Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Gardens Near the Treasury

Melbourne-fitzroy-treasury-gardens-rain633

Yesterday I went into the city on an unofficial Social Snappers trip with a friend. We wanted to see how the Fitzroy Gardens were now that it was spring.  Can I tell you, we didn’t see much, it wouldn’t stop raining.  To the weather man, scattered showers is not where it eases a little but basically keeps going.  We did get some photos around the big pond in the Treasury Gardens, before it was too hard to be outside.

Melbourne-fitzroy-treasury-gardens-rain626

As you can see it wasn’t a really good day for photos, it was a bit dark, then again, I really like the way the rain saturates all the colours.  Gives some great colours,

Once we had taken lots of photos of this we went over the road to the Conservatory, but again, it started raining, so indoors for us.

Melbourne-fitzroy-treasury-gardens-rain634

We were blown away by the conservatory.  We were there about two or three months ago and the only thing that was the same was the four walls and ceiling.  It looked completely different and it was a sea of flowers.  It was like a bubble of beautiful spring in a rainy wet world.  It was really nice.

Melbourne-fitzroy-treasury-gardens-rain630

They had these bird cage things hanging up over the flowers. They looked really good over the top of the flowers.  I think one of the things I love about this conservatory is that it is free, a rare thing these days, somewhere where you can just walk in and look.  We walked in and stayed for quite a while.  My friend loves photographing flowers, so we stayed there for quite a while while she took lots of photos.

Melbourne-fitzroy-treasury-gardens-rain640

I was standing at the door watching the ducks swim and waiting for the rain to stop.

I took photos of the flowers, but it was hard without a macro lens, though I have to say, I know have one, well, for a couple of weeks.  Maxwell International Australia have lent me a Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro lens to try out.  It arrived while I was here, shame it didn’t get there earlier in the day.  I am looking forward to trying it out and letting you all know what I think of it.  So far, I’m happy.

Melbourne-fitzroy-treasury-gardens-rain646

It really starting raining so we abandoned our visit to the gardens, and decided to head into the city, then my friend pointed out the reflection on the footpath.  It was really interesting seeing how the water on the footpath turned mirror like with all the reflections.

One of the things that both of us did was to take photos with our DSLRs, but also compact cameras, though my compact cameras battery died so I used my phone to take some.  I did a blog post on the Social Snappers site with the photos I took with my phone if you are interested, Fitzroy Gardens with the Samsung Galaxy S3, and I have done a post for the art blog on my website on the photos I got with the compact camera.  It was fun using the different cameras and seeing what worked and what didn’t. I might have to do it more often.

I have a gallery for you now, and despite the weather there were some lovely spring colours.  I hope you enjoy the saturation of the wet environment and have a good weekend.  Happy snapping.

 

 

70 Comments
  1. Beautiful photos Leanne. The reflections on the pavement in the last shot are stunning, sometimes the light just after a rainstorm has such an amazing quality to it.

    September 20, 2014
    • I agree Katie, we got some interesting images with it, which was great. thank you.

      September 20, 2014
  2. Beautiful, I’m jealous and I love bird cages!

    September 20, 2014
    • Thank you, those bird cages looked so nice.

      September 20, 2014
  3. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    September 20, 2014
  4. Amy #

    Even it’s not not a good day to photo, you took beautiful, poetic photos. Amazing!
    I especially like the two ducks. 🙂

    September 20, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, it is good to get rain, but it was a bit frustrating at the time, just have to rethink and work out what else you can do.
      We were watching another group of ducks and a woman run past them and one of them went after her trying to attack, it was quite funny. I don’t think the woman knew what to do.

      September 20, 2014
      • Amy #

        That is funny 🙂
        Thank you for continue inspire and encouraging us with your stories and photos, Leanne!

        September 20, 2014
      • It was also funny because the woman running thought it was funny too and was laughing. 😀
        What a lovely thing to say Amy, thank you so much.

        September 20, 2014
  5. Wow rain or not beautiful pictures 🙂

    September 20, 2014
    • Yes, maybe, haha, have you tried photographing your garden after rain Julie, see how intense the colours can be. Thank you. 😀

      September 20, 2014
  6. You got some lovely close up and yummy DOF on the a few of those flower images. We do complain about gray days, but the clouds/cover do make the colors pop!

    Looking forward to seeing your images, and reading your thoughts/review of the Tamron 90mm macro lens. A couple of my friends own that lens and I’ve shot with it once and loved the images I made with it. Okay, hopping over to your other gallery to see your cell phone images. 🙂

    September 20, 2014
    • The 24-70mm is a good lens for doing this sort of photography. We complain, but you are right, you can get some great colours, I think it can be about changing your mind set too, so you won’t get the images you thought you would, but you will get something else.
      I’m looking forward to having a play with it, am taking it up the mallee next week, so that should be good. I love playing with macro lenses. I will let you know on the blog how I find it.
      thank you. 😀

      September 20, 2014
  7. Lovely photos as always. I especially love that one of the statues, the wet path and the reflection. The bird cages among the flowers are also very appealing.

