Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – A Close Look at Kinglake National Park

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-32

When we were wandering around Kinglake National Park the other day, my friend was taking photos with her phone, and one of the things she likes too do is to take photos close up, therefore she is really good at spotting the little things. I’ve spoken on many occasions how the details and small things is not something I am good at, so it is great going somewhere like this with her, because then I see them too, through her.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-10

These flowers were everywhere, I couldn’t get any closer to them than this with my D800, I spent the whole day wishing I had a macro lens.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-22

I realised after awhile that I had in my back pack a x2 Cokin Close up filter, so I put it on my lens and I was able to get much closer to many things, still not as good as it would have been with a macro lens, but not bad.  Actually turned out to be quite handy, once the bracket was on it was easy to swap between filters.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-24

By far my favourite thing to photograph was these tiny little things growing in moss that was on trees and logs, in all sorts of places.  I loved the colours, it is something wonderful in the dark depths of forests, is that green, almost bright, but so lush.  It is a beautiful colour.  When I was a kid I wanted some Derwent colouring pencils, and the colour I wanted the most was the lime green pencil.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-43

Here is a close up of the red sap that was coming out of the blackwood trees. It really does look like blood. I thought it was so weird.

king-lake-mason-falls-bush-32

I think this is my favourite image, by far.  I like the idea of the forest inside a forest.  It is like a little ecosystem that is part of something much larger, it is all connected, I like that.  I have no idea the names of any of these things, but if you know, let me know, I wouldn’t mind some clues.

I have a few more images for you, I hope you enjoy the close look at the forest floor.  I also hope you have a great weekend, mine has been lazy, a good way sometimes, especially without much internet, full strength soon, I’m looking forward to that.

 

115 Comments
  1. Super photographs of a difficult subject.

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you Victor you aren’t wrong, they were hard, and being so close to the ground made it even harder. I might be getting a lend of a Tamron 90mm macro lens, so it will be fun to go back with that.

      September 14, 2014
  2. Wow, these are beautiful photos Leanne! The little thingys growing from the moss look like sprouts you eat. All the green reminds me of back home in Michigan.

    September 14, 2014
    • Oh, yes, this sort of green you wouldn’t see much anymore in Vegas, it is around here everywhere at the moment, we have had so much rain this winter, I hope it continues through the summer. thank you John

      September 14, 2014
  3. The tiny little things growing out of the moss look like something from a fairy forest–so cute!!

    September 14, 2014
    • Great description, I like that, it is like that, so cute, and small. thank you.

      September 14, 2014
  4. Love the picuters and the forest in a forest comment! I had a great weekend as well and will try to get a post ready about it tommorow 🙂

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you Sari, it is like that. that’s great, wonderful, I wish I could say I’ve been out taking photos, but i have been very lazy this weekend. sounds like it has been good for you.

      September 14, 2014
  5. Beautiful photos as always. I have a bit of an obsession with moss so especially enjoyed those shots. That red sap is amazing.

    September 14, 2014
    • I think I am developing one Papict, I just love the colours. The red sap was cool next to the black bark, so weird too. thank you.

      September 14, 2014
  6. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The moss and lichens are interesting. That is a perfect explanation: “forest inside a forest.”

    September 14, 2014
    • They are Jackie, I like that too, and there are so many different ecosystems in there all working together. We forget that sometimes.

      September 14, 2014
  7. I think the little green things are the spores (seeds) of the moss. I’m not 100% sure though.

    September 14, 2014
    • That could be right Jimmy, it would make sense. Thanks for letting me know.

      September 14, 2014
  8. What a magnificent vision of mother nature !

    September 14, 2014
  9. You always amaze – from portraits to the widespread views of interiors and exteriors and countryside, now we get close up and personal to nature.

    September 14, 2014
    • I try Colonialist, I don’t like to be bored, LOL, thank you.

      September 14, 2014
  10. Beautiful!

    September 14, 2014
  11. I always enjoy a bit of fungus.

    September 14, 2014
    • That’s great, there are lots there. thanks Tootle.

      September 14, 2014
  12. Luv, luv, luv the fungi. I’m always on the lookout for it when I’m wandering in a wooded area.

    September 14, 2014
    • I can’t get over how many different types there are, I really want to go looking for it now. Thank you Cate.

      September 14, 2014
  13. Nice fungi, and moss, and sap! 🙂 I have some insects in amber that got that way from getting trapped in tree sap many millions of years ago. The process still occurs in the present!

