Skip to content

Weekend Wandering – Melbourne Indoors

melbourne-myer-building-architecture-661

About a month ago I had a Social Snappers Excursion in the city, we went around the arcades, and today I thought I would show you some of those photos. I wasn’t sure about showing them as I have shown so many photos of the arcades I was worried you might be getting bored seeing them again,  however we did go to some places that I haven’t photographed much, so I am going to show those.  It’s really only two places.

melbourne-cathedral-arcade-nicholas-building-649

One of the first places we went to was the Cathedral Arcade in the Nicholas Building.  It is a beautiful arcade, but very, sadly, run down.  It could really do with some TLC.  I would love to have seen it in it prime.

melbourne-royal-arcade-cup-saucer-652

For no other reason, than because I like it.  I took this in the Royal Arcade, it was on the stand for the Macarons.  I love how they have things like this just sitting there.  They also don’t seem to mind you take photos.

melbourne-myer-building-architecture-658

We went to Myer to take photos of the interior.  I am not sure what their policy is on people taking photos in there, but it is such a great building and I love photographing it.  There are so many angles and shapes.  There is glass everywhere so the reflections are amazing as well.  You just never know what you will be looking at.  I do know that woman standing in the middle of the image, I am pretty sure, was watching us.

melbourne-myer-building-architecture-655

If you go all the way to the top there is a big window where you can see all the buildings in the city. Well not all of them, but it does give you a good view of the city.

We had planned on doing more, well we did do more, but we were going to head outside, but just as we started it started raining, so it was back inside.  I love going through the arcades, always trying to get something different, makes it challenging that way.  I think the others enjoyed it as well.

I have a gallery for you with a few more images.  Not too many.  I hope you are having a good weekend.

60 Comments
  1. Woooo, Leanne the photos are amazing love the inside of the building which all those shapes make it so beautiful and striking…. Have a wonderful Sunday, my friend.

    September 21, 2014
    • Thank you Cattan, it is nice when you can get inside buildings to take photos. You have a great day too.

      September 21, 2014
  2. sarahcolliver #

    Love them all but particular favourite is the teacup!! 🙂

    September 21, 2014
    • I know the teacup is sort of out of place in this post, but I loved it too, I really wanted to include it, so thank you. 😀

      September 21, 2014
  3. Lovely set of images…. thanks for sharing

    September 21, 2014
    • You’re welcome, glad you enjoyed them, thank you Joan.

      September 21, 2014
  4. Very nice lines and shapes.

    September 21, 2014
    • I love those too Tim, thank you.

      September 21, 2014
  5. Awesome pics! I sure love the buildings in your city! Hugz my friend, Lisa and Bear

    September 21, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, I love them too, I think we have some great ones.

      September 21, 2014
  6. Great photos. I love the tea cup and saucer. 😀

    September 21, 2014
    • Thank you Raewyn, I think that one is great too, 😀

      September 21, 2014
  7. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    September 21, 2014
  8. Suzanne #

    I love the gallery presentation here – it works brilliantly

    September 21, 2014
    • That is great Suzanne, thank you.

      September 21, 2014
  9. Leanne, these are absolutely stunning!

    September 21, 2014
    • Thank you, that is fantastic.

      September 21, 2014
  10. Very interesting structures, and the reflection makes the photo interesting. I love arcades, I`ve been to a few buildings in Cardiff and Leeds, and the details are very pretty. I dont think i took many photos though, but now your post made me wanting to check my archives 🙂 I like buildings with a nice dome shaped structure with amazing paintings and glass work. I went to the Lafayette shopping hall in Paris, and thats beautiful 🙂

    September 21, 2014
    • Reflections everywhere there, they do look good. I love arcades too. Maybe I have given you some ideas, so when you go them in the future you might be inspired. I hope you did find some great photos in the archives. I love them, I would love to visit others. 🙂 Thank you.

      September 21, 2014
      • You always give me ideas and inspire me with your work. I found a few, actually some of them arent too bad considering that i didnt take photography as seriously as i do now 😉

        September 21, 2014
      • That is great to hear Andrea, I know we have had experiences like that. I spent 7 months in Denmark about 20 years ago, and I was too busy being a mum with a new baby, that I really didn’t take photos, has always been one of my biggest regrets. 🙂 I am glad you don’t think the photos are too bad, that is good.

