Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Lake Albacutya in Spring Part 1

You know, when I go up to my mothers place in the Mallee there are so many places I like to go and photograph. Some of them I have to do on my own, others I need someone to take me around and Lake Albacutya is a place I wouldn’t be able to see without Jonesy from Yaapeet.  He lives close by and has a 4 wheel drive, and he takes me around there.  It has been fantastic.  I don’t take advantage of him, well I hope I don’t and, in return, I’ve now starting teaching him photo editing, so it seems like a good deal to me. This last time we went out, it was different again.  The wildflowers were out, and you can see how the area has recovered from the fires more as well.  Though, for todays post, we are starting around the back at the sand dunes, some photos from there, and then watching the birds on the way home.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes427

The sand dunes around the lake are different to what I thought they would be like.  They aren’t barren or void of all life, and if you go looking, you can see life there everywhere.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes429

There are tracks where animals have made their way across.  These are the tracks left by an emu.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes434

Flowers pop up at odd places, and are strange in the way they grow.  Not much greenery, just all flower.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes437

If you look above you you might see a wedge tail Eagle looking for its dinner.  I only had the 24-70mm lens with me, so I had to crop this a lot, such a shame I didn’t have a better lens with me. In the gallery there is also a photo of a tree that has a massive nest in it, high up, that is probably this eagle, or anothers nest.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes447

If you look hard and are quiet you might see some kangaroos taking in their surroundings, munching on some green grass.  We didn’t see many kangaroos this time, these two and two others, that was all.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes455

On the track back to Yaapeet we also saw flocks of galahs and sulphur crested cockatoos flying together and stopping in the trees to catch up.  They are very noisey when they get together.

lake-albacutya-fires-sand-dunes430

While there is lots of life there, lots of new growth, it is important to remember it is an inhospitable environment, and finding the bones of something long dead is bound to happen.  I think they are a reminder of how dangerous this land can be.

I love going back and taking photos and I have lots to show you today, in a gallery.  There are photos of big trees recovering from the fires and some more of the wildflowers that grow around there.  I still have lots of the sand dunes and other parts of the lake to process and get ready, so I hope you like seeing photos of Lake Albacutya.  I hope your weekend has been going well, mine has, though daylight savings started here last night and I feel like I am an hour behind already, well, I am I suppose.

52 Comments
  1. This is making me very thirsty.

    October 5, 2014
    • You better find some water Kerbey.

      October 5, 2014
      • Right. Water.

        October 5, 2014
      • Haha, well I could suggest a beer, but in that environment perhaps not the best.

        October 5, 2014
  2. I love the vegetation! Beautiful pics to make us smile Leanne! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    October 5, 2014
    • The vegetation is pretty amazing there, and I’m glad I made you smile, thank you Lisa.

      October 5, 2014
  3. So delicate and beautiful ! 🙂

    October 5, 2014
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    How beautiful and diverse your country is – an emu – imagine that! Looking at the footprint you could almost imagine the bird.

    Trading skills is the truest kind of transaction; Jonesy gets you around and you teach photo editing, a great deal indeed.

    I love your writings and story-telling posts. And no, you don’t need to reply each time. I’m happy. 😉

    October 5, 2014
    • A good description of it Jackie, we have lots of things here. Yes, emus, there are lots of them in that area, though I have really seen any, I’m sure I will eventually.
      I agree, I like being able to do something for someone in return for helping me out.
      Thank you Jackie, I really appreciate hearing that, and of course I have to reply, such a wonderful comment deserves a response. 😀

      October 5, 2014
  5. Very beautiful images – great to see life returning after the big burn.

    October 5, 2014
    • I agree Robert, it is amazing seeing it come back. Thank you.

      October 5, 2014
  6. Nice photos 😉 is this place like a desert? I have to google it i havent heard of it yet. Apart from reading your posts 😉 If i was in Australia I’d take you to places Im sure we could manage a deal Leanne 😉

    October 5, 2014
    • Thank you Andrea, not a desert, not really, but not far off, this is the entrance to the outback, or the rim, so it is very dry, and things that grow here are used to not getting much water.
      What a shame you don’t live her Andrea, maybe it is time you moved, ;), thank you.

      October 5, 2014
  7. What a land of contrasts Leanne with the sand dunes and the beautiful flowers growing from them.

    October 5, 2014
    • Great description for it Colline, it really is like that, thank you.

