Skip to content

Quiet Thursdays – The World Through a Macro Lens

The Tamron 90mm macro lens I borrowed from Maxwell International Australia is still with me, and I have been making the most of it while I have it.  I’ve been out to quite a few places with it and I suspect it’s going to take me quite a while to show all the photos to you.  This morning I took some photos with it in my garden, and then went for a walk in Banyule Flats with it.

I am finding it fine to hand hold, though I get quite a few shots that are out of focus, and I probably should use the tripod, and maybe if I owned a macro I would do that.  I do like using it though, it is fantastic to see the world through it.

Most of the photos were taken in my garden except for about 4 images, so the first 4 are from my garden, the next 4 from Banyule Flats, and then the rest are from my garden.  Being spring I actually have so many flowers in my garden right now.  Lots of colour.  We also must have had some rain, so there are droplets of water on the first few, which was nice.

I am enjoying using this macro, it is light, and not too cumbersome to carry around.  The price tag is quite reasonable, it is $649 here, or around that, I think that is the recommended retail price in Australia.  So half the cost of the Nikon 105mm Micro or macro lens.  The only thing I have found so far is that I can’t get as close to things as I thought I would be able to.  I thought I would be able to get like a centimetre close, but I have to be at least, or around, 10 centimetres away, that surprised me.  I have never used the Nikon 105mm, so I have no idea if it is the same with that.  Still a great option if you are looking for a macro lens.  Still not something I can afford right now, but it has got me thinking.

I have the images I took today in a gallery for you.  I hope you are having a peaceful day.

108 Comments
  1. beautiful closeups!

    October 2, 2014
  2. These are amazing photos! I’ve never used a macro lens before but I definitely will in the future.

    October 2, 2014
    • Yes, have a go if you can, they are a lot of fun. Thank you.

      October 2, 2014
  3. Love, love, love the white petal with water drops!

    October 2, 2014
    • Thanks Trish, I was really happy that worked out.

      October 2, 2014
  4. According to the technical specs of the Nikon 105mm, minimum focusing distance is 1 foot. I have that lens and use it on the D7000 body. The crop sensor makes it seem like I’m getting closer. Macro photography is like seeing the world for the first time.

    Tamara

    October 2, 2014
    • My contact at the company that lent me the lens has said the same thing, that the Tamron will let you get a little closer than the Nikon one. I should try the macro on my D300s, see what it is like with the cropped sensor too. I know what you mean Tamara, thank you.

      October 2, 2014
  5. These are fantastic, Leanne. Excellent work!

    October 2, 2014
  6. Amazing and beautiful, thanks for sharing 😉

    October 2, 2014
    • Thank you, and you are welcome. 🙂

      October 2, 2014
  7. Love it:-)

    October 2, 2014
  8. Beautiful…

    October 2, 2014
  9. My favourite is the blue flower with the yellow centre and lots of droplets… Just beautiful! Chris

    October 2, 2014
    • The iris, I love that one too, love the flowers too, Thank you Chris.

      October 2, 2014
  10. Wow, I like them all, but had to go back to 109 and 112 again.

    October 2, 2014
    • Thank you Dave and that is good.

      October 2, 2014
  11. Beautiful flowers and some from your garden as well 🙂

    October 2, 2014
    • I know, I had no idea I had that many flowers in my garden, quite a surprise. Thanks Gypsy.

      October 2, 2014
  12. Gorgeous colours! Love the water droplets on the flowers. These macro images are beautiful.

    October 2, 2014
    • Thank you Reggie, I like the water drops too, it was nice to see them there.

      October 2, 2014
  13. Lovely images Leanne 😊

    October 2, 2014
  14. Something about macro! A whole new world 🙂

    October 2, 2014
    • I know just what you mean Julie, it really is, thank you. 😀

      October 2, 2014
  15. Even with a tripod, I can’t get photographs that still… You must have “tripod hands” or else you are young!