    September 20, 2014
    • I loved those statues too, I had no idea they were there. they are so life like. The bird cages were so cool too, they looked good over the flowers. Thank you Papict.

      September 20, 2014
  8. Beautiful beautiful post, Leanne. I have tears in my eyes. You are entering my most favorite of all the seasons, while I am in fall here where I live with dreaded snow and cold ahead of me. I have to stop feeling sorry for myself. Someday I shall live where is is warm all year round.

    I enjoyed every single image, the flowers I melted into, and the bird cage I just love the way you caught the arch of the window with the arch of the birdcage. Nice shots, Leanne!!!

    I did some wandering myself today which I plan on putting up on Petals over the weekend. I cannot call them Weekend Wanderings ( I wouldn’t!) so I have to come up with a new name. (smile) Anyways, I really really enjoyed this post!!! Thank you!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

    September 20, 2014
    • I will have to see that I do more over your cold period Amy, let you know that spring will come. We have the opposite problem to you, we are going into summer, and summer her can be very harsh and terrible, has us wishing for cold days and winter.
      that is great to hear, thank you so much Amy. Did you see I have a loan of a macro so I will be able to really see what I can get with the macro now. I am really keen to use it, though I have a cold at the moment, so it might have to wait a day or two. Might see how i feel this afternoon.
      That’s great Amy, of course you can call it Weekend Wanderings, I don’t own it, so go ahead if you want to. I will have to look out for it. Take Care.

      September 20, 2014
      • No, Leanne, I’ve changed my mind. I took the photos with my macro and they did not turn out as I would have liked them to. I’m not going to do that post. I too am not feeling well, and it has taken a great effort on my part to be here today. I hope YOU are feeling better!!! I am really looking forward to your macros, BUT get well first!!! I don’t even want to pick up my camera right now. For real. I’ll try again another time with my little historic walk I had planned. I could do another one from a few weeks back, but I honestly am not up to it. Yep, me too. I cold. And it is nasty. Take care!!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

        September 20, 2014
      • That is a shame Amy, it is always so disappointing when that happens. I know what you mean about not feeling like doing anything when you are unwell. So get well, and then take some fabulous photos. It must be quite colourful where you are with it being autumn, I love autumn, my favourite time of the year. Well usually, this year wasn’t so great.

        September 20, 2014
      • I agree … this year wasn’t all that great here either. The leaves are just beginning to turn, so hopefully as least fall will give me some gorgeous color. I am beginning to learn the limitations my macro does have. Which is good. I’m going to take some time off, perhaps a few days. Hope you are feeling better soon too. Love, Amy

        September 20, 2014
      • I hope you get some great colours, our forests and bushland doesn’t change colours like yours do, I think that what happens there is really amazing. That sounds good, I am hoping to find out if I got my grant soon, and if I did, I will be able to get my own macro lens. It is good to do that, especially if you are sick. I’m not too bad, but the weather outside is pretty glooomy, though I would like to get out later and see if I can take some photos with the macro lens. You rest now Amy.

        September 20, 2014
  9. Jen #

    Very pretty photos despite the weather. Those birdcages are pretty! I also like the shot of the leaf in the water. Though I hate rainy weather days, I’ve learned that’s when detail, small-world photos actually turn out very well most of the time. As you said, the colours can be super-saturated, and since there’s not enough light & shadow for anything else to look really great, you might as well go macro. 😉

    September 20, 2014
    • So true Jen, I think when it is raining, you just have to rethink and change what you had planned on doing. I like what you have said about the details, something I am learning to do more. Thank you so much Jen, hopefully, one day I will have my own macro that can stay in my camera bag and always be there.

      September 20, 2014
  10. wow!!! even the weather is not co-operative you do managed to get some awesome shots – love the ones you took on the friends and the birds cages and the bridge, they are so beautiful shots….

    September 20, 2014
    • thank you, I think you need to rethink when it happens, we still had a lot of fun and I got a lot of nice photos.

      September 20, 2014
  11. Love the photos inside the conservatory. They are just divine.
    I hope the rain holds off today though. My kids (the Tween, the First Born, The Son and daughter-in-law and one of the grandkids) are heading into the city soon.

    September 20, 2014
    • Thanks Suz, it is a great place to take photos.
      I don’t think we are going to get any rain, the forecast says not, though it is overcast, but should be dry. Sounds like an exciting day for the brothers and sisters.

      September 20, 2014
      • I believe they had a wonderful day. 🙂

        September 21, 2014
      • That’s fantastic Suz.

        September 21, 2014
  12. I loved your post. And you have such an incredible eye. Thanks for sharing these!

    September 20, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much and I am so glad you loved the post.

