Skip to content

Quiet Thursday’s – Laurent Building

Every time I walk past this building I think of Harry Potter.  I can’t explain it, whether it is the curve on the corner, or the fact that it is at the entrance of a lane. I took this photo during a Social Snappers excursion, and we stayed here for a while as we took lots of photos from different places.

laurent-melbourne-littlecollins-building-monochrome

I know a lot of you have already seen this image.  I’ve had it on Facebook, Google+ and Flickr, so I thought it might be time to show it here.

I like how the image has come out, and it was one of the first that I did in this sort of style.  I quite like it, but wished I’d used a tripod, which I didn’t have with me.  I feel like I’m always saying I will have to go back and do it again, and I am sure that for many of them I will, at some point.  I don’t know about this one, if it would be worth it or not. Listen to me, I’m rambling, sorry.

I will just leave it there today, take care and I hope you have a quiet day too.

109 Comments
  1. Kind of looks pointy, like it’s disappearing into space. A wee bit Potter-ish 🙂 Also, the dark sky really works!

    September 18, 2014
    • I like that idea of the pointy, I thought it was like a arrow. Thank you Marilyn.

      September 18, 2014
  2. Just sit with the satisfaction that you like it…and if you do end up going back you will create something new, not improve on what you already did. This is a gorgeous image and yes, totally reminds me of a Harry Potter like place. Really cool!

    September 18, 2014
    • That is very very true Carrie, and I do like it, I have to admit. Thank you Carrie, that is great, glad I’m not the only one that sees that.

      September 18, 2014
  3. beautiful shot!
    Perfect as it is.

    September 18, 2014
  4. Stunning!

    September 18, 2014
  5. lensaddiction #

    I know this building, I went to the patissiere there when I was in Melbourne last (2010) and had macarons for the first time. i was disappointed cos they were noxiously sweet and not really flavourful beyond that but looked so pretty in the display cabinet

    And yet down that same lane was a KokoBlack where I sat and had amazing blood orange and chocolate sorbet and sat and watched people go by in the lane as I sat by the window and watched on my last day in the city, wishing I had known it was there earlier and I would have visited EVERYDAY!

    I get all of those memories from your image

    September 18, 2014
    • Everyone raves about macarons, but I don’t like them, they don’t taste the way I think they should. So I am with you on that one.
      Yes, KokoBlack they are always too busy for me, I like other places, so haven’t been there for a long time.
      That is fantastic, nice that one image can do that.

      September 18, 2014
      • lensaddiction #

        oh we have macarons here that are MUCH nicer and taste of things and not drowning in sugar.

        i remember the building with the dragon gargoyles and a couple of other ones you have posted i think i remember the frontages of but the Laurent one has a very clear memory for me cos I walked my way across the cbd one morning and specifically stopped there on the way

        September 18, 2014
      • You may have just got a bad one, I wouldn’t know, I don’t like them, I don’t like the texture of them.
        I am trying to think which building has the dragon gargoyles, I can see them in my head, but can’t remember where they are.

        September 18, 2014
      • lensaddiction #

        I need to get in and edit my photos from that trip, 4 days into it we had the first big earthquake in CHCH so I kinda lost my mojo whenever I look at them.

        Need to come back and have better memories of Melbourne! Tho I loved Flinders lane and the cupcakes the size of your head

        September 19, 2014
      • That’s understandable.
        Sounds like you do, maybe ask a local about the good hang out places, ;). Flinders lane is really good, good place to eat. I can remember when that area was so dead, it really has come alive over the last 15 years.

        September 19, 2014
  6. Really nicely done 🙂

    September 18, 2014
  7. love this cafe! and this photo puts in a really different light.

    September 18, 2014
    • I often have coffee there, it is nice. Thank you.

      September 18, 2014
  8. johnholding #

    Stunning image Leanne.

    September 18, 2014
  9. Harry Potter would have given a thumbs up on this. Nice eerie feeling.

    September 18, 2014
  10. Wow! Amazing shot!

    September 18, 2014
    • Thank you Rajiv.

      September 18, 2014
      • Can you tell me where I can find a resource where they explain how to rasterize properly? A resource where they speak English, not gobbledy-gook!