    September 14, 2014
    • Oh yes Amber, it is so weird, but also so beautiful, I wonder if this sort of sap can do the same thing, it would be great to see what it looks like hardened. thanks Thomas.

      September 14, 2014
  14. Gorgeous photos Leanne. I did a nature poetry workshop yesterday, very challenging but inspiring, some of these photos would be wonderful subjects. I’ll give it a go!

    September 14, 2014
    • That sounds great, I’m trying to get my daughter, who writes poetry, to work with me on a project, where I take photos of things and she writes a poem to go with it, or the other way around. Good luck and thank you.

      September 14, 2014
      • Have a look at a book called “The Lake’s Apprentice” by Annamaria Weldon, gorgeous book of photos, notes and poems about the lakes between Mandurah and Bunbury in south-west WA.

        September 14, 2014
      • Thanks for that, will go and check it out now.

        September 14, 2014
  15. Leanne, fabulous shots … all of them. Amazing the red sap — I have never seen anything like it. And to get shots like these without a macro, Leanne, please give yourself more credit then you are. This is why I like to bring ALL my lenses with me on my photo shoots, along with my filters, because I just never know what I will be seeing. Yes, it makes for a heavy backpack. I enjoyed this post so very much. Thank you as always. xx Amy

    September 14, 2014
    • Thanks Amy, I’d never seen it before either. I was using a close up filter, that helped. I might be getting a loan of Macro lens soon, so it might be fun to try it for a while. I take everything with me now, but I leave a lot of gear in the car. I often treat places I go to for the first time as a scouting trip, see what is there, and then when I come back, I have a better idea of what gear I want to use. This place is also close enough that I could go there every week if I wanted and just use one lens each time. Be careful with heavy backpack, they can do your back a lot of damage, I’m starting to wonder if it contributed to all the problems I’ve had with my back in the last year. Take care. 😀

      September 14, 2014
  16. leecleland #

    Lovely images as always Leanne. You did well without a macro lens and love the moss shots. I had thought the little bits sticking up in the moss were the seed heads, later on they dry out and look more that way. I’m no expert and could be very wrong 🙂

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you Lee, I’m hoping I might be getting a loan of one soon, a Tamron 90mm, which will be nice, I will have to go back with it, I would love to get even closer. I think you might be right about the seed heads, James Keegan, said the same thing, so you probably are both right. 😀

      September 14, 2014
      • leecleland #

        I think the term is spores for moss, I couldn’t get the right word before 🙂

        September 14, 2014
      • Oh okay, that sounds good, I will look that up Lee, thank you. 😀

        September 14, 2014
      • Just looked it up and you are absolutely right, they are called spores.

        September 14, 2014
  17. Great shots Leanne! It’s easy to walk past the tiny world around us, but always exciting when you stop and take the time to look closely. I think a macro lens will be my next present for my camera!

    September 14, 2014
    • I have to admit, I am one of those that always walked past, but now I am trying to see it and capture it. I really want a macro lens as well. Just out of my price range right now, hopefully soon. Thank you.

      September 14, 2014
  18. Becky Field, Artist #

    Fantastic pictures if details that would most probably go unnoticed. Very inspiring as always Leanne x thank you x

    September 14, 2014
    • I am fairly certain I wouldn’t have noticed them if I had been with my friend, so it is good she was there. Thank you Becky, that is always good to hear. 😀

      September 14, 2014
  19. I love these images Leanne, great work! Of course, you know, I am a sap for such details. There is something about looking down and quietly, a whole new world opens up. The “forest in a forest” images are gorgeous! I long for a macro lens too, so much. One day…one day. Thank you for sharing these, they are all gorgeous and so interesting.

    September 14, 2014
    • So true Carrie, something I am really starting to understand, I need to look down more. Thank you Carrie. I really want one too, I go through phases thinking I don’t need one, then I go someone like that and all I can think about is how I want one. Yes, one day, one day. You’re welcome, you will be able to get some great images around you now, right?

      September 14, 2014
      • Yes, so much to see and photograph here. I am sad to say my camera has a scratch on the lens 😦 It doesn’t show up every time I am taking an image but a lot. It is so frustrating. And, I haven’t had the time, with a new job, moving and all that comes with settling back in. BUT, I will soon, and there is so much to photograph, I will never be without subject matter!! Saving up for a new camera, still unsure which I am going for, but it is fun to dream and work with what I have, for now. 🙂

        September 14, 2014
      • Oh no, I think I would be devastated if that happened to me. I believe if you use wide apertures, like f5.6 it will help minimise the risk of seeing it. Not sure if they can be fixed either. I am looking forward to seeing what you do there. I got the new camera last year, now the only lens on my wish list is the macro, then I will be set for a while, I think. LOL. It is always fun to dream Carrie. I hope we can both get what we want. I was trying to look at your site, but our internet is still down and crap.

