Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs – On My Way

tiddles-macro-sleeping-cat-cute663

I have a very busy week ahead of me and, while most of you are reading this, I will either be on my way, or will have arrived at my mother’s place.

Woomelang

So, today I am travelling to Woomelang to visit my mother. As most of you know, my mother lives up in the mallee and I go there fairly often to visit her and to take photos.  There are so many places up there that I love taking photos of and this time I am excited at the prospect of photographing of somewhere new.  I do hope that eventually I will know the area really well.

tiddles-macro-sleeping-cat-cute667

Rolling over, hoping for a belly rub in the sun.

Nyah West

I will be in Nyah West next Saturday to run a workshop that I’ve been talking about for some time. The workshop will be on landscape photography and then some night sky photography.  I will also be exploring an area that I haven’t been in before; the area around Nyah West which is very a very dehydrated place and has lots of dried out salt lakes. Salt is a major problem up there and becoming more and more of a problem. It will be interesting to see it for myself.

tiddles-macro-sleeping-cat-cute666

HIs paw in a relaxed position, claws retracted.

Another reason for wanting to visit the area is because I spent quite a bit of my childhood up there.  My grandparents had property over the river in a place called Koraleigh.  I have to admit, I am curious about seeing the area again.  I haven’t been there for about 30 years and it will be nice to experience it again.

Social Snappers Round Up

It is still slow going, but I did go to a seminar the other night for small business and got some ideas on how I can improve my marketing for it. I just think they are a great idea, and I

tiddles-macro-sleeping-cat-cute665

Jewels of the nose.

really want them to be successful.  Last night was the last one for this term and it was a great night.  We went into the city to do some night photography.  We went to places that I had seen photos of but had never attempted to take any for myself before, so it was good all round.

I have been getting some testimonials and have been doing them as posts on the SocialSnappers.com site.

Macros and Cokin Filters

As I said the other day, Maxwell International Australia has loaned me a Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro lens, and also a Cokin Z-series adaptor for my wide angle lens and some Grad ND

tiddles-macro-sleeping-cat-cute668

Tiddles gives affection by licking, and he is licking Klara’s nose here. She loves it. I don’t.

filters to try out.  I am realising that I can use the Cokin filter system, but my P-series adaptor is too small for my 24-70mm lens, which is why I get vignetting with it.  I will be trying that out a lot when I go up to the Mallee. I’ll see how I go with the ND filters on some landscapes there.

I will be using the macro for many things.  I am hoping to get back to the Pink Lakes, and, with luck, the wild flowers will be out and I will be able to get some great photos with the macro of those.  I would also like to see if I can get some macro shots of the salt.  There are so many things that I want to do with it bu there’s only a short time to do it. I do like getting to borrow these things because it helps me work out whether or not I really want them.

Today the photos in this post were all taken with the macro lens.  Many of you know our cat ,Tiddles.  I try not to show him too much, but I also know that some of you like to see him, so I hope you enjoy the up close photos with Tiddles.

88 Comments
  1. Kittie toes!

    September 23, 2014
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I think we all love going back home where we grew up. 🙂 It’s funny how cat’s claws are just out of sight but ready to pop out when needed. I remember Woomelang from earlier photographs, it is a beautiful place. ❤ Love the cat.

    September 23, 2014
    • I have to say, I am a bit, sort of, I don’t know how to put it, there is one place where I spent about 12 years of my life that I never really want to go back to. I don’t mind going back as long as I don’t have to see anyone. It is the people I don’t like seeing. I love their feet, but I really don’t like their claws. Yes, you would remember Woomelang, I’ve been there a few times this year. LOoking forward to going back actually. I am hoping the Canola is still flowering. Thanks Jackie, we love Tiddles. 😀

      September 23, 2014
  3. Great macros. 😀

    September 23, 2014
  4. Great photos as always. Good luck in your travels

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you Luis. Should be a great trip.

      September 23, 2014
  5. Lisa and I were talking the other night, that a social snappers excursion focussing on macro and detail would be awesome. Just a suggestion 😊

    September 23, 2014
    • Were you now, LOL, well the Fitzroy Gardens would be a good one for that, it would be all about the details. That is what I find. Though I could plan one for the Kinglake National Park, lots of details there.

      September 23, 2014
      • That amazing door on the church inspired us 😉 texture and pattern!!

        September 23, 2014
      • Oh yes, the door, it was amazing, I love doors like that too. I will have to give it some thought.

