Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s – In Fall Colour

sorrento-beach-waves-rocks-colour

It is very quiet here, we have used up our monthly allowance for the internet and we have been put onto a very slow speed, so using the internet has become very slow and pretty boring.  I am not sure how we will make it through to next week, it is funny how super reliant you become on the internet.  So today, I don’t want to talk much.  I thought I might show last weeks MM image in colour, and yesterdays.

apollo-bay-treetops-rainforest-colour

The rainforest image.  I don’t mind it in either monochrome or black and white, you might have to go back a week to see the monochrome version.  I like that you can see the green and lushness of the forest, but it doesn’t take over either.  I don’t know, does it still have the same impact?

sorrento-beach-waves-blurred-colour

 

It is the same image, I did the black and white in Adobe Camera Raw, so because it was a smart object I could just go back and make it colour again.  I do love these waves, or waves like this.  I don’t know that this one is that good in colour, perhaps because of the sand, and the beautiful colour of the water above it.

sorrento-beach-waves-rocks-colour

I was mucking around with this one yesterday.  It has also been cropped a lot.  The hard part was making it so that the rocks didn’t take over and become the point of focus.  I hope I have succeeded in making them less important.

I do like what happened with the waves, I do want to try it again, but I am worried that since it happened accidentally that I won’t be able to make it happen again.  It is a long way to go to the coast to fail.  I will just have to prepared for both outcomes.  It is always good not to have really set ideas of what you want to get, you can really set yourself up for disappointment then.

I’m going to put the photos into a gallery now so you can see them better.  Hopefully this post won’t take all day to publish.

64 Comments
  1. daydreamer254 #

    Love your photos!!

    September 11, 2014
    • Oh, thank you, such a nice thing to say.

      September 11, 2014
  2. The last image is wonderful. Should work in BW too.

    September 11, 2014
    • Yes, perhaps, but I am happy with colour, and I like the idea of it, gives me some ideas for other work. Thank you.

      September 11, 2014
  3. I think you succeeded the waves are beautiful! 😀

    September 11, 2014
  4. I like the color versions of these as well. The color of the ocean is so beautiful. Hang in there….Monday will be here before you know it!

    September 11, 2014
    • I do too Laura, they are different, and I love the colour of the ocean as well. I will, I know it really isn’t that far away. Thank you.

      September 11, 2014
      • You’re lucky it’s not far away. So nice to have the ocean near. You’re welcome Leanne. 🙂

        September 12, 2014
      • That’s true, I’m glad I can do it in a day, will have to go back and try some things. Thanks Laura. 😀

        September 12, 2014
      • :). Hope my smiley face didn’t cost you too many minutes heheheheh

        September 12, 2014
      • LOL

        September 12, 2014
  5. Leanne, these photos are great! I know you have a much different mind then I do, but how about trying just to let what you are photographing talk to you and from there go on “automatic” with settings? By that I mean, you get a general “feel” for what you are looking at wants so knowing the settings as you do, set them, and then wing it. Let go. Get lost in the mystery. Get lost in the moment. There is no failing. YOU don’t fail, at all. It is all a learning opportunity to expand and do different. How is that? BIG (((HUGS))) for having no internet. That stinks! xx Amy

    September 11, 2014
    • That’s what I did Amy, I just set the camera up on the tripod and it just took a 100 photos. So it was interesting. I would like to zoom in more and see what I can get. That is true, it is all about experimenting, I do like that. Haha, I know I can’t wait for next week to get my internet back to full strength. Thank you Amy.

      September 11, 2014
      • You must be going stir crazy not to have internet access as you would like to. Wow.

        It IS all about experimenting! That is what makes photography SO exciting! And those things we consider “failures” are learning lessons on what NOT to do next time. LOL All is GOOD! I can hardly wait to go to Niagara Falls. It is in the planning right now!! Yippee!! Have a great day, Leanne! Love, Amy

        September 11, 2014
      • I think it is one thing about us humans, we adapt, and just get on with it, can be our undoing as well sometimes.