        September 14, 2014
      • It really is devastating. Although, as I think you know, I am not using an expensive camera, it is old and a point and shoot, it has been great. The scratch happened a number of months ago but I notice it so much more here, especially when I want to take photographs of the sand or Ocean 😦 I can usually hide it in some foliage or darker shadow otherwise.
        You are right in that it can’t be fixed…such a bummer.
        The past, probably 10 or so posts on my blog are all images from my new area. We just went to an incredible place today, a state park within the Redwood National Park boundary. I was like a kid in a candy store. It was called Fern Canyon, 50 ft high canyon walls full of ferns with a beautiful stream running through it. We had so much fun!
        Dreaming is good, you are right. I have a big birthday coming up soon, 4-0, a new camera is top on my list. 🙂

        September 14, 2014
      • I can imagine, it doesn’t matter if it was expensive or not Carrie, it is there and it will affect your images. Do you have good software to edit it out. It a pain to do, especially if you are doing lots of images, but it is another way of getting rid of it.
        I have seen them, but sometimes it is nice to see them altogether, so when I get my internet back at full strength I will take another look. the park sounds fantastic, I love places like that, I am really starting to enjoy going to places like that.
        That is a big birthday, I have one of those plus 10 coming up soon too. 🙂

        September 14, 2014
  20. Beautifully done Leanne, its a whole other world. 🙂

    September 14, 2014
    • Thanks Kaz, I’m looking forward to exploring a whole new world when I get a macro lens. 🙂

      September 14, 2014
      • Cant wait to see those. I might try the filter that you recommended though for an exploration into the macro world. It looks fascinating and other worldly. Have a good one. 🙂

        September 14, 2014
      • I might getting a loan of a Tamron Macro so it would be good to go back and see what I can get. The filter I have is a Cokin, so fits into a bracket, it is Close-up +2, for the p series bracket, I’ve had it for years. Though if I was getting a new filter system now I would get the Cokin Z series for my wide angle. You too Kaz. 😀

        September 14, 2014
  21. Great!

    September 14, 2014
  22. Amy #

    I have never seen fungus, moss, … this close and this beautiful!

    September 14, 2014
    • Isn’t it beautiful, I just love looking at it, I really want to get some photos with a macro sometime. thanks Amy.

      September 14, 2014
  23. Loved the forest within a forest, this along with all undergrowth make awesome subjects. Macro is always so exciting.

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you, I think so too, I love seeing things up close.

      September 14, 2014
  24. beautiful rich colors, it looks like you had a great day.

    September 14, 2014
    • I love the colours Janice, they are so nice. I did have a great day, can’t wait to go back. 🙂 thanks Janice.

      September 14, 2014
  25. Absolutely love these photos – stunning textures and colours 🙂

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you, that is fantastic.

      September 14, 2014
  26. Love the red sap shots!

    September 14, 2014
    • It is amazing, I love that red sap. 🙂

      September 14, 2014
  27. ❤️

    September 14, 2014
  28. Beautiful photos! I too love getting close to nature and photographing things close up. Like you I have to survive without a macro lens but it doesn’t stop me from giving it a go and you can often get surprisingly good results! Keep up the good work – lovely! Alison

    September 14, 2014
    • It is good to give it a go and there are always things you can get that will help, like close up filters of or extension tubes. Thank you Alison.

      September 14, 2014
  29. Gorgeous photos leanne! There’s something very magical about them, quite fantasy like. They’re brilliant! 😊

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you Sabrina, I like the magical aspect of them, as you described.

      September 14, 2014
  30. Such beautiful images, I like the woods, full of hidden treasures. I would like to know more about post-processing, I am very intrigued by the warm tone of the images. Was that original or added? If it’s original, I would really like to take a walk there. 😀

    September 14, 2014
    • Thank you Lore, it was something that Lightroom did, I think that warm tone might have been because of the colours that were naturally there, some of them it was enhanced in lightroom.

      September 14, 2014
  31. Awesome alien landscape 🙂

    September 14, 2014
    • I like the idea of the alien landscape, thank you. 🙂

      September 14, 2014
  32. I’m a fan of details. Every time I go out in the nature to take photographs I can’t help myself of taking close-ups.

    Wish you a lovely Sunday!