    October 2, 2014
    • Possibly years of practice, and good autofocus, definitely not young. Thank you.

      October 2, 2014
  16. wow, these are so lovely, leanne. )

    October 2, 2014
  17. I love macros, and these are stunning pictures 🙂

    October 2, 2014
    • I think I love them too Andrea, thank you.

      October 2, 2014
  18. Awesome!!!

    October 2, 2014
  19. Well done, each shows the small and greater elements that make us beholden to Mother Nature.

    October 2, 2014
    • Oh yes, so true Sally, I like that, thank you.

      October 3, 2014
  20. To get closer use extension tubes. The longer the lens the longer the distance from the subject at one to one. Tubes allow you focus closer with all the power of the focal length. I never use the 105 without a tube.

    October 2, 2014
    • thanks Victor, I’ve been doing that as well, adding one or two tubes, I find it harder to hand hold, but might have to suck it up and start using the tripod.

      October 3, 2014
      • I bought kneepads like you use in the garden 🙂

        October 3, 2014
      • I might have to get some, though at the moment I think waterproof pants would be fantastic, it is so weird here a lot of the time. LOL 😀

        October 3, 2014
      • Got those too, as well a snow pants, We have winter insects they are microscopic 🙂

        October 3, 2014
      • I don’t think I need snow pants, we never get snow here, LOL. I don’t know about winter insects, we get lots of summer ones, but we hate them, so don’t think I will photograph them.

        October 3, 2014
  21. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Take a spray bottle of water when you need droplets. You must have a lovely garden; the flowers are gorgeous – very unusual. ❤

    October 2, 2014
    • It is a very overgrown wild sort of garden now. I got right into it a few years ago, then my daughter got sick, now I look at it and all I can see is how much work it will be, but I will try to bring it back. I think the macro lens has inspired me. I have used the spray bottle at other times, though a light sprinkle of rain was good this time. Thanks Jackie.

      October 3, 2014
  22. they are stunning Leanne. well done.. . I really must have a go at some more macro work..

    October 2, 2014
    • Thank you Livonne, it was great to get some, I think I like the macro. Yes, do you have a macro lens?

      October 3, 2014
  23. Loredana Isabella Crupi #

    Wow! Such vibrant colours! Beautiful photography here, Leanne! 🙂

    October 2, 2014
    • Thank you, there is so much colour at the moment in the garden, it is fantastic. 😀

      October 3, 2014
  24. I always find photos where a water drop acts like a lens endlessly fascinating! PS: according to their specs, both the Tamron and Nikon have minimum focus distances of about 30 cm. It varies slightly (fraction of a cm) depending on the mount.

    October 2, 2014
    • They are really interesting you could experiment with them all day I think. That is interesting, so about the same, the guy from the place that lent me the lens has said that the Tamron will let you get about one centimetre closer than the Nikon, which is interesting. Thanks.

      October 3, 2014
  25. Pat #

    Beautiful!

    October 3, 2014
  26. You’ve mastered the macro Leanne, and all without a tripod…amazing. Many bravos 🙂

    October 3, 2014
    • Thank you Andrew, I think it has helped having been allowed to try them first. I really hope to get my own at some point.

      October 3, 2014
      • I have to say I love mine.

        October 3, 2014
      • That is a good recommendation then.

        October 3, 2014
  27. Nice

    October 3, 2014
  28. beautiful- the colour and the detail!! I love the world in a drop of water!!

    October 3, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, I loved the colours. I like that too, we had some more rain this morning, so I just tried it again, really nice.

      October 3, 2014
  29. Amy #

    I really love these macro photos! All are beautiful and perfect!

    October 3, 2014
  30. I also especially like the raindrop shot.

    October 3, 2014
    • I don’t think you are alone there, it has been very popular, thank you.

