Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Snapping Around Heide and Banksia Park

heide-banksia-park-landscape-flowers-103

Last weekend was another Social Snappers Photography Excursion, hard to believe they have started for Term 4 already.  We were off to Heide and Banksia Park.  The weather was gorgeous, and people were out everywhere.  It was great to see how much our parks are being used.  Heide is a great gallery, with a coffee shop and beautiful gardens around it.  In stark contrast is Banksia Park, it isn’t sculptured and has been left pretty much to itself.

heide-banksia-park-landscape-flowers-102

The gardens of Heide are full of sculptures and some are really interesting.  I love this one, it was great to photograph, you could get some amazing effects.  Every time I go there are new sculptures to see.  It is nice that you don’t have to pay to go into the gardens, but you do have to pay if you want to see the art inside.

heide-banksia-park-landscape-flowers-105

Some of the sculptures are very famous, My children used to love going here when they were little, they always had to visit the cows.

heide-banksia-park-landscape-flowers-109

I took the macro lens with me and had to put it on when we were going through the kitchen gardens and then the gardens around the original house that the Reeds lived in.

heide-banksia-park-landscape-flowers-116

Banksia Park was gorgeous and we wandered around on the paths to look at the bushland around it.  The late afternoon sun was gorgeous, and I was trying to capture it as it was coming through the trees.

heide-banksia-park-landscape-flowers-118

In some places flowers were growing all over the ground as the trees were getting their leaves back after the winter.  As we were standing here, we heard something rustling in the bushes right in front of where I was standing.  I saw a thin thing, with strips and thought it was a snake, so we quickly stepped back away, only to realise it was a blue tongue lizard.  We were very relieved.

heide-banksia-park-landscape-flowers-119

This was the last shot that I took for the day, just before we left.  I couldn’t resist the long shadow with the sun hidden behind the trees.

We stopped at the coffee shop at Heide, the Cafe Vue, and had some afternoon tea. It was very busy, but the service was very disappointing, we couldn’t get anyone to take our order, and while others enjoyed what they got, I wasn’t so happy.  I had the strangest chocolate milk shake I have ever had in my life.  Sometimes I think they go over board with the fancy.  It was also late in the afternoon and there weren’t many snacks left.

It was a great afternoon, and I am really happy with the images that I got.  It is going to be very sad when I have to give the macro back. Here is a gallery for you now of more of the images I took there.  I hope your weekend starts well.

 

66 Comments
  1. That looks like just the type of place my family and I would love to explore. It gave you lots of different opportunities for photography too. I especially love the photo of the tree that is casting a strong shadow on the grass.

    October 11, 2014
    • My children loved it when they were young, not so much now they are adults, well not with me. It was great for photos, I loved it, I often go there to do that. Thanks Papict, I think that is one of my favourites too.

      October 11, 2014
  2. Wonderful!

    October 11, 2014
  3. Beautiful!

    October 11, 2014
  4. Amazingly beautiful Shots!

    October 11, 2014
  5. The ones of the trees are beautiful. Looks like a great place to visit.

    October 11, 2014
    • That is so good to hear, I wasn’t sure about them myself. Thank you.

      October 11, 2014
  6. You have been to another one of my favourite places, you captured it beautifully. Karen

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you Karen, it is a great place, I love going there. Do you ever sketch or paint in the gardens?

      October 11, 2014
      • When I read your post I thought I should go to sketch there, I particularly love the kitchen garden. I am trying to go out to sketch one morning on the weekends.

        October 12, 2014
      • I think you will love it Karen for drawing and morning there is so beautiful. There are so many things you could draw/sketch there.

        October 12, 2014
  7. One of my favourite places!

    October 11, 2014
  8. beautiful!

    October 11, 2014
  9. Your photos always make me happy… thank you… 🙂

    October 11, 2014
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you to you too. 😀

      October 11, 2014
  10. Great photos, Leanne. The cows are fun. 🙂

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you, the cows are fun and very popular. 😀

      October 11, 2014
  11. Great mix of images. I particularly like the iris with the beautiful veins, and the long shadows at the end. Chris

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, I like those too, especially the last one.

      October 11, 2014
  12. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The sculptures are interesting; I would love walking around them and observing them. Trees fascinate me to no end; when I was a kid I spent hours in trees on our property. 😉

    October 11, 2014
    • If you like sculptures Jackie, you would love this place, it is really amazing, so much too look at. My grandmother loved trees and taking photos of them. 🙂

      October 11, 2014
  13. Amy #

    Beautiful park through you lens, Leanne! Magnificent captures of the landscape. Love the macro shots of the flowers.