        September 22, 2014
      • 😉 Oh thats nice and its understandable. Have you been anywhere else in Europe?
        Yes some of them shows details of the buildin, some has reflections. It would be very interesting if i went back now to see whether id take same photos or not. I learnt and practiced so much since

        September 22, 2014
      • No, no, we came home when my daughter was almost one. I couldn’t bear the thought of travelling with her and all the crap you have to take with you when you have a baby. Of course now we wish we had made the effort.
        That’s great, I do hope you get to go back sometime and do them again, it would be interesting to see how you would approach it now.

        September 22, 2014
      • Oh no, its not too convenient to travel with a baby. And they wont remember the trip anyway.
        To be honest, Leeds is not very far from where I live, and the winter is approaching hence no countryside walks, so maybe one weekend a trip to Leeds is in order 🙂

        September 23, 2014
      • Sounds like a trip to Leeds is definitely in order then, great place to go when it is horrible outside. 😀

        September 23, 2014
  11. Wow! Awesome shots. (Just quietly though, the cup and saucer is my favourite).
    My First Born and I have decided we are going to have a girl’s weekend/3 days in Melbourne next year so we can look at art, architecture and gardens etc so I will probably be in touch about the whereabouts of these arcades before then. 🙂

    September 21, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, and just quietly back, I like that one too.
      Wow the weekend sounds like lots of fun, you will have to let me know, I hope we can catch up again as well. 😀

      September 21, 2014
      • Sounds like a plan. Won’t be until next year sometime though. 🙂

        September 22, 2014
      • Okay, well let me know, I am, hopefully, going to be in New York around May, so please don’t come then. 😀

        September 22, 2014
  12. Wonderful contrast of old and new glass ceilings, both beautiful in their own way.

    September 21, 2014
    • I hadn’t thought of that Katie, but so true, new and old, so different. Thank you.

      September 21, 2014
  13. Never bored. Never.

    September 21, 2014
    • That is fantastic, thank you for letting me know Lois.

      September 21, 2014
  14. Hi Leanne, isn’t it amazing… I live in Melbourne and often walk through the Block Arcade and of course Myers, but never with my camera in hand. It is as if the lens allows us to appreciate things more and look at our surroundings more closely. Nice shots especially when seen together! Chris

    September 21, 2014
    • I do think you look at things differently when you have a camera in your hand, you see things differently. Though, I think now I look at everything as though through my camera lens, so if I don’t have it with me I am scouting and trying to see the possibilities and if I should come back with my camera. Thank you, they are so different, but kind of the same.

      September 21, 2014
  15. I love that teacup

    September 21, 2014
    • I think it has been rather popular Nora, I love it too. Thanks

      September 21, 2014
  16. Wonderfully captured shots, great gallery…

    September 21, 2014
  17. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Busy patterns! This was lovely. 🙂

    September 21, 2014
    • Yes, lots of patterns Jackie, thank you. 😀

      September 21, 2014
  18. Some beautiful images- I never get bored with your images!

    September 21, 2014
    • Thank you Trees and thank you, that is good to know.

      September 21, 2014
  19. Really enjoyed the tour through your inside images.

    September 21, 2014
    • That is great Sally, thank you.

      September 21, 2014
  20. Fabulous photos as always, I wonder what it would look like with the curved shapes in one collage and the diamond shapes in another.

    September 21, 2014
    • I don’t know Gypsy, not really sure how it would look. Thank you.

      September 22, 2014
  21. Love the inter architecture designs

    September 21, 2014
  22. Amy #

    Thank you for taking us to Melbourne indoors! Great photo, as always!

    September 22, 2014
    • Thank you for coming along as well Amy, I hope you enjoyed, thank you.

      September 22, 2014
  23. LB #

    The tea cup is so pretty and somehow so fitting for this post.
    Beautiful images!

    September 22, 2014
    • Thank you LB, I think I want a cup and saucer like that, I would love to play around with photos for it.

      September 22, 2014
  24. I love architectural photos. The angles in some of them are mind-boggling! The architect must be part brilliant and part mad! i would have to be on mind-altering drugs just to BEGIN to imagine such spaces, let alone to draw up the blueprints!

    September 23, 2014
    • I love them too John. I know, how cool are those angles. I wish they would do more of that stuff on the outside where everyone can see it. It must have been a lot of fun for the architect, I would imagine. Thanks John.

      September 23, 2014
  25. Fantastic photos, I love your vignettes – the beautiful copper tenants sign, the lovely tea cup and saucer and the lines and geometric patterns of the Myer Centre – all magnificent 🙂

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you Kaz, there are buildings in the city that I never tire of photographing. I loved the cup and saucer, had to include it.

      September 24, 2014
  26. oh my. this is magnificent!

    September 24, 2014

Comments are closed.