      October 3, 2014
  31. Seems to be a great lens from the photos. I did a bit of calculation between the Tamron 90mm and Nikon 105mm here and based on the fact that each lens is 1:1 macro, technically they should give you the same shot as the 1:1 aspect ratio means that if you compare the size of the subject to the size of the sensor, it will fill up the sensor. So if you take a photo of an object that is the size of the sensor at the closest focusing distance, it will fill up the entire frame. Based on the meters they give for closest focusing distance, I factored that you can get 1.4 centimeters closer to a subject with the 90mm, but one thing to consider is that getting closer isn’t necessarily going to get you a ‘closer’ shot as the 105mm has a little longer reach which needs to be factored into the equation.

    Some things to consider with a macro lens, the longer the reach of the lens, the faster the shutter speed will need to be in order to get a sharp crisp photo. So with a shorter macro lens like a 50mm you can have slower shutter speeds to get the same results. But with a longer macro lens, you are able to get the same shot while being farther away from the subject as with a shorter lens. So if you shoot subjects that are easily scared off such as insects, then a longer range will be better as you’ll have a greater chance of getting a shot of the insect.

    Aside from all of the technical aspects though, I have never been disappointed with my Nikon 105mm macro lens. I can’t compare it to the Tamron 90mm but from what I’ve heard, it’s not a disappointing lens either. If your budget only allows for the Tamron, I’d say go for it if you are in the market for a macro. If you are able to achieve those shots handheld, I could only imagine what you could get using a tripod.

    October 3, 2014
    • the guy from the company that lent it to me was explaining all the to me as well Justin. He said the Tamron will let you get one centimetre close than the Nikon, but as you said the Nikon is a 105mm and the Tamron a 90mm.
      I do have to agree though, it takes really good images, and I haven’t been disappointed at all. I am loving playing with it. I think it is a great alternative to the Nikon, especially if the Nikon is out of your price bracket. I have heard from many people who have it and they have said how much they like it.
      I might have to try it with the tripod before it goes back, and with my extension tubes, could be very interesting. Thanks Justin.

      October 3, 2014
      • I got some extension tubes for my b-day and used them with my macro lens. I do like how much closer I can get but yet it doesn’t really pay though because there’s quite a bit of vignetting so I have to crop the photo anyways. I also find that I have a much harder time getting focus with my wide angle even with the 12mm extension tube so I’m not happy with them so far. I will tell you that the tripod does make a huge difference. I have more of my shots come out sharp when using the tripod because you only need to battle with your subject moving vs. both camera shake and the subject moving. I have a ball head so sometimes I’ll just leave that loose and use my tripod as more of a stabilizer to help out than locking everything in place.

        October 3, 2014
      • I got some a while back, they are great. I will have to try them with the macro and a tripod before it goes back. I haven’t had any trouble with vignetting that I have noticed so far. I have a ball head tripod as well.

        October 3, 2014
  32. Stunning photos. The lens looks impressive. 😀

    October 3, 2014
    • Thanks Raewyn, I agree, I think it is impressive as well. 😀

      October 3, 2014
  33. I have the 105 lens. I will look into tubes (in more ways than one I hope if finance permits).

    October 3, 2014
    • The tubes can be good, I’m glad I had them already, so I was able to attach them to the lens. If you get some, get the ones for autofocus, the first ones I got didn’t have that, and it is a lot harder.

      October 3, 2014
  34. Great images Leanne, such eye candy! The water droplets on the petals are incredible, amazing you can capture the perfect roundness so crisply without a tripod. My favorite is the yellow flower, with the petals out of focus and the center tight. Gorgeous. Really happy to hear this lens is so much less, in terms of price. I didn’t know there was such a difference, learning so much as always, thanks!

    October 3, 2014
    • Thank you Carrie, I love the water drops to and agree with what you have said as well. Yeah, there can be a massive difference, Nikon lenses are pretty pricey so it is nice to see that there are other options. That’s great Carrie, I’m learning heaps as well.