        September 23, 2014
      • 🙂

        September 23, 2014
  6. Have a great trip Leanne and enjoy revisiting the area. Hope you have a successful time…and fun 🙂
    Cute photos of Tiddles.

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, it should be great, I hope, the weather should be better too than it was last time. Tiddles was a great model this time, helped that he was asleep, LOL. 😀

      September 23, 2014
      • Yes it does help when the animals are sleeping…lol
        Have fun!! 🙂

        September 23, 2014
      • Most definitely and I will, thanks Robyn, 😀

        September 23, 2014
  7. Have a lovely trip with your Mother and here is wishing you many fantastic scenes to photograph.

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you so much Mary, yes, I hope lots of great scenes too.

      September 23, 2014
  8. It was my pleasure to meet Tiddles. What a cutie! More photos would not upset me….Cat licks–scratchy but I love ’em!

    September 23, 2014
    • He is a cutie and very pampered, but we love him. I will have to remember that. Nah, I don’t like him licking me, my daughter does, she does what she can to get kisses from him. Thanks.

      September 23, 2014
  9. Love the Tiddles shots – have a fun and picturesque trip. I’ve always wondered…is he named after the cat in the Monty Python skit “Interesting People”?

    September 23, 2014
    • Thanks Robert, should be good. No, I don’t know where she got the name from, he was my daughters 7th birthday present, she thought of the name, but we don’t know where she got it from. We tried to talk her out of it, but she was very keen on the name.

      September 23, 2014
      • Thanks…ah, kids…where do they come up with these things? 🙂

        September 23, 2014
      • Who knows, and when they make up their minds, there’s no changing it. LOL

        September 23, 2014
  10. Amy #

    Fantastic macro photos!!!

    September 23, 2014
  11. I really like the close-up of the paw! All the photos are so sweet! Cute animals!

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you, he is a very cute cat, we love him.

      September 23, 2014
  12. The shot where your cat is licking Klara’s nose is priceless. Love it!!

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you Nora, she loves it too, I think I will be getting that printed, she will insist.

      September 23, 2014
  13. Have a great time at your moms and I just love Tiddles!

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you Cate, I’m sure I will, it is always good up there, nice and relaxing. We love him too. 😀

      September 23, 2014
  14. Love the kitty close Ups! Adorable! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    September 23, 2014
    • That’s wonderful Lisa, thank you.

      September 23, 2014
  15. Love the images of tiddles. Its inspired me to have a go at taking some close ups of my cat. Enjoy yr time in the mallee : )

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you, it is a nice thing to do, I love taking close ups, so hard to do though, he moves too move or tries to sniff the camera. Too curious. I hope yours turn out well.

      September 23, 2014
  16. I’m one of those readers who loves to see Tiddles! As you may have guessed. Lovely macros!

    September 23, 2014
    • That’s great to know Tiny, I try not to do too often, that way it is more special when I do. Thank you.

      September 23, 2014
  17. That paw photo is crazy amazing awesomely great ! Hope your visit with your mother goes well.

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you Emily, and thanks, I’m sure I will, I’m here now, but so far she isn’t. LOL

      September 23, 2014
  18. I love Tiddles ! They are all such darling photos, especially the one where he’s licking Klara’s nose. Precious!

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you Laura, she loves him doing that, I don’t like him doing it to me and she thinks I’m mean because I won’t let him, she says it is how cats show affection, but I really don’t like the feel of his tongue.

      September 23, 2014
      • Lol you do t like that raspy feel eh? That’s ok…just continue to show him here once in awhile. Each picture made me smile. He’s so cute. Ok back to sleep zzzz

        September 23, 2014
      • No I don’t, it is too weird, I don’t like dogs licking me either. That’s great to hear, he is very cute, yes, you should be asleep.

        September 23, 2014
      • Yes, I didn’t sleep much last night. 😦 Hopefully your trip to your mom’s was an easy one!

        September 24, 2014
      • The trip was good, but I didn’t get much sleep either, a mozzie buzzing around all night. 😦

        September 24, 2014
      • Oh no….well let’s hope we both get some sleep tonight. What is a mozzie?

        September 24, 2014
      • So do I, I hate not getting a good nights sleep. A mozzie is a mosquito, don’t you call them that?

        September 24, 2014
      • No I’ve never heard that term. Funny.

        September 24, 2014
      • Oh I thought it would be a term everyone used, that is what we call, I hate them.

        September 24, 2014
      • I’m allergic to them and get welts like gold balls. Fortunately We don’t have a lot of those here.

