hope you succeed. 😀

        September 11, 2014
  15. Great photos, I am inspired to take my camera out and try out these affects.

    September 10, 2014
    • I hope you do, thank you.

      September 10, 2014
  16. Awesome photos!! 🙂

    September 10, 2014
  17. Hey Leanne .. You are always so busy. Amazing girl! Flinders St station .. Top place to shoot. Great photos ..

    September 10, 2014
    • Haha, or I’m just good at making you think I am, maybe. Thank you, Flinders Street, oh yeah, definitely the place. Very busy corner.

      September 10, 2014
  18. I would love to go on a Social Snappers photography excursion! But I’m too far away. 😦 I’m always happy when the local photography group wants to do a photo walk. I do my best when I’m on my own, but I like the social aspect of being on a photo walk with other people. It also gives me opportunity to see and learn from how others photograph different objects and gives me ideas on what I could do differently. I agree that most photos are not about the camera you are using, but the other aspects of photography such as lighting and composition.

    I like the photos you are getting with long exposures of people and with the lights. I’ve always wanted to try something like that but haven’t really put in any effort to do so. Maybe some day.

    I can see someone getting bored with photography if they photographed the same thing all the time. Especially if it was something that wasn’t that interesting. But I think most photographers like to experiment with different things and like you have said, it’s hard to get bored when you keep switching things around such as using different filters or learning a new technique. For me it’s usually I feel like photographing or I don’t based on how tired I am.

    September 10, 2014
    • Yes, you are a bit too far Justin, oh well. I do love the idea of them, and really hope that people can do them. I agree it is a great way to learn.
      I like those too, it was my first time doing it, but I think it has possibilities.
      I think there are people that do that and never get bored, but I know I would. the idea sounds boring. I think you are right, most photographers do like to experiment and try things. I think how tired we are is a factor for everyone. LOL. Thanks Justin.

      September 10, 2014
  19. Interesting photos, I like the trails, that’s the thing you can never see in real life, I mean without photography.
    Yes, sometimes we make things look more complicated than they really are…

    September 26, 2014
    • That’s true, photography can give you some great effects.
      That’s for sure. Thanks Alexey.

      September 26, 2014

Comments are closed.