      September 20, 2014
  13. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Rain turns sidewalks and pavement into glass and the statues look as if they are to step out onto a pond. 🙂

    September 20, 2014
    • Great way of putting it Jackie, I really like that, that is exactly what it was like. Thank you. 😀

      September 20, 2014
  14. so beautiful place and great photographs dear Leanne Cole, I loved them all. Thank you, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    September 20, 2014
    • Thank you Nia, I think it is beautiful and I’m glad you do as well.

      September 20, 2014
  15. These are some great photos. You’re right, even though the skies were grey, you still managed to get some colour in your shots. Lots of dark greenery. Wonderful to see the Conservatory full of blooming flowers. Last time I was there a couple of years ago in autumn they weren’t as bright pink and blue like the ones in your photos. Then again, flowers usually look most beautiful in spring.

    Looking forward to seeing what you can do with the macro lens. Hope you are having a good weekend. I am taking it easy after a busy week at work 🙂

    September 20, 2014
    • I think they change the conservatory all the time because the last time we were there it didn’t look anything like that. Yes, the wet weather really made the colours pop, I will have to remember that in the future.

      I’m looking forward to it as well. I have a little bit of a cold right now, which I am very annoyed at, but hopefully it won’t hang around for long. I have night photography tomorrow night. Sounds like a good plan, always good to take it easy. That’s what I’ve been doing today. 🙂

      September 20, 2014
  16. gorgeous Leanne!! A wonderland of colour and reflections!! Love the two men! ( Still travelling but I get a moment to go online in the wee hours)

    September 20, 2014
    • How wonderful of you to pop in while you are away, thank you, and thank you. I hope your trip is going well.

      September 20, 2014
  17. Very serene 🙂

    September 20, 2014
  18. Beautiful photos, I particularly like the shot of the fish in the water, and of the flowers.

    September 20, 2014
    • Thank you Daniel, I liked the fish, but they are so hard to photograph.

      September 21, 2014
  19. Beautiful gardens! Your photos are stunning! I love the pavement photos! Have a super weekend! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    September 20, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, I am so glad my friend point out the footpaths, they look great wet, would like to get more like this. You have a great weekend too Lisa.

      September 21, 2014
  20. The gardens are beautiful Leanne. And you took lovely photos even though it was raining.

    September 21, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, they are rather magnificent gardens, and I think rain or no rain they do photography well.

      September 21, 2014
  21. All the pictures are lovely, a long time ago I visited Longwood Gardens which is similar, I hope to visit again so I can take pictures, I’m sure my pictures won’t be as lovely as yours.

    September 21, 2014
    • I think places that are more official or public gardens can be wonderful. They are so well maintained too. I hope you can go back and get photos, that would be wonderful. Thank you Casey.

      September 21, 2014
  22. It might have been raining but you still got some glorious photos Leanne. The first and the last are my favourites. Such rich colours.

    September 21, 2014
    • thank you Carol, I think I have to remember that, that rain can mean good photos, different.

      September 21, 2014
  23. A great place to go and great photos. 😀

    September 21, 2014
    • It is a great place to go, I think I am going back in a few weeks, so it will be good to see how different it is then as well. Thank you. 😀

      September 21, 2014
  24. How lovely!!

    September 22, 2014
  25. LB #

    Those birdcages are so beautiful!!

    September 22, 2014
    • They are pretty amazing. Thanks LB

      September 22, 2014
  26. Thank you for liking “Good-bye Summer.” Even without a macro lens, your flower shots turned out wonderful. I like their vibrant colors. I also like those bird cage things, and I enjoyed the virtual tour of these beautiful gardens. 🙂

    September 22, 2014
    • You are welcome, and thank you, I like the colours too. So good to hear you enjoyed the virtual tour. 😀

      September 22, 2014
  27. Beautiful gardens and flowers, well captured 🙂

    September 22, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, they are gorgeous possibly because they are close to parliament house. 🙂

      September 23, 2014
  28. So much beauty even with the rain, Leanne. Did you notice how the ripples in the 2nd photo (in slideshow) resemble peacock feathers?

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you John, just goes to show I guess that some places photograph well no matter what the weather is like. I hadn’t thought of peacock feathers, I like the distorted tree shape, but I can see what you are saying as well.

      September 23, 2014
  29. Love those birdcages!

    September 23, 2014
    • They are so amazing, they looked great in the display.

      September 23, 2014
  30. Gosh! You are blessed with an eye for beauty!

    September 23, 2014
    • It is easy when you are surrounded by lots of beautiful things, thank you.

      September 23, 2014
  31. I am so envious of your Leanne that you have all these beautiful botanic gardens to go to down there.! I would just be in heaven seeing all these grand and beautiful places!

    November 16, 2014
    • I guess that is one of the advantages of living in a major city is that you have access to these sorts of thing. I am lucky. thanks

      November 16, 2014

Comments are closed.