        September 24, 2014
      • They are everywhere here in Australia, though mainly the summer, if you are allergic and ever decide to come here, don’t come in the summer. Or if you do don’t go out at night.

        September 24, 2014
      • They are back east a lot where it’s humid and hot. We don’t have humidity here in the Bay Area We have Mosquitos but they are just not a problem here thank goodness. It’s awful the huge welts I get. If you google allergic reactions to Mosquitos you’ll see the huge golfball sizes. Yeah I’ll visit in winter or spring lol

        September 24, 2014
      • We don’t get humidity either, well rarely, but we still get them. They are everywhere I think here. I hate them.

        September 25, 2014
  19. Enjoy Mallee – it will be nice to see your Mum. Love love the pics of Tiddles …. nice macro lens Leanne 🙂

    September 23, 2014
    • I’m sure I will Julie, and it is good, I’m at her place now, but there is no sign of her, LOL. So glad you liked the Tiddles shots, and the macro is nice, looking forward to testing it out on my mothers garden, she has a great garden. Thanks Julie.

      September 23, 2014
  20. Cute photos!! Have a great time at your mum’s 😊

    September 23, 2014
    • Thank you and thank you Sabrina, I’m sure it will be great.

      September 23, 2014
  21. so lovely dear Leanne Cole, you know how much I love cats 🙂 Thank you, love, nia

    September 23, 2014
    • Oh yes, cats are great, so much character, you would love Tiddles, he is so affectionate. You’re welcome. 😀

      September 23, 2014
  22. i heart cat pics 🙂 these are lovely

    September 23, 2014
  23. Enjoy your trip.

    You did well as a cat photographer. 🙂

    September 24, 2014
    • Thank you David.
      I was hoping you would see the photos, I did them for you, I know you like to see Tiddles. 🙂

      September 24, 2014
  24. Becky Field, Artist #

    Inspired to take some pics of my pooch tomorrow now. Such lovely detail in the pictures …., wouldn’t it be lovely to be a cat? Xx

    September 24, 2014
    • Oh yes do Becky, it is fun, though also hard, especially when they won’t sit still. Thank you, and yes it would be a nice life sometimes.

      September 24, 2014
      • Becky Field, Artist #

        I’ve taken some of my pooch today I hope to blog about him later 🙂

        September 25, 2014
      • Send me a link, I’m not looking at everything while I’m away, but would like to make sure I see them. 🙂

        September 25, 2014
      • Becky Field, Artist #

        http://wp.me/p4SK8R-6C

        Have a great time. Treasured time with your mum xxx

        September 25, 2014
      • I will Becky, you got some great shots.

        September 25, 2014
  25. Since I love cats…. it’s only logical that I’d love these! ❤ These are great!

    September 24, 2014
    • I think that is a very logical way of looking at it Keli, thank you. 😀

      September 24, 2014
  26. LB #

    Now those are some incredible kitty shots!

    September 24, 2014
    • Thank you LB, he is an incredible kitty.

      September 24, 2014
  27. These are some great cat pictures. I would never think to take a picture of a paw, but it is wonderful. Anything with cats really draws me in and makes me smile.

    September 24, 2014
    • Thank you, yes, I love photographing the bits of him, it is nice to see them big. I don’t think you are alone there, I think a lot feel that way, I am the same.

      September 24, 2014
  28. I love these! So simple and sweet.

    September 26, 2014
  29. amy #

    You’ve inspired me! I will be driving our new puppy crazy with the camera this weekend 😉 I can’t wait to see what I come up with!

    September 27, 2014
    • Wonderful, good quality time, I’m sure they will come out well Amy, thank you. 😀

      September 27, 2014
  30. Tiddles is too cute. You are so lucky that he allows you to photograph him. The Diva gives me a terrible time when I have the camera. lol

    September 28, 2014
    • He is Suz, I think he is so used to being photographed as my daughter is always putting him in strange places to get photos. He has his own facebook page so she is always looking for photos of him to put there. He does get a funny look on his face, like what are you doing to me now. Thanks.

      September 28, 2014
  31. Aw! What a sweetie!

    September 29, 2014
  32. Love reading about all you’re up to Leanne. And as for Tiddles, just priceless photos!

    September 30, 2014
    • Thank you Stacy, I’m glad I’m not boring people too much, LOL. Thank you, we love Tiddles, so it is nice to show some photos of him from time to time.

      September 30, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Cat Makes Me Smile | Faithful Homesteader
  2. wandering eye wednesday: week thirty-nine | painted posies

Comments are closed.