        September 18, 2014
      • I have to say, I can’t but I have been told to never do it, avoid it as much as you can. I don’t know what it is, but don’t do it, haha.

        September 18, 2014
      • Oh, okay – I keep getting this feedback from stock photo agencies saying the photo is improperly rasterized!

        September 18, 2014
      • Sorry can’t help, do they mean flattened? are you sending jpegs.

        September 18, 2014
      • Yup. That is what they want. Jpegs. I assume they mean flattened

        September 18, 2014
      • I think what rastersizing does is converts thinks like painting or something like that that you have done on your image into pixels. I don’t really get it, I just ignore it when it asks me. I would ask the stock company what they mean.

        September 18, 2014
  11. Only one adjective: SUPER!!! Congratulations, Leanne! Perfect! 🙂

    September 18, 2014
    • Thank you so much Fabio. 😀

      September 18, 2014
  12. It reminds me of when Hagrid said to Harry in the first book/movie “Well there’s yer money Harry. Gringots bank … ” And (In the movie)they show a from just like the Laurent building.

    September 18, 2014
    • Oh yes, that’s it exactly, that is what it reminds me of, maybe I should change the name to Gringots? Thank you.

      September 18, 2014
      • Whatever you like, I am a HP Fan have all the books & think I am only missing one of the movies. You did great!

        September 19, 2014
      • We are in this house too, all the books, all the movies, great series. Thank you.

        September 19, 2014
  13. Sweet! 🙂
    M.C.Escher would have liked it. It seems to convey a sense of eternity or endlessness.

    September 18, 2014
    • Thank you, that is great. 😀

      September 18, 2014
  14. Oh the things we are ‘going to do again one day’!

    September 18, 2014
  15. I *love* the movement in this photo. I feel like I’m standing right there in front of the building, getting dizzy from all of the motion.

    September 18, 2014
    • That is brilliant Diana, wonderful, thank you so much.

      September 18, 2014
  16. That’s stunning Leanne. Thank you for sharing. Shane

    September 18, 2014
    • You’re welcome Shane, it is good that you like it, thank you.

      September 18, 2014
  17. It looks like Gringotts bank. Great perspective as well. 😀

    September 18, 2014
    • Someone else said that Raewyn, I think so too, thank you. 😀

      September 18, 2014
  18. Great shot Leanne .. No need for that tripod!

    September 18, 2014
    • Thanks Julie, yeah, sometimes it just isn’t needed. LOL

      September 18, 2014
  19. Hahaha you have a point, it really DOES remind me of Gringott’s!

    September 18, 2014
    • Haha, it does, I think it is the curved corned. Thanks David.

      September 19, 2014
  20. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The Laurent Building screams money and power… Harry Potter too! I have seen it before but this is easy on the eyes. You could place this one in queue for repeats any time. 🙂 (No need to write back.)

    September 18, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, that is good to hear, I like this too, though I hope only the beginning of doing architecture like this. 😀

      September 19, 2014
  21. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Quiet Thursday’s – Laurent Building by Leanne Cole

    September 18, 2014
  22. This is a fantastic photograph. I love the strong lines of the building tapering up towards and contrasting with that whispy sky. Also, it totally made me think of Gringott’s Bank as soon as I saw it so you are not alone in thinking of Harry Potter.

    September 19, 2014
    • Thank Papict, that is wonderful, I love the curve of the corner.

      September 19, 2014
  23. Inspiring image, Leanne! The solidity of the building and the blurred cloud motion contrast well with one another. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    September 19, 2014
    • Thank you and you are so welcome, I love how it came out, and it really makes me want to do more like this.

      September 19, 2014
  24. Amy #

    It’s an awesome shot! The structure of the building is unique. It looks like it’s soaring to the sky and touches the beautiful clouds!

    September 19, 2014
    • I love the building, I love the curve, and I love the way you have described it Amy, thank you.

      September 19, 2014
  25. Very cool Leanne. LOVE!!!

    September 19, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, of course I know you have seen it before.

      September 19, 2014
      • I have but it’s still a great shot. You’re welcome :))

        September 19, 2014
      • 😀

        September 19, 2014
  26. I love the black and and white. it makes it more out there yet not to out there to lose it’s statement

    September 19, 2014
    • The building is quite monochrome, so it made sense to make it black and white, but I am glad you liked that. Thank you.

