Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Kinglake National Park

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-34

Yesterday I went for a drive to an area that I haven’t been to before.  It is close to where I live, only an hours drive, and I have been past it many times, but never realised it was there. I am talking about the Kinglake National Park and Masons Falls. Before we went we were talking to the staff at the Flying Tarts, a Bakery in Pheasant Creek, and they were saying that before the fires you couldn’t really see the waterfall, and I think once the trees all grow back, you won’t be able to see them again.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-3

I went there with a friend, and time was limited so we didn’t hang around long, just went to the falls and then took photos along the track back to the carpark.  You can’t get really close to the waterfall, and there are fences everywhere to stop you. The above photo was taken from a viewing platform that Parks Victoria have built for people to look at the falls from.  They are quite large, and it would be great to see them with lots of water coming down after a big storm.

I just want to add that my friend who came with me, was using her phone to take photos today.  It was really interesting and made me remember to take some with my own.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-6

The area was devastated by the 2009 Black Saturday fires, and it is wonderful to see it five and half years later. You can still see all the bare trees, and they stick up tall above the others, but underneath there is lots of new growth.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-8

It is like they stand above the new trees daring them to consume the old dead ones.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-12

This is an old dry creek bed, and it looks like it would run sometimes, but only when there is a large amount of rain, yet another reason to go back after a big down pour.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-35

There are parts were you can get near the water and see little waterfalls, which can be really nice.  I used my Cokin Neutral Density filter on this, just the 8+ one.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-42

Near the carpark you can see lots of very tall blackwood trees.  They look beautiful again the bright green of the forest area. They are really amazing trees, and you will see more in the gallery.  I love the way the sap is red, it makes it look like the trees are bleeding.  It is so weird.

As I said I have more photos for you in the gallery, and tomorrow I have another post for you on the same place, but looking at some of the details, the close ups.  I hope you enjoy seeing these photos and hope you get to do some weekend wandering of your own.

 

56 Comments
  1. Gosh, I haven’t been there in years. Great to see nature healing. Wonderful shots ..

    September 13, 2014
    • It was my first time there Julie, can’t believe it is so close and I had never been there before, I wonder what else I’ve missed. It is great to see it coming back, the fires were so bad there. Thank you.

      September 13, 2014
  2. How is it that you can make dead trees look beautiful? Thanks for the walk. 🙂

    September 13, 2014
    • Haha, I think the cloudy skies helped, meant it was easier to photograph them. Hey I did everything with these photos in LR, I even put them on the computer using it. 😀

      September 13, 2014
  3. Looks rugged. The treeless limbs against the sky accent that rugged appearance. Nice touch!

    September 13, 2014
    • Thank you Tom, I had to try and get those trees, they are a reminder of what happened there.

      September 13, 2014
  4. Oh, man. The Flying Tarts. Love that.

    September 13, 2014
    • I know, what a great name for a bakery, very good too.

      September 13, 2014
  5. Nature is so resilient and will always recover. A great post. 😀

    September 13, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, and it is so true, we see it time and time again here. 😀

      September 13, 2014
  6. I really like the main (tall) waterfall image. I can’t help wondering what it would look like in black and white though. I think it could be a real winner.

    September 13, 2014
    • I might have to take a look, who knows. Thank you.

      September 13, 2014
  7. Morning 🙂
    What a beautiful place Leanne and lovely images.

    September 13, 2014
    • Good morning to you too Robyn, 😀
      It is a rather stunning place, I’m still shocked that I have only just learned about it. Oh well, I know now, and I know I will be back.

      September 13, 2014
      • Good morning… A few days later 🙂
        I know what you mean, but also how nice that there are still amazing places to discover. Love that! Look forward to seeing more Leanne.

        September 16, 2014
      • Good morning to you too, overcast day here today, 😦
        I know it is wonderful, I know there are lots of places I haven’t discovered yet. That’s great, thank you Robyn.

        September 16, 2014
      • Raining here… La la la 😉

        September 16, 2014
      • Haha, I’m sure it will here too, it is dark enough. 🙂

        September 16, 2014
      • A processing day 😉

        September 16, 2014
      • Oh yes, MM day for me, so much work to do for it. I haven’t sent any emails in response, do you think they will mind?

        September 16, 2014
      • No don’t think so at all.
        I wont make it this week 😦 … But will look forward to the post as always.
        Good day for it then, with the inside weather.

        September 16, 2014
      • Thanks Robyn, last count 52 submissions if you include mine and Laura’s. It looks good though.
        Oh yes, it is raining here now. REally raining. 😦

        September 16, 2014
  8. It is beautiful to see how nature revitalizes that which has been burnt.

    September 13, 2014
    • I agree Colline, we could learn a thing or two about bouncing back after disaster from it I think sometimes. Thanks.

      September 13, 2014
  9. beautiful! love your blog and phots

    September 13, 2014
    • What a great thing to say, thank you so much.

      September 13, 2014
  10. A treat to go round with you.

    September 13, 2014
    • That is always good to hear, thank you.