      October 5, 2014
  8. Looks a very interesting place. Makes you wonder how nature finds its way to survive. 😉 I know, but the poisonous snakes putting me off a little bit 😉 😉

    October 5, 2014
    • I think that nature has learned to adapt to fire, in some ways I think it adapts far better than we do. It is a great place, and the snakes are yuck, but you don’t see them too often, and we have learned how to go into areas where they might be, walk heavy, they feel the vibrations, apparently. So you don’t walk softly, or you will see them. I have never seen any around where I am when walking, but I have seen them a lot when I was riding a bike, not enough ground vibration. 😀

      October 5, 2014
      • Definitely! Many of us think that humans are the supreme creatures but its not always the case…Oh i didnt know this! Good idea! I would still scream if i saw one, im really scared of snakes. 😀

        October 5, 2014
      • I agree, we do tend to think that, and when we do, nature does have a tendency to bite us on the bum. No don’t scream, turn and run, I mean run in the opposite direction, that is what we were taught to do. 😀

        October 5, 2014
      • You’re right. We seem to think that we own this planet, until an earthquake or the likes are upon us…Sounds like a good plan 😀 😀

        October 5, 2014
      • We do, and we never learn to listen to what she needs. A very good plan, just run. 😀

        October 5, 2014
      • No. And its sad what we did and still doing to our environment. I would run and scream my head off 😀

        October 5, 2014
      • I couldn’t agree more, it is so very sad. Haha, good response, as long as you are running gurl. 😀

        October 5, 2014
      • I love walking and i can walk hours but running is not my favourite thing these days 😀 I will have to get some massive walking boots so i can create vibration on the ground and scare snakes off 😀 😀

        October 5, 2014
      • Not my thing either, yes, heavy boots that creates vibrations, so the snakes will run away. Though, walking normally should scare them away. I was talking to a woman recently who walks in Banyule Flats all the time and she said she has never seen a snake, I have seen them there on my bike, so they are there.

        October 5, 2014
  9. Hi Leanne, isn’t nature amazing with its recovery from fires. I remember going up to Kinglake a few months after the fires and being stunned my the stark lunar landscape, black trees and yet the brilliant green of eucalypt leaves along their limbs and tree ferns bursting out of the ash.
    Your eagle is pretty good even without a big lens! Chris

    October 5, 2014
    • Yes it is Chris, have you been to Kinglake recently, it is amazing there now. The old trees that were burned stick out like scars to remind us of what happened, but underneath the new trees are quickly catching up. It will happen at Lake Albacutya as well. Thank you, The eagle was amazing.

      October 5, 2014
  10. These are beautiful pictures. I really enjoyed the zoomed in pictures of the flowers. Keep up the great work!

    October 5, 2014
    • Thank you, glad you enjoyed them. I will do my best.

      October 5, 2014
  11. Interesting place

    October 5, 2014
  12. Amazing to find flowers growing in these harsh areas, and amazing beautiful shaped trees make this place look softer and magical place. Stunning photos and have a beautiful weekend, my friend.

    October 5, 2014
    • It is amazing, you think of flowers needing so much water, but here they get hardly any. The trees are amazing, thank you so much Cattan, the weekend has been good so far, hope yours is looking good too.

      October 5, 2014
  13. you have such a love and respect for the land and environment. It shines through your photos and posts.

    October 5, 2014
    • Wow Cybele, this is one of the best comments I have ever had, thank you so much.

      October 5, 2014
  14. mk #

    Emu tracks !!! Awesome. And the kangaroos look as if they’re in a diorama. All beautiful and exotic, to my eyes.

    October 5, 2014
    • Thank you, the emu tracks are pretty cool, and the kangaroos, great find, as soon as they saw me they jumped away.

      October 5, 2014
  15. my sort of country. love.

    October 5, 2014
  16. Just beautiful. We are lucky to live in such a picturesque and diverse country.

    October 5, 2014
    • I couldn’t agree more Kaz, there are so many different landscapes to photograph, I think I could spend the rest of my life photographing it and still miss things. Thanks

      October 6, 2014
  17. Wonderful photos Leanne ..

    October 6, 2014
  18. radvilejaz #

    I just love the picture with kangaroos! nice composition and colours! 🙂

    October 7, 2014
    • Thank you, they almost got away.

      October 7, 2014
  19. An excellent series of photographs. It always amazes me how much variety of life can be found in inhospitable places. Your gallery illustrates this very well.

    October 7, 2014
    • I know what you mean Robin, it is always amazing, and always something new. Thank you so much.

      October 7, 2014
  20. Jen #

    Such neat photos—all of the close-up details are very fine to see, like the emu tracks and the little skull. The plant life is so different there; it’s tougher-looking, more like iron, if that makes sense. Around here everything is so…frothy and frilly, in comparison!

    The shot of the road curving away into the distance is beautiful. Thank you for sharing these.

    October 8, 2014
    • Thank you Jen, I am getting better at looking at the details. It is a very tough environment, so I guess the plants have to be more like “iron” to survive, I should have them in my garden. It is the same in melbourne, most plants are frothy and frilly.
      You’re welcome, great to see you enjoyed them, that’s what matters.

      October 8, 2014
  21. It’s so odd to see your lovely photos of spring beginning to blossom, while the days here are turning colder and we’ll be turning our clocks ahead one hour sometime soon. Though, personally, fall is my favorite season of the year, I enjoyed your springtime photos 🙂

    October 16, 2014
    • Oh yes, the wonders of this amazing planet we live on. We have already changed to daylight savings, so it is getting darker so much later now. I am the same, I love autumn, beautiful and usually the best weather in Melbourne too. Thanks Stacy.

      October 16, 2014

Comments are closed.