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you Amy, it is a great park to photograph. 😀

      October 11, 2014
  14. It is so strange to see you enjoying spring. 🙂 I enjoyed these very much.

    October 11, 2014
    • We certainly are Dave, we are getting lots of lovely spring weather at the moment. That is great to hear, thank you.

      October 11, 2014
  15. Gorgeous set of images. I really like the last shot in the gallery with the shadows everywhere, light amidst darkness. It’s great that many parks here in Victoria are free (lovely places to unwind, at least for me) and I hope they stay that way. Fair enough you have to pay to see the art – I’m sure the artists worked hard at their craft for a very long time and we really should be supporting them. Pity you had another disappointing experience with food service. Could be a very busy day for the cafe. Hope your weekend is going well, it is about half over 🙂

    October 11, 2014
    • I agree Mabel it is great that they are. I also fair enough to pay for the art, helps keep the place running, and for us to enjoy, though I am surprised they don’t charge you to enter the gardens as well, they are fantastic. Yeah, not sure, it is not great when it happens, everyone raves about the cafe there, but I’m not that impressed. Sometimes I think places just try to be too fancy, and it just doesn’t work. Yeah, so far so good, hope you are enjoying yours. 😀

      October 11, 2014
  16. Wonderful, wonderful photos. Leanne .. As always! Thank you .. 🙂

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you Julie, how is it over in NZ?

      October 11, 2014
      • Today Leanne was one out of the box… Loving spring! Sigh …

        October 11, 2014
      • Sounds like you are describing here, it has been gorgeous, hot though.

        October 11, 2014
  17. A lovely mix of photos Leanne – always look forward to your posts

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you so much Diana, that is wonderful to hear.

      October 11, 2014
  18. I would be really happy with these images also :))

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you Trees, that is a nice thing to say.

      October 11, 2014
  19. All great shots but I really love the ones of the 3D mesh structure 🙂

    October 11, 2014
    • That is a very cool structure, I really enjoyed seeing what I could do with it. Thank you. 😀

      October 11, 2014
  20. Fantastic park to enjoy and would love to see the sculptures. Awesome shots and have a wonderful Saturday, my friend.

    October 11, 2014
    • There are so many sculptures there Cattan, you could spend all day there. Thank you, my Saturday is gone now, but I will enjoy Sunday, you have a great weekend too.

      October 12, 2014
      • Thank Leanne and yes, I am on my way to Iceland for 1 week holidays, Will speak to you again once I am back home.

        October 12, 2014
      • How exciting, travelling is something I would like to do, but it isn’t possible right now. Have a great trip and get some fantastic photos.

        October 12, 2014
  21. LB #

    Such cool art structures and the photos representing them are wonderful (as yours always are!). Happy weekend to you, too

    October 11, 2014
    • Thank you LB, there are some fantastic sculptures there and they are always adding to them.

      October 12, 2014
  22. Gorgeous pictures 🙂

    October 12, 2014
  23. That screen sculpture is really fascinating. It has such a sense of movement from an object usually mean to keep movement on one side or the other. Love it!

    October 12, 2014
    • It is so cool, you can get some amazing effects with it. Make it look like the world is doing out of focus. thanks Laura.

      October 12, 2014
  24. Hey Leanne, I loved this post. It was especially inspiring because I am going to be opening up my very own sculpture garden some time next year. I’m hoping that photography classes will come out and spend time at my place just like you did with this one. Thanks for sharing!

    October 12, 2014
    • That is fantastic, will they be your sculptures, or those of others. I am sure photographers would love to visit is and take photos, especially if the gardens are equally nice, or at least relaxing. Good luck with it all, and thank you.

      October 12, 2014
      • Right now it’s all going to be about ME and my sculptures (in true Leo fashion). I have been working on the gardens for eight years and have more to do, but they will not be professionally landscaped like the ones you photographed.

        October 12, 2014
      • Nothing wrong with that at all. I don’t know that the gardens here were landscapes, I think it is more that they are on a large piece of land, so very spread out, which is great for the sculptures.

        October 12, 2014
  25. truly fantastic photos * i like your vision*

    October 13, 2014
    • Thank you, that is wonderful to hear.

      October 13, 2014
  26. I have a thing about the afternoon sun and the shadows it causes as well. Love the shots of the trees. 🙂

    October 15, 2014
    • Thanks Suz, I love the late afternoon sun, my favourite I think.

      October 15, 2014
  27. What a great park – love that first sculpture, but my favourite shot is the seventh, with the shadows of the trees on the grass.

    October 16, 2014
    • It is, I love going there and seem to go from time to time with my camera. I really like that one with the shadows too, thanks Richard.

      October 16, 2014

Comments are closed.