    September 14, 2014
    • I have always been so bad at looking for details, but I love these images and really want to start doing it a lot more. I want to be like you Klaudia.
      My Sunday is almost over now. Thanks Klaudia, I hope yours is good.

      September 14, 2014
  33. Nice gallery Leanne. I also like the “miniature forest” in the forest photo.

    September 14, 2014
    • thank you Cardinal, it is a lovely thing to see, I would love to see if I could get closer.

      September 15, 2014
  34. I think your favourite image is mine as well. This is a stunning shot. I love the details, the colours, the background. It is impressive.

    September 14, 2014
    • thank you so much, you have made my day, it isn’t very often that people like the same image that I do.

      September 15, 2014
  35. JP #

    Loved it!!!

    September 14, 2014
  36. These are so beautiful Leanne! I love the lime green one too and you got that sharpness right smack dab in the rule of thirds. Perfect! The red sap is so interesting to me too. I meant to mention that on your last post.

    September 15, 2014
    • I don’t even think I noticed, haha. Thank you Laura, that red sap is so weird, it really is like the tree is bleeding.

      September 15, 2014
      • See? You’re a natural! As if we didn’t notice that lol.

        September 15, 2014
      • Haha, maybe, LOL.

        September 15, 2014
      • No maybes! 🙂

        September 16, 2014
      • 😀

        September 16, 2014
  37. Beautiful detail! Makes me want to get my camera and look closely! Isn’t it lovely to know you’re inspiring creativity?! ~ Sheila

    September 15, 2014
    • It is Sheila, and I hope you do get your camera and look at the details, and I hope I remember to keep looking for them. Thank you.

      September 15, 2014
  38. Beautiful photos Leanne! It’s always so much fun to shoot close-up images in nature to see all the colors and texture.

    Tamara

    September 15, 2014
    • I am starting to see that Tamara, I will have to start making sure I take things with me, like extension tubes so I can do more. thank you.

      September 15, 2014
  39. That sap is rather yuk, an amazing colour!

    September 15, 2014
    • It is an amazing colour, LOL, thanks Gypsy.

      September 15, 2014
  40. mk #

    I too like the little forest within a forest. Did you add vignetting or did the shots just come out that way?

    September 15, 2014
    • I think I did to some in lightroom, I like a little bit of it. Thank you.

      September 15, 2014
  41. Beautiful photographs! Thanks for sharing!

    September 15, 2014
    • You’re welcome, thank you.

      September 15, 2014
  42. LB #

    That red sap is indeed strange. Never seen such!
    The moss and the fungi are beautiful, even without the macro.

    September 15, 2014
    • Thank you LB, the sap was weird, though wouldn’t mind trying to get more. I love the moss and funghi, the colours were wonderful.

      September 15, 2014
  43. Pat #

    A wonderful close look at little marvels found in the forest.

    September 15, 2014
  44. Ooh I love these so much!!

    September 15, 2014
    • Thank you, I like these too.

      September 15, 2014
  45. I love the dreamy look of the photos! is that specific to the filter? also, I love close-up shots and great bokeh, so I especially like this set of photos.

    September 15, 2014
    • I don’t know, I think it is just the photos and the processing. I love the close up shots too, so good. That’s great to hear, thank you.

      September 15, 2014
  46. Wonderful photos of a special place Leanne. Love the rich colours ..

    September 15, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, that’s the word I’ve been looking for, the colours are very rich, thank you.

      September 15, 2014
  47. Stunning close-ups Leanne, I like them a lot! The forest offers such great possibilities for photography, especially when you take a closer look. 🙂

    September 15, 2014
    • Thank you Elina, I am really starting to understand that, the forest is amazing, I can’t wait to get a macro to take to places like that.

      September 15, 2014
  48. Forest inside a forest. I like that, too.

    September 16, 2014
  49. Lovely shots, Leanne – particularly the forest within a forest (although the bleeding blackwood runs a close second).

    September 17, 2014
    • Thank you Richard, it is amazing what you find when you look for details. I really like the bleeding tree too.

      September 17, 2014
  50. Jen #

    Wonderful sights, Leanne, this is right up my alley. 🙂 The one of the sap is my favourite—it’s almost blood red, with those little tinges of blue, all seeming to want to hide in the shadows. Beautiful!

    September 17, 2014
    • Thank you Jen, this is something that I really want to get into as well. I can’t wait to get a macro lens for doing this. That sap is like blood, it was so strange.

      September 17, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Photo Walk in Oslo | Cardinal Guzman

Comments are closed.