      September 19, 2014
    • Okay, so not the same, but still curves, thanks Lucy.

      September 19, 2014
      • lucywilliamspoetry #

        I think it looks quite like it apart from it is not as wonky!

        September 20, 2014
      • It is one of those things, you see it in the street, and think, ahh Harry Potter. I know it is nothing like it, but that is what it reminds me off. There is a lane in Melbourne too that reminds me of Diagon Alley, it is one that would be at home there.

        September 20, 2014
  27. Very dramatic and yes, a good shot, so I’m not surprised you are happy with it.

    September 19, 2014
    • Thank you Robert, a good start I think, I want to do more like this.

      September 19, 2014
  28. The building does have the old London look. Really like the long exposure with the clouds. Nice shot.

    September 19, 2014
    • I think you would find a lot of our buildings have that old London look, seems much of Melbourne was based on London. Thank you Ben.

      September 19, 2014
  29. A gorgeous shot.

    September 19, 2014
  30. Fabulous shot!

    September 19, 2014
  31. ha! Harry potter was the first thing I thought of too! Super cool picture 🙂

    September 19, 2014
    • That’s fantastic, so cool, thank you. 😀

      September 19, 2014
  32. I love this shot, you have a wonderful eye!

    September 19, 2014
    • thank you, and thank you.

      September 19, 2014
  33. The moving sky!! Wow. Great view point! Love the BW

    September 19, 2014
    • You know I cheated with that sky right Luis, LOL, but thank you.

      September 19, 2014
      • Wow. Really. I take it all back…. It works!

        September 19, 2014
      • Thank you, I used a different sky, the on on the day was very boring, white I believe, it was overcast.

        September 19, 2014
      • Well it works.

        September 19, 2014
      • That is good to know, I like doing this sort of thing.

        September 19, 2014
  34. Jen #

    Great sky and shadows! It’s very dramatic. I, too, thought of Harry Potter, it looks a bit like Gringott’s!

    September 19, 2014
    • Thank you Jen, amazing how many people thought the same as us, it is great, or is it great minds .. . .

      September 19, 2014
  35. Magnificent shot. My husband just bought me a monkey tripod, so I’m looking forward to experimenting 🙂

    September 19, 2014
    • Thank you beeblu, I’ve never used one of those, my tripod is massive and can be a bit of a pain to use at times, well when I have to carry it around. 😀

      September 19, 2014
  36. If you made this without a tripod you didn’t need it in the first place it is an awesome photo!
    Maybe some clarity is lost when you enlarge it – but that can actually add to the mood of your shot and well only other photographers usually notice that. Great p.o.v.

    September 19, 2014
    • It is actually two images, I put in another sky, you could never hold the camera for a long exposure like that. Though, I don’t know what you mean by losing clarity when you enlarge it, nothing was enlarged.
      Thank you Riley.

      September 19, 2014
      • oh Just a comment on when your pic is small you cant always tell if it is totally sharp – yeah I thought you must of put the camera on the ground – any way great combo I would never of thought it was the two images looks very natural

        September 20, 2014
      • Oh okay, no I was holding the camera, LOL, would have been an interesting way to take a photo.

        September 20, 2014
  37. LB #

    I hadn’t seen it so I’m glad you posted it here.
    Believe it or not, I’m one of the few left in the world that hasn’t read Harry Potter so I can’t vouch for that part of this post, but I do like the image!

    September 19, 2014
    • I am glad about that LB, that it is new to you.
      REally it is what the building reminds me of, but I am so glad you like it, thank you.

      September 19, 2014
  38. Definitely reminds me of the streets of Diagon Alley or Hogsmeade 😀

    September 19, 2014
    • that is great, thank you. 😀

      September 19, 2014
  39. Love this shot. Great perspective and cool movement of the sky. Adds some drama to it. 🙂

    September 19, 2014
    • Thank you, I love adding drama to images. 😀

      September 19, 2014
  40. Something so timeless too about the B&W medium. I love all your photos! Great work!

    September 19, 2014
    • Think so as well, thank you.

      September 19, 2014
  41. Wow!

    September 20, 2014

Comments are closed.

