Skip to content

Tuesday’s Bits and Bobs – Going into October

mallee-millky-way-light-stars

The Mallee is now just another memory, as I arrived home yesterday.  It was another successful trip for me, and I have told you about things that I have done there, but the photos will be shown over the next few weeks.

The Mallee

I thought perhaps I should show you a map of the area that I have been talking about.

map of victoria

For those that don’t know where the state of Victoria is, well, it is in the bottom right corner of Australia.  I live in Melbourne, and since so many have asked where the Mallee was I thought I would show you.  I have circled it in Red, and in purple circled where many of the places that I go to take photos are. I hope that helps you understand where it is, maybe I should have done it with the satellite, then you would be able to tell what the country is like.

Nyah West Workshop

mallee-millky-way-light-starsThe workshop I ran just out of Nyah West went really well, and well overtime, but it was great.  I really enjoyed meeting everyone and going out and taking photos with them.  Where we went in the afternoon was fantastic, and we basically stayed there for the rest of the afternoon.  After the sunset we headed into town for dinner at the Nyah West pub. Nice meal, shame about the manners of aome of the staff, hopefully that gets sorted.  Then after dinner we went back out and took photos of the milky way over the salt lakes.  It is only the second time I have taught night photography like this and it was fantastic.  I think I have worked out the best way of doing it.  Once everyone had decent shots of the night sky, then we started adding some other elements with light.  It was a lot of fun and one of my favourite photos came from that session.  I have attached it here for you to see.

I really enjoyed running this workshop and it is something that I think I would really like to do a lot more of.  It is good to have a specific goal.  I love seeing peoples faces when the penny starts dropping on taking photos.  I might have to see if I can drum up some business to run some more.  I think one workshop that would be good would be something like learning your DSLR and how to use it to get the best from it.  I think it is something that people in the country might miss out on, and it is what I have noticed that people seem to struggle with the most as well.

Star Trails

woomelang-star-trail-silos-webI’m no real expert at taking star trails, I’ve only done two, and the second one was only done the other night.  I was asked how I did it, and really all I did was set up the camera for 30 second exposures, at f/2.8, ISO was, I think, 1250, and then off the camera went for an hour, oh I locked the shutter release so it would just continuously take photo after photo.

I was going to do it for 2 hours, it was really cloudy, and I didn’t think the photos would work.  When I stacked them I was so surprised that the clouds hadn’t mattered, so now I wish, of course, that I had done it for longer. Daylight savings starts here soon, so not sure how much of this I will do, will have to see.  I also don’t like the idea of being bitten alive by mosquitoes either.

Monochrome Madness

Since I have been away, I’ve received lots of emails with submissions, and I’m afraid I probably won’t have time to respond to them.  I am so sorry, but I have to go to Kinglake National Park again, testing the macro out there this time.  I will have to spend the time when I get back on the post and getting it ready for tomorrow morning.  I hope you forgive me.

That is about it for today, I think, I need to get a move on with some things.  I am going to leave you with some images of the milky way, and the above ones in a gallery.  The other milky way shots were done when I had finished doing the star trail over the silos in Woomelang.

 

47 Comments
  1. Amazing Pics !

    September 30, 2014
  2. So beautiful, the milky Way and star trails!

    September 30, 2014
    • Thank you John, I do love photographing the night sky.

      September 30, 2014
  3. Thanks Leanne once again for your glorious shots. I have never done any night photography of the stars as I deemed it nigh on impossible so thanks for showcasing your photos and giving me inspiration to at least think about it. I will give it a try in the next few months and see how I go. Also thanks for the map which gives me a good idea of where the Mallee is. I will also put that on my to do list if ever I am down that way on a road trip 🙂

    September 30, 2014
    • No problem at all Kaz, oh yes, you will have to give a try, though with daylight savings starting it will mean staying up very late. I thought the map was a good idea, I should do more really. I know many people can’t quite work out where I’ve been. It is a great place, if you ever go, give me a call and I will see if I can get there and show you around. Thanks. 😀

      September 30, 2014
      • That sounds like a plan, if and when I am ever down that way I will give you plenty of notice, would love to catch up 🙂

        September 30, 2014
      • I would really like that too Kaz.

        September 30, 2014
  4. Beautiful pictures, Leanne.