        I agree, experimenting is great, you never know what you will end up with. Oh yes, the failures, though sometimes the failures are always failures and you find something completely surprising, which is what happened when I went to the beach, thought I was getting something else. Niagara Falls would be amazing, I hope you have a great time there Amy, when are you going?

        September 12, 2014
      • Hoping to go to Niagara Falls starting next week, Leanne. The American side I think I can go myself. I just am concerned about someone stealing my backpack (where I store my lenses I am not presently using) when I am busy behind my camera, so I plan on wrapping one of the shoulder straps around one of my legs. Canada, I am waiting for hubs to take me. I will not go into Canada alone, and there is a LOT of walking involved to get to the Falls. My backpack must weight 25-30 pounds and I am not about to do long hikes with the backpack plus the concern again there is someone stealing my backpack when I am busy. This coming Monday I have to go get my enhanced license (driver’s) that I need just to get into Canada. And then of course I still don’t have an ND filter yet so I have to wait for a cloudy day. I was doing some reading on the filter you have, and a lot of people complained it is really hard to clean. Are you having problems? And they also say it is really hard to see and must set your camera first then put the filter on. I won’t be able to do that in a mist. In Canada, the Falls always have a mist. I bought a rain jacket for my camera just for this occasion. So as you can see, there is a lot of riding on this. Keeping my fingers crossed I can do this, THIS year. Thank you for asking, Leanne. This really takes some planning in order for me to do this. I also only have certain windows of hours to leave the house due to the special needs cats we care for and Love. Hope you are coping without complete internet access. That is a real bummer!!! Take care!!!

        September 12, 2014
      • Sounds like a big trip, I would recommend that you only take what you need and then carry your backpack all the time. That is what I do, I never put my backpack down when there are people around. Once my camera is out of it and the lens I’m using it is always much lighter. I will sometimes hang it off my tripod as well. sounds like a great trip, I’m sure you will have a great time and take some great photos. Just be careful, be vigilant, have fun.

        September 12, 2014
  6. Beautiful shots of the water

    September 11, 2014
  7. I don’t know the ins and outs of photography (although I wish I did), but I simply enjoy these pictures 🙂 They each have something unique and beautiful to show. Thanks for sharing!

    September 11, 2014
    • That’s all that matters really, doesn’t it sometimes, just to enjoy. You’re very welcome Lauren, and thank you so much. 😀

      September 11, 2014
  8. I love the colors in these images. Especially the one with the rocks, sand and water!

    September 11, 2014
    • Thank you Tina, I love the colour of the water.

      September 11, 2014
  9. your pict is beautiful.. I love your Nature photography

    September 11, 2014
    • Thank you, I hope there will be lots more.

      September 11, 2014
  10. Suzanne #

    Lovely photos. Slow internet seems to be happening for many of us Aussies right now regardless of our internet plan. Mine’s better today but yesterday was hopeless – I know the feeling about being bored – the wind makes it too cold to get out and do much down here too.

    September 11, 2014
    • Thank you Suzanne, I haven’t that much about that, though we have cable, so that is why we have a limit on how much we can download, apparently we can’t have ADSL, which is annoying. The weather has been nice here, so it has been good to be able to get out, might you I haven’t been anywhere yet, haha.

      September 11, 2014
  11. Keep it going Leanne, your photos are amazing!

    September 11, 2014
    • Thank you Andrew, I will do my best.

      September 11, 2014
  12. Love the forest and the blues of the ocean beautiful images : ) trees

    September 11, 2014
  13. I especially like the rainforest one; it’s very Jurassic-like! I hope you get back to high-speed internet soon! I know how you feel. It’s like going back to the horse and buggy!

    September 11, 2014
    • Thank you Thomas, that is great. I hope so too, it is driving me crazy, it is so true, it is like going back for sure.

      September 11, 2014
  14. Love all of these!! Gorgeous!!!

    September 11, 2014
  15. Funny how we get used to Net speeds – but it is painful when things slow down. Hope your back up to speed 🙂

    September 11, 2014
    • That’s for sure, have you heard of this net neutrality thing, it is even scarier, I hope they can get rid of it. 🙂 We should be back to full strength Monday or Tuesday Robert, thanks.

