Skip to content

Quiet Thursday – Fun with Macro Flowers

malleeviv-flowers-macro-mums-garden-35

The Mallee is being unpredictable again and yesterday it was overcast and raining, though I hope it will clear soon.  I don’t want to have horrible weather again while i am here.  I did get a chance to head outside yesterday to take some photos of my mothers flowers with the Tamron Macro Lens that I have a loan of right now from Maxwell International Australia.

I don’t want to talk about it too much, it really is too soon to be giving you my opinion of the lens.  I did find it easy to use, and it was fun just taking photos with it.  Hoping to get another chance to go out and try it with the extension tubes before I have to head home.

That is enough, here a selection, or some of my favourite photos that I took.

85 Comments
  1. leecleland #

    Flowers are so great for macro work and love the shots you’ve taken, Leanne. Hope the weather is good to you for the rest of your time in the Mallee and you get to do all you had hoped to shoot and more 🙂

    September 25, 2014
    • They are Lee, thank you. I think it is going to get better, at least it has stopped raining, though could be too overcast for the milky way tonight.

      September 25, 2014
  2. wonderful work

    September 25, 2014
  3. Gorgeous macros. So crisp!

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Marilyn, I was really happy, pretty good for hand held as well.

      September 25, 2014
  4. Oh wow, Leanne, these look beautiful. I especially like the first image of the lavender and hovering bee, and the angle you chose for the red aster (at least I think it’s an aster, is it?). I haven’t got a macro lens, so would be interested in your comments about the Tamron. Might make a nice Xmas present suggestion for Wade! 🙂 Chris

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, I was so happy to get the bees, not as easy as I thought. I have no idea what the name of the flower is, I’m afraid, not good with names. I will keep using it, and letting you know what i think of it. I have it for another week and a half.

      September 25, 2014
  5. Stunning colours, beautiful pictures!!

    September 25, 2014
  6. joshbertetta #

    Holy smokes those are gorgeous

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Josh, great reaction.

      September 25, 2014
  7. Lovely photos! An overcast day is perfect for macro photography.

    Tamara

    September 25, 2014
    • Oh yes, it really is Tamara, it was great until it started raining. Thanks.

      September 25, 2014
  8. These are exquisite. How did you get such crisp shots of the bees using a micro lens?

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I think it was luck, I just kept clicking it.

      September 25, 2014
  9. Hey Leanne … stunning. Not good news about the weather, it’s still very unsettled here too. Is that an arctotis? The red flower … so very pretty.

    September 25, 2014
    • Thanks Julie, I know, a real bummer, thankfully it has stopped raining and the sun comes out at times. I have no idea what that flower is, LOL.

      September 25, 2014
  10. Well, it looks like there won’t be much- if any learning curve with the lens in your hands! The images are lovely. That orange/pink image-3rd one for me -reminds me of shrimp. I only see it in the winter when I go to Santa Cruz Arboretum to photograph Allan’s Hummingbirds who winter here from Mexico. The Arboretum has a huge selection of plants from Australia and that’s one of my favorites. One day I’d love to see it in Australia. 🙂

    September 25, 2014
    • Thanks I think having a loan of a macro previously has helped. Oh yes the grevillea, they are everywhere here. So many different types. I hope you get to come one day and see them in person.

      September 25, 2014
  11. I love my Tamron lens!

    September 25, 2014
    • That’s great Gypsy. This one is pretty good.

      September 25, 2014
  12. Well you captured some mighty fine shots with that Tamron. Funny how some of their lenses are sharp as a tack and others lack that ability. Enjoy your time with your mom.

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you, I don’t have a lot of experience with Tamron lenses, this is really the first time I have ever used one. Thank you, I’m sure I will.

      September 25, 2014
  13. Sonel #

    These are all so absolutely exquisite Leanne! You lucky fish, you! I would love to have this macro lens! Stunning captures hon! 😀

    September 25, 2014
    • Thanks Sonel, though I only have it for a short time, I do have to give it back, unfortunately.

      September 25, 2014
      • Sonel #

        Now that I wouldn’t be able to do. LOL! But at least you had some fun with it. I wish I could get some ‘loans’ like that here. 😆

        September 25, 2014
      • LOL, unfortunately I don’t get a choice, but it is nice to get to play with it. They are hard to get.

        September 25, 2014
  14. Bees and you got a butterfly! I just love trying to get photos of bees and butterflies. I especially like no 26 with only the centre of the flower in focus.

    September 25, 2014
    • I know, I couldn’t believe how clear that bee came out, I was so happy. I like that one too, I took heaps, but these were my favourites, I might show more another day. Thank you.

      September 25, 2014
  15. I have some photos of flowers. But my blog is not related to photography. I will try to embed bible verses on flower and post.

    September 25, 2014
    • I’ve never heard of that, sounds interesting.

      September 25, 2014
      • I meant I will add text on photo through picasa. Then that will be photo with bible verses.

        September 25, 2014
      • Oh okay

        September 25, 2014
  16. Great photos. 😀

    September 25, 2014
  17. Nice shots… so it must be a pretty good lens. 🙂
    I went out today and, though it wasn’t raining, it was way too windy!