    September 30, 2014
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Seeing a map is helpful. The Milky Way is almost mesmerizing if I look at it long enough. The photo with the person shining the flashlight is amazing. 🙂

    September 30, 2014
    • I am glad that it helped Jackie, I thought it was confusing people. I think the same about the milky way, I love that one too, it was a great thing, and she thought of it. 🙂 Thanks Jackie

      September 30, 2014
  6. Such beautiful shots. I have not yet done any star trail shots as you must drive at least an hour out of town to get away from ambient light. One day…

    September 30, 2014
    • I have the same problem here in Melbourne Emilio, but it is great at my mums, perfect there, you can really do them anywhere. You might need to take a trip one day. Thank you.

      September 30, 2014
  7. Wow, what beautiful photos Leanne. I adore the last one with the blue beam pointing into the Milky Way, and the one with the lone trees and the red dots infront of the Milky Way….stunning 🙂

    September 30, 2014
    • Thank you Seonaid, great to hear you like them.

      September 30, 2014
  8. I love the one with the person shining a light into the Milky Way! Was that accidental or planned? And the star trails are beautiful!

    September 30, 2014
    • My favourite too, not accidental, we were trying to see if we could get it to work, and it did. Thank you.

      September 30, 2014
  9. I love these. Makes me remember how much I wanted to be an astronaut when I was young. I would just stare for hours at the Milky Way when my family was camping out, amazing. Thanks for sharing!

    September 30, 2014
    • Oh wow Carrie, I can understand why you would like these then. You’re welcome Carrie, so glad you enjoyed them. Thanks

      September 30, 2014
  10. Truly engaging…

    September 30, 2014
  11. Really beautiful Leanne. Congrats!!

    September 30, 2014
  12. Beautiful shots, Leanne!

    September 30, 2014
  13. Bob #

    Nice set. Looks like you enjoyed the trip.

    September 30, 2014
    • I did enjoy it Bob, it is always good to go up there and take photos. Thank you Bob.

      September 30, 2014
  14. These pictures are amazing, especially as they show elements of the town on the rim of the vast enormity of the galaxy, so close and so rich in its depth. The shots themselves are stunning, and they give us immediate perspective about our place in the cosmos.

    September 30, 2014
    • I hadn’t thought of that, I like putting in elements, I think it makes the images more interesting. Thank you, I like that idea of our place in the cosmos.

      September 30, 2014
  15. Glad to hear the workshop went well, Leanne. I suppose it was very hands and good that people enjoyed it – maybe you even got something out of it too, meeting those who came and learning from them as well. Absolutely love the milky way photos. I wouldn’t mind seeing more of them 🙂 Been very busy at work and with writing here, busy bee!

    September 30, 2014
    • It did Mabel, It was hands on and they all got to take photos which was good for them. I got to take photos too, and that is always good. I have lots of photos of the milky way, I took photos of it about 3 nights. Busy is good isn’t it? Thanks Mabel. 😀

      September 30, 2014
  16. Wow! Awesome star trails! (Of course, what we see is light from stars that may not even be the same any longer!…. but it’s still incredibly awesome!) 🙂

    September 30, 2014
    • Thank you Thomas, that is so true, I think we forget about that at times.

      September 30, 2014
  17. Amy #

    I’m totally in awe, Leanne! Thank you for sharing these stunning photos.

    October 1, 2014
    • you’re welcome Amy, I’m just so happy you liked them. I do love doing photos like this. Thank you.

      October 1, 2014
  18. more wonderful! I love the milky way shots!

    October 1, 2014
    • Me too Cybele, it is so much fun. thank you.

      October 1, 2014
  19. Wow these are so beautiful! Very impressive photos Leanne 🙂

    October 1, 2014
    • Thank you Peter, it is nice to play with shots here. 🙂

      October 1, 2014
  20. kleinedee #

    Wow – simply stunning! Thanks for sharing these!

    October 1, 2014
    • Thank you and you are very welcome.

      October 1, 2014
  21. Stunning shots Leanne. Thanks for pointing out where the mallee is. I see it’s close to the SA border so that cleared up my thinking that there were only salt lakes in SA. lol

    October 5, 2014
    • You’re welcome Suz, and yes, very close the SA border, and all part of the same area I think, so many lakes, though nearly all dry, strange to see so many lake beds in an area that gets so little rain.

      October 5, 2014

Comments are closed.