      September 13, 2014
  11. Beautiful location – I too forget that as long as i have my phone, I have a camera. Have a good weekend Leanne.

    September 13, 2014
    • Thanks Robert, I like taking photos with my phone too, it is different, you have a good one too Robert.

      September 13, 2014
  12. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The waterfall is beautiful! The area looks like pristine wilderness. 🙂

    September 13, 2014
    • It is Jackie and the area is beautiful, it will look like there was never a fire there in about 5 to 10 years. thanks 😀

      September 13, 2014
  13. Lee #

    Love that tall waterfall. Wow!

    September 13, 2014
    • It is pretty amazing, thanks Lee.

      September 13, 2014
  14. It is incredible what all is near you! It makes me want to emigrate…haha! Lovely set as always.

    September 13, 2014
    • I think I didn’t realise for such a long time, but it has been great to discover lots of new places. Maybe you should consider coming for a holiday, haha, thanks you.

      September 13, 2014
  15. I’m especially enamored of the two full-waterfall shots, but especially the landscape-format one, which provides a greater sense of place. I’d love to visit that park some day!

    September 13, 2014
    • That’s great, I was hoping the landscape one of the waterfall would do that, something I’ve been trying. I hope you do visit, it is good. Thank you.

      September 13, 2014
  16. Gorgeous shots. We drove through a year after the fires and were amazed at the regrowth then.
    I guess seeing the falls so clearly would be a little like our drive through the Blue Mountains a few months ago. We saw cliff faces and rock formations that never used to be seen from the road before the fires. It’s amazing.
    I adore waterfall photos so thanks for posting these Leanne.

    September 13, 2014
    • Thanks Suz, it is amazing, in a few years you won’t be able to tell there were any fires there at all.
      I think fires do clear lots of land and make it easier to see things, even if just for a while.
      I love waterfalls too, I could look at them all day, I think sometimes. You’re welcome Suz, hoping to find more waterfalls.

      September 13, 2014
      • We have a real affinity with waterfalls here. Our nearest one is over an hour away and then you have to walk 10-15 minutes in to it.

        September 14, 2014
      • I have it too Suz, this one is about an hour away too, so not too back, and about the same amount of walking. there are actually so many waterfalls around here, all within a two or three hour drive, I should make a map of them, LOL.

        September 14, 2014
  17. Great set of photos of Kinglake National Park, Leanne. I’ve never been there before, and never knew there was quite a big waterfall there. I really like the shot of the tree bark with the red sap. I am so tempted to climb up that bark 🙂 Hope your weekend is going well, and looking forward to tomorrow’s set of photos.

    September 13, 2014
    • Thanks Mabel, it is a new place for me too, there are a couple of waterfalls in the area, but this is the only one I have been to so far. How amazing is that red sap, it was amazing. I have a close up of the sap for tomorrows post. It is a very lazy weekend so far Mabel, hope you are enjoying yours. 😀

      September 13, 2014
      • I hope you get to go back soon and have a look at the other waterfalls (maybe other waterfalls elsewhere too). I thought the grey clouds worked well for this photo adventure of yours – somehow it suits the dry and gloomy feel of the Park.

        Good to hear it’s a lazy weekend for you. Writing’s going well for me this weekend 😀

        September 13, 2014
      • I’m hoping the same Mabel there are far more waterfalls around than I thought, like up in the Mallee, there are lakes everywhere, just that almost all of them have no water in them. I agree about the clouds too.
        That is great that your writing is going well.

        September 13, 2014
  18. gbudavid #

    Reblogged this on Haze Gray and Underway and commented:
    Wonderful Pictures

    September 14, 2014
  19. Amy #

    I love this set of the Kinglake National Park photos, Leanne. The waterfalls are so beautifully captures. The trees are majestic via you lens. Glad to see them coming back from the fire disaster. I wish you’d find time to write a post about how to take waterfall in the future. 🙂

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, I love what you have said. It is good to see them coming back, so much life there. I will see what I can do Amy, how about I write one on my other blog, I do a lot of that sort of thing there now. 😀 Let me think about it, and I will see what I can do.

      September 14, 2014
      • Amy #

        No rush. And, you don’t have to consider if it takes too much work. I just love your photos, and wonder how did you take these fab photos.

        September 14, 2014
      • No it wouldn’t be too much work, I like it when people tell me what they would like to know more about, especially for the Art blog on website, gives me a post to work on. There isn’t a lot of scope for that here anymore, so I will do it in the next few days, will have to find some of my waterfall photos, do I have many? LOL

        September 14, 2014
  20. These are wonderful pictures Leanne ❤ As you know I love to take pictures like these too, but mine just don't seem to turn out as amazing as your! 😀

    September 14, 2014
    • I think sometimes it is important to remember that I do process my images quite a bit, that helps, they do look boring straight from the camera, well I think they do. thank you Keli. 😀

      September 14, 2014
  21. Tri Wahyu #

    The waterfall scenery was beautiful. In addition, it was spring time and greeny too. Love it.

    September 15, 2014
    • Thanks, it is beautiful there right now, especially nice with all the wattle.

      September 15, 2014

Comments are closed.