      October 3, 2014
  35. I use an old manual focus Tamron 90mm macro lens. Got it for cheap on eBay. 🙂

    October 3, 2014
    • That is a good way of getting one, not sure I could cope with the manual focus those, my eyes are getting too old for it. 😀

      October 3, 2014
  36. LB #

    These are all gorgeous, but that first one. WOW!

    October 3, 2014
    • Just a common flower, but it did come up well, thanks LB

      October 3, 2014
  37. I’m wanting to get into Macro Photography! These are fabulous xxx

    October 3, 2014
    • Thank you, it is quite an addictive to do and great that you don’t have to go far to do it.

      October 3, 2014
  38. The Tamrom 90mm macro is a really good lens ! Nice pictures 🙂

    October 3, 2014
    • I think so too, it does a great job. Thank you. 🙂

      October 4, 2014
  39. My camera allows you to focus 1cm away but it does mean that spiders notice you!

    October 4, 2014
    • I wish mine did, but for me it is the lens, and all depends on the lens I am using. I will have to try using it on a tripod I think. Thanks.

      October 4, 2014
      • Mine isn’t an DSLR so I don’t know if that is what makes the difference You may get as much magnification from further away.

        October 4, 2014
      • Different lenses mean you have to be a certain distance, I have one that I have to be 3 metres from anything for it to focus.

        October 4, 2014
  40. I am hanging out fir a macro lens…. one day!!

    October 4, 2014
    • Same Dawn, it would be good for you, photographing your ceramics.

      October 4, 2014
  41. You take such beautiful pictures! Looks like a macro lens would be lots of fun! Maybe some day I will get one for my camera! Have a super weekend! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    October 4, 2014
    • Thank you Lisa, I think it is fun, and many one day I will get one too, you have a great weekend too. 😀

      October 4, 2014
  42. Hand held macro shooting is a challenge but I have been finding that the more I practice, the better I get. Not being tied to a tripod all the time is nice and there are some places where you simply cannot use a tripod. I also find shooting in continuous mode helps as within the series of shots at least one will be as sharp as I want it to be.

    October 4, 2014
    • I agree Cindy, it does take practice, I much prefer working without the tripod as well, it is easier and flows better. I shoot in continuous mode as well and it does help. Thanks Cindy.

      October 4, 2014
  43. I’ve always wanted to get a macro and take photos of the inside of a clock/watch! All those gears and mechanisms in focus…swoon!!

    October 5, 2014
    • You might have to save up Linda, it is great seeing the world so close up. I really like it, I really hope I can get my own sometime.

      October 6, 2014
  44. Beautiful. Just divine.
    Love the rain (or dew) drops on the iris. 🙂

    October 6, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, it was rain, or it had been raining during the night. 😀

      October 6, 2014
  45. Nice shots. I’ve been playing around with some macro extension tubes; not as good as a dedicated lens, but they still do a pretty decent job of it (and for a fraction of the price!). It’s a lot of fun, but like you I think I need to use my tripod more.

    October 8, 2014
    • Thanks Stevie, I will be playing with the extension tubes after this week when the macro goes back. They do do a good job, though I like the extension tubes on the macro as well, that gives good images as well.

      October 9, 2014
  46. Gorgeous, vibrant colors in these shots, Leanne. I’m not one who’s really into flowers, but these make a believer out of me!

    October 16, 2014
    • Oh thank you Stacy, I’m not sure I am into them either, but I love taking photos of them, go figure, now I want a better garden.

      October 16, 2014
  47. Beautiful photos!

    I have found that with my macro set-up, a Canon 60D body and Tokina macro lens, that it will not auto-focus to the close limit of the lens. I have to switch to manual focus to get as close to a subject as the Tokina can focus on. A tripod helps, but it can be done handheld in good light.

    October 17, 2014
    • I am going to have to experiment a lot more, though until I get my own really, I might have to wait. I think some other people have said that to me as well. Thank you.

      October 17, 2014

Comments are closed.