      September 12, 2014
  16. LB #

    I too like that you can see the green of the ferns and leaves. Soothing!

    September 11, 2014
    • I like that word to describe them, soothing, thank you LB

      September 12, 2014
  17. Amy #

    I run out of words to describe your remarkable photos. Both the sea wave, and rainforest images are stunning! You mentioned the filter last week, I haven’t tried, are you using it?

    September 12, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I like where these are going. No I didn’t use the filter on these, hoping to use it this morning though.

      September 12, 2014
  18. Fabulous Leanne

    September 12, 2014
  19. Stunning photos. We have unlimited broadband. I got caught out too many times. 😀

    September 12, 2014
    • We would like it, but we live in one of those areas that it would be so slow it would drive us crazy, so we have to stay with limited, and cable. One day, maybe, they keep telling us it is coming, the National Broadband Network, but I fear with the gov fighting over which, it will probably be worse that what we have as well.

      September 12, 2014
  20. I’m loving the colours in all of the photos but the last one is just divine. 🙂

    September 12, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, I love it when you can get the colour of the water, or the perceived colour. 😀

      September 12, 2014
  21. That last shot is far and away my favorite, Leanne! You did a fantastic job of pulling focus to the beautiful color and smoothness of those waves, yet still left the depth and detail of the rocks. Just lovely!

    September 12, 2014
    • Thank you Stacy, and thanks for saying that, it means a lot, I worked hard to try and make sure the focus went through the rocks.

      September 12, 2014
  22. I don’t think the rainforest picture has the same ‘impact’ in colour but I like it just as much in a different way – friendlier and more beautiful. The sea picture with the rocks is lovely. Everytime I am near the sea I try to take wave pictures but it is hard to get just the right moment.

    September 12, 2014
    • Thank you, It is hard, I think the trick it to just keep taking photos, that is what I do, these were parts of hundreds.

      September 12, 2014
  23. I love the wave action. Beautiful.

    September 13, 2014
    • I like those too Elen, I think I need to do more. Thank you.

      September 13, 2014
  24. I’ve been having the same problem of slow internet to no internet. So we came to the coast, and guess what, no internet to slow internet! Yikes! Your pictures are lovely. The ocean is a beautiful color. It’s one of my favorites.

    September 18, 2014
    • Ours is back to full strength now, thank goodness, it is horrible when it is slow. We have a limited amount so we have to be careful how much we use. We could have a unlimited, but the service we would have to get would be too slow for where we are, so it cable for us. The downside to living where we do. Thank you Marsha, I do love photographing the ocean here, it is nearly always such a beautiful colour.

      September 18, 2014
      • We must have exactly the same service! Here at the coast it is affected by the sheer number of people in the RV park. Today there aren’t very many, so the speed is great. This weekend I couldn’t even log on. 🙂 Glad to be back! 🙂

        September 18, 2014
      • I don’t know Marsha, though what you are saying about lots of people using it makes sense. It sucks big time when it isn’t working properly, how boring life is without it. 😀

        September 18, 2014
      • I’m back home, and since we’ve been gone, we haven’t sucked all the usage out of our month’s internet this month. Yeah! So here I am writing to you , checking out instagram, and writing to your friend, David. It’s heavenly! 🙂

        September 19, 2014
      • Sounds like you are having a lovely time with it, you will get it figured out, Instagram is fun, I like playing with the filters. Though you don’t have to use those. We are back to full strength and in heaven right now, so nice.

        September 19, 2014
      • I have three pictures up so far. Nothing earthshaking, for sure. But I spent some time trying to figure it out, and trying to get followers. 🙂

        September 21, 2014
      • I guess it is like anything new, takes time, I just take photos with my phone, play with them, as in the filters then load it into Instagram, I haven’t tried using any other photos. You will be instagraming like a pro soon. 😀

        September 22, 2014
      • The Instant, Instagram Pro. That’s me! 🙂

        September 22, 2014
      • Yep, I can believe that, 😉

        September 22, 2014

Comments are closed.