    September 25, 2014
    • Yeah, it seems pretty good and quite easy to use as well. I was lucky almost no wind, but fairly soon after that it started raining. Thanks Thomas.

      September 25, 2014
  18. Beautiful pictures Leanne! I love macros especially flowers. It shows the details so well. I keep my fingers crossed for some nice weather for you. Have a good time with your mum 😉

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Andrea, they are fantastic when seen like this, I love it too. I think we are going to be getting much better weather now, there was no rain today so that has to be good. “D

      September 25, 2014
  19. The flower shots are beautiful Leanne. Hope the weather clears up soon for you.

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Colline, my mum has lots of great flowers. I think the weather is going to, lots of sunny weather I hope.

      September 25, 2014
  20. My favorites!

    September 25, 2014
  21. Maggie Beck #

    Lovely photos, Leanne. The clarity of color and form is extraordinary. How nice it is to have these lovely flower images while ours are waning in this part of the Planet! Best, Maggie

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Maggie, I hadn’t thought of that, they are everywhere right now.

      September 25, 2014
  22. Beautiful pics of your mom’s flowers! I love the red flower and the one’s with the bee in them! Very pretty! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, it is great to have a great garden to take photos in.

      September 25, 2014
  23. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I couldn’t begin to name these flowers as they are mostly new to me. Let it suffice to say they are amazing. The bee captured at work is awesome; the blue flowers and the cactus-looking things are extraordinary. These are different from your buildings but you photograph both well. 😉

    September 25, 2014
    • I’m sorry Jackie, I don’t really know the names of them. I was so happy with the bee images, they weren’t as hard to get as I thought they would be. What a lovely thing to say, thank you. It is nice doing something a little different. Thank you.

      September 25, 2014
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        No worries, the names are not important. You are getting to be a master at macro images.

        September 26, 2014
      • Thank you Jackie, I do feel more comfortable with it this time, which is great.

        September 26, 2014
  24. Beautiful shots! I own some tamron lenses as well though they are not new ones. 🙂

    September 25, 2014
    • Thank you Inge, I don’t own this one, though it would be nice too. I don’t think it matters if they are new or not, as long as they are good. 🙂

      September 26, 2014
  25. Seems like a good lens. Tamron is trying to make better lenses. Great colors and photographs

    September 25, 2014
    • Yes, it does, I am enjoying playing with it. I think so too, though I haven’t used a comparable Nikon lens, so hard to judge, but I think it is good. Thank you.

      September 26, 2014
      • The nikon is probably better. Besides the nikon will always work with their cameras.

        October 2, 2014
      • That is a good point, I don’t know, I do hope to find out one day.

        October 2, 2014
  26. Amy #

    These macro shots are stunning! What a beautiful garden!

    September 26, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, my mother loves her garden and has put a lot of work into it. I wish she would do mine.

      September 26, 2014
      • Amy #

        🙂

        September 26, 2014
  27. The red one is most impressive! Beautiful pictures! Tamron macro do not stop to surprise me.

    September 26, 2014
    • Thank you Alexander, that is fantastic, and the Tamron has been a lovely surprise.

      September 26, 2014
  28. I see you’re having fun with your macro lens! It’s fun isn’t it. I love the first one the most. Very pretty!

    September 26, 2014
    • I am, it is so easy to use and so much better than the extension tubes, though I would like to try it with the extension tubes as well. Thanks Laura.

      September 26, 2014
  29. Beth #

    Do you have any photos of rain? I love rain!

    September 26, 2014
    • No, I don’t Beth, if it was my lens I might have tried to get some, I love water drops, but since I only have a loan, I decided to leave it inside.

      September 26, 2014
  30. Oh Leanne, these are beautiful photos. If anyone deserves to have the very best Macro lens it is YOU!

    September 26, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say Karen, thank you so much.

      September 26, 2014
  31. Love that first bee shot especially – and the little cactus – I think they’re cactus. On the left under the first bee.

    September 26, 2014
    • I love that bee shot too, I was so surprised it came out as well as it did. I think it is a cactus too, thank you.

      September 26, 2014
  32. Very nice macros leanne!! So vibrant 😊

    September 26, 2014
  33. I’m glad you got some fine weather to go out and get some photos! Love the bee in flight 🙂

    September 26, 2014
    • Yes, though it rained heaps after those were taken, but it didn’t rain yesterday and the weather is supposed to be good for the next couple of days, so lots of shooting I hope. Thanks Sarah. 😀

      September 26, 2014
  34. Wow, you have got the hang of macros, Leanne!

    September 28, 2014
    • Oh yes, getting there, when I get my own I will know what I am doing. Thanks Nia.

      September 28, 2014
  35. beautiful pics x

    September 28, 2014
  36. Gorgeous shots Leanne and well done on capturing the bee as well. 🙂

    September 30, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, I was so chuffed to get the bee, didn’t think I could do it like that.

      September 30, 2014

Comments are closed.

