Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs

Another Tuesday, and again, not a lot to talk about.  Well, not work wise.  I have been doing some things, planning stuff, and working out things about my work.

Social Snappers

I have started getting ready for Term 4, I think I said that last week.  I have lots of great excursions planned, though I still suspect that people think they need to be really good or have a DSLR or something like that to be able to do the excursions.  I don’t know how to stress to people that it doesn’t matter.  I know I have told you how I went out with a friend the other day to take photos and she was using her phone.  It didn’t diminish the experience for either melbourne-zoo-butterfly-house-9of us.

The other thing I have done is start a new website for the Social Snappers, I got the domain socialsnappers.com and made a blog for it. Here is the link:

Social Snappers Photography Excursions

So please check it out. On the site you can see where we will be going for Term 4.  I have excursions planned for Sundays and Thursdays.

melbourne-zoo-butterfly-house-2I also realise that there are many photography groups around, where you don’t have to pay to attend, but there are differences.  I don’t want these to be about me teaching, but that doesn’t mean if you want to learn to do something that I won’t show you how.  If you have trouble working out something on your camera then I will help you.  I am there to assist.

The other aspect is that the numbers will be kept down, so there is no more than 10 in a group, with the idea being that everyone gets a chance to take photos.  I also know that many of the free groups can have a lot of people attending, so it is a competition to try and get images at times.  Small is good and isn’t overwhelming, especially for new people. I also know that I can get around 10 people and make sure melbourne-zoo-butterfly-house-7they are fine.

Environmental Photography

I am still trying to work this one out.  I love the idea of doing this, but when I look up what it is I keep getting definitions for nature photography or landscape photography.  So now I am confused.  I know that what I want to do is more than nature photography.  I also don’t want to be limited with the amount of post processing I do.

I want my images to evoke emotions, to make people want to care about the environment and what we have left.  I want to help people build a connection with it. I know photos can do that.  We have seen it happen before, we are visual beings, and it is a good way to do it. So, I think I am slowly melbourne-zoo-butterfly-house-1starting to understand the direction I want to go.

It should be an interesting journey.  No idea where it will take me, or what I will end up doing, but if I can help people make that connection and make them want to save our environment, especially from unnecessary development, then it is a direction I definitely want to go in.

The Mallee

I have another trip planned for the Mallee and will be going up next week.  I will be staying for almost a week this time.  I have some trips planned and hopefully will be going back to some places and seeing some new ones.  I am going up on my own this time, and so my mum is going to get annoyed with me having to come out with me a lot.  I am hoping to do some star trails this time.  I have a place worked out, I just hope it works okay.

I am also going to be teaching a Landscape and Photography Workshop in Swan Hill, well, out at Nyah West, which should be great.  We will be going to some salt lakes or pans, not sure what they are called.  I am so excited about melbourne-zoo-butterfly-house-6going there.  Should be great.  Hopefully we won’t get the bad weather that spoiled the trip last time.

I think that is about it for this week.  The photos in this post were taken on a Social Snappers outing when we went to the zoo. The butterfly house is a great place to get photos, well if you can put up with the kids trying to catch them, and their stupid parents for not stopping them. It amazed me how no one thought it was a bad idea to catch the butterflies.

 

57 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These are pretty butterflies; they are not like the ones we have here. The pictures are so clear. 🙂

    September 16, 2014
    • Thanks Jackie, I think they import these, and they are probably from all over the world, I know I don’t see any of them in my garden. 🙂

      September 16, 2014
  2. Absolutely beautiful photographs!

    September 16, 2014
  3. Reblogged this on B.E.S.T. Arts Gallery and commented:
    Transformation

    September 16, 2014
  4. Gorgeous butterfly pics and a great way to capture them in the Butterfly house. Good luck with SS… The site looks great. Have fun at the Mallee… I know you will.

    September 16, 2014
    • Thanks Robyn, the butterfly house is great, though some of them move so fast, the green one, in the first image, took so long to get.
      Thanks for checking out the site, it is basic, but I don’t think it needs to be anything more than that. I usually do have a great time up there, always good to catch up with my mum too.

      September 16, 2014
  5. positivekarisma #

    So beautiful!

    September 16, 2014
  6. Stunning photos. 😀

    September 16, 2014
  7. Hey Leanne .. I got tired reading this post! You are way too busy! Best of luck with Social Snappers .. And have a great time in the Mallee, I know it’s special to you!

    September 16, 2014
    • I’m good at making myself look busy, haha, I want to be very busy, thank you, I’m looking forward to going, have some plans for some things.

      September 16, 2014
  8. leecleland #

    Beautiful butterfly shots it was worth the patience for that green one, Leanne. Stunning.

    September 16, 2014
    • Oh yes, didn’t think I was going to get it, it would stop and as I would focus, it would fly off. Had to be very quick, it was worth it, thanks Lee.

      September 16, 2014
  9. What gorgeous butterflies! Good luck with your upcoming workshops!

    September 16, 2014
    • Thank you Rusha, I hope there is lots of interest in them.

      September 16, 2014
  10. Beautiful photos. I was wondering how did you manage to capture so many beautiful butterflies and as i read your post i got it 😉 its a shame that i am so far otherwise id attend your workshop!

    September 16, 2014
    • Oh yes the butterfly house at the zoo is a great place to take photos, requires a bit of patience though. It is a shame, maybe one day, who knows maybe I will be there one day. 🙂

      September 17, 2014
      • The penny just dropped haha there is a butterfly and bird house not far from where i live! I think its time for a visit, since the weather wont be too nice now for a walk in the countryside. I know what you mean about patience – i tried to photograph them on flowers etc but they always flew off 😉 That would be awesome 😉 mind you I wont mind visiting Australia one day so who knows 😉

        September 17, 2014
      • Sounds like it is Andrea, though sometimes your gear can fog up when you walk into them, so be prepared to wait until it clears and acclimatizes to the environment. Good luck and have fun. I hope you do come one day, that would be awesome too. 😉

        September 17, 2014
      • Oh right thank you. I didnt think about that! Thanks a lot 😉 I’d love to see Australia and New Zealand too. And I could go to your workshop!

        September 17, 2014
      • You’re welcome Andrea, just do you don’t freak out if it happens. I would love to see New Zealand, the landscapes there are so amazing. Oh yes, I would love it if people I have met through my blog could do my workshops.

        September 17, 2014
      • Ok thank you for the advice. I know, and i am a big Lord of the rings and Hobbit fan so I’d love to see places where they were filmed. I understand, its nice to meet people on the Internet especially if you get on well, but after a while we feel it would be even better to meet in person. I think if people from your blog attended your workshop you would feel you kind of know everyone.

        September 17, 2014
      • Oh so am I, I would love to do a LOTR tour around NZ and photograph some of the amazing landscapes that were in the movies. I have met a few people from the blog, and that is exactly what it is like Andrea, friends already and conversation is never a problem. We might have to see if we can do NZ together, one day.

        September 17, 2014
      • Yes it would be brilliant, i have only seen films and documentaries and its a beautiful country. I heard that theres a place with the hobbit holes and it works as a kind of museum. Oh yes that would be fantastic!

        September 17, 2014
      • Yes, they have turned Hobbiton into a place to visit. It would be so cool. So beautiful and so different to Australia as well.

        September 17, 2014
      • I think for me living in Europe it would be a completely different world and an experience of a lifetime. Plus my photography skills will improve to a different level! I will start saving, thats it 😉

        September 17, 2014
      • OKay, sounds good, I will have to save as well. I am going to New York next year, so will have to be after that. Maybe we can get a blogging group together, how amazing would that be. 😉

        September 17, 2014
      • New York sounds exciting! Hm its a very good idea Leanne! 😉

        September 17, 2014
      • Thanks Andrea, maybe we will have to work on it. 🙂

        September 17, 2014
      • You’re very welcome. If you need any help or ideas im happy to help out 😉

        September 17, 2014
      • I’ll let you know. 🙂

        September 17, 2014
  11. These are beautiful leanne!! 😊

    September 17, 2014
  12. Beautiful!

    September 17, 2014
  13. I loved the Butterfly House at the Melbourne Zoo but didn’t get photos anywhere near as wonderful as yours. Love them all.

    September 17, 2014
    • I have to admit I did have a big lens on, the 150-500mm from Sigma, so it was easy to get close ups. It will be a shame when the owner wants his lens back. Thanks Suz.

      September 17, 2014
      • Oh, I would be in heaven with a lens like that. I have been attempting to photograph wrens with my 55-250mm lens but can’t get quite close enough to get a great shot.

        September 17, 2014
      • It is nice to use, but a big lens to lug around. I had to use a monopod with it, it was hard to steady.

        September 17, 2014
  14. Great shots Leanne! I love butterflies 😀 These are just lovely!

    September 17, 2014
    • Thank you Keli, there are some that are so pretty. 😀

      September 17, 2014
  15. OH ! wonderful flutterbys! Fantastic captures Leanne!

    September 17, 2014
    • Thank you Emily, they are tricky to get, they never stop moving.

      September 17, 2014
  16. LB #

    As I was reading I was pondering your Environmental Photography title. It definitely does not make me think nature … but does it reflect that you want to show the harm being done to our environment? I see your dilemma.
    What about something with the word Impact? Or Earth?
    I don’t know but I love that you want to do it.

    September 17, 2014
    • It is a dilemma, and I’m not sure how to go about it, maybe sticking with environmental photographer is the way to go. Perhaps, because it seems to have no definition, I can help give it one.
      Thank you LB, it is nice to be doing some photography that could really have a purpose.

      September 17, 2014
  17. gaiainaction #

    Very beautiful. Butterflies are such lovely creatures.

    September 17, 2014
    • I think so too, they photograph so well too, thank you.

      September 17, 2014
  18. Gorgeous pictures of butterflies. We have something similar here, where you go in and they just fly all around you everywhere. Beautiful creatures!

    September 18, 2014
    • Butterfly houses are great, hot, but really good, it is fun when they land on your too. Thank you.

      September 18, 2014
  19. Connecting others to the environment through photography is a wonderful ambition. Good luck in figuring out how best to go about it. Would you be focusing more on the glories of wild spaces that are still left untouched or also focusing on urban environments and their impact on humans?

    September 18, 2014
    • Thank you, it certainly feels right to me. Yes, that is the next part of the problem to me too know, working out how to make that work. I hope both. I live near a gorgeous area that is like an urban oasis, I know cliche, but really it is, and I want to do something that will stop it from being developed, or a freeway going through it. I like photographing the history of a place too, if that makes sense. It is such an amazing thing to do.

      September 18, 2014
      • You’ve taken on a huge challenge and I wish you all the best with it! There are so many possibilities for the directions you could go in and they all sound wonderful. Good luck with the attempt to stop your oasis from being developed….

        September 21, 2014
      • Yes huge, but I really hope rewarding, it would be great to be able to use my photography for something like this. Thank you.

        September 21, 2014
  20. I love that you were able to get social snappers dot com! Beautiful shots.

    September 18, 2014
    • So am I Elen, now I just need to make it successful, thank you.

      September 18, 2014

Comments are closed.

